Surviving Ice: A Novel

Surviving Ice: A Novel

by K. A. Tucker

Paperback

$17.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Surviving Ice: A Novel 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While not my favorite book in the series I still loved this story. I liked seeing the different sides of Ivy and just adored Sebastian. K.A. Tucker has yet to disappoint me.
WhatsBeyondForks More than 1 year ago
Surviving Ice is the fourth book in the Burying Water series by K.A. Tucker. I started this series late, so I really need to go back and catch up on the first two books. This isn't a series you need to read in order though. Each book stands alone. Ivy is a tough cookie. She doesn't take crap from anyone, and she guards her emotions. Sebastian is a tough, loner too. His work and past has pushed him in a direction I don't think even he expected. Putting these two together was an adventure. They are a lot alike, yet they each have their own voice. Meaning, their perspectives don't blend together. They stand alone as characters. These characters have depth and layers.You learn more about them the more you read. The action starts from the get go, plus the chemistry between Ivy and Sebastian made this book super hard to put down. The ARC of Surviving Ice was kindly provided to me by the publisher for review. The opinions are my own.
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
Just when I thought that K.A. Tucker’s Burying Water series couldn’t get any better, along came Surviving Ice. I made a silent (okay, not so silent) plea for Sebastian (the male lead) to make me swoon…and let me tell you…did.he.ever. Surviving Ice by K.A. Tucker follows a super talented tattoo artist, Ivy, who was never one to settle in one place. Jumping around all over the world, Ivy was surprised to find that she was ready to settle down in San Francisco with the uncle who got her love for tattoo artistry started. But Ivy finds herself sucked into a world of secrets and death when she unwillingly witnesses the murder of her uncle…and she doesn’t have any information on who the murderers were or why they went after her uncle. Ivy now finds herself wanting to escape the horrors that she witnessed, but is forced to deal with the aftermath. Little does Ivy know that all is not what it seems, and when she finds out the truth, her whole world will get turned upside down. A call from his boss has Sebastian back in San Francisco and face to face with a firecracker Asian tattoo. Sebastian has a mission, retrieve a video tape that has information that could incriminate his place of work. All he has to do is find the tape and give it back to his boss. Sounds easy enough. Not so much. When his target has zero knowledge of this tape or information leading to the tape, his “target” slowly becomes someone that he wants to protect…no matter what the cost. I love Ivy’s character. An independent Asian with a kickass attitude and doesn’t take crap from anyone. She is a character that I have been waiting for, and props to author K.A. Tucker for making her come alive in the pages of Surviving Ice. What I thoroughly enjoyed was watching the walls that Ivy has put up, slowly come down, all with the help of a sexy ex-Navy Seal named Sebastian. I also loved the character of Sebastian. Sexy, hot, and protective, and allllllllllllll man. He exudes sex appeal and it totally oozed off the pages. The interactions between Sebastian and Ivy were addictive, and had moments of humor. I had a good laugh with Sebastian and his thoughts on papercuts. I didn’t think that author K.A. Tucker would be able to pull off yet another amazing read, but she did folks! I absolutely love her writing. I love her characters (main and the secondary characters). I love the storylines and the twists in the plot that she expertly writes. I don’t think there’s anything that I DON’T love. And the men…ehrmagherd the men. They keep getting hotter and hotter! If you’re looking for a book that will have you swooning and laughing, Surviving Ice by K.A. Tucker is the one for you. If you’re a fan of the Burrowing Water series, you definitely do NOT want to miss out on this one.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Posted on: Brandi Breathes Books Blog Disclaimer: I received this book as an ARC (advanced review copy) for free. I am not paid for this review, and my opinions in this review are mine, and are not effected by the book being free. I wanted to read Surviving Ice because I have enjoyed the other books in the Burying Water series, as well as Tucker's Ten Tiny Breaths series. I like her hot romances, and characterization. Ivy is a wanderer and is just thinking about putting down some roots when she witnesses a crime and she is all of the sudden scared and wanting to leave again. But she has obligations and she feels the responsibility to help handle some of the fall out after losing her mentor and friend. Sebastian is on the other end of the spectrum, and Ivy has no idea what he knows and what he is after when they meet and he seems to connect with her. Their romance may or may not survive what the other knows and what they don't know is in fact hurting the other. It was hard to see when Ivy didn't know things abut Sebastian, and that he is having to lie to her or tell half truths. But they had so much chemistry and in a short amount of time found themselves depending on the other and entertaining thoughts of settling down where such things didn't really cross their minds before. It was a nice read and the mystery figuring out how Ned was involved and if Sebastian is going to have to push his morals in order to do his job. Source: netgalley Disclaimer: I received this book as an ARC (advanced review copy). I am not paid for this review, and my opinions in this review are mine, and are not effected by the book being free. Bottom Line: Nice chemistry and premise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book_Bite_Reviews More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Surviving Ice. The tension between Ivy and Sebastian was super interesting and super believable. That is what I love about K.A. Tucker stories. They are always so genuine and realistic. It's like you're reading about real people. It never feels made up or like it could never happen. They always hook me and it is always so hard to put them down. I am so happy that I got the chance to read this, and I can't wait to read the others in the series! If you haven't read anything by K.A. Tucker yet, climb out of your rock and grab one of her books, because they are all amazing!
twimom101 More than 1 year ago
Ivy has never been one to put down roots. So when her winds up murdered, her first instinct is to run. But first she has to ready the tattoo shop and his home to sale. Then walks in trouble disguised as a client. Sebastian is there for a job. Find a video tape and clear up any loose ties. Soon he finds out that this job is different than all the others. For the first time ever he is questioning his boss and the reasons behind this hit. Then moment he meets Ivy he knew he met trouble. Such an amazing book! I am so very glad to have followed all the books in this series from the start, but I seem to have found a great fondness for this one especially. I cannot quite put my finger on the whys, just that I adored it. Maybe it was the mystery that surrounds the murder of Ivy's uncle. Maybe it was the suspense that seemed to radiate off the pages. Or it could very well be the attachment I found with these characters. How about all of the above! Sebastian comes walking in from the start, absolutely oozing charm. So much so, that Ivy is willing to forget her independent ways. Even the readers will be panting over him and loving every square inch of his....great personality. ;) But seriously, I was in awe of the man and the mystery surrounding him and his occupation. It made for an interesting read. And had me eagerly flipping through the pages. And that suspense I mentioned earlier? I was in wow. Just when you think that the plot is finishing up, we are struck with the realization that their trouble might not be over with. That the real stress may just be starting. How will everything work out when there doesn't seem to be a way? Mercy! The tension is high in this one. I loved Ivy from the last book, CHASING RIVER. She was fun and feisty even then; more so now that we get her story. I enjoyed her bristly exterior but loved seeing it all chip away for Sebastian. It helped me really get to know her and love her all the more. And when she and Sebastian are together I was gaga over them. Together they are an amazing pair. I have complete and utter love for them both. Wonderful, amazing, beautiful, fierce book! SURVIVING ICE is a definite page turner, a keep you up late into the night kind of book. 5 Stars!
mjlovestoread More than 1 year ago
If Surviving Ice has to be the last in the amazing Burying Water series, I can't think of a better story-line to finish out this journey. Once again, K.A. Tucker has given us her all and written a book that completely got under my skin. Somehow she continues to create characters that are gloriously unique and true and gives them the narrative they deserve. Ivy Lee, with her no-nonsense attitude is the perfect match for Sebastian Ryker. Both don't have time for, nor desire anything more than easy and uncomplicated. Sebastian's sudden arrival at the door of her recently-departed Uncle's tattoo shop Black Rabbit, is the start of what will prove to be hard and very complicated. Something both try to avoid at all costs. Yet the sparks fly almost immediately and you just know these two stubborn fools are going to create a fire neither one will want to extinguish. What is so damn wonderful about this book and the others that preceded it, is that not only do you get a gorgeous love story, but a very engaging and thrilling mystery underneath. Sebastian lives a secret life working for a 'security' firm, performing dangerous missions with the intent to protect. His meeting Ivy is no accident and he soon learns that the 'botched' robbery at Black Rabbit has far-reaching consequences he never dreamed possible. As his world starts to unwind and collide quickly with Ivy's, it's a wonder these two even have a chance. Ivy. What a phenomenal heroine. I loved that she 'got' Sebastian. Each keeping their thoughts, their secrets, their desires to themselves. She never pushed him to open up. She respected that he did the same for her. Ivy Lee is one tough cookie and watching her 'man-handle' everyone from bikers to her former Navy seal was a sight to see! She can disarm even the most stoic of men. Her vulnerability was always there and as hard as she fought to keep it hidden, I loved that Sebastian was allowed to discover it. He is just as vulnerable and together they simply fit. And Sebastian. Clearly the silent type, he just couldn't let the spitfire, the feisty Ivy leave his thoughts. Even when he knew he should. Taking a path that his heart had long forgotten, it was beautiful to watch as his walls started to crumble. How his 'ice' started to melt. A man of few words whose actions always spoke loud enough for Ivy to hear them. This is not a lovey-dovey kind of couple and in fact, no 'I Love You's' are ever uttered. Yet you know the emotion is alive and well. That Ivy and Sebastian work together in their own special way and it doesn't bother them if others don't get it. They do and that's all that matters. It's sometimes hard to review a book like this without giving it all away so I will just say, go and read it. Get lost in the masterful words that only K.A. Tucker can produce. It's an adventure like no other. Each book is related in some way to the first and you get to visit with familiar friends throughout the series. A fitting farewell to a crew that I have embraced warmly and will miss dearly. A huge 5+++ stars and highly recommended.
Sophia-Rose1 More than 1 year ago
Well, if you're going to end a series, end it with a huge cymbal rattling bang. With this series, I was never sure who was getting their story next. But once the blurb came out on this one, I was anticipation itself. Ivy was that character that was a jarring note since the moment she was on the scene in the first book. Ivy is Ivy and one in a million. I couldn't figure her out so getting her story and her perspective was like being handled a treasure trove to delve through. And if Ivy's story came from a hero that was equal to such a person and the situation was tension-wrought and dire? So, this was book four in the Burying Water series. It can be read as a standalone just as the others before it. Some of the characters and references are recurring, but the plot thread is new and trust me, Ivy was a mystery even though she has been around since book one. The story opens with Ivy now living in San Francisco with her crusty uncle and working with him in his tattoo parlor, Black Rabbit. He is tough to love, but then so is she. That said, Ivy does love Ned and for once is considering putting down roots. Then her world goes up in flames when Ned is murdered and Ivy is there hidden in the back to hear and see enough to leave her shaken. Her tough girl persona sees her through some of it, but she is definitely in over her head. That is, until she lets a near stranger past her defenses and trusts Sebastian to help her and so much more even though she knows he is keeping deep, dark secrets. Sebastian has been a contract killer since he left the military, but still doing the job of keeping people safe through his work. His handler is a man who is like a father to him so when Bentley calls him back to the States for a delicate job, he doesn't hesitate. But from the moment he hears the assignment and sees the file, he is uneasy. Bentley isn't his usual self either. Retrieve the compromising tape and clean up any loose strings including the blackmailer's niece. Sebastian goes into the assignment like any other and won't let Bentley rush him. He recons Ivy Lee and all the places Ned might have hidden the tape. He isn't convinced Ivy knows anything more than what the police think- a robbery gone bad or something to do with the local motorcycle club. He gets close to her and soon feels an unwanted attraction to the prickly independent woman who reminds him of himself the way she seals everything off behind her indifferent facade. Sebastian must keep Ivy from learning the truth even while finding the tape to get Bentley and the two bruisers he has sent in besides Sebastian off her back. He now wonders if he might be able to lay his ghosts to rest and come home. This was a humdinger of a story. It grabbed me in and wouldn't let go from the first chapter. I think I only put it down once. Whether it was the suspense situation, the intriguing characters, or the even more intriguing romance, I was hooked. Ivy is the key in this one. She is one tough woman. If she were a plant she'd be a cactus. She's all bristly and painful to touch on the outside, but soft and vulnerable on the inside. She makes any overtures toward her a hard fought thing. Only the few and strong get past her guard to the real Ivy underneath. The average person probably wouldn't put the time in with someone like her. Fortunately, Sebastian isn't average. He has gone through so much that it sucked the life out of his soul. He understands Ivy on a
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.