That Second Chance

That Second Chance

by Meghan Quinn

Paperback

$11.66 $12.95 Save 10% Current price is $11.66, Original price is $12.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

That Second Chance 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
JWright57 6 months ago
I was so excited for a new series from Meghan Quinn and I was not disappointed, if That Second Chance is anything to go by this is going to be a hit series. What’s not to love about a small town romance centred around the Knightly Brothers well it’s gets better when this very talented author puts her own spin on small town romance. This book has all the feels and it ticked every box, it’s funny, it’s romantic and it’s set in Port Snow even the name of the town is special, the chemistry the characters share is sizzling and the camaraderie this family share will have you wishing you had a family like theirs and once you add in a swoon worthy hero and a sassy heroine you really get a amazing read. The story and the funny banter flows naturally but it’s not it’s sweetness and light there are a few bumps in the road that Griffin and Ren need to negotiate before they get their HEA. Can’t wait for the rest of this series and more from the Knightly family.
Cali-Jewel 3 months ago
Heartwarming, emotional, sexy, witty and engaging second chance journey filled with love, loss, small town awesomeness and exciting passion..... was a gripping read from beginning to end and impossible to put down once I started on this thrilling adventure. They are both looking for something and find something even better than either of them imagined. Loved it!
Debedoo 4 months ago
Wow wow wow! This is Griffin and Rens book, Griffin is a firefighter and he’s got a bunch of hot brothers LOL Ren is the new girl in town a moose came in the road as she was entering town and it was a crazy accident she ended up stuck between two trees and Griffin of course had to come and save her! I absolutely loved the little small town I just loved it and I think it’s a real place and the food in this book is to die for it made me want fudge and lobster rolls LOL I love Megan‘s books and this one is probably my new favorite I absolutely love this one it was such a great story it was so funny and hot and sweet and heartbreaking it was everything! I highly highly recommend this book it is definitely one of her best books that I’ve read yet! Thank you Netgalley and the publishers for sharing this book with me and thank you Megan Quinn for your wonderful words! I can't wait for more of this series!!! #boobsqueezes
belllla 4 months ago
This one is amazing heartbreaking read. I loved it. Really, it was soooo good, funny full of family drama, great characters and amazing love story. Griffin and Ren are both great with amazing chemistry. I can’t wait to see the next brother to destroys the curse. Great read. RECOMMENDED I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
BeckyRendon 4 months ago
If by some miracle you avoid falling for Griffin, I guarantee you will be swept away by his family. And the town...sigh, there's even more encouragement to fall and fall hard. That Second Chance is a small town romance with quirky people, helicopter families, and too many brothers! Ok, not really but when they hang up on you it feels that way! It's sweet and everything you need to give you warm fuzzies. Small town living and nosy neighbors with a rampant rumor mill make this town a gem for awkward situations. Add in some delicious eye candy...in quadruple and well, I'm moving to Port Snow. Reviewed for Sweet Spot Sisterhood
Maria Howard 5 months ago
4.4 stars There is just something about this author and how she writes a book. There is always a depth to the characters that I am drawn to and feel connected with. Her characters always have a quirkiness to them and a strong connection with friends and family. This book was no different. There was humor, love, chemistry, and family. I wanted them to be my friends and family. I am looking forward to where this series is going to go. I am looking forward to seeing the other three brothers get their story, especially Rogan, but I like them all. My only complaint about this book is I wanted a little bit more back story in regards to Ren. I didn't feel like I knew everything about her. Griffin was another amazing book boyfriend. This book is still another great addition to this author's ever-expanding backlog of books. She is a favorite author for a reason and always puts her heart, soul, and snarkiness in everything that she writes.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I absolutely loved this book. What a gem to read. I love Ms. Quinn’s writing. Everything she comes up with just checks all my boxes. I would highly recommend this book.
SFSharon 5 months ago
This is the first book I've read by Meghan Quinn, and the story brought a good balance of humor, romance, angsty feelings and a fun loving family I look forward to reading about. This first title features Griffin Knightly, the eldest of 4 single brothers who were "cursed" by a palm reader several years ago during a drunken 21st birthday celebration for the youngest brother, Brig. Although the brothers are hesitant to believe in the black magic, all have been unlucky in love, and our Hero, Griffin, most tragically. They all live in a small, cute tourist town in Maine, called Port Snow, where Griffin and his older sister run their family's successful bakery and sweets' shop. Our heroine, Ren Winters, is in the process of moving to Port Snow when she encounters a moose which literally runs her off the road, introducing her to volunteer firefighter, Griffin, when he comes to her rescue. The story is told from a dual point of view so the reader is privy to the attraction between these two, but each reluctant to taking that first step, for different reasons. I thought the author did a good job pacing how their friendship eventually grew into a relationship. The only reservation I had was how Griffin "overcame" his fear. Without revealing any spoilers, for a small town, there should have been plenty of opportunities for Griffin to uncover the truth behind his feelings, but then, our Hero might not have been available to meet the adorable Ren! Each brother we meet, Rogan, Reid and the fun-loving Brig, seem to have ghosts/skeletons in their closet preventing them from finding their HEA. It looks like we might find out Rogan's story next, and I look forward to uncovering why he's so broody!
Felicia71 5 months ago
Wow, to say I loved The Second Chance book 1 in Meghan Quinn's new series would be an understatement. This book has it all, romance, heartache, romance (dancing in the middle of the street I about died) and humor. I absolutely fell in love with Griffin, his family and of course Ren. Ren is looking for a change and nothing says change like moving across the country, to small town Port Snow Maine and what a small town it is. It has everything that comes with a small town including the gossip and the very hot Knightly brothers, Griffin specifically. Ren is try to break through the walls Griffin has up and just when she finally does something happens and he shuts down again, can she convince the sexy firefighter, fudge shop owner that he is not cursed? Griffin has suffered unimaginable heartbreak at a time when it's not expected, he knows that the curse he and his brothers got in New Orleans is true, he has lived it. Now the beautiful Ren storms into town and he knows that he needs to stay away from here no matter what. The problem is when he starts to spend more time with her the harder it is I keep his feelings at bay. Ren is a feisty women who just wants to forge her own path and Griffin a family guy is content on being alone. Neither where looking for love but once they do, Ms Quinntakes her readers on a great ride. The writing is tight with great dialogue between all the characters. The secondary characters are great especially the other 3 Knightly brothers whose books I can't wait for.
Michelle Eriksen 6 months ago
The beginning of a series that I will be following and looking forward to. That Second Chance bring all of the feelings to the surface and had me glued to the story from start to finish. Griffin and Ren are made for each other but his past is haunting him and she has some healing to do herself before they can work out the kinks and get together. A great story from start to finish and so many wonderful new characters to get to know and love. I fell in love with the town and family and now I really wish the books for all of the brothers were out so I could just binge on these characters. Loved this one!
Pebbles92 6 months ago
That Second Chance is the first book I have read by this author and it won't be the last. Initially, I thought perhaps the whole "curse" was going to be a bit too over the top for me and while it was certainly quirky, it worked and I enjoyed this story immensely. This story was filled with great character development, an entertaining plot and lots of emotions ranging from not wanting to get hurt again (or hurt someone) to fun antics from Grif's siblings. Very enjoyable story that I highly recommend. I cannot wait to read more about the Knightly brothers.
twalling 6 months ago
That Second Chance is the first book in the Getting Lucky Series. Ren Winters has taken a new job. She will be the algebra teacher in Port Snow. Griffin works full time in the family business, Lobster Landing and he works as a part time volunteer fire fighter and first responder. I love Griffin’s whole family. Oh Lordy, lordy there are 3 more Griffin’s. His younger brothers are Rogan (Realtor and landlord) Reid (also works part time at Lobster Landing) and Brig the youngest brother (mechanic and owner of the garage). The Knightly boys all went partying on Brig’s 21st birthday and what they brought home was a love curse on all of them. Now they are the most untouchable bachelors in Port Snow, Maine. Port Snow is a small tourist town and everyone and I mean everyone knows the others business. Gossip runs amok in Port Snow. I love these gossiping town folk. How one story gets so blown out of proportion. Griffin rescues Ren when a moose ran her car off the road. There are some LOL moments with all the gossip going around about how Griffin met Ren. I found myself chuckling out loud and then having to look around to see if anyone saw me. You know the story with friends like that who needs enemies. Well who needs friends when one has brothers. It seems like all the Knightly boys keep pushing Ren on Griffin and all he can think about is the curse and not dating. Even though he doesn’t want anyone else to get Ren either. I can’t wait for the next book in this new series! I am hoping that it will be Rogan’s turn to fall in love! 

If you haven’t discovered Meghan Quinn yet you need to. She writes with humor, love & romance. I think her books are all MUST READS!
TerryL56 6 months ago
4 1/2 Cursed Stars! One drunken night, Griffin and his brothers have a love curse put on them, but they just laugh it off ... that is until Griffin's young wife dies of a heart attack. Two years later, all four of the Knightly brothers have had no luck in love. But then Ren literally crashes into Griffin's life and he starts feeling things that he hasn't felt since his wife died. Ren wants a new start ... away from her helicopter parents. While driving into her new town, Port Snow, a moose crosses her path and she ends up missing the moose, but wrecking her car. And she drools over the hunky fireman that saves her ... Griffin. He ends up becoming her life line. This book just made me smile ... all the way through it! There are also a lot of laugh out loud moments and some swoon worthy romance. I just loved Ren ... she was trying to be independent but has the worst luck. And Griffin and his brothers ... WOW who wouldn`t fall in love with them. I come from a small town and it's soooo true that everyone knows everyone else's business and Ms. Quinn sure portrayed that perfectly! I can't wait for the next book ... this is gonna be a great series! I received an early copy courtesy of Montlake Romance through NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.
Lisa_Loves_Literature 6 months ago
As with every other Meghan Quinn book, I was immediately sucked in and couldn't stop reading. I mean, it definitely helped that the first scene took place in one of my favorite places to visit, New Orleans, and that was such a great start to the story! Now it took me a bit to remember that we'd met these Knightly brothers back in the second book I read by Meghan Quinn, Two Wedding Crashers, with my favorite couple from that series, Rylee and Beck. But I love that Quinn is taking us back to meet some of the other characters we enjoyed from another one of her series. I always love when authors do that. And to know that this is going to be a series now makes me extremely happy, because I really am excited to see what happens to all of the Knightly brothers, because really, it's impossible to not fall in love with all of them. So much so, that I'd probably have been okay at first if our heroine, Ren, fell for one of the other brothers if Griffin hadn't ever come around and given this a chance. Another thing I love is the setting, I want to live in a little town like Port Snow. As a former teacher, and current school librarian, I love the idea of a town actually being the village to help raise the children, help keep them in line and good citizens. We had all of what you'd expect from Meghan Quinn book, the steam, wit, and the feelings. There was even one line early into the story that made me almost spit my food out when I read it as I laughed! It was a page-turner, I hated when my body was telling me I had to go to sleep, not letting me keep my eyes open when all I wanted to do was finish this last night. But when the dogs woke me up at their usual early morning time to go out and get their breakfast, as soon as I was back in bed, I picked this back up and finished it. Oh yeah, prepare to crave so many sweet things as you read this. You see the Knightly family runs a shop that sells yummy confections like fudge. And lots of different flavors of fudge. And then there are all the different restaurants and even a food truck in this Northeastern area of the US, I might need some crab cakes soon. And how could I forget the Moose? What a perfect "meet-cute" in all its craziness.
CharlotteLynnsReviews 6 months ago
I picked this up thinking another second chance romance, I mean that is what the title says, but take notice the title is THAT SECOND CHANCE. This is not a second chance romance in the way that is usually seen in books. It is a book about a man, who was hurt by love, severely hurt by love, opening his heart for a second chance at love. A chance at love with a woman who is full of spunky, fun, and love if he can only learn to trust that love isn’t followed by bad things. Together Ren and Griffin are so good together. The small town setting is perfect for the budding romance. The noisy, gossipy neighbors kept me giggling. The hometown café’s were perfect for their quaint meetings. The beautiful beach was just as Maine should be, with its rocky shores. Meghan Quinn made this book come alive as I read the words. I could picture the scenes, the characters, and the heat flowing between them. I am a fan of Meghan Quinn, I love her books, her characters, and her settings. I look forward to more amazing books by her, Pick up any of her books and fall into their wonderful stories.
BoundlessBookaholic 6 months ago
This was another hit from Meghan! I’m giving it 4 out of 5 stars. This review is for an ARC, and reflects my honest opinion. I was a little nervous going into this book due to the curse aspect. I shouldn’t have been though, because I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read from this author. The characters always suck me in, I smile and laugh at least a dozen times, etc. The summary made me think this would play out differently than it did in certain aspects. Regardless, I loved going back to this small town where I got to see some old favorite characters, and met new ones as well. Griffin was a really good character overall; my heart went out to him and everything he endured. He was so hesitant about love until Ren showed up, and essentially blew up his world. Now onto Ren…she was fantastic! I loved her personality, and the fact that she wasn’t afraid to embrace her new life. Regarding side characters, I loved every one of the Knightlys, Rylee, Beck, Ruth, etc. I am so excited to see more from these characters (especially the brothers) in future books. Give me book two ASAP!
Robin2000 6 months ago
Loved it! I fell in love with Port Snow in the Two Wedding Crashers and could not be happier with this setting. Ren is such a strong, resilient woman and she made me so proud when she fought for what she wanted. It’s so refreshing! Griffin…what a perfectly flawed man. He had such swoonworthy qualities that would have any female sighing in his midst. But of course, we have the scars that he carries that keep women at a distance. At times I wanted to give him a little shake but then pull him in for a hug. He’s just such a dear, sweet man that you can’t help but want the very best for him. Both of these characters tugged at my heartstrings and sucked me neck deep into this story. It was a beautiful romantic story that was a pleasure to read.
SherryMH 6 months ago
4.5 Small Town Stars THAT SECOND CHANCE by Meghan Quinn is in the simplest terms, the perfect beach read. It’s light, funny, charming, and is easy to devour. Kind of like the characters – funny, charming, and some are very easy to devour. The small town of Port Snow, Maine is picturesque from the storefronts to its townspeople. Especially the Kightly brothers. And while there is some angst, it is wholly a sweet, second chance romance. As with all small towns (I should know), there is a rumor mill and it seems as though the grade-school game of telephone is alive and well. Those stories draw you closer to the Knightly brothers and into the love story between Griffin and Ren. It is a slow moving romance and I enjoyed watching their love gradually unfold throughout the book. Meghan Quinn’s sense of humor comes out full force in THAT SECOND CHANCE and while I was reading, I found myself chuckling more times than not because of jokes or character antics. THAT SECOND CHANCE is a slow-build, sweet, contemporary romance filled with humor, family, and fudge. What more could you ask for?
Susanmc81 6 months ago
What a great start to a new series! The Knightly brothers went to New Orleans to celebrate youngest brother Brig’s 21st Birthday. During their drunken revelry, they encounter a fortune teller who ends up cursing their love life. None of them took it seriously until they were back five days and an event occurs that cements their reputation in the town of Port Snow, Maine as cursed and un-datable. Two years have passed and oldest brother Griffin saves new teacher in town, Ren Winters, from an encounter from a suicidal moose. Of course, the attraction is instant. Will they be able to defy the curse? I loved the Knightly family! Griffin and Ren were a great couple, and watching their relationship grow was fun. I cannot wait to see the rest of the brothers break the curse as well! I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
Bette313 6 months ago
I love it when I stumble upon a new to me author and a great book that makes me smile and touches my heart. That's exactly the case with Meghan Quinn and her book That Second Chance. Now I'm anxiously waiting to read more from her. I really enjoyed this fun filled book that gives us Ren and Griffin's story. Ren was exactly the kind of woman needed to get Griffin living and loving again. Their story is full of humor with curses, a moose, and lots of witty banter. Definitely a recommended read.
Lisa-nh-23 6 months ago
I love everything about this book!! From the sweet romance between Ren and Griffin, to the witty banter between Griffin and his brothers, to the beautiful and peaceful depiction of the quaint coastal Maine town which is the setting for the book. Meghan Quinn is a masterful storyteller and with every word she has written, you are invited into a magical story of love, hope and second chances. Griffin and his brothers are convinced that the curse cast upon them by the New Orleans palm reader has brought them bad luck in the dating world. He was content with being alone and didn’t think he would meet someone who could change his mind. As a volunteer fireman he is often involved in dangerous situations and when a crazy moose caused a car accident, he was there to save the day. He rescued the beautiful Ren and bravely carried her to safety. Even though they had an instant attraction, Griffin wasn’t sure he could take a chance on a relationship with Ren because he was afraid something bad would happen to her. Ren felt the same way about Griffin and wanted to get to know him better, but he seemed to want to keep her in the friend zone. She sensed he was interested in her too, so she decided to make the first move. What could possibly happen? Moving to Maine was the beginning of the next chapter in her life, and she hoped Griffin was on the same page.
Michele-G 6 months ago
4 1/2 "lucky" stars I can definitely see why Ren chose to move to Port Snow!! It sounds like a picture postcard and that's before the description of Griffin and his look-a-like brothers - - which apparently only continue to add to the scenery! I have read several of Meghan Quinn's other books in the past and was excited to see she had a new one coming out. Let me say, she definitely did not disappoint with That Second Chance. This was a strong start to a new series. Since some of the books I have read by Ms. Quinn are her Dating By Numbers series, I enjoyed the tie-in to Rylee and Beck (from Two Wedding Crashers) who reside in Port Snow. It's nice to get an update on their life now. I really like it when authors can blend previous characters back into subsequent books. Ren and Griffin meet when she literally "crashes" into town while trying to avoid a moose in the road. Ren has moved completely across the country from California to get a fresh start and be out from under her parents' over-protective scrutiny. Even though she thinks she and Griff have an attraction, she is often confused by how he keeps his distance and only treats her as a friend. Then she finds out about "the curse." Eventually, Griffin can't fight his feelings for Ren...of course, that's when things really get good. Also, I have to say that Griff's siblings and their constant matchmaking is pretty fun as well! This was such an easy and enjoyable read. I look forward to continuing the series. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
ytcruz 6 months ago
This book is the first one I read by this author, and have now become a fan. The premise of the series is a curse given to the four Knightly brothers during a drunken weekend in New Orleans. When days after Griffin, the oldest, loses his young wife, they all believe that the curse set on them will keep them from ever getting their HEA. Two years later, Ren Winters is driving into town when a car accident sends Griffin, a volunteer firefighter , to her rescue. Thus begins a sweet, but fragile relationship. While their story was touching, it’s the family dynamics, both the Knightly’s as the Winters’, that make this story special. The author creates a quaint small town in Maine, filled with interesting inhabitants. With an engaging plot and complex characters, this story and I foresee others in the series, will keep the readers entertain for a long time. I was entrusted a copy of this book by Netgalley. The opinions expressed are solely my own.
Asteward81 6 months ago
ARC provided by NetGalley. When I seen this I had to try for it and was stoked to be given the chance to read this book and let me say it DID NOT DISAPPOINT!! I am a HUGE Meghann Quinn fan. From the moment I started this book I couldn’t put it down. I laughed so hard way too many times in this book. I had a constant smile for almost the whole book. As all of Mrs. Quinn’s books it had it’s sad moments but overall excellent book. And a great beginning to a great series. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for these brothers.
MBurton 6 months ago
So many good things in this book! I love when a story is set in a small town, especially one in Maine. The author described this touristy town so well that I want to live there and I want to get to know each and every member of this town. Another bonus was that the hero had 3 brothers and a sister who all butted into his life constantly. They were a fun addition to this book and I can't wait until we get a book on each of the brothers. Our main couple, Ren and Griffin were adorable together. As you read in the blurb, there is a curse associated with Griffin and his brothers. Because of this, most of the book is about these two dancing around a friendship that they both want to take to the next level. Griffin is gun shy and he has a good reason for it. I'm not usually one who likes it if a character keeps the other at a distance but it's a very small distance. They spend a lot of time together getting to know each other and that made me happy to experience it with them. I truly felt like we got a good amount of them together despite not being a couple for most of it. All the characters in this series were fun and like-able. I'm looking forward to the next book!