Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

by Michael Eric Dyson

Hardcover

$22.49 $24.99 Save 10% Current price is $22.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome! The truth!!!
LoisLenskiFan More than 1 year ago
Dyson writes this brilliant book as a sermon, appealing to white Americans to recognize the various ways in which both institutional and individual racism affect ALL of us adversely. His searing prose and fearless confrontation of this thorny issue is reminiscent of James Baldwin's memorable work The Fire Next Time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dyson writes an epic book for all of America, but for white america in particular. A must read for anyone that cares about how to reduce hatred and death and divisiveness in this country raised on the backs of black slaves. Really read it and try to experience your own racism. He writes beautifully and directly to us all.
KNBvW More than 1 year ago
I am appalled by some of these statements....quite simply they clearly show WHY each and ever person in America should read this book. There is no sin in lack of knowledge, but much of what ails this once great country is the lack of UNDERSTANDING so many seem to display. Making America great again is a matter of understanding the 'others' perspective whom ever the 'other' is! .......Please read and understand...66 year old white lady
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
author+powerfully+articulates+an+old+american+culture+issue+through+the+lens+of+the+21st+century.++this+old+adage+remains...the+more+things+change%2C+the+more+they+remain+the+same+when+it+comes+to+race+relations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an intensely personal work. Rev. Dr. Dyson has cobbled together an anthology of our present time. It has its place for our neophtye white sisters and brothers whose American history education is totally devoid of black history. It should whet their appetite for the main course.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome Read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dyson explains a lot of things that white people need to hear
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brilliant and insightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm guessing the one star reviews here came from white people. If so, don't you see you don't get to tell a black person how to think or feel? You are part of the problem. You need to work on you, and keep your unkind comments to yourself. And no, I'm not black. I'm thankful to be able to see, I think, what Black Lives Matter means. It doesn't mean no other lives matter, it only means that black people are asking to be heard, seen, they want to be validated, they want to be treated equally. They need to be treated like human beings. Put yourself in their place, you would not like it. Now see that it has gone on forever. Right now is the perfect time for it to stop. Work on that. Be the solution that helps them move on. Be kind, make the world a better place.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Racism is racism. I'm tired of certain races getting a pass when they practice racism. You will never be considered equal if you constantly want to be treated special. Stop blaming and looking backwards, work hard and look forwards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dl etxbqutr .x udgac ncbry