Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

by Steven Furtick

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sun Stand Still 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 94 reviews.
crum4519 More than 1 year ago
Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driven Bake-sale drive me crazy. This book doesn't do that. What this book did for me was give me a framework for grappling with the promises of God in my life. Steven Furtick is a man with a practice, not a theory. It's not neat and tidy, and it doesn't boil down to 10 easy steps, but it's all there in the book, and it's able to cope with your day to day reality. This book is for all of us who know God has more for us than the 9 to 5 work day and getting by to make ourselves comfortable. If you've got a dream or a vision for something greater, or a yearning in your heart to do great things and see God come through in your life, but can't figure out how to get there, this book is for you.
SayBunny More than 1 year ago
too drawn out he says the same things over and makes no point not a fan love his purse just not a fan of this book he lost me
corymc More than 1 year ago
Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick is a challenging book on audacious faith. As I read through Furtick's up front honesty about the smallness of most Christian's faith, I couldn't help but analyze my own faith in God. It was very stirring to be challenged to have enough faith to ask God for what would be for me impossible. However, this book does a great job showing the reader that God wants exactly that.faith to see Him display His glory. Furtick challenges you to examine your faith, vision, prayer life, and basic understanding of God Himself. By the end of the book your hungry to see what God can and will do. This was honestly a great read for me. Furtick held my attention, not just because I am a pastor, but because he revealed a passion that could be felt on each page. I truly hated to come to the end of the book, because I wanted to gain even more insight on what real faith really looks like. I would definitely recommend this book to any believer, because it's not just a theological thesis meant only for the spiritual "elite" or the "professionals." Sun Stand Still is a very practical tool for all who want to see their faith reach beyond the norm. Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
Rich_Starnes More than 1 year ago
"Sun Stands Still" is Charlotte pastor Stephen Furtick's call for Christians to dare to do big things with their faith. He draws parallels to the story of Joshua praying for the sun to stand still in the sky to the type of faith that Christians should have to-a faith he calls "audacious faith." He also uses his experience starting the now-megachurch Elevation Church to give a modern day example of a "Page 23 Vision" (he explains the term) about which we are to pray "Sun Stand Still prayers," which are prayers asking God for the "impossible" (by which he means improbable for us, but not impossible for God) There were things I appreciated about the book. Pastor Furtick's enthusiasm for his subject certainly comes through, and his personal experience is a solid testimony of what God can do when we step out in faith. His writing has a easygoing style that reminded me more of a laid-back megachurch-style sermon than of refined prose. With that said, I would not recommend "Sun Stand Still" except to relatively new or less-mature Christian believers who are looking for inspiration to do "big things" for God. Other recent books with the same type of message, such as Francis Chan's "Crazy Love" and David Platt's "Radical," are a bit more serious and challenging. The book is a little thin on Scriptural support for its points, generally sticking to just the Joshua story to make the point. In doing so, it tends to err in assuming that Old Testament narrative is always practically applicable to modern day believers where the biblical text would not support such a conclusion. Also, at times the book seemed to have a "prosperity gospel" feel to it as opposed to a Christ- and gospel-centered focus which I find essential for a good Christian book. So, while I could appreciate the book and Furtick's experiences, I personally would look elsewhere for this kind of motivational message. Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
deusvitae on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An exhortation to more authentic and "audacious" faith loosely based around the story of Joshua in the Valley of Aijalon.In general, this is probably one of the best treatises on faith I have seen out there-- the author uses many stories, both Biblical and personal, to illustrate the nature of Biblical faith. His portrayal is very realistic and experientially based, and while the writing style is informal, it is rarely pedantic. The author does well at speaking authentically, realistically, and personally. My only qualms would be the insistence on the Protestant way of looking at faith. The author understands the imperative of obedience and works to have true faith while still trying to hold on to the "faith only" ideology. The author creates many of his own definitions based on his experiences. He explains them within the book but they still may cause a little confusion for some readers. On the whole, however, this is an excellent book about the type of faith that believers in God ought to have and how they can find themselves empowered to do great things in His Kingdom through His power.*-- book received as part of an early review program
jpogue on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Steven Furtick, pastor of Elevation Church in North Carolina, invites his readers to step out in ¿audacious faith¿ in his debut work "Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible". Furtick¿s challenge to pray boldly and courageously for the impossible is based on a study of the Israelites¿ defeat of the Amorite armies in Joshua 10. In this riveting account of a major battle, Old Testament hero Joshua delivered a ¿gloriously unorthodox prayer¿: He asked God to stop the sun in the sky, to ¿freeze time on behalf of his people¿ in order to defeat their enemies. And God grants Joshua¿s seemingly impossible request. In a stunning show of His power over Creation and one of the Bible¿s greatest miracles, God stops the sun in its place in the sky, and the Israelites are victorious over the Amorites.Furtick¿s passion to see the same kind of faith demonstrated in every believer¿s life stirred a growing spark in my soul as I kept reading "Sun Stand Still". This author¿s gift for teaching Scripture and making it imminently practical is rare. He simply, but eloquently, expresses the two Truths on which our faith stands and from which God-given visions are birthed: God is good and God is great. From here, we can tap into God¿s desire to shine through us in the ¿impossible¿. Broken relationships. A need in someone¿s life we are uniquely designed to meet. Weaknesses we can¿t conquer. A call to step out into a new career. Furtick¿s excitement is contagious as he recalls moments through the years when he has seen God move powerfully through someone¿s life in everyday circumstances.Each chapter of this book is packed with nuggets of Truth that had me jotting notes and highlighting quotes. Mr. Furtick never strays from his confession that true faith is not based on our ability¿but on God¿s. ¿The unfailing faithfulness of God-not our capability or performance-is the solid ground of our journey in audacious faith.¿ He even took me by surprise when he confidently states ¿The size of our vision isn¿t¿determined by who God is.¿ He goes on to explain that what we believe about God is the most important thing about us. ¿The scope and impact of your vision will be determined by who you believe God is¿. I found both great comfort and renewed hope as this author reiterated the basis for our belief: God¿s faithfulness, His goodness and His power.Lest we remain passive observers, however, this pastor also admonishes his readers to act on faith. He points out an easy-to-miss piece of Joshua¿s story, the story of the day the sun stood still. In Joshua 10:9, we learn that Joshua had spent the night before his amazing prayer in an all-night march. Furtick warns us to be prepared, like Joshua and his army, to move, to act, and to take the next step in obedience when we ask God for the impossible. ¿Audacious prayer must be tethered to practical obedience.¿ His wise words call us to step out with action, initiating changes in our behavior and choices as we trust God to do the rest. In his own words, Furtick¿s book ¿invites you to believe that you were made to experience the miraculous on a regular basis.¿ He then proceeds to outline a solid, Scripturally-based blueprint to live as a Christ-follower beyond the ordinary. And his engaging style, coupled with genuine love for the Lord, His Word, and His people, makes the invitation all the more winsome. "Sun Stand Still" will ignite a genuine desire in you to be an instrument of His power, to impact the world around you, and to pray for the impossible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fantasyjoy More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book, easy to read and understand and written in the vernacular of the day.  It presented the Gospel message accurately and was an inspiration to me.  Thanks. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tashanks More than 1 year ago
Generally speaking, this was a good book with a number of strong points. At times it was inspiring and challenging in ways that would empower nearly anyone to live a life of confidence for the cause of Christ; something that this world and the Christian community truly needs. (Are you anticipating a “but”?) But… I struggled to get through this one. There is a significant difference between the usage of language when communicating orally and communicating in written form. This book read as a combination of sermons in a number of ways. When reading 6 months worth of sermons there are certain things that are important speaking techniques that makes a piece of writing seem redundant and circular. Furtick overused alliteration and listing as memorization tools. He also repeated concepts every time he attempted to expand the concept by introducing a new idea. When I’m reading something, if I forget a concept I can flip back to the original explanation and reread it word for word. If I didn’t forget the concept, I’d rather not reread the original explanation word for word two chapters later… and then two chapters after that… and again in the next chapter. However, conceptually the book was passionately written and compelling. There were times when I wanted to challenge how Furtick made his case with the reader. Not enough to give up on reading it, though! Here are a few quotes from the book, in no particular order, that I truly LOVED. I have repeated many of these phrases in daily conversation and during devotional time (something that is key to a books lasting effect). “…extraordinary moves of God begin with ordinary acts of obedience.” “But no matter who pays your salary, you’re a full-time employee of the Kingdom of God. And wherever you work, that’s your ministry. Whatever you’re good at, that’s your calling. The components of your assignment are the sources of your significance. And there are burning bushes all around you.” “The people who accomplish the most astounding things for God’s glory aren’t the people who feel the least fear. … They act on the part of God’s direction they do understand.” “Faith is not an abstract theological proposition.” “On a good day, I’m 55 percent sure. And that’s enough certainty to take the next step.” I will end my thoughts with the same invitation that Furtick used to close this book. It is a powerful invitation. It’s striking in a strangely comfortable way (maybe that’s just me though…). It’s something I would love to say every time I greet someone at a ministry function because I believe that everyone has the potential to be “living, breathing, forcefully advancing people of God” if we are willing to live for this cause and the purpose God has given each of us. So, just in case you ever choose to read this book (or simply follow your call), “Welcome to the middle of a move of God.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want to know God's true strength, Sun Stand Still will make it clear. Biblically sound, Sun Stand Still inspires and challenges. It's no wonder God has chosen Steven Furtick to build the Kingdom in a "game changer" sort of way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago