The Summer of No Regrets

The Summer of No Regrets

by Katherine Grace Bond

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Summer of No Regrets 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book but extremly confusing. I was confused through most of it. But other than that it was a cute story. Its not the best but pretty good.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
This book is not what I expected, yet it took me by surprise. When I got this book off of netgalley, I thought I was in a summer beach romance. Nope. Not at all. Instead, it's about a movie star who is looking for peace and finds it in a small town. I loved this plot. A movie star in hiding? Unexpected love? Yes, please. I love the tag of the book. "What happen when you fall in love with a lie?" Cause that is what has happened. Brigitta runs into the new kid and friendship forms right away. I liked that they bond over simple things. Like taking care of animals. The small moments they had together without everyone around them really is what made me fall in love with the characters. The beginning of the book was slow for me. It took me till about 100 pages in to finally get into the book. I am glad that I stuck through it and finally got into the characters emotions. The emotions flowed nicely between the characters. Now, the love interest. The best part for me is the whole revealing part. I was so dying to get to that part!!! It went down as I thought it went but with so much more. There is so many emotions flowing and the search for "was this love real" that it kept me reading till the last page. The Summer Of No Regrets is a surprising and delightful romance! The meaningful relationship that is created only makes you want more. The Summer Of No Regrets is a great read!
TiffanyReads More than 1 year ago
Brigitta is a girl that I would describe as lost, she doesn't really know what she wants in life and with her grandparents' recent passing there have been a lot of changes in her life. Brigitta does her best to push through these struggles. Brigitta's best friend Natalie is obsessed with celebrities and thinks she sees them everywhere. When Brigitta gets new neighbors, a boy her age and his mother, Natalie is convinced that it is famous teen actor Trent Yves. Brigitta is not convinced and through a series of incidents that bring them closer together she is more and more convinced that Natalie is wrong. He isn't Trent, He's Luke, the boy she is slowly falling for. Everything is not as it seems though as everyone has secrets including Luke and Brigitta and as the story unfolds and the secrets unravel Brigitta will have to face hard truths and find who she really is. I really liked Brigitta a lot. She was struggling with a lot of things, her grandparents' death, religion, as well as just discovering herself. I liked how strong Brigitta was and that she stood by what she believed and always tried to do the right thing. Brigitta made a lot of mistakes but she learned from them and they made her a better and stronger person. Brigitta's relationship with her family, her mom, dad, and older sister was very interesting to watch. She was really distant with them sometimes but in the end I think she became a lot closer to her family and understood them better. Her relationship with Luke was very interesting as well, I liked how Brigitta didn't just let Luke walk all over her, she called him out when he needed it and pressed him for answers. Overall, I really liked their relationship, I thought they were pretty cute together. I really liked Luke a lot at first. He was really sweet and caring and seemed to really like Brigitta. As the story progressed though, Luke had these moments where he really became reserved and quiet and wouldn't really talk to Brigitta so that was frustrating at times. Towards the end of the book though I liked Luke again as he was really there for Brigitta and their relationship became a lot stronger. Luke has a lot of hard things in his life to deal with and I definitely had a lot of sympathy for him. I think going through what he has, he understood Brigitta really well and connected with her on a really deep level. I will admit the beginning of this book was a bit slow for me but about halfway through thing really kicked into gear and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. This book deals with a lot of important issues, the main one being religion. I thought the religion aspect was really well done. It was done in more of a thoughtful way and I didn't feel like it was trying to shove religion down our throats. What I enjoyed most in this book was the relationships. The relationship between Brigitta and her family members as well as with Luke. This book shows how important connections with the people around you are and I really liked that. Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to those of you who love contemporary as well as anyone looking for a good summer read. *This review is also posted on my blog and my other social media profiles.
Marcie77 More than 1 year ago
The Summer of No Regrets by Katherine Grace Bond is a story about a girl named Brigitta or as her family calls her, Gitta , that lives in a small town in the state of Washington. Her world gets turned upside down when the hottie, Luke, moves next store, who also happens to loos like a famous actor Trent Yves. Gitta's family is also very unique. Gitta is home schooled and lives in a spiritual retreat with her mom and dad. Gitta's sister has just come home from university where she is a psychology major. Gitta's life is anything but ordinary. After her grandparents passed away things have been strained between Gitta and her father. They used to be really close but now there's a wall between them. The loss of her grandmother has especially left a hole in Gitta. She is experiencing a spiritual crises of sorts. Her grandmother was a Christian who was very strong in her faith while her parents are more spiritualists and look to nature to find their faith. Gitta feels trapped in the middle not sure where she belongs or what to believe. Gitta is also attracted to Luke who everyone believes is Trent Yves in hiding. He's mysterious and unpredictable. Gitta writes about her encounters with Luke on her blog. She has a secret obsession with celebrities. After a cougar is killed, Gitta and Luke do their best to try and take care of the cubs the cougar left behind. Spending time together forces the two to face the truth about themselves. It also forces Gitta out of her shell. She starts to do things she normally wouldn't do. This story has a few complex issues in it. Gitta was frustrating at times. I thought she was a little naive as well but she did lead a sheltered life so it's understandable. Luke was really hot and cold for me. Gitta only liked him in the beginning because of his resemblance to Trent Yves. Other than that he didn't have a lot going on for him. He acted pleasant toward Gitta but evasive as well. It wasn't until the middle of the book until I actually started to like him. However the two didn't really spend a lot of time together. Gitta mostly had a relationship with her day dreams of Trent aka Luke. However their relationship is only a small part of the story. The story is about Gitta and dealing with her life, her loss, and the consequences that go with her actions. The Summer of No Regrets is a good book to read. It's has many layers of depth to the story. Gitta's journey throughout the book is entertaining as well as emotional.
Bookswithbite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is not what I expected, yet it took me by surprise. When I got this book off of netgalley, I thought I was in a summer beach romance. Nope. Not at all. Instead, it's about a movie star who is looking for peace and finds it in a small town. I loved this plot. A movie star in hiding? Unexpected love? Yes, please. I love the tag of the book. "What happen when you fall in love with a lie?" Cause that is what has happened. Brigitta runs into the new kid and friendship forms right away. I liked that they bond over simple things. Like taking care of animals. The small moments they had together without everyone around them really is what made me fall in love with the characters. The beginning of the book was slow for me. It took me till about 100 pages in to finally get into the book. I am glad that I stuck through it and finally got into the characters emotions. The emotions flowed nicely between the characters. Now, the love interest. The best part for me is the whole revealing part. I was so dying to get to that part!!! It went down as I thought it went but with so much more. There is so many emotions flowing and the search for "was this love real" that it kept me reading till the last page. The Summer Of No Regrets is a surprising and delightful romance! The meaningful relationship that is created only makes you want more. The Summer Of No Regrets is a great read!
mt256 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Summer of No Regrets by Katherine Grace Bond is a story about a girl named Brigitta or as her family calls her, Gitta , that lives in a small town in the state of Washington. Her world gets turned upside down when the hottie, Luke, moves next store, who also happens to loos like a famous actor Trent Yves. Gitta's family is also very unique. Gitta is home schooled and lives in a spiritual retreat with her mom and dad. Gitta's sister has just come home from university where she is a psychology major.Gitta's life is anything but ordinary. After her grandparents passed away things have been strained between Gitta and her father. They used to be really close but now there's a wall between them. The loss of her grandmother has especially left a hole in Gitta. She is experiencing a spiritual crises of sorts. Her grandmother was a Christian who was very strong in her faith while her parents are more spiritualists and look to nature to find their faith. Gitta feels trapped in the middle not sure where she belongs or what to believe.Gitta is also attracted to Luke who everyone believes is Trent Yves in hiding. He's mysterious and unpredictable. Gitta writes about her encounters with Luke on her blog. She has a secret obsession with celebrities. After a cougar is killed, Gitta and Luke do their best to try and take care of the cubs the cougar left behind. Spending time together forces the two to face the truth about themselves. It also forces Gitta out of her shell. She starts to do things she normally wouldn't do.This story has a few complex issues in it. Gitta was frustrating at times. I thought she was a little naive as well but she did lead a sheltered life so it's understandable. Luke was really hot and cold for me. Gitta only liked him in the beginning because of his resemblance to Trent Yves. Other than that he didn't have a lot going on for him. He acted pleasant toward Gitta but evasive as well. It wasn't until the middle of the book until I actually started to like him. However the two didn't really spend a lot of time together. Gitta mostly had a relationship with her day dreams of Trent aka Luke. However their relationship is only a small part of the story. The story is about Gitta and dealing with her life, her loss, and the consequences that go with her actions.The Summer of No Regrets is a good book to read. It's has many layers of depth to the story. Gitta's journey throughout the book is entertaining as well as emotional.
ilikethesebooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Baby cougars! That is really all I have to say about this book... Okay, not really, but those cubs melted my heart and were way more prominent than I expected. Which was a good thing.Brigitta lives in an... unconventional family. Her parents drink weird tea and talk to fairies and while she accepted it at first, she's really starting to resent it. Then the boy comes into the picture. But where does he keep running off too? Does she even want to know?More than anything, I would say The Summer of No Regrets is a story of identity. Brigitta figuring out who she is, who her family really is, who Luke is and what all of that ultimately means. It was a cute story with an important message. I enjoyed it, I did, but my favorite part would have to be the cougar cubs Brigitta and Luke find. Yes, partly because they sounded adorable, but for another reason too. There are few things in this world that has the ability to dissolve any selfish feelings and make you face what is really going on. It happens sometimes with friends, or siblings, a child (I would imagine), but for Brigitta it is those cubs. They really push along her transformation and lead her on her path to discovery. That sounds so much like an english class, but it is true. The cubs play a huge (and adorable) role in both the plot and chrachter development. Overall, I would recommend it. It is a story that has been told many times, but in a different way. Laced with celebrities, friends, wacky family, romance and cougar cubs, The Summer of No Regrets is a thoughtful and adorable read.
AboutToRead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Summer of No Regrets is about a girl, Brigitta, who is kind of strange and comes from an even stranger family. One summer Brigitta gets a new next store neighbor, Luke, who looks exactly like movie-star Trent Yves, and the two start to develop feelings for each other.I had a really hard time relating to Briggita. She is nothing like me¿she just seems so lost and unsure of herself, and she also comes across as having a low self-esteem. I also don¿t understand why Briggita¿s movie-star hot neighbor would be interested in someone who is described as plane-Jane at best, is really weird, and has no self-confidence what-so-ever. I think Briggita¿s self-esteem issues are what bugged me most about the idea of love blossoming between the two characters.I had a lot of difficulty getting through the first half of the novel because of Briggita, but the second half of the novel really sucked me in. I was dying to solve the mystery of ¿is Luke Geoffery the boy next store or famous movie star Trent Yves.¿ I was analyzing all of his actions and mannerisms right along with Briggita and I loved every second of it.Even though the mystery behind Luke¿s identity really captivated me, it was really hard to relate to Brigitta or believe in a relationship between her and Luke. If Brigitta was someone I could at least be friends with, I would have enjoyed the book a lot more. However her identity crisis and self-esteem issues prevented me from doing so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book: it’s funny, thoughtful, has a really fun romance running through it, and there were definitely a couple of times that I teared up reading it. I’m not sure I would have picked it up based on the cover and title, though—a friend gave me a copy, and I was so glad that she did. I don’t particularly care for the “fluffy summer romance” genre, so from the sunset-y cover and the title I thought it sounded like another “girl decides to make some poor life choices and as a result meets a really hot guy” story. (Can you tell I don’t like this genre?) But “The Summer of No Regrets” wasn’t like that at all (my best guess? poor decision by the marketing department).  Basically, the book is about Brigitta, a 16-year-old girl who feels kind of lost. She doesn’t think anybody really -knows- her, and honestly, she’s right. With her family and her best friend, she acts like she’s this really put-together, down-to-earth kid, but in reality, she’s just keeping her inner life—and the things that have her in real turmoil—totally secret. She also has a secret fascination with celebrities, which she feels genuinely guilty about because she’s supposed to be the super smart kid who never has any shallow interests. She’s looking for some greater meaning in life (maybe because her grandparents died and her dad completely checked out emotionally and her relationship with him dissolved), but she can’t communicate that to anyone she cares about. Enter Sexy Sexy Romantic Interest Luke! Is he or is he not a movie star in hiding? Does it really matter? He’s sexy either way! In all seriousness, though, it really doesn’t matter. The point isn’t the glamour or sort of voyeuristic contact-high of celebrity, it’s: is the one person Brigitta feels she can be emotionally honest with just lying to her?  Am I making this book sound like Serious Business? It’s not. It’s a smart, romantic, FUNNY read with a lot of emotional resonance. This was one of those books that I was cracking up out loud at times reading. Brigitta has a secret blog about the spiritual lives of celebrities, which is always entertaining—there’s a truly cringeworthy fanfic Brigitta writes as a guilty pleasure one day, which will delight anyone with experience with bad teen fanfics. The Mary Sue is named “Eoindyllandra” and has violet eyes; the word “numinous” is involved. It made me very happy. Also, there are orphan cougar kittens who must be bottle-fed. Awwww…
jjk122961 More than 1 year ago
you don't have read the book, everyone who posted told the sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Since summer started, I was looking for a fun, summery book with beach, sun, and awesome girly friends and all. The Summer of No Regrets was nothing like I expected it to be. Unfortunately, there was no beach or sun or friends. At some points, I even forgot it was a summer book. The main protagonist, Brigitta, is just a normal girl with no religion. Her dad, who suddenly chooses to be a Shaman, does some awkward stuff that embarrass her at some points. She has a sister, and a mother as well. They live in this place, that I still don't get what it is. Basically a house that's all eco-friendly, all part of her father's shaman rituals I guess. Brigitta has a Jewish friend, Natalie, who really cracked me up sometimes. As well, she has a guy friend, Devon, who she had a little thing for. Apart from that, Brigitta's life was pretty normal until she met Luke. As soon as the girls bump into Luke at the library, Natalie insists that he's a look-alike of superstar Trent Yves. While Brigitta denies it, she still does think that he's a look-alike. One day, Brigitta sits in her tree house, and see's Luke in the forest sitting on a rock. She also see's a cougar a little further away from him, that's making it's way towards Luke. She shouts a warning at Luke, and the rest is history. They try attacking the cougar until it runs away. You're probably wondering why I'm saying this, but because of that cougar, the next day when her parents find out, this "animal wildlife" place shoots it. I liked that it felt realistic, because even though it's really sad, that's what they'll do to a wild animal that might hurt humans. The next day, Brigitta takes a walk in the forest with Luke, and they find two baby cougars. That's when they both decide to take care of them in return for their mother's death. It was so cute to read about something new. I also liked how their relationship developed because of something more important they're working towards. Even though it was a cute idea, I still felt that something was missing. I didn't have that feeling where I just wanted to turn from page to page. It was hard finishing the book, because there just wasn't something exciting to make me want to read more. I also wish the author didn't concentrate on Brigitta's father, or his weird rituals that I didn't understand at all, that much either. I didn't really care what religion he was or what he wanted to be, but I just felt like it was concentrated on it way more that it should have been. I also hoped that it would have that awesome jealousy between Devon and Luke like most contemporary books, but Devon just disappeared throughout the whole book, except the very end. Overall, I guess it just wasn't the book for me. It was a good contemporary book, but I just felt like it was too... blunt. I wanted more excitement, more fun, just more. It felt like it needed more spicing up. Though, like I always say, that's just my personal opinion so don't just assume that you'll feel the same way. While The Summer of No Regrets wasn't that great for me, you might love it. Give it a try, and happy reading!
SweetPeaBubbles More than 1 year ago
I don't read a lot of contemporary fiction,(as you can probably gather from all of my reviews) so I am far from being an expert. I have read some though, and out of all of them, this novel I'd have to say is the most memorable. With a really unique protagonist, and situation, I think that this book is definitely worth checking out. Reasons to Read: 1.Brigitta as a character: I think that we've all read about that girl who thinks that she's so socially awkward and weird, but she's actually really popular and everyone is just charmed by her. Brigitta is not that girl. She actually is just a painfully socially awkward girl, and while it can come off as cute sometimes, it is usually just embarrassing. She has little to no friends, just because of how weird she is. I found that this made her easier to relate to as a character, because she was very isolated people her age. She's been through a lot in her life, and after a point in this novel, you just want to give her a hug. While she did seem to get very swept away by Luke really quickly, I could kind of understand where she was coming from. I mean, a little attention from a boy after hardly having any friends? I would probably be swept away too. She's fascinated by religion, which I found to be really unique too. I tend to find that in most YA, the main characters are either all the way for it, or completely against it. Brigitta was trying to figure it all out, which religion seemed to fit her the best. 2.The Role of Religion: I really liked the way that the religion was handled in this novel. None of it was really preachy, or was forced upon the reader. While Christianity was the main religion that was pushed a bit more than the other beliefs, that was really only because Brigitta had a nostalgic, emotional tie to it because her grandparents had followed Christianity. There were so many other beliefs brought up too, other than the more mainstream religions. I found it really interesting to meet different side characters that came from different backgrounds. This book really handled religion well. 3.Luke: As soon as Luke enters the scene in this book, I was so fascinated by him. He's every other girls dream; tall, mysterious, incredibly good looking, smart. I really didn't judge Brigitta too much for getting so caught up in their relationship, because I loved Luke! I didn't mind the whole "Is-he-Trent-or-Luke" thing, either. It brought about some twists that left me guessing until the truth is finally revealed at the end. Even his character, I found to be really great, though he could be incredibly confusing at times. Overall though, Luke was amazing. I really, really liked this book. My only complaint was the whole situation with the cougar cubs. That was the only part that seemed a bit preachy to me, but it only came across that way a little bit. This book is fairly unique, is definitely worth checking out if you're looking for a good contemporary novel, or if you're just stuck on what to read next. E-galley received from publisher for blog tour via Net Galley.