Sweetest Mistake (Sweet, Texas Series #2)

Sweetest Mistake (Sweet, Texas Series #2)

by Candis Terry

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sweetest Mistake 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
ReneeEntress More than 1 year ago
My Review: 4.5 Star Review - Sweetest Mistake I recommend this book. This book includes drama, passion, and heartache. Jackson has just found out that his childhood best friend is back in town. She disappeared without a word after he went into the marines. He needs to know why. Abby is back in Sweet and fixing up her parents house so it can be sold. Her childhood best friend Jackson who she left behind when she realized he would never love her tracks her down on her first day back. She is determined that he never find out she has feeling for him as she just know that he can not return them. As the days go by everyone is throwing them together as they all know they love each other but are to stubborn it see it. Will they ever get there act together or will they keep running/pushing each other away?
Rose38 More than 1 year ago
Plot leaves you in suspense as to the ending. Enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this was a good story about the results of not communicating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waiting to read the next book about the wilder men.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully engaging story of friendship, heartache and second chances. Sweetest Mistake by Candis Terry is a fun and sexy read and everything I wanted from the Sweet, Texas series! When Abby Morgan strolls back into town intent on fixing up her parents old house and then moving on with her life, she knows she’s going to run into Jackson Wilder, she’s just hoping she can keep her distance from her old best friend. The last thing she wants is for her feelings to show through and for her to get her heart crushed…again. Easier said than done though. Jackson’s still hot as ever and determined to be in her way. Jackson has always had a thing for Abby, but has just never been able to admit it. He’s too afraid of losing his best friend when she rejects him. But she’s back in town and he just can’t seem to keep his lips to himself. Abby’s had a rough go of it since she left Sweet and Jackson is trying to help her rediscover herself and forget her jerk-of-an-ex-husband. The only problem is that he is still very attracted to her and scared to death to let her know it. While the whole town of Sweet sees that Jackson and Abby belong together, Jackson and Abby just can’t seem to get together. Is their friendship going to stand in the way of a once-in-a-lifetime kind of love? Maybe a little help from the rest of the Wilder family will help steer them in the right direction… Loved this book! The Abby and Jackson’s story was simply amazing. Their back story and chemistry made this story such a wonderful and enjoyable read. The setting of Sweet, Texas was delightful, with all the supporting characters that makes this series so much fun to read. But don’t worry, even though it’s part of a series, this is a great stand-alone read also! I loved the way that Jackson’s ex-wife was portrayed in such a wonderful light and the relationship that developed between Jackson’s daughter Izzy and Abby was heartwarming. Jackson’s mom, Jana, and brothers also helped to add a bit of humor to the story. And of course, I simply couldn’t wait for Jackson and Abby to finally find their happy ending! I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Something Sweeter. Well done Ms. Terry! Rating: 4.5 Heat Rating: Mild Reviewed by AprilP Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
Beth_R More than 1 year ago
A Sweet Treat. Candis Terry has become one of my auto-buy authors. She blends emotion and humor in a way that makes a book unputdownable or un-turnoffable if you read the e-version. This is a friends-to-lovers story at heart, but it is so much more. Jackson does not want to lose anyone else in his life, and Abby wants someone to just love her.  I laughed. I cried. I can't wait for the next  "Sweet" story. Highly recommended!
LovinLosLibros More than 1 year ago
It's official. Candis Terry is one of my favorite adult contemporary romance authors. This says a lot because I have found that adult romances are really hit or miss with me. Candis Terry is a complete hit. I really enjoyed last year's Anything But Sweet and when I saw this pop up for review, I jumped at the chance to get back to my favorite small town of Sweet, Texas and those sexy Wilder brothers. I really liked Jackson. He is a good man, a great father, and a hard worker. He is a former Marine and is now a firefighter. He not only works for the San Antonio department, but volunteers at their local station as well. Jackson is a bit of a stubborn character, though, as I'm discovering most of the Wilder men are! He doesn't always say what he feels and that tends to cause problems for him. The book starts with him realizing that his former best friend Abby has returned to town. Jackson harbors a lot of hurt feelings toward her, as she disappeared from his life seven years ago after he deployed to Afghanistan. Jackson wants answers and I can't really blame him. We learn that these two were very close and shared a lot of moments together. Not only were they each other's first kiss, but they also were each other's firsts. There's a lot of history between them and Jackson can't believe that she left without a trace and wasn't there for him after losing his brother and father. I felt bad for Abby. She, like Jackson, doesn't say what she feels either and these two end up dancing around what they really want from one another. Abby definitely made poor decisions seven years ago, but she did what she felt was the best at the time. She was trying to protect her heart from Jackson and thought leaving was the only way to do so. Now, she's back in Sweet to help get her parent's house ready to sell and Jackson Wilder comes storming back into her life. Abby left town to avoid heartbreak, but her life didn't end up quite the way she planned. Her marriage didn't work out and ended much the same way her and Jackson did. Abby is a bit lost, trying to figure out what she wants and where she wants to be. I love Abby and Jackson's chemistry. Jackson can act as blasé as he wants in regards to his feelings for her, but deep down he is just afraid of what will happen. He's known loss in his life and has also been married once before. I think he's afraid Abby will take off again and his heart wouldn't recover again. There were a few moments where I literally wanted to smack Jackson upside the head for being such an idiot with her. I'm glad Abby decided to take control and tell him how she finally felt. It was a bold move on her part, but I was cheering her on because Jackson needed to get his head out of his ass and see what he would be losing. I love that we get to see a lot of the characters from the first book in the series also. Reno and Charli show up, as does their mom Jana, who is a lot of fun and always meddling with her sons' love lives. She's a good woman and would do anything to see her boys happy. She also loves Abby and doesn't hold a grudge against Abby for leaving. We also get to see more of Jesse, Jackson's and Reno's brother, who is known to be quite the playboy. I'm really looking forward to his story next because there's a lot more to Jesse than people think. We also get to see Jackson interact with his daughter Izzy and it will absolutely melt your heart. He's a great dad and loves his daughter to pieces. He is on good terms with his ex-wife, Fiona, and I was glad to see her accept Abby even though she still loves Jackson. However, she understands that Jackson doesn't feel that way and doesn't hold that against him or try to interfere with his life. Overall, I thought Sweetest Mistake was a great addition to the Sweet series and watching Jackson and Abby forgive each other as well as fall for each other again was really what drew me in. If you are looking for a good love story with great characters, this is the series to check out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story of Jackson and Amy struck real feelings in me because it reminded me of a young couple from my youth... They were very real as the story unfolded and I could relate to them and the life situations they faced... Sometimes the things people strive for are not what they need... And as a wise woman once told me "It is more important to be friends than lovers".. This book will prove that simple statement... I look forward to Book #3 due out summer 2014 which will be Jesse's story... Wish there were more brothers to be written about... They are a sexy group!!!!!
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Sweetest Mistake is a fun loving romance. We watch as the couple in question are pulled back together by the bond they shared, circumstances and the manipulation of their family. I have to admit I rather enjoyed the family manipulation.  While both Jackson and Abigail had have lives out side their small town, when they return to Sweet the trip to redeveloping their friendship is even a very rocky road... but boy was it fun to watch. The sexual tension is strung tight and with each encounter the interaction between Abby and Jackson becomes explosive...sometimes in anger, some times in loss and sometimes in love.  Sweetest Mistake is a fun, entertaining and romantic story of rediscovering lost friendship and finding love. I received this ARC copy of Sweetest Mistake from Avon in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication December 31, 2013.
These-Pretty-Words More than 1 year ago
Sweet romance After a stint of reading shorter novellas, I was excited to really dive in to a full-length novel and really get to know the characters and their stories. Sweetest Mistake was certainly sweet and it was not a mistake to read. Abby and Jackson were best friends growing up, until Jackson enlisted in the Marines following 9/11 and left for Afghanistan and Abby went running to Houston without a word of goodbye to anyone. Now 7 years later, she’s back in Sweet to get her parents’ house ready to sell and Jackson’s looking for answers. I really enjoyed the whole cast of characters in this story. Jackson’s got all sorts of things going for him: sweet, southern boy; ex-Marine; Fire-fighter; loving father to an adorable little girl…what’s not to love? I feel like I connected really well with Abby as well. Having grown up in a loveless household where she always had to be the one to step up and take responsibility, she went looking for love in the wrong place, only to have the life she’d been building ripped away from her in one fell swoop. I felt like she was strong, even if she was a little too stubborn. She didn’t go crying to anyone when things went wrong, she picked herself up and kept going. I loved watching her transformation from the perfect, wealthy trophy wife into the woman she really was. My heart broke for her when I found out why her jerk ex-husband filed for divorce. I hurt for her and for Jackson when she learned about Jackson’s brother and father dying while she’d been away without her ever knowing of their loss. I cheered for her every time she took a stand and made steps to own her own life. The supporting cast of small town family and friends were fantastic, even when they were sticking their noses in where they didn’t belong. Each one was an individual and felt well rounded, even if we only briefly got to see them on the page. I really loved how the author was able to weave such strong connections between all the characters so that even the ones we never got to meet in person still felt real and important, whether good or bad. My only hold out with this one is the abundance of drama caused by simple lack of communication between Abby and Jackson. It seemed like they were constantly one-step-forward, two-steps-back and oftentimes they were issues that so easily could have been solved if one of them just opened up their mouths and TALKED to each other! One instance in particular was especially frustrating and I really wanted to remind Jackson about what happens when you assume something. 4 stars. Communication issues aside, I really enjoyed this novel and my visit to Sweet, Texas and their sweet, Southern characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really cute story. All about family and values. 252 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as good as first book. Author seemed to ramble without a plot. Could have had more substance.
kimberlyfaye More than 1 year ago
I decided to take a short break from my regularly scheduled reading to take a little trip back down to Sweet, Texas this week and I'm so glad I did. Jackson's story had me swooning all over the place. I totally understand why my friend enjoys this series as much as she does. It's quickly becoming one of my favorites of this genre. Second chance stories are easily one of my favorite tropes in romance. I've always loved the idea of past loves reuniting. (I'm not going to even spend a second thinking about WHY I enjoy them so much. Ha! That's a bad mental road to travel. But I digress...) This time the romance was between Jackson and Abby. They were each other's first everything. Abby left Jackson years ago when he joined the military and headed to Afghanistan. It was a bad choice, but it was the best one she could make at the time. Life has changed drastically for each of them in the last seven years, but now they're both back in Sweet, Texas and it's time to come to terms with what happened in the past. Because, the spark is undeniably still there between them.  I really liked both these characters. Jackson – former soldier, current firefighter, father – was sweet and brave. You just couldn't NOT like him. He's close with his family, maintains a good relationship with his ex wife and is just flipping adorable when with his daughter, Izzy. Abby was a little tougher to get a handle on, but I liked her. She's not had the easiest time since leaving Sweet – entering a loveless marriage, being a trophy wife and then ultimately being unceremoniously dumped. I really did feel bad for her. I also enjoyed her attitude and spunk. And when with Jackson, chemistry sizzled all over the place. I enjoyed the push-pull of them fighting not to fall back into those old feelings, while at the same time wanting little more than to be together.  This was a great addition to the Sweet series. I loved visiting again with the characters from the first book. Charli and Reno still make me smile. Mom Jana's meddling self is one of my favorite things about this series, too. It's so perfectly southern and realistic, without being totally over the top. This series is a perfect one to turn to when I'm in the mood for something light, with great romance and some feels, that will leave me smiling at the end. I'm absolutely looking forward to fitting the third book into my reading schedule soon. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
UndercoverBookReviews More than 1 year ago
~Received For An Honest Review~ Distance and life changes doesn't always make a person forget the one true person they loved. But can trust be an issue when two people's lives meet up once again? Or will they give it a second chance? Can one over come the quickness the other took to leave, can he forget, can she love again? This has been a sweet romance series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Candis has done it again the Texas series is worth reading.
sbart84 More than 1 year ago
All I can I love Sweet Texas and the Wilder boys. This is the story of Jackson and Abby. Abby returns to home after five years and a failed marriage to find Jackson still there with a child from his first marriage. Can Jackson find the trust in Abby to find a second chance at love. I fell in love with these two characters. A fun small town romance, great to revisit with the other characters. Looking forward to reading more from Candis Terry.