A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time Quintet Series #3)

A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time Quintet Series #3)

by Madeleine L'Engle

Paperback

$7.19 $7.99 Save 10% Current price is $7.19, Original price is $7.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Swiftly Tilting Planet 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 193 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Charles Wallace and Meg, the Murry children, are going on another adventure through time. This time Meg is staying home. Charles Wallace is going to travel on a Pegasus, named Gaudior. They are going to try to stop Mad dog Branzillo, but can they? This was a very interesting adventure with the Murry children and magic, one of the books that makes you take a reality check. Charles Wallace is like my little cousin, James, because he is brave, smart, quiet, and shy. Meg, like me, is not very adventurous. She always has to keep an eye on the younger sibling. This is why I¿m sure that a lot of bookworms would enjoy this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was the best book of the time quintet, I highly recomend it! It's filled with adventures and mysteries, it plesases the heart,mind, and soul with it's warm way of story telling.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that the Time Quartet grows with each book as the reader grows. This was definately the most adult book in the series and it was amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first i had no idea what was going on! I didn't know what the rune was for what the"might have been" was, or why there were so many characters that did not seem to conect! But by the last chapter everything was explained and i understood everthing! So if your thinking of reading this, do! The Time Quartet is an amazing seris and i can't wait to read the next book! :)
GeorgiaPorgia More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was beautiful, poetic, complex, and intelligent. I believe ( although I can't say this for sure) that the author was trying to tell people about importance of world peace. Although the concept of 'echthroi' existed before this book and The Wind in The Door, I believe that whenever somebody does an evil, wrong thing, then they are behaving like an Echthros. I first read this book when I was seven, but I wasn't scared by it. However, other kids might be scared by the Echthroi. Still, I recommend this to readers of all ages. P.S. I preferred the Peter Sis book cover, personally.
Danielle Logan More than 1 year ago
This book kept me trailing to the next page, wishing and wondering in the intrecate world of mystery. A great book for all ages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the average rating is five stars, but i can see that's because these people love the orginals. the other 3 books in this series are excellent, well worth reading. this one was just weird, confusing, and just not as good as the others. the story and plot are great though. i recomend it for fans of the series even though i didn't like it.
heidilove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
nice. if you're reading my reviews you already know how deeply i like madeleine's works, both for children and for adults.
the1butterfly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorites of Madelaine L'Engle's "Time Quartet," which are, of course, my favorite of her books. I loved traveling through time on a pegasus with her and watching the worlds connect. I liked being connected to Meg as she explored the excited places of the past and fixed them.
stipe168 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
read but forgotten. but i remember loving it!
thelorelei on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This third installation (or fourth, in character chronology) of the L'Engle's Time Quintet may actually be my favorite. In it, the teenage Charles Wallace is called upon to travel back in time and merge with different people, trying to change the course of the future at points where things "might-have-been." All this is in a desperate attempt to prevent nuclear disaster threatened by a South American dictator. I always found this book to be more intricate and therefore slightly more engrossing than the two previous, in the way that Charles Wallace must visit many points in time to unravel and re-spin the chain of events leading to the present day. It emphasizes once again themes of interconnectedness, and how the smallest event, no matter how seemingly insignificant, can affect all of time going forward. Once again the language is smooth and effective, but seems to have gained just the slightest in complexity. There also seem to be additional shades of gray throughout the characters in the book, making things more complicated than they were in "Wrinkle" and "Wind." This is one book I'll gladly come back to again and again.
HippieLunatic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The third in the series is, in my opinion better than the first and fairly on par with the second. I enjoyed the story and the idea of intertwining time lines, but the story seemed a bit unnecessarily convuluted at times.As a child, I don't think I made it this far into the Time Quartet, but as an adult I hope to have more staying power and finish the series and perhaps even pick up a few more by L'Engle. A Swiftly Tilting Planet does have more of an adult feel to the writing, so parents should be aware of detailed descriptions of fights, pain, and possible death.
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Swiftly Tilting Planet is the 3rd book chronicling the adventures of the Murray children. This one has Charles Wallace front and center. The Murray's find out on Thanksgiving through Mr. Murray that a madman is planning on starting a nuclear war, mostly because he can. Charles Wallace is given the task of going back in time and 'Within' others to try to change the past at a 'Might-have-been' a crucial point in the time line hoping to change the present. CW is assisted by Gaudior a flying Unicorn whose special gift is to fly on the Wind through time. I my opinion this is the best of the series so far. The first 2 were written for a younger audience than this one and the story is fuller and the characters are more well rounded. This is another tale of good vs. evil and another fun book to add to a young adult collection.
fyrefly98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: Charles Wallace Murry is now fifteen, although he's just as quiet and serious as he was when he was younger. On one fateful Thanksgiving night, Mr. Murry receives a call from the President, informing the family that Mad Dog Branzillo, the dictator of a small South American country, has threatened the world with nuclear war. With a charge laid on him by Mrs. O'Keefe, his sister's normally taciturn mother-in-law, to avert the disaster, he heads out to the starwatching rock, where he speaks the rune she taught him. The universe sends him help in the form of the unicorn Gaudior, who will take Charles Wallace back in time. In each time, he must go Within a host, seeking to find the Might-Have-Been, the one choice that can change the course of history, and forestall nuclear war.Review: I don't go in for lists of lifetime favorites, because it's too hard to narrow down my lifetime of books into five, or ten, and to tell whether I love a book because of nostalgia, or on its own merits. Regardless, if someone was standing with a pair of scissors to my library card and forcing me to to pick my all-time favorite books, A Swiftly Tilting Planet would almost certainly be on the list. I can't count the number of times I read this book as a child, and I recently re-listened to it, and it turns out I love it just as much at twenty eight as I did at eight.Okay, so, why do I love this book? First and foremost, I love how neatly, and how beautifully everything fits together. As Charles Wallace goes Within a different host in each period of history, the book almost reads like a collection of short stories - like Cloud Atlas, although much more intertwined. I love how tiny details, names, histories, places, and words of power reappear, slightly modified, in each time, and I love that the book is structured with each line of Patrick's Rune becoming a chapter title. It's a book concerned with genealogies, and the historical legacies of our choices, and while these concepts may be somewhat contrived and somewhat simplified (it is a kids' book, after all), the way L'Engle weaves together past and present is much more intricate and complex than it initially appears. Much has been made of L'Engle's Christian slant to her writing, but I never noticed any such slant as a child, and even though I can kind of see it as an adult, it's not nearly so obvious as in C. S. Lewis's Narnia books. Most of her characters are Christians (although not "obviously" so), and words like God and Heaven are capitalized throughout, but when Charles Wallace calls on "all Heaven" for help, he's sent a flying, time-traveling unicorn. Christian values like love and self-sacrifice are emphasized, but I don't find it to be proselytizing in the slightest. I think, at heart, what makes A Swiftly Tilting Planet my favorite out of the Kronos Quartet is that 1) it focuses on Charles Wallace, so there's much less of Meg's whining, which got old rather quickly in A Wrinkle in Time and A Wind in the Door; and 2) there is, in general, a lot less talking and a lot more doing, and the plot moves much more rapidly through a variety of scenes and stories, all of which interconnect to form one wonderful whole. 5 out of 5 stars.Recommendation: While readers of Madeleine L'Engle's earlier books are going to be the most likely to pick this one up on the basis of name-recognition, I don't think either of the previous books are required to understand and enjoy A Swiftly Tilting Planet. It's also got a very different feel than her earlier books, so I really think everyone should give this childhood favorite a chance.
kellyholmes on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The third book in a beautiful series.
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In order to prevent a nuclear war, Charles Wallace teams up with a unicorn/Pegasus thing to (surprise) travel through time.If you enjoyed the previous volumes, you'll probably enjoy this one as well.
gillis.sarah on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked it, but not as much as the other Time Quartet books that I've read. I might like it more if I read it again.
The_Hibernator on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the only book in the original Time Quartet that I hadn¿t yet read. I read all of the others when I was a child, but when I picked up A Swiftly Tilting Planet I couldn¿t get in to it. So I set it aside and there it sat on my bookshelf for 20 years. This time around I didn¿t give up so easily, but I still found it a little disappointing. It was cute, certainly, but there was more preach than plot. Also, I admit that I was a little irked about the glorious Importantness of the Murray family. They all had multiple doctoral degrees, won the Nobel Prize, and/or had chatsies with the President on a regular basis. The same story could have been told without making them all academically Important. But then, maybe I¿m just jealous that I only have one PhD, no Nobel Prize, and I¿ve never spoken with the President. :) 3/5 stars.
Berly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just finished A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L'Engle, author of A Wrinkle in Time. I had no idea she had written so many other books featuring the Murray family. WT was one of my all-time favorite books as a youngster and I also read A Wind in the Door, but it seems I have skipped volumes 3 and 4, so I will be on the hunt for these. In STP, Charles is given the task of saving the world through time travel and finding an alternative "What Might Have Been." He stays connected to our Where and When by kything (a connection similar to ESP but stronger) with his older sister Meg. It was a strangely calm and beautiful book and a gentle reminder to always choose the path of light and harmony. Four stars.
Carmin_Lynn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fifteen-year-old Charles Wallace and the unicorn Gaudior undertake a perilous journey through time in a desperate attempt to stop the destruction of the world by the mad dictator Madog Branzillo. They are not alone in their quest. Charles Wallace's sister, Meg--grown and expecting her first child, but still able to enter her brother's thoughts and emotions by ¿kything¿--goes with him in spirit.Very imaginative and thrilling story. the way it's written is highly believable and it pulled me in all the way. It is really a fantastic read.
lppeters on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Out of the books in this series, this has been my favorite yet. I think I enjoyed reading about Meg being married and just knowing where she is at in life. I think that the turn on events that occurs in this book are more relative to what is going on in the characters life this go around as well. I'm not sure if I would read this book in my class, but would strongly recommend it to my students, especially if we had read any of the books in the series.
cory123 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book A Swifty Tilting Planet is a great book heres a review about A Swiftly Tilting Planet.The book starts out on a thanksgiving day get together they all settle down for dinner and just then Megs dad (Mr.Murry) receivesa very important phone call from the president of the United States saying that they need to start war with Branwen Z. maddox Well what do you know that ruins the whole thanksgiving dinner so Meg goes and talkswith Charles Wallace and he decides he wants to go for a walk so Meg goes with Charles Wallace and he has a unicornthat nobody really knows about, well he and family. But it does not live with him where do you think it lives? Join Meg and Charles Wallaceand the whole Murry family on this adventurous fairy tale!!This book A Swiftly Tilting Planet is a great book and I would highly reccomend for everyone who loves Fairytales, I give this book 4 stars
kawgirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While not as engrossing as "A Wrinkle in Time," this book was still interesting and I remember enjoying watching Megan et. al. grow up and develop throughout the series.
MerryMary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably my favorite of this trilogy. The interweaving threads of time and history, the "kithing," the story of Calvin's mother, all touch something just a little deeper with me. A wonderful book.
snapplechick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was great. I wasn't expecting it. It explained complexity in a interesting and creative way. I can't wait to read more from this author. She also wrote A Wrinkle In Time.