Sullivan's Island

Sullivan's Island

by Dorothea Benton Frank

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sullivans Island 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 179 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved being virtually transported to the beloved Lowcountry, "experiencing" life in such a rich, vibrant and soulful culture. Very nicely written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just an awesome, awesome, awesome book! You practically feel like you are there experiencing life growing up with the Hamiltons and  also with them as adults. Livvie is one of my favorite characters of all time. I cried like a baby at the end when she and Susan talk! This book was full of every emotion you can think of and then some. Loved it, it's a MUST READ!! 
CarolinaCM More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters and the obvious love the author has for Sullivans Island and Charleston and the history of the area and it's people. Ms. Frank writes about family drama with the perfect balance of tenderness and humor. If you are not lucky enough to live near Sullivans Island, as I am, you will certainly want to visit this uniquely beautiful place after reading this book.
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
I liked this lowcountry beach read.  To me there were to many references of the Catholic traditions, myself not Catholic, did not understand many of the references.  The story as a whole is a good story and I will read the follow up novel.
MariaKathleen More than 1 year ago
Loving, touching, real, and expressive without offending the senses. I'm hooked on Ms. Frank's works.
sassyJM More than 1 year ago
Dorthea Frank has been my favorite author since I read her first book. I am reading Sullivans Island over since it has been a long time since I read it. I want to read Return to Sullivan's Island, and I feel I will enjoy it more with the first book fresh in my mind. I love Sullivan' Island and all of her books. They make you laugh out loud, sometimes cry, and keep you coming back for more.,
Kate_Sullivan More than 1 year ago
Okay, I'll admit it, I bought this book because my name is Sullivan and since I am dabbling in genealogy, the title intrigued me. It turns out it was a wonderful visit to Lowcountry in South Carolina and a seemingly authentic peek into a family's sweet and sour history. You don't have to be from Lowcountry to draw a parallel to the Hamilton family. I'm sure if Livvie were alive today, she would say, "ya'll read this book 'eah."
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is fabulous. Not only is it funny it is a great history lesson as well. This book has the funniest sex scene I have ever read. It is nothing short of hilarious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dottie Frank is an excellent story teller. Very entertaining; her charracters are so real, you miss them at the story's end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book to read. Dorthea Benton Frank is one of my favorite authors. I read this book many years ago, and had to read it again. I loved the story and the characterizations of the people in the people, both in Susan's past and present.
Nanny2 More than 1 year ago
This book and the sequel, Return to Sullivan's Island, are wonderful books about growing up and finding yourself in a family house full of mystery and ghosts. I loved every minute of reading these books. This book reminded me a bit of The Help because of Susan's love for her black maid, Livvie, but it this book was about love of family and the struggle to Susan's struggle to be her own person. I would highly recommend this for a light reading experience, but don't miss Return to Sullivan's Island, too. These are books I will remember and treasure.
MsErlybird More than 1 year ago
Perfect beach reading! I found a donated copy, started to read it, misplaced it, and bought it after midnight on my Nook. (Then I found my lost copy!) There are several sub-plots in this well-written novel about a large Southern family. I get the feeling the author has sequels and pre-quels in mind. While I wouldn't recommend this book for club discussions, I would recommend it for a lazy day, something to read when one is under the weather, or just when you want to be occupied with something you don't want to think through. I would read other books by Dorothea Frank.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had read 'Full Of Grace', and had looked forward to this book. However, it was not as good as the first one. I didn't like the flashbacks at all, and the chapters were too long. I hope to read 'Plantation' next, and hope it is more interesting than this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved reading about the lifestyle on Sullivan's Island. Southern living has to be the most interesting lifestyle around & this book tells of it well. The characters Ms. Frank gives us are a joy to read about. Great to read on vacation!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was an interesting book and had a hard time putting it down. I just wanted to see what was going to happen next. It is a great read for the beach!! Can't wait for the next one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved this book because the main character Susan didn't live a fairy tale life. It was real, with real problems we can all identify with. The descriptions were so thorough that I felt like I lived in Charleston although I've rarely left New England. Look forward to visiting Sullivan's Island someday. Dottie Frank will have a list of people waiting for the release of her next book, I'm hoping there will be a sequel to Sullivan's Island. I want to read more about Susan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS NOVEL..NOT ONLY WAS IT FUNNY, BUT HEARTWARMING AS WELL... I FELT REALLY CONNECTED TO THE CHARACTER 'LIVVIE' SHE WAS TRULY THE 'GREAT MOM' OF ALL MOMS..WHAT A FAMILY, AND TO HAVE OVERCOME SO MUCH HEARTBREAK AND TRAGEDY, WAS OVERWHELMING TO SAY THE LEAST, BUT WITH THE HELP OF SUSAN, LIVVIE AND MAGGIE, THEY ALL SURVIVED...BUT I DO WONDER WHAT EVER BECAME OF THE TWINS??? LOOK FORWARD TO READING MORE FROM MS BENTON FRANK.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A friend who knew I was a fan of Pat Conroy recommended this book to me, and I found that it had a similar flavor to his work, but also a unique style all its own. I thought the relationships between Susan and her daughter Beth and Susan and her sister Maggie were very true to life. I enjoyed the 1963 sequences with the 14-year old Susan more, but the 1999 story was compelling, and I found myself wanting to spend more time with the characters after the end, even though the conclusion is satisfying.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this smart, humorous tale by Dorothea. I thought that it was a well put together book. Most of the reviews I have read have said how hard it was to follow when she jumped from the past to the present(visa versa). I thought it added variety and kept me interested thoughout. I say Good work!
Guest More than 1 year ago
WOW! The big writers really gave her a boost with all their praise so I was skeptical about how I would like it but the praise was justified. She has got a fresh voice and not a cliche Souther feel. I want the next book to come out soon because, even thought the book is thick, it is a fast read. It is obvious they could make a major movie out of this book. Somebody like Susan Sarandon would be great to play the lead!
Anonymous 5 months ago
Pure enjoyment. I can’t wait to read the next book.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A+great+book%21
Anonymous 11 months ago
Having my own knowledge of Catholic guilt and being the oldest of a family of 9 I could relate to much of what Maggie and Susan experienced even though I’m a Midwesterner. Thankfully I had a happy childhood. Many of the ideas brought up in the book gave me pause for reflection.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Can%27t+++wait+++to+++read+++more+++from+++this+++author+.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love her work and we'll read them all!