The Talisman

The Talisman

by Stephen King, Peter Straub

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Talisman 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 435 reviews.
Themetra More than 1 year ago
I read this book a few years ago and I couldn't put it down. I swear I read for two days straight. I was never a big Stephen King fan, because I find his work to be a little creepy for me, then my friend lent me this book and was amazed when I handed it back to him three days later and said it was the best book I had ever read!
pmejia More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Stephen King fan and this is an oldy but a goody to me! Just reread this on my Nook and was really happy to revisit this story!
diettx More than 1 year ago
The Talisman is a top favorite of all the books I've read and not just my favorite Stephen King book. If you like to be transported by fiction - this is the book for you! I have read this book three times over several years and I just bought it for my Nook so I can read it again and keep it pristine. It has everything; good versus evil, wide-eyed wonder and wide-eyed terror and the characters are amazing and truely unforgetable. I am envious of the people who have just started reading it. You will be amazed!
Relax_Relax More than 1 year ago
That is what I felt upon concluding this book. I ended up picking this up looking for a werewolf book. It has werewolves but it's not a werewolf story. It is a pure, unadulterated, unashamed fantasy novel. It is the best because it's not about what happens but absolutely about the journey that gets us there. You have so many emotions that you experience throughout this book that there's a part of you that doesn't want it to end. The last 150 pages I could barely put it down. It gives you every feeling you should experience while reading a truly great novel. I can't wait for my children to be old enough to read it and understand it. If you are a fan or the genre or want to try out just one fantasy novel, this is it. Loved it!
arttchr More than 1 year ago
Hands down this is my favorite in my Stephen King collection! I am on my second copy and about to order a new one since the cover and pages are coming loose from being read so many times!! It is especially good if you can follow it up with Black House. Get it, read it, love it!!!
Mush_mjg More than 1 year ago
My favorite Stephen King book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It starts out slow but if you can make it through the 1st 2 chps you wont be sorry! I wish they would make a movie. Wonderful story about death, friendship, faith and growing up with a King twist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unimaginable imagination and wonder... perfect ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read most if Stephen King's books, but this is the only one i've read several times.
sniffink More than 1 year ago
I have read a lot of books and this is one that I come back to repeatedly over the years. It is truly one of my all time favorite stories... I revisit it in my mind because it is so great...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from beginning to end. It was a pretty quick read also. I had to re-read the climax because I read it so fast the first time I was basically skipping whole sentences. I was just too excited to slow myself down. I just started reading Black House today, and I must say that I hope Richard makes an appearance. His character was pretty annoying at first, and I wanted to slap him myself, but by the end I really like him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written, full of good guys and bad guys and main characters that you wull love. Great plot, hard to put down, satisfying ending. Lost count of how many times I've read it.
Shaunte72 More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book of all time. It is a coming of age, drama filled, suspense laden trip through the United States with the hero Jack at the realm. I have re read this book once a year since it has been released and discover new things all of the time.
FaymusRighter More than 1 year ago
King and Straub hit a homerun with this book. It is one of my favorites and I have read it many times. I love the grittiness and ugliness of what happens to Jack as he travels back and forth between this world and The Territories, and I love the character, Wolf. The beginning of the book is a little slow but it contains crucial information to how the story unfolds. Stick it out, it is definitely worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best of Kings work. A must have this will be my third time reading. An enjoyable journey into another dimension. Hope i didnot give anything away. Enjoyable i must say.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an awesome book from start to finish. Its really long but you get so lost in it you barely notice. I learned my new favorite word from this book: Axiomatic. Although some words and sayings can become repetitive it all adds to the character of the tale.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Tale as old as time: a quest and a journey to save someone you love with the help of loyal friends ... but with a King and Straub twist. Which means evil monsters, alternate realities, horror and gore. You’re never quite sure if all will end well or not so you just have to keep reading, even if you have to look away sometimes! Some echoes of The Dark Tower/Gunslinger series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just love this and have probably re-read this wonderful, creative saga of Good vs Evil with the main character a young man and his adventure back and forth into two worlds to find the Talisman that will save his mothers life in the present world and the “Queen” in the parallel “other ethereal world that exists. The good vs Evil theme reminds me of the Tolkien’ Trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book 5 times and still enjoy it.
StephenBarkley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I took a break from Stephen King for a while after finishing his brilliant Dark Tower heptalogy (yes, I had to look that word up). Having heard that The Talisman dealt with similar themes, I decided to give this King/Straub work a chance. It was quite interesting.If you're new to these works, the theme centers on a plurality of worlds that some people can flip between. Traveling Jack, the hero of The Talisman is one such person.There were moments that really shone, such as the depiction of ultimate evil as an evangelistic preacher and the sensation and subsequent rejection of being God.As a stand alone book, it's a little weak¿a bit of an overdone quest story. As someone in Dark Tower withdrawal, this novel brought me right back to the world of the gunslinger.
RodV on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To be honest, I read this book back when I was 14 when the paperback came out, and I loved it. I've never been much of a King fan (and I've never read another Straub book), and if I read it now I don't know if I would love it as much, but I will say that I can still conjure up images from this book in my mind after all this time.
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As with many of King's works, I find his books that deal with real people to be far scarier and more entertaining than the books that involve supernatural (and many times silly) monsters and beings. Gerald's Game, Dolores Claiborne, The Shining, Misery are terrifying without being ridiculous.
Spiceca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I Initially found this book very difficult to get into. I felt almost like I was dragging myself through the first couple of chapters. However, after the slow start - I found that I couldn't put the book down. The imagery was intensive and the basic story premise was quite sweet (A word I rarely use in describing a King novel. All in all I found it was very captivating and recommend it to those who don't mind investing a little bit of time for a quest through time and other worlds.
CKmtl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Trying to finish The Talisman has been frustrating. I lost interest during the Blasted Lands and just haven't been able to get back into it. Perhaps I'll make it through some other time, but as it stands I have a To-Read pile to get to.