Syrup

Syrup

by Max Barry

Paperback(Reissue)

$14.65 $16.00 Save 8% Current price is $14.65, Original price is $16. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Syrup 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining !
Emily Murray More than 1 year ago
Fun, witty and full of characters you'll never forget. You'll never look at advertising the same way again after Syrup. Company and Jennifer Government are also great reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it was an easy and relatively entertianing read, I had a problem with the characters. They are so shallow, materialistic, and self-absorbed that the entire time you're reading the book you are in anticipation of them getting what's coming to them at the end. I mean, the characters were so selfish that I couldn't wait for them to have some epiphany...or some bad karma, at least. But they never get their comeuppance, which seemed to pull the rug out from under the entire plot. I guess after reading Max Barry's other two books (which are AWESOME), I was expecting a bit more. All in all, it was still a decent book, just a little disappointing.
JNHatch More than 1 year ago
http://michigansmissingglove.wordpress.com/2009/05/26/our-syrup/ Follow this link to read my full review of Maxx Barry's Syrup. I enjoyed the plot of the novel, and while I found Barry's characters to be a bit lacking in the development department (the love story didn't hold my suspension of disbelief), they were not distracting to the point that I couldn't enjoy this satirical look into the world of carbonated beverage marketing.
Sean191 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I worked backwards and read this after Jennifer Government and Company, but of course Barry doesn't write trilogies. Instead, I would almost say that his books read like additional chapters from his others books. That's not a bad thing though - I think his formula is great and I recommend this book.
Mi-chanChelle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For me this was absolute perfection. Fast, fun, supremely clever and with characters that were ethically dubious but still the kind of people that you wish you spent time with. Very little surprise that the novel itself is also an exercise in marketing genius (screenplay optioned) and you have to imagine that there's a soda company out there itching to make an ironic fortune from the screen adaptation.I rarely re-read, but so great is my admiration of this book that I'm now out to return my library copy and buy the real thing. Love.
baaic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It contains a lot of contemporary references that date the book, but it is a lot of fun. It is zippy, and the author is clearly having fun. I'm pretty sure the author's name is part of the joke (duh).
ryvre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Max Barry, but this book didn't do it for me. I absolutely couldn't stand the main character, and I cringed whenever he did anything.
mattp340 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read so long ago, and remembered when I was reading his current book this was the guy. It was such a fun quick read, but a great satire on marketing and corporate America.
mlcastle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fine novel, though not Maxx Barry's best work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kataman1 More than 1 year ago
This is another brilliant book by Max Barry who is one of the best satirists out there regarding office and business situations. This time he pokes his wit at the Marketing Industry. The main character who calls himself Scat (because it is a cool name) claims that every individual can come up with three million dollar ideas per year. Scat has his first; coming up with a revolutionary name for a new Coke drink. He tries to pitch it to a young marketer called "6." Immediately Scat is intrigued by 6 and falls in love with her even though she has made it clear that men are not her thing. Scat's idea is a big smash but unfortunately it is undermined by his roommate, aptly named Sneaky Pete. The book moves rapidly with Scat coming up with great idea after another hoping to be rich and land 6 to boot. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to more work by Mr. Barry!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is another brilliant book by Max Barry who is one of the best satirists out there regarding office and business situations. This time he pokes his wit at the Marketing Industry. The main character who calls himself Scat (because it is a cool name) claims that every individual can come up with three million dollar ideas per year. Scat has his first coming up with a revolutionary name for a new Coke drink. He tries to pitch it to a young marketer called ¿6.¿ Immediately Scat is intrigued by 6 and falls in love with her even though she has made it clear that men are not her thing. Scat¿s idea is a big smash but unfortunately it is undermined by his roommate, aptly named Sneaky Pete. The book moves rapidly with Scat coming up with great idea after another hoping to be rich and land 6 to boot. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to more work by Mr. Barry!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I started it one evening on the subway home from work...and didn't put it down until I finished it. I read it in 6 hours. It is PHENOMENAL. The storyline, the writing, the humor, the situations... everything. I love it, and would highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was fantastic. I read it in two days, couldn't put it down, and smiled the entire time. I would recommend it to anyone!