Summer of Sloane

Summer of Sloane

by Erin L. Schneider

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Summer of Sloane 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
BoundlessBookaholic More than 1 year ago
I’m so glad I signed up for this Sunday Street Team opportunity, because I just loved this book. Erin did such an amazing job with her debut novel. I received a copy from Netgalley to review, and ended up giving this book 5 out of 5 stars (and added it to my favorites list). The writing in this book was incredible. It felt like you were watching a movie play out, or reading Sloane’s personal diary, or something else equally amazing. I didn’t want to put this book down at all. It’s definitely a book that you could read in one sitting. I unfortunately had plans and couldn’t do so, but when I re-read this book many times for years to come, I’m sure it’ll be a ‘one sitting’ book. Sloane was a fantastic main character. The beginning of the book started out intense, and I felt terrible for her. But quickly things start turning around once she went to Hawaii. The beautiful imagery and overall atmosphere of the Hawaii trip made me want to visit there ASAP. I really enjoyed Sloane’s family: her twin brother Penn, her dad, and her mom/stepdad (although you don’t see that much of the stepdad). I thought they were all pretty likeable characters. Sloane’s Hawaii friends, old and new, were pretty fantastic as well…especially Finn. Cue swooning. I loved Finn’s character so much. He made me mad a couple times while I was reading, but I couldn’t stay mad at him for long. He’s so much better than Tyler, the toolbag. I hated, hated, hated Tyler’s character vehemently throughout the whole book, except not quite as much towards the end. He still sucked though. Finn makes such an excellent addition to my book boyfriend list, up near the top. In addition to adoring Finn, I also adored his little sister Luce. She was a good secondary character that helped move things along throughout the book. The backstories for most of the people in the book were kind of tragic, but most people do have some tragedy in their lives. I think that’s another aspect that makes this book so real, so perfect. I only kept track of one funny line while reading: "It looks fast and slightly dangerous and I have to admit, it makes me feel kinda like a badass. Well, in a might-pee-my-pants badass kind of way." I spent most of the time just swept up into the story that I didn’t stop to write down lines. Final note: Such an amazing debut novel! I’m recommending this to anyone who enjoys contemporary books. I ordered a copy for my personal library, and can't wait to re-read this beauty over and over again.
KatieAtTheBookSphere More than 1 year ago
The Book That I've Been Recommending All Summer I picked up this one looking for a great summer read. I had heard some good reviews and was looking forward to seeing what these glowing reviews were talking about. Little did I know, I was about to be blown away. The story packs a punch right in the beginning. (For those that have read it...you see what I did there;)) Right away I was drawn into Sloane's life. And I felt for her. Erin L. Schneider wrote in such a way that you feel for Sloane. You aren't told what to feel for her, either. You just feel for everything she's going through and wondering where she's going to go next. I loved that Sloane is a such as strong character. She's a strong female in a many ways. She stands up for herself throughout the whole book and I admired this the most about her. She doesn't take much crap from anyone, though she isn't abrasive about it. She's dedicated and willing to help others. She was a breath of fresh air, and a really great character to follow. The romance was fantastic. I loved watching the relationship grow at a wonderful pace. I loved getting to know Finn through Sloane's eyes and seeing where they go. The perfect balance of swoons and other relationship aspects. I thoroughly appreciated the different relationship threading through the novel as well. There are family relationships; the ones between Sloane and her mother, her dad and her, her twin brother and her. There were also friendship dynamics between Sloane and her friends in Hawaii as well as Mick. The variety of relationships and the variety of relationship status's among her friends and family were not only realistic but also varied. To see different relationships grow, falter or just be was something very relatable to read about. And the setting. I've never been to Hawaii, but I dream of going someday. I absolutely loved reading about the setting and the Hawaiian bits of the novel. I definitely want to read more books set in Hawaii! The Hawaiian setting really gave a beautiful summery feel to the story. This is the kind of contemporary that I love. The kind that makes you feel for the characters and what they're going through. The kind that is realistic. The kind that sticks with you. The kind that not only has romance, but has friendship and family relationships as well. I've been recommending this book all summer and will continue to. It's such a great read for anytime of year. But should you be looking for a great summer read, please pick this one up. I have a feeling you'll enjoy it :)
SonyaMM More than 1 year ago
Here's your perfect summer beach read -- or dreaming-of-the-beach read. Of course, Summer of Sloane is much, much more than just a beautiful setting. Still, there's no question that Hawaii itself is an integral and delightful part of this story, and I loved being transported there. The main character, Sloane, loves Hawaii too, but her enjoyment is hampered by nursing the emotional wounds -- and the literal physical injury -- that came out of a shocking betrayal by her boyfriend and her best friend. There are romantic, friendship, and family complications that weave together, bringing Sloane a panorama of highs and lows. One of the most powerful parts of this novel, which relates to almost all of these complex dynamics, is the way it explores the meaning and difficulty of forgiveness. Romance, thoughtful explorations of difficult relationships, and fireworks over Waikiki -- what more could a reader ask for?
Reading_With_Cupcakes More than 1 year ago
Oh geez. This book is going to give you some feelings. That is for sure. It will make you happy, sad, angry....it will cause you to suffer from all of the emotions! So just be ready. The Summer of Sloane actually reads really quickly. You fill find yourself totally pulled in, time will pass, and eventually you will close the back cover finished....blink...and find yourself wondering how so much time passed without you even realizing it was passing. Yeah. It is that good. It is a definite beach read too. Take it and lay out in the sun this summer. Get yourself a tan. You will practically feel like you are already doing that anyways while you reading it. It is set in Hawaii and it is done very well. I personally could have used a bit more beach, but it was still good :) What I really like though is that Erin L. Schneider made us feel things for the characters, even the secondary characters that we don't see much of. You hate them, you love them, you want to punch and break their noses in three places. I actually have very strong feelings towards Mick and I still feel them even though I finished the book a few weeks ago. I don't think Mick can ever be redeemed for me. Not even if Erin L. Schneider writes Mick her own story (I will TOTALLY read this by the way if it ever happens). And to top it all off, The Summer of Sloane still has a beautiful message for all of us readers. But like always, I am not going to be sharing with you what that lesson is. It won't mean as much if I don't let you go discover it yourself. My Rating 4.5 Stars This review is based on an eARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. Find more of my reviews here: http://readingwithcupcakes.blogspot.com/
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
Sloane and her twin brother, Penn, children of divorced parents, have a lovely arrangement. They live with their father during the school year, then each summer they head to Hawaii to spend the summer with their mother. Not too shabby, right?! I was immediately drawn into the story when I knew it was taking place in Hawaii because how could I not want to read this story. Seriously. It's always been a dream of mine to go to Hawaii. And though I will probably never actually get there, reading about it is the next best thing. ;) After an incident with Sloane's best friend and boyfriend, her summer in Hawaii couldn't have come at a better time. She needs some time away from these two, and "fun in the sun" with her summer friends seems like it will hit the spot. But traveling away from the problem doesn't make it go away. Even in Hawaii, she's stuck dealing with the drama. The only thing that makes it a bit better is a hot, swoony, son of the hotel owner, Finn. *insert swooning here* I truly adored this story. The characters were so incredibly amazing. I read a lot, and I mean A LOT, of contemporary stories, and all too often I don't connect with the characters on any sort of substantial level. These characters though... OMG! I literally loved every single one of them!! Even when they were "behaving badly" or not being the nicest of people, they were still very realistic, involved in very real teenage interactions, and I connected with each and every one of them. There is so much personality in this book, and I have a feeling these characters will stick with me for a long time. I have to mention the cheating that's involved in this book. It's a pretty common complaint from readers that many don't enjoy books with cheating. But in my opinion, it's all about how the cheating is handled in the story. Which brings me to my point... yes, there is cheating involved in this story. It's referenced quite a bit, actually. But what stands out the most is the way Erin wrote about that cheating, the affects of the cheating, and the healing that occurs after it. This is one of those more positively-addressed cheating books, if that makes any sense. The cheating doesn't just happen, and then get thrown under the rug. It's addressed, and it's addressed thoroughly. Though I don't condone cheating in real life, I can take it in my books when it's handled in such a lovely way, as it was in this story. What a fantastic beach read to really get you in the summer mood!! I adored this book so much. From it's amazingly in-depth characters to its storyline that had just the right amount of drama, realistic situations, and typical teenage reactions, this book had it all. I really don't have anything that I would change, though I could have handled a bit more swooning toward the end of the story. This story did have some swoons, but much more on the "cute" side. A wonderful debut from an up-and-coming author that YA contemporary fans, such as myself, will surely not want to miss. (Thanks to Disney Hyperion for the review copy!)
KathyMacMillan More than 1 year ago
Make room in your beach bag for this one! Sloane is devastated when her boyfriend cheats on her with her best friend; the only silver lining is that the news breaks (along with her boyfriend’s nose, and her hand when she punches him) just as Sloane and her twin brother are heading to Hawaii to stay with their mom for the summer. Sloane gets a summer job, a summer guy, and is determined to leave the past behind her – but the past has other ideas. Sloane is a tough yet vulnerable heroine trying to find the balance between protecting herself and hardening her heart. The characters around her come to vibrant life, from the immensely frustrating best friend/betrayer Mick, to the OMG-such-a-boy brother Penn, to the enigmatic hottie who might be the next to break Sloane’s heart, Finn. Prepare to be swept away.
MarisaR More than 1 year ago
Summer of Sloane is hitting shelves just in time for summer. I mean, LOOK at that cover! There is Sloane and her burgeoning relationship with the cute-but-imperfect Finn McAllister. There are bonfires and hikes to hidden waterfalls. But while the lush Hawaiian setting is perfect for poolside, Summer of Sloane isn’t just about tropical beaches and surfing. It’s also a thoughtful exploration of betrayal and forgiveness. Of finding your own voice and the power to stand up for yourself. It’s a debut to savor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a vacation between pages. Seriously, if you want to immerse yourself in Hawaii, ocean air, and a story that will carry you away--this is your ticket. This debut takes a truthful look at the messiness of relationships, and the pain of betrayal and broken friendship. Schneider delves into the struggles of love and letting go, and finding who you are in the midst of it all. An honest, compelling story with a setting that will stay with you long after the last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the entire book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Summer of Sloane! Seeing how she develops as a person over the summer and overcomes a very difficult situation made for a very exciting read. Hoping for a sequel to see what happens in the future with Sloane and Finn as well as Penn and Mia!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finished this book in 2 days!! Absolutely loved it.
vampiregrl123 More than 1 year ago
Besides the novellas I’ve read this year, this is the second novel that I was able to start and finish in a day. This novel is a great coming of age novel about a girl trying to find herself after she is betrayed by the people she least expected would ever hurt her. This novel begins with drama unfolding between Sloane and her best friend, followed immediately by drama between Sloane and her boyfriend, earning him a punch in the face. Points to Sloane for that move. She escapes to Hawaii for an already planned summer vacation to visit her mom, stepdad, and all of her friends living on the island. I love that she gets the chance to start the summer fresh. There have been plenty of times where I wished that I could leave everything behind and start over when things go bad. Erin L. Schneider’s characters are complex. Sloane is fighting all of the emotions that she has when she leaves for Hawaii and tries to forget them for the summer. There is a lot of character development that happens, not just for Sloane, but for every character. Schneider’s writing is vivid and paints a pretty good picture of what is unfolding on the pages in my head. This novel is full of drama, but also has some fun moments woven throughout. I recommend this book to everyone looking for a summer contemporary novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great summer read! (Or any other time of the year really.) I loved Sloane and the story drew me in from the very first page. The characters were complex and interesting and the story wove them all together so well. I kept turning the pages to see what Sloane would do with every obstacle she faced. Schneider's debut is fun (it's set in Hawaii!), yet emotional, and full of heart, love, and friendship
KimMc More than 1 year ago
"We've all been caught up in this ever-expanding spiderweb of bad decisions...and I'm finally choosing me." As a seventeen year old caught in a nightmare of friendship and relationship gone wrong, it's time for Sloane to finally put herself first and not the needs and wants of everyone else. However in doing so, mistakes are made and through it all she has to continuously remind herself that this is her time and it's about time to remember to live her life. A wonderful look at coming into oneself through trials that have the power to change you either, positively or negatively, depending on your reactions and decisions to them. Schneider pens a modern coming of age novel that is hearty enough to hold your attention, yet light enough to have you hoping for the best outcome for all those you've invested your time and care into. *I received an arc from NetGalley for an honest review
MorrisMorgan More than 1 year ago
“Summer of Sloane” is the perfect choice for those looking for a beach read that is fun with a side of seriousness. Sloane is a character put into a very difficult situation through no fault of her own, and the way she works through it feels very natural and realistic. She’s someone who is easy to like, something that is not always easily found in young adult romances. All of the supporting characters added to the story and were well-developed. Most are the sorts of friends anyone would want to have. You’ll know the ones you definitely do not want when you read it. I loved the pacing and the writing. It flowed steadily and the narration really sucked me into Sloane’s world. Not an easy feat since I have never been to Hawaii and probably never will get to go. I felt like I was sitting around a bonfire with my friends a good amount of the time. None of the conversation felt stilted or forced, and the writer gave each character a unique voice. There are also some very important life lessons thrown in that don’t seem at all preachy. It strikes a nice balance. “Summer of Sloane” is a good book for anyone looking for a teen romance with a little bite. It’s also a cheap summer getaway to paradise. This review is based upon a complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
MorrisMorgan More than 1 year ago
“Summer of Sloane” is the perfect choice for those looking for a beach read that is fun with a side of seriousness. Sloane is a character put into a very difficult situation through no fault of her own, and the way she works through it feels very natural and realistic. She’s someone who is easy to like, something that is not always easily found in young adult romances. All of the supporting characters added to the story and were well-developed. Most are the sorts of friends anyone would want to have. You’ll know the ones you definitely do not want when you read it. I loved the pacing and the writing. It flowed steadily and the narration really sucked me into Sloane’s world. Not an easy feat since I have never been to Hawaii and probably never will get to go. I felt like I was sitting around a bonfire with my friends a good amount of the time. None of the conversation felt stilted or forced, and the writer gave each character a unique voice. There are also some very important life lessons thrown in that don’t seem at all preachy. It strikes a nice balance. “Summer of Sloane” is a good book for anyone looking for a teen romance with a little bite. It’s also a cheap summer getaway to paradise. This review is based upon a complimentary copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave this book five stars because that is how I expect the book to be. Please people who have read the book write some reviews!