The Surrendered

The Surrendered

by Chang-rae Lee

Paperback

$16.07 $17.00 Save 5% Current price is $16.07, Original price is $17. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Surrendered 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
mr-markster More than 1 year ago
Very good novel that kept me interested the whole way through: The three main characters (Hector, a ruined shell of a man who buries himself in booze and barroom brawling; Sylvie, the missionary who on the outside appears naive and idealistic yet actually carries a much deeper burden; and June, a Korean woman who is dying of cancer and desperately seeking her estranged son before she dies) are riveting in their own unique fashions, and each of them has been ruined by events from their personal pasts... bringing such ruined people together blends the perfect recipe for tragedy. The story jumps back and forth in time between the Korean war and the mid 80's- which for me is where the flaws come into play. 3/4 of the book are spent in the "past" (primarily an orphanage in post-war Korea), which leaves too little spent on the current. The main crux of the story is of a woman's final days trying to right all the wrongs in her life by reconciling with those whose lives she help destroy. The problem is that too little of the story deals with the present, and by the end I felt there was a bit of "lopsidedness" to the flashbacks of the story. However, the positives far outweigh the negatives. The prose are very good, and many passages are downright poetic. I felt the characters were very well constructed and almost came alive off the pages- they were each complex in their own ways, and frequently diid unlikeable things (yet I still liked them, which is hard thing for a write to achieve) Novels this long often suffer from "sagging" too much in the middle, but this book never sags. I was engrossed the entire way through this incredibly depressing journey. This is not a "happy" read by any stretch, and has scenes of violence that may be too raw for some people- particularly events that occur to June in the first chapter and Sylvie's family in later chapters. Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who doesn't mind a very depressing, very violent journey between three people who have surrendered any hope of redemption.
janeLW More than 1 year ago
In The Surrendered Chang Rae Lee does what he does best: write about displaced people trying to find a way to live in their own skins while wondering if it's actually worth figuring out. Like in his other novels, the characters are withdrawn and uncommunicative, but the creator's affection for his characters comes through and you find yourself hoping (although not without pessimism) they find some peace and contentment.
txwildflower More than 1 year ago
After winning an uncorrected proof copy of this book I didn't immediately start it since it is fairly large (467 pages) but I should have picked it up immediately! Once I started reading I couldn't put it down. A mesmerizing story that will stay with you a long time and you keep thinking about the characters weeks afterward. This book is a 'keeper' so will buy the book as soon as it comes out for my personal library and read it again as this is one of the best books I have read in a long time.
Mavis1129 More than 1 year ago
This book had me crying by the end of the first chapter, and a few times more by the time I finished. It's about three people who are brought together in war torn Korea. One is a Korean girl named June who loses her entire family in the war and ends up in an orphanage. The second is Hector, a self punishing solider from America who blames himself for his father's death. The third is Sylvie, the wife of a missionary who goes to run the orphanage in Korea with her husband, but ends up with a tragic fate like her parents. Both June and Hector meet Sylvie at the orphanage and vie for Sylvie's affections. All of these characters are damaged in their own way and each have a heartbreaking tale to tell. June's story is the main artery of the book. Hers is a story of survival and how that survival hardened her against the people she loved, leaving her with regrets later in life. Her strength to overcome and will to live is astounding when compared to Hector and Sylvie who have surrendered to life and have given up.
joansie More than 1 year ago
What a mournful book. I've read Chang Rae Lee's "A Gesture Life", an excellent book. But "The Surrendered" doesn't have a happy moment. The writing is beautiful. CRL is a master of the evocative description. If it was the author's intention to prove that war destroys everyone who comes in contact with it, this book is a magnificent success. It's too long by far, but I kept reading in hopes that the sun would come out---unfortunately it's one endless rain of sadness. A good book has to have at least one character to root for, someone to care about. The characters in "The Surrendered" are beyond repair, utterly hopeless, and for me at least this flaw made it an unsatisfying read. It's not that I insist on a candy-cane world---It's that one of the requirements of good literature is to create characters the reader can identify with.
UWSideReader More than 1 year ago
Deeply moving, unusually insight on the influences and nuances of life. Multiple viewpoints move the reader through experiences that cross cultures, ages and time. Bittersweet and memorable.
willowhalliday More than 1 year ago
"The Surrendered", is the first of Chang-Rae Lee's novels that I have read. I loved this book. Finding words adequate enough to express my thoughts is difficult. The writing is beautiful and evocative even with the harsh subject matter. Post-war Korea is the main setting of the story and with any novel set during wartime, it plays havoc with our emotions. June - the young orphan, Sylvie - the missionary's tragic wife and Hector - the American GI are all battling personal wars of their own but it is no less heart-wrenching as the reader battles alongside them. Yet despite all that these characters have experienced, they still managed to love fiercely. And to me that is the message this story gives, that no matter what trials we are dealt in life, there is still love.
chrystal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved the plot and the characters in this book, although it was slightly long for me. Good ending, I had to struggle to like June....
ldelprete on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a story that delves deep into the psyche of three main characters. It is not a story for someone who is looking for a happy ending or even any feel good moments really. It revolves around the lives of three people who are gravely affected by war. They all suffer in different ways but feel almost the same about themselves. None of the three feel they deserve happiness, althought they all continue to search for it. They all reach for love from people who are either unhealthy for them or unattainable. Each one never really allows themselves the chance to be happy or to be loves even though each desperately needs and wants it. They are all self-deprecating and self-loathing, and amazingly cold and hard. In some cases one of the three main characters view the other as "strong", which I guess by definition is true, but it really is just a hardening on one self in order to survive the devestation witnessed, experienced, and caused by the three during the wartime.I fully enjoyed the writing style of the author. The first chapter was emotionally gripping and right off the start i felt for the characters. My heart broke for them. The way the chapters flashed back and forth from their childhoods to the present time to the time during the war was a great way to keep the reader turning the pages. This could have turned into a very drawn out story but the author did a great job leaving little cliff hangers at the end of chapters so you would wonder what happened. It was just enough to keep me reading through. I also liked how the author would reveal the answers to the cliffhangers from a different character's perspective. It was unique and kept things interesting and not flat in any way. I was amazed each time the circumstances got worse for the three characters. I kept hoping it would get better for them. In some cases I knew what the outcome would be of one of the scenes from the past, but I found myself still hoping it would change. I did feel that it was a little long towards the end of the story and could have been about 50 pages less, but overall it was a very eye-opening, profound read and I am a better person having read it.
Litfan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"The Surrendered" is an exploration of war, survival and the human spirit. It starts out with June, a child orphaned by the Korean war, struggling to get her two remaining siblings to safety in the midst of the war. It's a vast novel that intertwines June's story with that of a missionary and his troubled wife Sylvie, and an American GI, Hector, who tries in his own way to save June.The historical aspect alone is quite interesting, and the author has done his research. This is a vast novel, coming in at over 500 pages, but it's worth the commitment. Each of the characters' lives echo the impact of war in different and fascinating ways, and their interplay with each other is at times tragic and at others healing. The author pulls no punches, and many scenes are fairly graphic but there is a purpose for this--he wants the reader to see the harsh reality of war and the way in which it irrevocably changes its survivors. As a therapist I appreciated how accurately the author captured what PTSD can look like. Hector's character with his survivor guilt was particularly touching. This is a novel that's frequently depressing but also uplifting in places, and well worth the read.
Soniamarie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A DNF for me, but I made it page 280 so I will share my thoughts.. The beginning had me hooked. An eleven year old June is struggling to save her young brother and sister in war torn Korea.. There is train hopping, food scavenging, and torn off limbs.. WOW. Then June is living in New York and looking for her art thief son. Fascinating. Then is switched to Hector. Hector is all about drinking, fighing, and fornicating. He is a former G.I. that worked at an orphanage that June resided at. The book goes from 1980s New York to 1950s Korea with Hector lusting after the minister's wife at the orphanage I mentioned. The wife is Sylvie and she has a drug problem and a few war secrets of her own. I never grew to like Hector or Sylvie and I just wanted it to go back to June but when it did finally go back to June, I didn't like her either anymore. I didn't like how she turned out. You got three people that have all been to hell and back in some way and not one of them becomes a better person from their experiences? Didn't work for me but a lot of people are loving it, so give it a go.
gerconk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a dark but engrossing story about the horrors of war and how the wounds and scars of war affect a person forever. June was a child when the Korean War began and lost everything. Hector is an American who fought in the war. Chang-rae Lee weaves the story from present to past to present in a clear and understandable way. The characterizations are excellent, and each character in the book stays true to him/herself. The story draws you in to the last page. I would have liked a different outcome to the story of June's son, but life is sad, as this story points out. And yet all parts of the story is completed, there are no loose ends, and it brings the reader to a satisfying end.
serosity on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The surrendered pulled me in with the flowing prose of Chang Rae Lee. With the story running in the present with the past being explained as it goes, my feelings towards June as the main character came into view changed throughout the story. A viewpoint on the Korean war that I have not read from before, and enjoyed thoroughly.
DARKANG3L on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Surrendered was a book of odds for me. The opening chapter pulls you in with the story of a girl trying to survive the horrors of war while taking care of her two younger siblings only to lose them. The book then goes forth from switching points of view between the characters June, Hector, and Sylvie. It goes back and forth from the past to the present between them, giving people an idea what it was like from different character aspects. This book is meant for a mature audience and those who are intrigued with books about war, hardship, and overcoming life's depressing matters.
GrazianoRonca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Surrenderedby Chang-rae Lee Riverhead Books (A member of Penguin Group, USA), New York, 2010 I received this free book as ARC from Penguin Group Just a first sentence: when you start reading this book never stop listening to the tales of Chang-rae Lee. This book is the story of June, Hector and Sylvie and also an excursus in Usa, Korea and China's History of the 20th century (30s, 50s, and 80s). The background is the Korean War in which a child, June (the war started in June 1950), lost her parents; an orphanage runs by two missionaries, Reverend Tanner and his wife Sylvie; and an ex-US army soldier, Hector. The narrative style: Lee postpones the stream of the events, while telling the stories of these people he goes back and forth; but eventually you are impatient to know what happens next and keep reading. The theme of responsibility and feeling of guilt runs through most of this book: - Hector's guilt, a character escaped from some book of Dostoevsky, was to leave alone his drunk father at the pub, so the same night he fell down in the canal and died drowned. In my opinion this event will change forever the rest of Hector's life. Hector eventually meets someone to be happy: Dora, a woman no wanted by anyone (as Liza or Sonya in Dostoevsky); but something will stop this happiness. "He (Hector) felt he might like to be adopted away, too. (...) in a circumstance in which he would have no responsibilities except for some strenuous job or chores." p. 151 - June, ("a dusty little moon" p. 111), despite her willing of life, only once found her sickness undertsands why she has lost her son: "you could never love someone out of his nature, love someone out of his fate." p. 244 And when June was a child running away from the war, decided to climb atop a crowed train where, after an accident, her sibling dies. These 'wrong' decisions will be mate of June's life. - Sylvie's feeling of guilt came from her willing of mercy and her beloved book Battle of Solferino by Dunant which inspired the creation of the Red Cross; but mercy and compassion have limits, as Reverend Tanner teaches to his wife Sylvie. Lee seems to tells us that the Fate has lost somewhere these people; or the questions 'Could you change your destiny?', or "Could one ever reroot her own ... self?" p. 395, they have no answer.
tloeffler on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It¿s 1950, and June is an orphan, trying to escape with her younger siblings from the devastations of the Korean War. She is found by Hector Brennan, a former soldier, who takes her to the orphanage where he works. From here, the story fast-forwards to 1986, where June, now a wealthy antiques dealer, is dying from cancer. She sells everything she owns, and hires a private investigator to find her son Nicholas, who left home years ago, and also to find Hector. Her plan is to go to her son and see him once again before she dies, and she decides that she wants Hector to go with her. The Surrendered travels back and forth from the days at the orphanage to the search for Nicholas. The Reverend Ames Tanner and his wife Sylvie come to oversee the orphanage, and the relationships between June, Hector and Sylvie set up the basis of both stories: the current story and the past story. Eventually we learn the past history of all three, and we watch the avalanche gain momentum as it crashes to the ground.This is a very intense book, and although I found it well-written, it wasn¿t compelling until almost the very end. I didn¿t really like any of the characters, and the disposition of every woman Hector loved became extremely tiresome. I had to talk myself into reading it each night, until the last 100 pages, which I read in one fell swoop. I can¿t say that I hated, or even disliked the book, but it¿s hard to say that I liked it either.
lindawwilson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An incoherent book that jumps from character to character in flashbacks weaving an unconvincing tale that throws all sorts of tragedies together-war, fire, strange relationships and that do not ring true, cancer, drugs, alcohol, sex etc. The characters are all seriously depraved. I do not recommend the book.
brittltt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Surrendered is a book that is full of life, love and death. Every character has experienced some sort of loss through war. In the story, the main characters June, Sylvie and Hector are all left completely on their own and find themselves blindly reaching out for, if not love, then some sort of redemption and acceptance. The tragedy of the book is that no one completely finds it. The only way they are saved is through their own death. The surrendered was beautifully written with heartwrenching imagery. Lee was remorseless in writing this novel, keeping nothing at bay and showing the reader the stark reality of life. Lee put this story in the center and aftermath of the Korean War. War brings out the worst in humanity as a whole and creates a stunning backdrop for the emotions of the heart, but I truly believe that this story could have been told just as effectively without the aid of war and destruction. What I found beautiful and compelling about the Surrendered is that Lee accurately depicted what lies deep within our hearts in various forms (fear, guilt of some kind, love, passion, obsession). Hector was by far the most interesting character in that Lee created an immortal being. For some unknown crime that he had committed in the past it seems that the author was forcing him to live forever acting as a witness to the demise of all the other main characters. Lee first alluded to Hector¿s myth-like status in his name¿not giving him the name of a divine god but the name of a hero who was immortal only in the shape of his name. Hector was rightly named in that his predecessor seemed to be cursed with death and war, except Hector¿s predecessor is given the gift of death, while Hector remains. Throughout the book, Lee tells of Hector¿s reckless and often times dangerous habits¿habits that in real life no one would be able to survive, but Hector does in a very magical way. What is even more heartbreaking is the tragedy that surrounds Hector¿death follows every being that Hector comes to care for. I think it would have been very interesting if Lee had made allusions to death himself when describing Hector. Lee is such an imaginative and creative writer that he would have come up with something both eerie and beautiful. The only character who actually struggles for life is June. Orphaned by the Korean War, June never stops fighting for more time, even if she is the only one left to experience it. Even though she is cold and sometimes cruel, I couldn¿t keep from sympathizing and aching for what she had experienced at such a young age.
libsue on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hector Brennan, June Han and Sylvie Tanner are ruined human beings all trying to live life one footstep at a time. The three come together just after the Korean war in an orphanage in Korea. Can love take hold withing hearts destroyed by suffering and loss?
kidzdoc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This powerful novel of the horrors of war and the sorrows of love takes place in Manchuria during the Japanese occupation, war torn Korea, and NYC and Italy in the mid 1980s. June (Han) Singer is nearing the end of her unsuccessful battle with stomach cancer. She has survived the horrors of the Korean War, including the loss of her entire family and those whom she loved the most, and her unyielding determination, combined with a necessary streak of meanness, allowed her to become a successful antiques dealer in New York City. She refuses to die until she finds her only son, who is traveling throughout Europe but has not contacted her in several months. She learns that he is in trouble, and seeks the help of Hector Brennan, a handsome womanizer and alcoholic who rescued the teenaged June while he was stationed in Korea. Their lives remained connected during the years that Hector worked at the orphanage that housed June, which was run by the Reverend Tanner and his wife Sylvie. The impossible and tragic love that the flawed Sylvie, the handsome Hector and the fiery June share consumes all of them, and continues to affect their lives years later when June and Hector meet, for the last time.I found The Surrendered to be a captivating novel, although one key incident in the story was a bit incredulous, and Hector's character and actions were difficult for me to understand and appreciate. This is a very good novel about isolation, identity and memory in the midst of war and unfulfilled love, and is definitely a recommended read.
billiondollarpr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a very well written book. I think this will become a classic. It is not an easy book to read. It is about tradgedy and hardship and how 3 lives are entertwined. This book is for people who enjoy a serious read.
gordsellar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lee has not only a great talent, but well-honed skill with words... but I'm afraid I had a lot of trouble convincing myself to pick the book up again and read more. Maybe it's just me, but I had a lot of trouble suspending my disbelief and going along with some of the things Lee wrote: one character in particular is very difficult to believe in, and the unrelenting bleakness was, well... it was a downer. Sad books can be great, but I struggled with why I was supposed to enjoy reading about these particular darknesses. It may just be personal.
deslivres5 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This wonderful writer had me living in various places and times - NYC/NJ/Italy in the 80s, Korea during and after the Korean War, Manchuria during WWII. I loved the writing, even though I could have done without the graphic violence expected during war years. I loved the character of Hector; I wish I knew a bit more of June's early years after Korea which formed her later character.
Novasea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had good feelings about this book as soon as I started it. Actually..I had good feelings about it before I started it. Don't ask me why..it was just a feeling. I liked the thought of reading about three so very different characters who's lives would touch each other for almost 30 years...I was curious about a story which would span continents. I was not let down...my feelings turned out to be correct...to a degree.Surrendered...what was surrendered? June. Orphaned at 11 and left to survive on her own in the middle of the Korean War. Left to endure,witness,survive and remember untold horrors which only war can bring. Hector. An American boy who grew up too fast. A boy who assumed manhood,responsiblity,sexuality and guilt at too young an age. Hector who carries all of this with him to the battlefields of Korea.Sylvie. The only daughter of a devout missionary couple who travels the globe, under ofttimes difficult circumstances, to remote and dangerous places. Sylvie who seems at once both innocent and unusually aware. Sylvie who has her innocence violently ripped away at the age of 14.In The Surrendered, Chang-Rae Lee takes these three people,having given us glimpses of their troubled backgrounds, and puts them together in a postwar orphanage in Korea. Their interactions were complex and yet at the same time predictable. Thirty years later, Hector and June are again together. Lee gives us even more insight into what transpired at the orphanage. He gives us more insight into why each character acts and reacts as he or she does. At the end of The Surrendered I sat and pondered about whether or not my initial feelings about the book were in fact correct. Was this a good read? I had swayed throughout the reading of the book from being enthralled to being bored. I was often tempted to set it aside..and yet would pick it up again. It came to me that the story,for me, was not just one of three people who met under adverse conditions during a war and impacted each other's lives...it was a story of three individuals who's lives were impacted by circumstances. Not just by immediate circumstances but by the circumstances of the past as well as circumstances of the future. And how violent,excessive, horrific events in our early lives can be so forceful that we carry the effects of these events with us forever. Even if we do not realize that we are carrying them...even if we appear to have survived...did we really? What if who we really meant to be was lost...what if was surrendered...in order to survive?June, Hector and Sylvie are the surrendered.
MeditationesMartini on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My laptop battery is going to die any second! I thought this was smart and sensitive and not sensationalistic and made you care about the characters, although there was this one incident in the middle that was just a fridge too far belief wise and almost, but not quite, sunk the whole thing. Recommended!