Sweetbitter

Sweetbitter

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged)

$45.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sweetbitter 2.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the NYC setting and the main character's struggle with learning the city and her high pressure job. And, the dynamics of assimilating into the restaurant culture. I liked her growth and ability to recognize and articulate changes that needed to be made in the restaurant. Not a 5 story but certainly absorbing and interesting. I ever thought not to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a bunch of nothing....could not force myself to finish. All it was was blah, blah, blah.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring. Jumps around. No idea if there is a story. Not sure I cam force myself to finish the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't wait to read ad the storyline sounded amazing but what a disappointment . Overwritten . Laborious to read... couldn't wait for it to be over (I will always read to the end).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thought I was going to read a fun inside look at being in the restaurant business, sorry, this is a snore. Could not get past 2 chapters, writer loves words but isn't a storyteller.
michelle524 More than 1 year ago
this book started out great, tess was easy to like and root for, however the last part (spring) was like a completely different book, turned into a badly written soap opera. baffling
Mirdy More than 1 year ago
Favorite novel of 2017. Perhaps I have loved reading this so much because I so want to be Tess - escaping mundane life for the big city, reckless dreams, wild nights, questionable friendships and probably the best time of her young life. The author paints a vivid and somewhat realistic landscape of a common story: a young girl packing her bags and heading to the best city in the world. What I also loved was it was not just a coming of age story, but almost a love letter to the arcane restaurant industry, especially within the terrain of NYC where the stakes are the highest. As someone never having worked in that industry but a frequent guest of fine cuisine, it was interesting to read what truly goes on behind the scenes. Yes, you grow tired of the characters, and yes the ending is a bit odd but overall I fund myself loving this read deliciously, and wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring and depressing. Don't waste your time. Hated the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want to read about drugs,alcohol, and sex with anyone who asks, read this ridiculous story about a young woman who works in a restaurant. I am an avid reader who enjoys varied types of stories, this however pushed me over the edge. This account of the restaurant industry is sad, worrisome, and questioning. After reading this boring account of life after and during service, maybe I'll eat home. Good thing I did not pay for this trash. Thanks to the NYC library overdrive app.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had high expectations for this book after seeing rave reviews online but I was left disappointed. The entire story seemed disjointed and unorganized. There isn't anything drawing you in to the characters; nothing to like about or sympathize with them. At first I thought it was going to start out as a slow read, picking up after the first couple of chapters...yeah, not the case. I ultimately had to force myself to finish the book.
juicedbooks More than 1 year ago
I'm going to come right out and say it...I think this book was a little overrated. It's based loosely on Danler's life as a waitress, but is a mostly fictional account of Tess, a lost young woman who moves to New York City. She quickly becomes trapped in a love triangle with the bartender of the restaurant she works at, Jake, and an experienced waitress, Simone. That's the gist of it, and although Danler tries to complicate matters with flowery prose and emotionally wrought descriptions, I couldn't find much more within these pages. Tess grows as a person and she feels deeply, which is touching to read. She frequently gives endless descriptions of the food and wine that are tiring and yet delightful in their rhythm. Danler writes in a style that is unique, fresh, and full of satisfaction. The one thing the beautiful writing can't cover up is the lack of depth from the story. It's unclear what Tess takes away from her experiences, if anything, and she is somewhat childish. By the end of the story, her lack of ambition is annoying and somewhat pathetic. Simone and Jake meet equally ambiguous ends. While I loved the experience of reading this book, I was left wondering why I bothered to care about the characters at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was absolutely drawn in throughout my entire reading of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt my senses awaken with her thoughtful descriptions and emotionally through out. This is an interesting read about a women in the self actualizing period of her twenties. It took me back to when I was a single waitress trying to figure it all out. I read most of it in the bath tub!
Piney10 More than 1 year ago
This book was touted to be one of the best summer reads of 2016. I also had really liked Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain on the insides of the restaurant business so I actually was looking forward to this. Perhaps Anthony Bourdain set too high of a standard but I found this book lacking in anything, boring, and disappointing. Generally this is a story of a Midwestern college educated young woman who comes to NYC to perhaps find herself and lands a job at what apparently is a top end restaurant. I understand there is a lot that goes on inside restaurants from drugs, sex, harassment, etc. However what the author hoped to achieve in this novel I found was totally lacking and disappointing. All characters were unlikeable, the protagonist in my view the most, with really no attempt to make things better. I guess I am more of an optimist but the novel depicted almost everything and everyone r in a very dark light. Very disappointing read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Depressing and terrible ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrible.....what a waste of my time. I kept waiting for something to happen.......snore.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read! First time author could hold the pretentious prose and literary references and rely more on her page-turning story, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down. Great read.
SUEHAV More than 1 year ago
Wow, what a waste of time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had me by page 1. Loved writers wit. Was very involved with characters. Felt like I was in NYC. Truly wanted it to go on forever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sensual, gripping, gritty, decadent, true. Loved it.
PBozanich More than 1 year ago
a cacophony of sensual pleasure, deftly painted by newcomer Stephanie Danler, makes this book a must-read.