Texas Gothic

Texas Gothic

by Rosemary Clement-Moore

Paperback

$9.89 $10.99 Save 10% Current price is $9.89, Original price is $10.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Texas Gothic 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
Unwasted_Words More than 1 year ago
Texas Gothic is filled with charming quirkiness, and great writing. What's there not to like with a cute cranky cowboy, tree climbing Houdini goats, Go Go Gadget Gidget girl, rump scratching cows, and a love story like a prize fight. Amy Goodnight is an island of normal in a sea of crazy. As the self appointed Gatekeeper, Amy straddles the line between magic and mundane constantly providing damage control for her above average family. The Goodnight's are witches, each with a different affinity, and to the dismay of Amy, none of them are shy about their abilities. Amy's PR talents are about to be tested. She and her sister Phin are looking after their Aunt Hy's farm for the summer. Everyone in the small Texas town has an opinion about the crazy Goodnights and it doesn't help that the sleepy town has seemingly awaken with paranormal activity since the girls arrival. There's quite a lot of chatter about a rogue ghost on the loose knocking people out, skeletal remains are popping up at the perpetually cranky yet hunky neighbor's ranch, and a spirit is personally haunting Amy. Amy is going to have to except who and what she is, find some balance between her two worlds, and along with her friends, they are going to have figure out what's really going on with the pestering poltergeist to save her Goodnight name and possibly her life. Clement-Moore doesn't write hardcore paranormal, she writes normal with a certain slant of the unusual. Rosemary's strength is her witty writing style, and wonderfully rich characters, which hits a definite high in Texas Gothic. In most books the main character is the author's focus in development and spotlight. Here the supporting cast doesn't get left behind but blossomed. I loved all the players in this book. They were interesting and distinctive like her work. Fans of Hex Hall and Paranormalcy will like the snarky quirky prose. There's nothing negative I can say. Lots of laughs. Great characters, good story line, a romantic love story, and perfect prose that pulls you in. If you need a literary vacation then pick up a copy of Texas Gothic and get completely entrench by the writing.
LaurelMS More than 1 year ago
TEXAS GOTHIC has so much going for it! First: A very fun, interesting main character in Amy Goodnight. She is a witch, despite her best efforts not to be, and has assumed the role of family ambassador to normal society. She self-identifies as the responsible one and does her best to smooth the way for her more eccentric mother, sister, aunts, cousins, basically everyone in the Goodnight clan. Unfortunately for her, they're all perfectly happy with their identities and talents. Amy and her sister Phin are watching their Aunt Hyacinth's small Texas ranch for the summer while Aunt Hyacinth travels to China. Amy inadvertently undertakes a quest to lay a persistent ghost to rest at the same time as ghost rumors from the neighboring McCulloch ranch slow down progress on the efforts to build a bridge that will ease the task of herding their cattle. Ben McCulloch doesn't like Amy because she's a Goodnight, but Amy can't avoid Ben and investigate her ghost problem since all clues point to a connection with McCulloch land. Specifically, the mass burial they uncover during work on the bridge. This book reads YA and tricks you into thinking it's light fare because it's so fun. Amy's colloquialisms are thick and witty, very Texan, and her dual perception of her family as the real deal vs. the walking freak show that everyone else sees are both funny and poignant. The mystery unfolds in a kitchy throwback to Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew (with a soupcon of those meddling kids from Scooby Doo) but it completely works. The tension grows as the ghost gets more aggressive with Amy and someone, ghost or human, physically attacks a ranch hand or two who've gotten too close to whatever Amy isn't supposed to find. But Amy's voice is very smart and there are little Easter Eggs for the more sophisticated reader: literary and scientific references that demonstrate how smart the MC is although the story is approachable for any YA reader. I just love that. In short, this definitely qualifies as a beach read but it has more going for it than just that. You'll probably find yourself reading it again.or hoping for another installment.
HeatheR-FlyleafReview More than 1 year ago
So, growing up I loved reading any and all things vampire, witch and ghost (with a sprinkling of werewolf for good measure.) Today, not much has changed and it would be safe to say that I will always compare any paranormal books I read to some of those old favorites. My go-to authors regarding “witchy” type books will always be Anne Rice (The Witching Hour) and Alice Hoffman (Practical Magic.) These two ladies have the whole “family of witches” thing down pat in my humble opinion. So when I read the blurb earlier this year regarding Texas Gothic, I knew this book would be right up my alley. Like Rice and Hoffman’s works, Texas Gothic includes eccentric relatives and cool family dynamics, which I loved. The relationship between Amy and Phin is fun to read and it’s nice to see two sisters close in age getting along in spite of all their differences. I liked Amy’s character and really sympathized with her struggle for normalcy in a decidedly abnormal family. I appreciated her desire to strike a balance in her life and enjoyed seeing her grow and develop, eventually accepting and embracing her inner witch by story’s end. I also really liked the bookish Phin and all her cool experiments and gadgets. I do wish however that I could have gotten to know more of the Goodnight clan. I enjoyed the inclusion of Cousin Daisy and would have liked to have learned more about Amy and Phin’s mom as well their Aunt Hyacinth. As for the mystery that unfurls in the book, I really liked all the interesting facts about Texas history that the author included. However, I thought the mystery itself was a little elementary. I was hoping with a title like Texas Gothic (emphasis on the word Gothic) the story would have been a little more The Turn of The Screw and a little less The Secret of The Old Clock. That aside, I enjoyed the plot well enough,and I think Clement-Moore's witty dialogue and interesting characters make up for my other issues. There is some romance between Amy and the hot, yet somewhat jerk-ish, neighbor Ben. I liked the back and forth between them, and thought there was some pretty decent chemistry, but the romance didn't sweep me off my feet. In fact there were a few occasions when I preferred the character of Mark, the anthropology student interested in Phin, more than Ben. So, to sum up my review of Texas Gothic: Clement-Moore delivers cool, quirky characters; humorous, witty dialogue; and a decent mystery and love story. I plan to check out more works by this author, including her work The Splendor Falls
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
This was a refreshing and wonderful read about a young woman who reluctantly embraces her familiy roots and becomes involved in a ghost hunt. Of course it does not help that the neighbor is extremely cute and anoying at the same time, nor does it help that there is ages of bad blood between the families. But Amy Goodnight is a great character and the dialog in the whole book is believeable and very easy to get into. The setting is in Texas and after a few pages, you really feel like you are right there in the Hill Country. What I like is all the supernatural things going on, and how there really is a mystery that they are really helping to solve. The ending is nice and does tie up a few loose ends, but I would love to see more of Amy and the gang in another book. They are just to much fun to see go away with one book.
FuzzyCoffeeBooks More than 1 year ago
I knew I was going to love this book. I love southern gothic superstitions and stories, the ones that are passed down over generations. And, well, it's set in Texas. What I liked: 1) Phin - Amy's sister Delphinium was my absolute favorite character. She reminded me of...Bones (Brennan from Bones). Everything is about science to Phin, she's brilliantly book smart, but hopeless when it comes to social norms. She had me cracking up. 2) The setting - I'm a little bias, since I live here and all. But Miz Clement-Moore has described it kind of perfectly. 3) Historical accuracy - so it's a ghost and magic story, right? But that doesn't mean that that we can't have some historical accuracy. 3) Amy's desire to not participate in the family crazies. 4) The ghost story! Southern gothic at its finest! 5) I wasn't sure I expected humor, but it's great. It sneaks up on you and makes you laugh out loud. 6) Hot cowboys. 7) Hot cowboys. 8) Hot cowboys. What I didn't like: 1) I love Big 12 football, but the only time I'm gonna root for the Longhorns is when they are playing the Sooners....meh. Go Oklahoma State Cowboys! Ha ha, so that's not really a dislike, I just wanted to say Go Pokes! Overall thoughts: This is a cleverly and well written story. The characters are all developed really well, the plot is substantial and complete, and the setting is full of southern Texas charm. I absolutely loved it. It has found a new home on my 're-read' shelf! And can someone please tell me where I can get some of Aunt Hy's cool soap and shampoo and stuff?
ashlynrae More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adored reading Texas Gothic! It had the right amount of everything. The plot wasn't too scary, it wasn't too slow, and it didn't move too fast either. I thought Rosemary Clement-Moore developed her characters very well in the book. Reading about Amy, Ben, Phin, and the "gang" was really enjoyable! The dialogue was great. I loved the whole idea of ghosts, magic, and where it all takes place. Its different from other ghost and paranormal stories, so anyone who wants something different will like reading Texas Gothic. I also liked how Clement-Moore described the ghost scenes. I actually liked reading them! They were so vivid and clear, I could picture the scenes in my head. Another thing that I really enjoyed was the cover. The story and the cover go really well together, and I think the red lipstick really compliments the model's eyes! So if you want something fresh and new, don't hesitate to go read Texas Gothic! Rosemary Clement-Moore does not disappoint! Twitter: @teenagereader
BookAddictDiary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Texas Gothic is actually one of those that I really didn't have any expectations for. It was one of those books that I just picked up randomly at the library because a) it was available, b) it looked semi-interesting and c) it was about Texas, my home state -who could I say no to that? Now, I wouldn't say that I disliked Texas Gothic. I didn't love it, but I thought it was a very solid novel and it was worth taking the time to read.Young Amy is spending her summer vacation working at her family's ranch in central Texas. Though she's descended from a line of witches, she's tried to stay out of it, but as things start to turn up on the ranch, it's becomes more difficult. Bodies start to show up, and Amy starts to sense ghosts haunting the ranch. It's up to her to protect the ranch, not to mention stay alive.Man, I was actually thinking I'd like this book better, but I just didn't. I thought I'd be all over the setting but again -just wasn't. Texas Gothic takes place in Texas hill county, down near Austin. As a lifetime resident of the Dallas-area in northeast Texas, I really couldn't relate to the hills, caves, or ranch discussed in this book. Plus there's the many references to the UT Longhorns, while I know this helps add to setting, it just made me upset because I'm a Sooner.The plot itself is still pretty interesting. The haunting aspect of the novel was genuinely creepy and builds a spellbinding tone that kept me reading. The characters, especially Amy, were just okay to me. There were spouts of fun, witty and honest dialog, which helped, but I just didn't relate to them very closely and felt like they were a little hazy. The writing was solid, but a tiny bit rigid.Despite some flaws, Texas Gothic delivers a solid novel that's a haunting read for those when enjoy a good subtle horror novel. Part horror novel, part thriller and part contemporary novel, Texas Gothic kept me reading and guessing up until the very end.
jessibelle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amy Goodnight is not your average run of the mill high school graduate. No, she'd like you to keep thinking she's the normal on in her family that is full of witches. When her grandmother decides to take a vacation overseas, she entrusts Amy and her sister Phin with her ranch. The Goodnight Ranch to be exact. Amy is left doing all the outdoor chores while Phin does the inside (read: easier) chores. Those tree-climbing goats are a hoot, especially when under unfortunate circumstances, she has to run outside to shoo off a cow in her underwear. She ends up meeting her neighbor while shooing said cow away in her underwear. After realizing she left the gate open and the goats loose, he helps her wrangle them up and place them back in the pen. Talks of ghosts begin, and Amy takes an immediate dislike to her handsome savior. He is rude to her, and doesn't mind saying what's on his mind. But little does he know how much truth there is to these ghost stories. Full of twists and turns, and a romance that blooms from nothing, this book kept me turning the pages to find out what would happen next to Amaryllis.
storiesandsweeties on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What is with this tiny synopsis? It doesn't begin to encompass what goes on in this crazy, wonderful, creepy, mysterious book! I've had high hopes for this one since discovering it's beautiful cover and hearing that it would be about witches, ghosts, and cowboys---and it did not let me down. Some highlights:One of the best first lines I've seen in a long time:"The goat was in the tree again. " (pg. 1)One of the most spot-on explanations of the appeal of cowboys:"It wasn't just that he was muscular and tan, with broad shoulders and big, long-fingered hands. It was that I'd seen him ride that horse, and I knew his brawn wasn't just for show. There was something practical and capable about that strength that made my insides flutter in an extremely galling way." (pg. 80).And the absolute best first-meeting scene of the main character and the love interest. Read it---I almost guarantee you'll agree with me on this point. The scene where they first meet is so awkwardly hilarious.Texas Gothic was chock full of great characters. Amy is smart, sharp-witted, and downright ballsy at times. She has grown up in her eccentric family of witches and magic and come to a point in her life where she is just grasping on to "normal" with all her might. Her older sister, Phin, is so much more quirky and accepting of their family's eccentricities, but just as intelligent. I loved the family dynamic---along with their cousin, their aunt, and their mom, they were the kind of family I love to read: sometimes they are embarrassing, sometimes they get under each other's skin, but they're always there for each other when it counts. I really liked Ben. He and Amy had no shortage of bickering matches, and some of his judgements seemed a little harsh at first, but there was a lot more to him: protectiveness, integrity, sadness, and sacrifice. It had me constantly rooting for the two of them to take off the boxing gloves and get together! I loved Grandpa Mac! Such a character---some of my favorites scenes were his interactions with Phin.This is a fun mystery, with the classic feel of a modern Nancy Drew who-done-it. There were clues and suspicions and motives all around! There were some genuinely creepy moments in this one---the kinds that make you check the shadows the next time you walk outside at night. One or two tiny drags in the pacing for me within the first 100 pages, but altogether, a fantastic story. This was, as far as I can tell, a stand-alone book, so I may have to read it again sometimes because I know I will miss these characters!
bookappeal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amy Goodnight is the "normal" one in her family of paranormal practitioners until and her sister Phin watch over their aunt's farm while she's away. Strange occurrences on the neighboring McCulloch ranch have the townspeople talking about "The Mad Monk", a legendary ghost known for knocking his victims on the head. Ben McCulloch is tired of hearing about the ghost but can't ignore that something unusual is going on - and it's not just his inexplicable attraction to Amy. Good characters and a story peppered with romantic tension and humor. The villain is too obvious but the setting and plot involve events from early American history. With the Goodnights' range of abilities and Amy headed for college, the author has plenty of options for interesting sequels.
lawral on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There are two things that Clement-Moore does fantabulously: community and swoony guys. The ranch town in which Amy and Phin are spending their summer is great. It's not the setting, really, that's great; it's the people in it. They make this small town believable. There's the crazy grandad, the close-minded town folk, the local pothead, the nerdy college students, the local "royal" family, and the brooding son of those royals. We don't get to know all of these characters well; this is not a crowded book. And yet, these are not stock characters. Altogether, they are the town. They give the town a feel and a history. They make it a place. The town bar and the community picnics are just where they hang out.And then there's the guy. Le sigh. Now, I'll be the first to admit that I have a weakness for rugged folk who wear cowboy hats unironically. But even if that's not your thing, this guy is sooo great. Ben McCulloch, literally the guy next door, is so swoony and angsty and responsible and gentlemanly. I fell for him, and hard, long before Amy figured out why Ben made her feel both frustrated and fluttery at the same time. Mark, one of those nerdy college students, isn't so bad either. His sweet and awkward flirting with Phin is so cute! The best part about both of them, though, is that they are both completely devoid of cheese. There is no heavy-handed romance talk or gazing into one another's eyes.So the guys and the cast of characters are what made Texas Gothic great for me. Amy and Phin's relationship, the complicated ghost story, the small town rumors and legends, and the ranching drama were all added perks for me. These aspects of the story were just as strong as the ones I loved, and they might be what makes this a great book for you.Book source: Philly Free Library
danijohns on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really loved Texas Gothic. This book was a perfect blend of mystery, paranormal and romance. Texas Gothic is like a paranormal Nancy Drew and I could not put it down once I started it. Rosemary Clement-Moore has a perfect balance of mystery and paranormal in Texas Gothic. The paranormal aspect of the book did not feel overpowering; instead, the paranormal aspect of ghosts was weaved into the story and felt normal. This story worked on so many levels. I loved the regular mystery related to the bodies being found on the McCulloch farm and then the paranormal mystery of why the ghost is haunting Amy. Both mysteries wove together perfectly and kept me on the edge of my seat. I really loved the characters of Texas Gothic. Amy was a great main character. Amy had spunk. She is the odd one out of in her family. The Goodnights are all into the paranormal, being witches and stuff, but Amy tries to keep stay sane and keep people from saying bad things about her family. I loved how Amy tried so hard to stay the normal one in her family, but could had her own special powers that draw her back into the paranormal world which is the norm for the Goodnights. One of my favorite things in this book was the relationship between Ben and Amy. Ben and Amy had great back and forth exchanges. When Amy and Ben first met, I couldn¿t help but laugh at the situation. Ben and Amy¿s exchanges were filled with snark and sass. I loved it. And of course it was filled with sexual tension. Their relationship was perfect in my opinion. I loved the mystery in this book. I literally did not know who the culprits were. Rosemary Clement-Moore kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I stayed up until 3 am reading this and did not care because I was so engrossed into the story. It's really hard to put my emotions into words while reading this book. I truly loved it and really have no way to describe how this book made me feel. It's another one of those awesome books that I just truly love. It had that special something that just makes a book awesome. Texas Gothic sweeps you up into it¿s world and takes you for a great ride. The writing is fluid and blends together mystery and paranormal perfectly. Once you start reading you will not want to stop reading. Rosemary Clement-Moore has created a great mystery that I cannot wait to reread. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a great mystery book with interesting paranormal elements. Definitely a reread for me!
AnnaKay21 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amy Goodnight is the gatekeeper between the normal world and her family's supernatural, kitchen-witch lifestyle. All she wants is a normal existence...or at least that's what she tells herself. So when she goes to house-sit for her Aunt Hyacinth for the summer with her sister Phin (Delphinium!) she's not expecting anything too out of the ordinary. First she's accosted verbally by Ben McCullough, a boy about her age who is part of a family with a 'ghost' problem who resents her family's hocus pocus. Then a spirit attaches itself to her and wants her to find what happened to him. Plus, there's a dig site where Ben's family was building a bridge and multiple human remains have been found. Add that to threatening notes, slashed tires, and hot makeout sessions alternating with verbal blowouts with Ben. Mix it all together and Amy is in for one helluva summer! I truly enjoyed this book. I'm not completely in love with it because it just didn't connect with my heart the same way it did with my funny-bone, but I do like the twists and turns that keep you going and the snarky sense of humor shared by Amy and the author. Also, Phin is a wonderful supporting character, good-hearted and genius smarts, but totally commonsense and human interaction clueless. I really enjoyed the surprise visit by their cousin Daisy, who has a connection to spirits of the dead. It makes for some fun times. Plus, all the college kids from the dig site were a really great addition to the narrative and added to the flavor of the book. I really liked how Clement-Moore drew from actual historical events and places in Texas. Amaryllis 'Amy' Goodnight was a self-sufficient, likeable heroine who was in search of her own purpose in life and the place she fits into her family AND into the rest of the world. It was really awesome to tag along for the ride as she figured it out. Overall a very enjoyable read and definitely worth the time spent. I would recommend this to people who don't mind a heroine who is an older teenager (Amy is newly a high school graduate), a fast-paced story and fun characters who keep you hooked. This book is a true slice of Southern sweet potato pie and you should only dig in if you're not afraid of calories! VERDICT: 4/5 Stars*No money was exchanged for this review. This book is now available in stores and online.*
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
First I have to add, what a beautiful cover this is. Normally we never “judge a book by it's’ cover” but this one is so eye catching and lovely so, yes, I am guilty of this. Just for this one. It’s been awhile since I’ve had a book that made me laugh as much as this one! Amy is such a likable character, one that you can relate to and instantly befriend if she were in your class/neighborhood/work place. It makes the story enjoyable to read, and adds more personality to the book. Supporting cast around Amy also do a great job and are fun to read as well. Her sister Phin is such a great laugh and fun to read. Amy has a pretty kooky family to begin with which adds more to her imperfections and makes her all the more likable. The romance aspect was cute and fun to read. To be expected as the main central theme is seen with a comedic light. Loved Amy and Ben hating each other first and then it grows to love. Yes it sounds pretty cliche and very Harlequin Romance. It’s over done isn’t it? I’ll accept it for this time. If it’s done with likable characters, then it makes the romance bearable. Onto the plot itself. It was well done. A mystery with supernatural elements to it. It’s a well rounded book with plenty of other elements drawn in without making the plot confusing or all over the place. It’s well written, and enjoyable. I couldn’t really compare this with anything else that I have read in the past although Nancy Drew with supernatural powers comes pretty close. Although the plot was great and everything in it was a joy to read, 400 and more pages is just a little too much. Maybe there was just too many ‘fillers’ in the book added to make it this long. It’s not necessary. Short books are okay too, we have a huge pile to go through as readers. :) Overall worth a read. Love it for the comedy factor and a well written murder mystery with paranormal elements. Also love it for the well written characters featured.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rosemary Clement-Moore is a talented and gifted writer. Amy Goodnight is a great female protagonist; she's realistic and quirky in a way that combines to make her a very strong female lead. Ben is a great character as well. The story is well-written and it's hard to put the book down. I love all of Rosemary Clement-Moore's books, but this one is my favorite!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would like to but have to go. Srry tlk at hunger games tonight?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Any retard stupid enough to harp on thhis go f*** your self
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it twice in two months
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry college rp shut down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey babe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heyy. I havent heard from u in awhile - memory