Sweet-Loving Cowboy: A Kinky Spurs Novel

Sweet-Loving Cowboy: A Kinky Spurs Novel

by Stacey Kennedy

Paperback

$20.80 $20.99 Save 1% Current price is $20.8, Original price is $20.99. You Save 1%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sweet-Loving Cowboy: A Kinky Spurs Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
BuckeyeAngel 3 months ago
Harper McKinney finished culinary school with big dreams. Right now, she’s a bartender at Kinky Spurs. While she’s content with her life, her brother is determined that she make a name for herself, because he wants her far away from what he deems a trashy bar. But Harper refuses to go anywhere. She’s in love with her brother’s best friend, Chase Blackshaw, and that love is keeping her in River Rock. After the death of Chase’s father, he’s the one responsible for running the construction of the Blackshaw Cattle Company’s guest ranch. Back in the day, he had dreams of opening a construction company, but lack of finances kept him working for the family’s cattle ranch. Now with the responsibility of his family’s guest ranch on his shoulders those dreams seem far away. Though he has bigger problems. His build is failing the inspections. Now Chase has more trouble on his hands. Harper, the woman he’s forbidden to ever touch has decided to move to Las Vegas. She isn’t so little anymore, and Chase is finding her all too tempting. She’s also not shy about what she wants. Him. Naked. And giving her some sweet lovin’ in all the kinky ways he craves. But neither Chase nor Harper can anticipate the fate that awaits them if they dare give in to their desires, as Chase soon learns there is something far worse than not being able to live out his dreams. It’s being given the chance to live out his dreams but having to watch Harper lose hers. This was a pretty good story with plenty of steam and heart. I really loved both Harper and Chase as well as the other characters in the story. This read pretty quickly as I followed them on their journey. I recommend. **I voluntarily read and reviewed this book
DarGee More than 1 year ago
This book is so appropriately titled! Chase is so amazingly sweet, and Harper is his perfect match. While they handle what life has dealt them, they make an investable team. The ties they have with their families only makes them stronger. And there's a puppy too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really++good++story++
Cheryl-S More than 1 year ago
This is book 2 in the Kinky Spurs series and it features Chase and Harper. Phew! These Blackshaw brothers really know what they’re doing. Bring the fire extinguishers because the looks Chase gives Harper are hot enough to set the sheets on fire! There are A LOT of bedrooms scenes in this book and it probably could have done with a few less. I’m not complaining though because this author knows how to write them. The little bit of mystery was great and unexpected. I loved Harper’s relationship with Brody. This is a great story line with fabulous characters and I can’t wait for book 3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gotta+love+those+cowboys%2C+so+full+of+heart%21
Boundinwords More than 1 year ago
I love strong women, alpha men, and overprotective brothers. Sweet puppies, good friends, and family. And some yummy kink to get the motor running. I highly recommend.
belllla More than 1 year ago
The second book from the kinky spurs series is best friend sister story and in this Harper and Chase. find their HEA. I was not so impressed with this one, the first was way better. The story did not convince me. All of the sudden after coming from college she has a major crush on Chase it doesn't seem that she had a crush before. For me was also a bit funny that Chase also had kinky checkbox but it would be good that we read a sentence about his intimate life. For me, there was also in the story too much of sex. The story ok, nothing very remarkable like the first one so I have hope expectation on the last brother and his story with Megan. I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
JoannaDursi More than 1 year ago
(3.5-3.75 stars) With this return to Kinky Spurs we get Harper and Chase’s story. Harper is off limits to Chase because she is his best friend’s sister. Even though Chase and Brody have been friends since they were kids, Harper is few years younger and never really got close to Chase. That all changes when she returns home from culinary school. As they start spending time together, their relationship grows, as does their attraction to each other. On the verge of Harper leaving town to follow a life long dream in Vegas, they finally give in and throw caution to the wind during her last week in town. In this installment I did feel more of a connection between the characters and loved the fact that while focusing on the development of their relationship, the author also has them struggling with their own separate hurdles. I would have liked a bit more out of the epilogue and hope to get a bit more of them in the next book. I am really looking forward to Megan and Nash’s book. Just from the snippets we’ve gotten I think these two are going to be explosive and I am looking forward to getting inside Nash’s head.
Nini12563 More than 1 year ago
I loooooooooooooved this story. Chase and Harper. They finally get their chance to be with each other. Great story line. I looked forward to this story after reading Dirty Talking Cowboy. Now, I can't wait for Hard Riding Cowboy!
etoile1996 More than 1 year ago
book two in the kinky spurs trilogy has middle brother chase finding his forever with his best friend's little sister, harper. they have to work for it though. when the novel opens, harper is on the verge of leaving town to fulfill her las vegas dreams of opening her own restaurant. chase, realizing she's committed to leaving, can't let her go without first indulging in the chemistry they've been hiding from. he's been raised to put others dreams before his, and this noble streak is a core part of his character. i really love stories where the conflict isn't about whether or not the characters love each other, but more about how will the characters love each other and make things work. that's what we have in sweet-loving cowboy. figuring out what they really want of life and how to get it is what stymies both harper and chase, but when they figure it all out, it's so deeply satisfying. **sweet loving cowboy will publish on october 9, 2018. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/st. martin's press (swerve) in exchange for my honest review.
astroyic More than 1 year ago
Sexy & Satisfying! I am so in love with this Book. It was Fantastic. From the first chapter, I felt myself beginning to fall. Everything about this storyline and the characters captivated me. Get your fire extinguisher ready because “Sweet-Loving Cowboy” is Hot and satisfying. Chase and Harper are delicious together. Their personalities, their conversations, their intense hunger and instant, explosive, raging sexual chemistry is ... my, my, my! I was a goner charmed beyond words. Stacey Kennedy knows how to capture and set the hearts of her readers on fire. She is an excellent writer with books that ooze heartfelt and sexy goodness. This was delicious. This has all the things I live for in Romance. Don’t miss this Sexy, Fun and Entertaining, Romance that will melt your heart .... and other things. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Lorizen More than 1 year ago
Love this series. Kinky Spurs in the local bar cold beer, good food and cowboys. Harper McKinney has been home from culinary school in Denver for 9 months. She's been working at Kinky Spurs which her friend Megan owns and is set to take off to Las Vegas to pursue her dream as a chef. For right now, she's slinging brews and crushing on Chase Blackshaw. Now is a good time to say if you haven't read book one, you'll be glad you did. Gives you a great backstory on the 3 brothers. After pulling the family ranch out of disaster they're well on their way to the grand opening of a working guest ranch. Cabins are done, courtesy of Chase who has his own construction business and is just starting out. This project is important to him in so many ways. He's best friends with Brody, Harper's brother and has sworn some sort of man pledge not to interfere with Harper's "dream" plan which is to go to LV and open her own restaurant. Brody is OTT overprotective, obnoxiously so and got on my nerves a couple times. It's obvious that Chase and Harper are interested in each other and finally at the 3 month mark, Harper starts pouring it on. Chase just picked up the ball recently, only after promising his left kidney to Brody he would not stop Harper from leaving. Harper and Chase were really a great couple. I loved them. Add to this is a sweet little puppy they rescued. Chase was an over thinker and Harper is a little more light. They make each other happy and burn down the house in the bedroom. Or wherever the mood hits them. There's a lot going on in this story, Chase can't get the cabins to pass inspection which has him flat on his face. Nash is Nash and still busting Megan's chops when he can. Emma and Shep are happy and everyone is working hard to get the new ranch off the ground. With yet another failure to pass inspection and Harper's impending departure Chase is all sixes and sevens. But the man has focus. The time Harper spends with Chase brings her to a crossroads about her decision to leave and has her rethinking her life. Brody has made some changes in his life as well. Brody is prickly. That's all I'm going to say. Several criss crosses in the storyline with everything that is going on but it all flows so well, no worries there. This book has a great story line and the characters I love. I can't wait for Nash's book. He's the youngest of the 3 and home to help on the ranch. He's got a thing for bar owner Megan. Can't wait to see those two spar. Great story Stacey! Loved it.
carvanz More than 1 year ago
Harper has always had big Vegas dreams and a plan to get her there. However, when she returns home and sees her brother’s best friend Chase again for the first time in years, she revises her plan to allow the possibility of testing the waters with him. Unfortunately, Chase is aware of her dreams and refuses to be the reason she doesn’t fulfill them. But when the clock begins to tick down, they make the decision to explore the chemistry that is a living breathing thing between them. This was a very charming story that had a lot more depth to it than what I anticipated. While the “brother’s best friend” trope is in effect, it’s not in regards to Chase’s past decisions of his relationships with women. Harper’s brother has seen life steal everything away from her and now that it’s right within her grasp he is determined that she attain it. While Harper enjoys her time with Chase, she begins to question the origins of her dream life and what she discovers is really the heart of what this story is about. I was especially pleased by the process that she went through to get to her final decision. This is a relatively quick book with a ton of heat and yes, even some kinkiness as well as incredible characters that added to the overall enjoyment of the story. The hero and heroine are both extremely likable and while Chase is a total alpha male, he’s also sweet and kind and wants what Harper wants, even if it ends up breaking his heart. Harper was smart and strong and even when she realized she had strong feelings for Chase, she didn’t allow that to deter her from her plans. I actually respected her all the more for not allowing her feelings for a man to sway her. Overall, this was a very enjoyable read containing more heart and soul than the title, cover and blurb lead you to expect. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book provided by NetGalley and St. Martin's Press. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Deb_from_Oz More than 1 year ago
The three Blackshaw brothers have inherited the family ranch and cattle business but they have also inherited a tonne of debt this is the second brother Chance's story. Chance doesn't really want to work on the ranch he actually wants to start his own construction company and building the new guest cabins on the ranch is his first major job. While he is working on the job he goes each evening for a drink and meal at the local bar "The Kinky Spurs". Harper McKinney the younger sister of his best friend Brody is working there after finishing culinary school. She dreams of working under a famous mento in Las vegas and it is within her grasp, but he is starting to rethink her plans. She is attracted to Chance and the feeling is mutual but he won't make a move and take her dreams from her but when he finds she has bought her ticket to leave he decides that maybe they should have a few days to remember one another by and that's when things go off the rails he fails a building inspection they inherit a special needs pup and he finds he can't let Harper go Will they have any chance or are they destined for heartbreak you will need to read to see what happens to this star crossed pair Overall a great read with a little bot of kink a lot of steam and some really sweet oents a book that give something for everyone an absolute pleasure to read
Bookbytch5 More than 1 year ago
Saddle Up were going back to Kinky Spurs again, This is Chase and Harper story. OMG this is one scorching HOT story. Chase is the middle brother Harper is his best-friend Brody litte sister. They both have dreams, Chase wants to start his construction and Harper wants to open a restaurant in Vegas. Plus they have explosive chemistry also throw in the most adorable puppy called Houdini, Thats it not saying any more with out give to much of the story away. Bring on Nash and Megan story let me just say there banter and the sexual tension between them is off the hook. Its a must read, I received an advance reader copy from NetGalley.
PennieM More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness! This is one sweet, hot, dirty-talking, alpha, kinky when he wants to be, and all around too good to be true (and for his own sake) cowboy who has finally stopped waiting for what (or should I say who) he wants. Did he really think only a week would ever be enough and he would be able to let her go? Harper has waited for 9 months for Chase to make his move since she came back to town and now she has a week left before she is moving to Vegas and all bets are off. Even her brother cannot keep them apart. Add in an abandoned puppy and watch everything twist and turn. This was one wild ride watching them come to grips but was so much fun. When these cowboys fall, they fall hard! I cannot wait to see Nash get his come to Jesus moment in the next installment! Definitely a recommendation from me! **Received this ARC for review from the publisher via NetGalley**
UpAllNightBB More than 1 year ago
5 Stars Review by Elizabeth Late Night Reviewer Up All Night w/ Books Blog Stacey Kennedy really knows how to capture a reader's attention. From the moment I started Sweet Loving Cowboy, I was entranced! I finished the book in two hours because it was so good!! Chase and Harper have beat around the bush, so to speak, for months now. Chase is someone that is off limits to Harper because he is best friends with her brother, Brody. When Chase discovers Harper is moving he decides to let his attraction be known. With only one week together, no strings, how will they both avoid heartbreak? I loved the dynamic between all the characters, especially Chase and Harper. Their chemistry is present right from the start and you wonder when those two will hit the sheets. I also loved the bond Harper shares with her brother, Brody. Brody is very protective of Harper and wants all of her dreams to come true. Sweet Love Cowboy, is really a sweet read. I loved the friends to lovers aspect of the book. There was just the right amount of sex, sass, drama, and laughter. Stacey has really outdone herself with this book and I am looking forward to reading the next installment to the series. Sweet Loving Cowboy can be read as a standalone! The characters are present in all the books of the series but each book is about a different couple.
Karina More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this second book in the Kinky Spurs series by Ms Kennedy. Chase and Harper are two people who are very much attracted to one another. The two have been trying not to act on their attraction. Mostly because of Brody who is Harper's brother and Chase's best friend. Harper does not want to come between them and Chase has been warned by Brody to stay away from Harper. The two however can not do hat and soon find themselves spending a week together before Harper moves away. A lot happens in a week and soon the two can not seem to say goodbye. Harper has always wanted to go to Las Vegas and make a name for herself as a chef. Chase has a new business he is trying to establish as well as help his brothers and mother reinvent the Blackshaw Ranch name to become a place people want to come to. This book will keep you at the edge of your seat wanting to know what will happen next. We get to see what has been going on with Shep and Emma from book one and we also get a sneak peek into the love hate relationship of Nash and Megan who book three is about. I loved this book and the HEA was great! I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
For some time now Chase Blackshaw has wanted more than friendship with Harper McKinney, but he has kept that little secret tucked away, because of a promise he made to her brother a few years ago. His best friend noticed his interest in her and warned him off, asking him to give her time to follow her dreams of being a chef, which he did, and it took her away to culinary school for a while. But now she has returned home and has started working at a local bar, and Chase is itching to finally make her his... but once again her brother throws up another roadblock to keep them apart. And as much as he wants to be with her, he can't help but want to do right by his friend too. So they continue to circle around one another, both knowing there is a connection there, and both knowing it could land them in a heap of trouble. Just when Chase decides it might be time to clue her in to his true feelings for her, she gets handed a opportunity of a lifetime in Vegas, which means she will be leaving him all over again... Sweet-Loving Cowboy has the perfect blend of everything needed for a great toe-curling romance story, it's emotional, erotic, with a touch of sweet! I thoroughly enjoyed my time with these two, their forbidden romance generated lots of angst and feels, my heart was on overdrive throughout the pages, one minute it was feeling the love, and the next it was feeling the squeeze of torment. This beautifully crafted story line pulled me right in, and had me never wanting to say goodbye to these wonderful characters, they were SO good for my heart! I highly recommend this series, these Blackshaw brothers should not be missed, their stories bring some serious heat and heart!! I requested an advanced copy of this title from the publisher, via NetGalley, and I am voluntarily leaving my honest opinion.
MaryJoMI More than 1 year ago
Sigh, the Blackshaw brothers are that perfect blend of cocky Alpha male and cowboy. Chase is working hard to build the guest ranch to save the family ranch and trying not to pursue Harper, his best friend’s sister. When Harper decides she is moving on to Vegas to pursue her career as a chef, he finally gives in and decides to take the few days they have left. Harper had an immediate connection to Chase when she returned home from school but she could tell Chase was fighting it. When one night a whimper from the dumpster brings the two together, all bets are off. Now, can Harper really walk away from River Rock. Or has she finally found what has been missing in her life? Love Brody being the protective older brother. I also love the bond between all 3 Blackshaw brother’s and the group of friends they have built. I voluntarily read an ARC of this book and this is my honest review.
AboutThatStory More than 1 year ago
This was so incredibly sweet and sexy. I had a lot of fun reading it and thought it was really entertaining. The Blackshaw brothers totally do it for me! I thought Chase and Harper were great and I loved their attraction. I loved their growing feelings and their electric chemistry. I enjoyed watching Harper work through her struggles and figure out what she wants to do in life and how Chase was there for her. Chase was a total sweetheart and made me melt. He had his own dilemmas happening and I felt for him but loved that he could find comfort in Harper. Together they were super sexy. There was a whole lot of sweet happening but there was a nice mix of emotion as well. I thought it had a nice balance. I enjoyed the secondary characters. The Blackshaw brothers are their own brand of charming. I liked the male bonding moments immensely, I'm a sucker for that. I also loved Harper’s relationship with her brother. I thought that was really sweet. There were a lot of great moments throughout that had me smiling. I loved the story and details and thought there was good character development. I really liked that there were a few other stories woven in and thought it all worked together well. This was just sweet and fun, full of goodness and made me happy to read. There's a nice bit of light drama mixed into their growing relationship that kept things lively and moving along. This was just a great solid read with likable characters that made me smile. It was an excellent friends to lovers story. They were just so genuine, sweet, and sexy, and I really enjoyed it. Complimentary copy received for honest review.
TerryL56 More than 1 year ago
Harper is Chase’s best friend’s little sister and even though she was off limits, Chase wanted her. After Harper came home from culinary school, she waited 9 months for Chase to make his move. She finally decided she would get on with her life and move to Vegas to work under a great chef. Something in Chase snaps when he hears that Harper is moving to Vegas in a week and he finally makes his move. Harper and Chase make a deal that they will spend every night together before she moves and then go their separate ways. But sometimes things don’t go as planned. I loved that fact that Chase was putting her dreams (moving to Vegas and becoming a great chef) over him wanting her ... that just made him my hero. And when Harper and Chase rescued the puppy from the dumpster ... my heart melted. I’m still laughing at Nash’s dog (Gus) ... I had a dog like that once - only then it wasn’t so funny. This is a funny romance with lots of steam! A great addition to the Kinky Spurs Series. I can’t wait for Nash and Megan’s story. I received an ARC courtesy of St. Martin’s Press through NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
Blackshaw Cowboys know how to win a heart. Chase sets out to win his best friend's kid sister. Harper McKinney has a dream to open a restaurant in Las Vegas and not stay in her hometown. Chase's father's passing has left the family in debt and in danger of loosing their ranch. Kinky Spurs is a bar that pairs food, drink, and wild roping entertainment. As her in between job after graduation from college; Harper works the bar at Kinky Spurs while fitting in longing looks with Chase. This is the second in the Kinky Spurs series and can be read as a stand alone but why miss the romance the Blackshaw brothers create. "A copy of this book was provided by author and St. Martin's Press via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. Comments here are my honest opinion."
Rainn2978 More than 1 year ago
This is the 2nd book in the Kinky Spurs series. You don't have to read the first book in order to understand this one but I recommend it since it does show the different relationships and how certain things in this book come to be. This one is about Harper Mckinney and Chase Blackshaw. Chase has just opened his construction company and is building the guest cabins for his family's new venture. With everything happening in his life he doesn't really need anything else to go wrong. Harper has put her dreams on hold for years after her parents passed away unexpectedly. She came back home after culinary school and waited, thinking that with the chemistry her and Chase had that maybe something might happen. But since nothing has happened, it is time for her to move on. But when Chase finds out she is leaving, he decides that it is time to have at least this time with her before she leaves. Neither realizing how much things in their lives will change. I absolutely loved this book!! Chase is most definitely a sweet man who always tries to do things for other people even when they don't ask for it. He always puts everyone first. Harper is awesome! She has an awesome attitude and definitely doesn't put up with amy crap from anyone. And together they are explosive and perfect. And after reading that epilogue, I need to read Nash's book now!!!
MBurton More than 1 year ago
I ended up liking this one more than I expected to. I'm not the biggest fan of the brothers best friend trope because almost always the hero won't go after the heroine because of the brother. I'm not really a fan of a man stepping back. I like to see the hero go after what he wants and it seems Harper feels the same way. She wants a man willing to stand up to her brother. While Chase did wait to pursue at first, it wasn't because of the brother. He waited for reasons that meant he was looking out for Harper and that endeared me to Chase in a big way. This had total angstfest written all over it, but instead we got to see Chase step up and never faltering even if their relationship had the potential of being short lived. I liked that. We got to see these two be together with no pushing away. So far this one is my favorite of the series. Of course when you throw in an adorable puppy into the storyline, it makes it that much better. Nash's story is up next and the sparks have been flying since book one. I can't wait to see what is going to make these two finally give in. ARC provided by NetGalley.