Tangled Up in Brew (Brewing Trouble Series #2)

Tangled Up in Brew (Brewing Trouble Series #2)

by Joyce Tremel

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tangled Up in Brew 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of filler sentences and phrases.
bluegreen91 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first in this series, so I've been looking forward to reading Tangled Up in Brew, and I wasn't disappointed! This story had a good pace, which made for an easy read. Not too easy, though, as I didn't guess the killer until the very end. I like the main character, Max, and her close friends and family. I could see myself hanging out with people like that. I would like to learn more about her brewpub staff in future books, especially her right-hand woman, Nicole. Being from western PA, I notice and appreciate the references to the Pittsburgh area... Giant Eagle and Primanti's, for example. I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mysteries, Pittsburgh, or beer. It includes little bits of brewing and beer information throughout the book. I'm sticking with this series!
smg5775 More than 1 year ago
Max and Jake are in a brew and burger contest at the local beer festival. One of the judges is murdered and Jake is suspected. Max looks for clues as does her dad. I did not figure it out until it was explained at the end. The story was good. I love the references to the different Pittsburgh neighborhoods. I enjoy these characters and look forward to reading more of them
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Condos
BeckyMcF More than 1 year ago
People do get tangled up in book 2 and it certainly involves the brewing scene! I am happy to learn about beers and Pittsburgh vicariously!
lauralovesreviewingLT More than 1 year ago
When I read this was about brewing beer, I knew I wanted to read it. We have many micro breweries around my neck of the woods. No, not bootlegging. LOL I always enjoy sampling the new ones and often find some that are really good. What’s a good beer without a murder, eh. What’s supposed to be a friendly competition at the Three Rivers Brews and Burgers Festival turns into something else when the beverage critic drops dead from an apparent poisoning. Let the sleuthing begin. This one was full of suspects and it wasn’t easy to figure out the who and why. I enjoyed meeting these characters and visiting the town of Three Rivers. Much of it felt like somewhere I visited before and that’s something I always enjoy about cozies. That and the colorful characters that roam the pages. I should mention this is the second book in the series. I had no trouble following along and liked it a lot, so I’ll be going back to catch the beginning now.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Belly up to the bar and try one of Max’s new brews. Brew pub owner Maxine “Max” O’Hara and her chef/boyfriend, Jake Lambert, are 2 awesome characters. Working with your significant other can be tough but these two compliment each other nicely and each have their own strengths. Max knows beer and Jake knows food and the Three Rivers Brews and Burgers Festival is the perfect place so show everyone their talents. But cranky critic Reginald Mobley is not a fan of the Allegheny Brew House fare and delvers a scathing review. It puts them in the police’s cross hairs when he dies in front of a crowd of people while eating Jake’s burger. Max’s dad is also on the case but his partner has his mind made up. It may be time to call on a higher being, Max’s brother is a priest so he will be praying but Max is determined to save Jake, herself, and their pub any way she can. The characters in this series are very interesting. Setting the story at a festival draws an eclectic group of people too. They are also very well crafted. The lead characters are both strong and independent, equals and very supportive of each other. They lean on each other but are not dependent on each other. They have known each other most of their lives and that gave them a strong bond before they even started dating. The author also gives us a very strong plot with plenty twists. Reading the first book in this series, I figured out the culprit before Max, this time I was right there with her and figured it out at the same time. My early suspicions were totally wrong. She also gives us enough depth into the world of micro-brews with overwhelming the reader. I love learning new things. I enjoyed the setting of the festival and could easily picture the booths and their layout. Ms. Tremel’s descriptions were so rich I could almost taste the beer and those burgers, This is a fantastic addition to this series and I am really looking forward to the next installment, A Room With A Brew. Now if I could just have a glass or two of Max’s citrus ale to hold me over until then…
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Get Tangled Up in a Great Mystery Last year, I took a chance on a debut author, and I immediately fell in love with the characters introduced in the Brewing Trouble Mysteries. I could hardly wait until the sequel came out. I’m pleased to say that Tangled Up in Brew was worth the wait. Maxine “Max” O’Hara is participating in the first annual Brew Festival in her native Pittsburg. She’s entered three of her beers in the competition, and her chef and boyfriend Jake Lambert is participating in the burger competition. The festival is being held over two weekends, and she is looking forward to a great time. Things change when Max learns there has been a last minute change to the festival’s judging panel. Reginald Mobley has earned a reputation as a nasty food critic for one of the local papers. His “reviews” have driven more than one restaurant out of business. Sure enough, Reginald is up to his usual nasty tricks, ruining the festival for everyone. Still, it’s a shock when he keels over in the middle of the burger competition, right after tasting Jake’s offering. Max’s father is a homicide detective, but his new partner is certain that Jake killed Reginald and Max is trying to cover it up. Can Max figure out what is happening and find the real killer? As I said, I fell in love with the characters in the first book. While this book does take place at a festival, Max lives in Pittsburg, so everyone we met last time was still around, and I loved getting to see them again. Of course, the book is filled with more characters in the form of potential suspects, and I loved them, too. As we were nearing the end, it was hard for me since I didn’t want any of them to be the killer. Of course, there is a killer, and the plot as Max tries to figure out who it is and why the murder happened is very good. There are secrets, twists, and red herrings to keep us guessing until the end, yet the clues are all there when the killer is revealed. The climax was wonderful, and everything was wrapped up beautifully. And I can’t leave out the recipes at the end. No, we don’t get any recipes or tips for brewing beers, but we do get four recipes that are mentioned over the course of the book, including Jake’s burgers from the competition. Now comes the impatient waiting until the next book in the series comes out. Tangled Up in Brew is a fantastic way to celebrate happy hour without any worry about a hangover. No matter your beverage of choice, I can’t recommend this book highly enough. NOTE: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
chefdt More than 1 year ago
Tangled Up In Brew is the second book in the A Brewing Trouble Mystery series. It’s time for another exciting visit with Maxine(Max) and Jake at the Allegheny Brew House and friends and family. Max and Jake are excited about being in the first Three Rivers Brews and Burgers Festival and are busy getting their booth ready for what all hope will be a successful show. Max has three of brews in entered in the festival, hoping to be able to win the Golden Stein award. Jake also has his Jake’s Brew Burger entered in the Burger contest. As the festival is about to begin one of the judges has to be replaced. The replacement judge, Reginald Mobley, is well known for panning just about anyone in the food industry. As he is tasting Max’s beers and ales, he was quick to state that worse thing he had ever tasted. Jake comes to Max’s defense and almost gets into a fight with Mobley. Next, he goes to the burger area and begins to lambaste Jake’s burger when he falls over dead. When the police show up a new detective to the force, Vince Falk, feels confident that this an open and shut case, with Jake as the murderer. So Max needs to not only clear her name, the brewpub but also Jake. So with the help of her friends from a book club, they set off to uncover what really happened at the festival. What with all the bad reviews Mobley has written there has to be a mind boggling amount of suspects. The book has an enjoyable and believable cast of characters. Like the first book in the series, the author touches lightly on what goes into the brewing of beer, which I found interesting. Recipes are also included in the book. Eagerly awaiting the next book in this series.
GGW More than 1 year ago
An excellent follow-up to the first book in the series. The characters are likable, the setting unusual and interesting -- give me a feel for a part of the country that is unfamiliar to me, and excellent writing style. Although this is the second in the series, the author concisely brings you up to speed on the various characters. Highly recommend this series.