Staked (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #8)

Staked (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #8)

by Kevin Hearne

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Staked 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read, if you enjoyed the previous Iron Druids, you will have a blast with this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Iron Druid series is one of my favorites and this latest addition doesn't disappoint ! Humor and action from start to finish :) Definitely re-reading twenty bazillion times ???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An exciting and fun addition to the Iron Druid series. Love the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent story well written by imaginative author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fitting conclusion to a series that has given me many hours of excitement and entertainment. I'm looking forward to the next adventure!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not the absolute best but still enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
jslo530 More than 1 year ago
Staked is book 8 in The Iron Druid Series by Kevin Hearne. It picks up where The novella A Prelude to War left off. The novella fills in the gaps on how Atticus finds out how to hit Theophilus and the rest of the vampires where it hurts. We get this story from three druids point of view. Atticus, Granuaile and archdruid Owen. Its main storyline covers the continuing war with the vampires. In previous books where we got the point of view from Granuaile I didn't care for how it was written but this book was different. Kevin Hearne has done a great job getting into a different head space for each character. We lose some more major players in this story from both sides. We also gain some new characters and are left with a hopeful outlook on the future of druidism. I can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As the headline states.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This entire series is a must read; for everyone!! Regardless of your preferred genre, Kevin Hearne will wrap you tight around his pinky; in just the first paragraph. I am a huge fantasy/urban magic fan, and this is the best series there is!! Bar none!! So again, thanks Kevin!!
AllThingsUrbanFantasy More than 1 year ago
As a huge fan of the Iron Druid series I was severely disappointed with the final installment. The story was poorly developed and rushed. Also the entire spin off mid story, following Granuaile's crusade against her father as an eco terrorist demonizing the entire oil & gas industry just had no place in the book. The series has been about the dynamic character of Atticus and his interactions with the deity's of the multitude of historical pantheons and their interactions in a modern setting. Now we have a poorly veiled commentary on climate change monopolizing the story line. I don't buy a fiction novel to have someone tell me that because someone works in oil & gas they are evil and destroying the planet. But beyond that it was just a disappointing story and it felt like Mr. Hearne was either out of ideas or just tired of writing the series. I would have preferred that he had just stopped with the last book rather than put out this poor effort. This is the first time I have ever bought a book and wished I could get my money back. Sad way to end what was an incredible series.
InvestedIvana More than 1 year ago
What drew me to this book: I am in love with this series, particularly in audio! It pains me that it took me a few months to fit listening to Staked into my schedule. But I finally did, and the wait was worth it. Why I kept reading: Because Kevin Hearne and Luke Daniels are awesome. Because these stories keep getting deeper and more thought-provoking with each book. Because I like Owen way more than I thought I would originally. Because Oberon and Orlaith are irresistible and I just want to rub their bellies! Does anyone else remember the short-lived but wonderful TV show called Daybreak, starring the oh-so-beautiful Taye Diggs? It was a serious thriller version of Groundhog Day. The antagonist in that show would whisk Diggs's character away at the end of a particularly disastrous event and say, in a wise and arrogant tone, "Action, consequence." The idea is that Diggs, and the viewer, get to see what consequence his actions have because he's replaying his day over and over again, acting differently to get different results. The Iron Druid Chronicles is not Groundhog Day, but the phrase, "Action, consequence," runs through my mind often as I read this series. In the beginning, Atticus had just himself to worry about, and a small number of friends. Once action after another increases his circle of close companions, but also increases the complexity of his life and the seriousness of the consequences coming at him. The message that we are all connected and our actions have consequences on everyone grows stronger with each novel, even as the entertainment value stays strong. Why I recommend it: This is one damn good book in a damn good series. If you like audiobooks, Luke Daniel's narration is really the best way to experience these characters. It's laugh-out-loud funny, deeply meaningful, and a whopping good time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my go too reads but sorry the hounds are the stars of the books
EddMcCorkle More than 1 year ago
Excellent Book A great addition to a series that keeps going strong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have loved all the books in this series, this is no diffrent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SandiKHH More than 1 year ago
They just get better and better with each book. I will be in an extended period of morning after the last one comes out next year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IDC just keeps getting better and better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well done and just plain fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kevin has done it again. Another awesome book in this great series. Pathos, humor, excitement and never ending fun. It like all its predicessors have great characters, fabulous story lines, twists and turns, and surprises all along the way. My greatest compliments to the chef! That's Kevin, not you Oberon (World's Greatest Dog Written Cookbook for Dogs Writer); may it rain sausages every day in your prescence with goulash on Mondays!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't want to spoil this. Read and enjoy and then go hug your dog.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really get such a huge amount of enjoyment out of ths series. Love the characters and the world as seen through Druidic (or hound) eyes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished laughing aloud and weeping softly through another Iron Druid. The characters are so real I miss them between books .
ArcherKat More than 1 year ago
Waited feels like forever for this book, and I get it. And I'm excited about it. Well it felt rushed. That's it, so many things going on in the book it was hard to follow but I did because I love the characters. Each and every fuzzy head.