Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action

Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action

by Simon Sinek

NOOK BookUnited States (eBook - United States)

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
TomTex More than 1 year ago
I read at least 2-3 books a month. This was one of them. I regularly use Simon's Why, How and What to focus myself and my customers to organize and prioritize our thoughts and plans. Lots of people focus on what they do, fewer know how and the least know why. A meaningful why results in energy, focus, attracts capital and customers. Simon's examples and application ideas make this a great book.
BookClubDiva More than 1 year ago
I have definitely become a Simon Sinek evangelist. This book was insightful, well researched and inspiring. I feel like it put a whole new perspective on WHY companies do THAT they do. When I watch advertising now I say to myself “that’s manipulative” and “that aspirational” or “I understand WHY.” It has changed the way I advertise myself in social situations, my social media presence and how I conduct sales calls. As I was reading the book I kept having moments when I realized mistakes I made and how the WHY would have changed that. So I immediately implemented what I learned on my next sales call and I was astounded at the difference. The principles are not just for companies. I’ve seen my church grow three-fold in the last year and as I’m reading Simon’s book I realize it’s because they do an excellent job of communicating the WHY. I don’t think I could ever work for a company now who doesn’t clearly articulate WHY they do WHAT they do. I’d recommend this book to everyone and have already started to buy multiples and give them out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the better "business" books I've read in a while. Yet, it is much more far reaching than a "business book." It works with the topic of a purpose driven companies and organizations in a very real and tangible way and manages to both challenge your thinking and inspire you. Definitely an easy read and worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe "why" is the most important queation an organization must answer. This book does a great introduction to "why" but failed to follow up with well researched examples. It is easy to point to something that failed and claim to have a better way. But there were no examples or studies of organizations successfully applying the golden circle with better results.
samuelsdaddy More than 1 year ago
This book touches on the most basic tool to success. Our reason for success. Socrates said a unexamined life is not worth living. A business that doesn't examine why they are in business will not stay in business long. Start with Why analyzes companies that have remembered "why" and helps you find yours. A must read for anyone that has lost some inspiration or are looking to create a mega phone for the future! Thank you Simon for writing this book... I'm so amped about my future megaphone!
gbautista72 7 months ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. It reinforces the idea of the importance of knowing WHY. Why are we in business? Why are we doing this? Why should I follow you? What's the WHY? His message is simple and he gives several examples of successes from remembering the WHY. Simon Sinek is definitely and optimist, wanting to see the silver lining of every cloud and making it work, but you have to remember WHY? Also leaders with the WHY can inspire followers. Companies holding on to their WHY in culture and environment will prosper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Start everything you do with WHY.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing read!!!!!
meghayden on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Start with the title. You're done. The rest of the book simply gives examples of those companies that had vision and those that didn't. If you already believed the basic premise, there was little to gain. It didn't explain how to keep why paramount in your day to day work, how to find why if you are working in a job without a clear purpose, how to inspire others to share your vision.
GShuk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book that delivers on its title. To inspire we need to change our focus from what or how we do things to why we do them. He claims that shift can streamline communications inside and outside a company and is what helps to make an emotional connection. Its not that you have never heard this kind of idea, however it is the way he presents and plays with this concept that that makes it worth reading.
ACP More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended to me by my employer. I enjoyed the thought process and examples demonstrated in the book. There was some repetition of the information meaning the book could have been shorter. However, the concept of finding your Why and leading from that place is a good one. More companies need to find their Why or risk desentigrating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the first books I read as a business owner and it is phenomenal. It truly casts a vision for understanding the success or failure in any business or even in your every day life. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to cast a vision in any area of their life. I've seen many businesses fall under after having forgot why they initially began because they got lost in how to make money and what their results were. You will find many negative comments about anything on the internet, however I encourage you to think for yourself. When you buy someone's advice, you buy their lifestyle. As for myself, this is one of the books I plan to read once a year for the rest of my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a gift for my son who thinks way too much about everything he does, so it was perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago