The 13th Tribe

The 13th Tribe

by Robert Liparulo

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged Edition)

$36.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The 13th Tribe 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 81 reviews.
smallkucing More than 1 year ago
When I read through the first few chapters, I was going to give this book 1 or 2 stars only. It was because the first few chapters were very confusing to me. Too many characters were introduced. For example Jagger who works as Security which has a prosthetic arms. In the beginning, I had the impression that he was something like Robocop but something just does not ring true/logic. How many would hire people with prosthetic to be the Head of Security? This and add on with various member of the Tribe and introduction of their higher technology- invisible cloak and what not made me lot track of the story. I was not sure how to view the story - futuristic? Sci-fic? Moreover, their unique names of the Tribe members like Creed, Phin, Elias and the most confusing was Arella who happens to be neaveh; who happens to be the word "heaven" spelled backwards; made my head spin. In the beginning, it was not specified how many are they in the Tribe and their ages. Thus, I was quite surprised when there was kids in the Tribe too. Ageless. Another thing was the mysterious plan "Agag" by the Tribe. The plan seems rather complicated to me and at parts quite technical which I have difficulties in following. I was getting tired reading this but half way through the book, the story starts to grow interesting as the pace picks up. Am glad I was able to go through the book. I love the unexpected twist in the end of the story. I liked this book well enough but I think this is one of those books that I would read once only. I received this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson Publishing, in exchange for an honest review .
Chadd_Baltzley More than 1 year ago
Robert Liparulo has out done himself this time. The 13th Tribe is a work of art, a masterpiece. It is a heart pounding read, full of twist and turns, along with that shocking light bulb moment on the very last page. The 13th Tribe is everything the reader would want it to be. Liparulo is a master of characterization. His characters are written so well, their development smooth and natural, and they truly move the story along with as much speed as the plot does. Pick up the 13th Tribe and enjoy the ride. You will not be disappointed
LaDonnaCole More than 1 year ago
The 13th Tribe, by Robert Liparulo is one of the most original story ideas of our time from an author who knows how to deliver the perfect mix of fast-paced excitement, nail-biting suspense, and well-developed characters. The depth of the characters had me cheering on the antagonists in places and grieving with the protagonist. Even in places where the outcome was inevitable, I was astonished by the twists and turns it took to get there. The settings were varied and rich, from ancient idolators to modern techno weapons, from the dusty corners of Egypt to the underground catacombs of Paris, the imagination of Robert Liparulo delivers, once again, a fascinating and adventurous tale.
StephaniePazicni More than 1 year ago
This is my kind of book, from immortal vigilantes to a father trying to protect his family; from catacombs and a monastery; to cutting edge high-tech. This is also the first Robert Liparulo book I've ever read. I lucked into an Advance Reader's Copy. I was so engrossed in this story, I hurried to buy a copy of the book when it came out, just in case any new details were added in final edits! As a matter of fact I bought a couple copies to give away - and that is my highest praise. I found myself caring about Jagger, Beth and Tyler and unable to fathom how they'd survive another page, let alone escape The 13th Tribe. As merciless as The 13th Tribe seemed to be, I found myself caring about them too, and could relate to their motives, surely after so many centuries on earth the temptation and opportunity to take justice into your own hands would be too much... This is one of those stories where you don't want to say too much and spoil the story for the next reader. It has many twists and turns and it would make a good movie... A really good movie. I'm looking forward to the next book of the series already. I am a Liparulo fan now.
Evan98 More than 1 year ago
I am going to say this right now: Robert Liparulo’s latest thriller is an amazing novel. The daring premise about a tribe of immortals that have roamed the earth for 3500 years drew me in quite quickly. My mind suddenly went to how Robert would take the idea and create a full-length novel. I can definitely say that he did not disappoint. He takes opportunities that I did not even think about, dropping hints, and making the book full of great twists that results in a novel that I plowed through as quickly as I could. Jagger Baird, the main character of this novel and hopefully for the entire series is an enjoyable character who has secrets of his own that even surprise him. Robert has written a character that lets the reader identify and sympathize with without much effort. My favorite characters in The 13th Tribe were the members of the Tribe. Their logic is twisted, and you can’t help but feel sorry for them as they try to gain God’s forgiveness. However, you also can’t help but want to separate their heads from the shoulders. Go on ahead and pick up a copy of this book. I dare you. Just be prepared to be drawn in quickly and have your mind blown by twists and turns that make your head spin. Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. All thoughts and opinions are mine.
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
I am always looking forward to seeing what Robert Liparulo will come up with next, I have read almost every book he has written and his Dreamhouse Kings series is absolutely amazing. This book does not disappoint me at all! A Biblical fiction type scenario that is brought into the present and is then racked with espionage, danger, assassins and mystery. Oh, and I can't even begin to hint at the twists and turns in it - no way - you have to experience them yourself! If you like speculative fiction (a little fantasy, a little sci-fi and a lot of interesting) then you must read this book. For me it is a keeper - I was discussing it with my husband and told him I now want to go back and read the account of the golden calf in the Old Testament. That is a good book, one that drives you into the Word.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Once you start this one, you won't be able to put it down! When Moses went to the top of Mt. Sinai to receive the 10 commandments from God, he left the Israelites behind with Aaron. After some time the people began to complain that it was taking too long and perhaps Moses wasn't coming back after all. They convinced Aaron to make them a golden idol to worship and Aaron complied. The men, women and children began to worship the golden calf that Aaron had created and when Moses returned, the Bible states he was furious and broke the tablets in anger. When confronted with their worship of a golden calf, Moses told them to repent and those that refused were killed. This is the basis for latest novel,The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo. We all know about the 12 tribes of Israelites, but in this fictional novel based on the biblical story, there is a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals for their sin and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice. Now they have become a vigilante tribe that takes matters of sin and justice into their own hands as they have survived for generations. Believing at some point that what they are doing is approved by God, they will stop at nothing in the hopes that God may find favor in what they are doing. Unfortunately for them, they fail to see that they are wrong and that God is the one responsible for handing out punishment, not them. Now in the 21st century they are planning the ultimate in vengeance willing to take the lives of sinners and innocents to accomplish their purpose. Caught in between them is Jagger Baird who is heading up security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai and finds himself immediately involved with the 13th tribe who now believes that he must be eliminated as well. What they fail to understand is that Jagger is a former army ranger and when they involve his wife and son, he will stop at nothing to save them and the millions of lives that now hang in the balance. I received The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say, I couldn't put this one down. To me, this merits an outstanding book when I will sacrifice sleep to see how it ends. I love how Robert blends biblical history along with a modern twist to a group of immortal people who believe they are God's avengers to the injustices of the world. I couldn't wait to see how this one would turn out! It's action-packed, edge of your seat, thrill ride from beginning to end and rates a 5 out of 5 stars! For those of you that love story lines like Indiana Jones, this will be a must have for you! Now I am going to be picking up other thrillers from Robert to add to my Christian library!
Hudaj More than 1 year ago
(I was lucky enough to be able to get my hands on an advanced readers copy of The 13th Tribe; thus, the early review.) Robert Liparulo has truly outdone himself in this latest offering. I've read all of his books, and his craft is improving with each novel that he pens. I'll be honest; after reading one of his first novels, I was hesitant to read a second one. I had the opportunity to read a second novel for free, however, and am glad that I did so; Liparulo has quickly become one of my favorite authors. The 13th Tribe is quite possibly his most ambitious novel to date, taking readers across the globe in this high-tech thriller. Many books claim to have unpredictable plot twists, but very few actually live up to that claim. The 13th Tribe is one of those few. Yes, one or two plot twists are foreseeable for the astute reader, but I can almost guarantee you that you will never guess the events of the final pages. With believable characters, a solid and fast-paced plot, and underlying threads of Christian history and the true meaning of redemption, this is not a novel to pass up.
Brian_Mahoney More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS NOT THE ORIGINAL! Accidental Plagiarism? Mosaic Plagiarism? Reverse iconoclasm? MAYBE. Boring. Confusing. Slow. Historically inaccurate. Did I mention boring? DEFINITELY! I didn't like it. If I could give 0 stars, I would. HOWEVER!!! I might have disliked this book because it felt like a knockoff! There is another book called The 13th Tribe by Arthur Koestler. Now, I'm not saying that Liparulo's book was a case of reverse iconoclasm. And, I'm not saying he stole the name from the original. But when somebody writes a book on a nearly identical subject matter, one has to ask themselves: was this gross negligence on the author's behalf? Did somebody else put the bug in his ear; maybe encouraging him to write a book by that very name? It does seem a little suspicious to me. And as I said before, this book was confusing, hard to read and felt like it had been thrown together in a few days time. I wasn't impressed with the main character. He felt completely unrealistic. I mean, Jagger? Besides, Mick who has a name like that? This read like a 8th grade sci-fi project. And if I had to guess, I'd say the title was not an original.
CoryKruse More than 1 year ago
So often we, as humans, get caught up in the endless cycle of always trying to be good enough¿always trying to earn both God's and others¿ favor by being perfect. It¿s a vicious cycle, an arid desert. A barren wasteland empty and void of any true life. But Robert Liparulo¿s The 13th Tribe¿and God¿s message to us through it¿is like an unexpected oasis in the all-consuming heat. A source of hope, salvation. Grace. And once you venture in¿once you throw caution to the wind and dive head-long into its icy depths¿the experience is both immensely shocking and utterly numbing. But, slowly, and surely, your body begins to adjust. You realize the pool isn't so bad after all. It's refreshing. Amazing. In fact, you realize, this is where you've belonged all along, and you simply can't fathom your life before jumping in. That's the kind of experience this story elicits. The kind of shock the world needs. This is, truly, home. The 13th Tribe is, by far, Robert Liparulo¿s best work to date. The story is both visceral and heart-wrenching, a tale chalk-full of both staggering plot twists that will leave your mouth gaping and some of the most genuine and convincing characters I have ever read. They¿coupled with the subtle, but staggering, spiritual truth Liparulo weaves seamlessly into his tale¿are the reason the story is so powerful, so moving. The reason it is, truly, a masterpiece. The 13th Tribe engages on every feasible level¿intellectually, emotionally, spiritually. A reader cannot take this journey without being utterly changed. I certainly couldn't. And that is something I am eternally grateful for.
Krobpa More than 1 year ago
Here it is: Robert Liparulo has just set up the next great supernatural Christian fiction series! Unlike many other series, it's not one dimensional based on a singular super character. Robert does that and so much more. Each of the main characters can stand on their own at the center of this great story. Together they form a compelling group of people each on their own journey to self-discovery and redemption. Combining with the strong characters is a rich set of storylines. On one side is a family seeking restoration and healing after a tragic accident. On the other is a supernatural family seeking restoration and death after a tragic decision. Liparulo manages to incorporate enough technology to be credible and not too wonky. He uses enough spiritual truth to make the reader's spirit sing, but not have to reach for a concordance. He has enough action that makes it hard to put down. And the ending is so twisty and surprising you won't see it coming until you are run over by it! I recommend reserving your copy today and making room for the rest of the series to come.
smittenword More than 1 year ago
At the foot of Mount Sinai the children of Israel made a big mistake. It's true Moses had been gone 40 days after he headed up the mountain of God, but an all out rebellion culminating in the unbridled worship of a golden calf was unforgiveable. God's justice was swift, and according to the newest novel by author Robert Liparulo, it resulted in the creation of a "13th Tribe," a band of immortals banished from the presence of God for their sin at Sinai. Living throughout the millenniums, they form a vigilante posse determined to win God's favor back by bumping off evil villains throughout the ages. Present day Mount Sinai is where mere mortal Jagger Baird, former Army Ranger and executive bodyguard, now finds himself. A glorified security guard for an archeological dig, he's moved his family to this "God forsaken" land to try to heal, both physically and emotionally from a traumatic event which cost him his best friend, his best friend's family, and his arm. Angry with God and struggling with the concept of divine justice, Jagger longs for peace - but when the Tribe invades the sanctity of St. Catherine's monastery at the base of Sinai in an unholy fire fight, Jagger's plan to get his life together literally goes up in smoke. With his wife and young son in danger at the hands of the Tribe, Jagger goes on a quest to save them, and to save the world from a terroristic plot designed by the 13th tribe to prove to the Almighty that they have earned his forgiveness. Liparulo, as always, knows how to pack a punch, and in The 13th Tribe there's no lag time in this tale of vigilante justice, supernatural-style. The Tribe, decked out in the latest stealth tech., doesn't hold back on its pursuit to rid humanity of moral undesirables; and Jagger is a tough yet spiritually wounded hero struggling with the question of where is God when tragedy strikes. The 13th Tribe is a definite page turner with a worldwide scope. From the deserts of Egypt, to the catacombs of France, to the shores of North America, Liparulo delivers another fever-pitched suspense novel that doesn't disappoint. But the most impressive aspect of his newest novel is its spiritual depth. It challenges concepts of justice, mercy, redemption, and forgiveness. In the midst of explosions, knife fights, and doomsday plots, Liparulo makes you stop and examine yourself. With its high-octane intensity and thought provoking spiritual overtones, The 13th Tribe, the first in The Immortal Files, in my opinion, is the best Robert Liparulo novel to date.
DonDJ 6 months ago
I didn't get interested the the book until I was half way through. I did ask questions about the Bible and some of the references. This fiction is a what if type of story.
Jenneth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Absolutely amazing!!! This book completely sucked me into everything about it! 3500 years ago on Mt. Sinai, the children of Israel turned from God and Moses to worship a golden calf, right? Well, God killed most of them, but 40 remained, "cursed" to walk the face of the earth forever, never able to enter into the Lord's kingdom. These people believe that the way to get to Heaven is to EARN their salvation by killing sinners, blind to the fact that God freely gives them the gift of salvation.When the main character, Jagger Baird, is caught in the middle of the Tribe's evil ambitions, it results in a truly traumatic time for him involving his nine year old boy, Tyler, and his wife Beth. He teams up with a man named Owen to find and stop the Tribe before the next Hiroshima.I absolutely loved this book! Now that I'm finished with school, I was able to read for two days straight, unable to put the book down. Especially by around chapter 40, things really started picking up! (The chapters are really short) By the last page, I'm making all sorts of grunts and noises that result in strange looks from my brothers, who tell me to "calm down, Jen!" I love how Liparulo weaved Scripture into the story, making me want to research Mt. Sinai, James, and other parts of the Bible. You can tell he did his homework!In absolutely no way do I think this book was too preachy, as others have stated. If it had been any less Christian, I would have been disappointed. You need strong Biblical stuff when talking about matters like this. That way, you don't go against the Bible. Liparulo made sure everything connected, and stated where the "loophole" in the Bible was so we knew he wasn't contradicting it.The whole thing was amazing, and I can't wait to get my hands on the next book--as soon as he writes it anyway. :)398 pages
ReviewsFromTheHeart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Moses went to the top of Mt. Sinai to receive the 10 commandments from God, he left the Israelites behind with Aaron. After some time the people began to complain that it was taking too long and perhaps Moses wasn't coming back after all. They convinced Aaron to make them a golden idol to worship and Aaron complied. The men, women and children began to worship the golden calf that Aaron had created and when Moses returned, the Bible states he was furious and broke the tablets in anger.When confronted with their worship of a golden calf, Moses told them to repent and those that refused were killed. This is the basis for latest novel,The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo. We all know about the 12 tribes of Israelites, but in this fictional novel based on the biblical story, there is a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals for their sin and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice.Now they have become a vigilante tribe that takes matters of sin and justice into their own hands as they have survived for generations. Believing at some point that what they are doing is approved by God, they will stop at nothing in the hopes that God may find favor in what they are doing. Unfortunately for them, they fail to see that they are wrong and that God is the one responsible for handing out punishment, not them. Now in the 21st century they are planning the ultimate in vengeance willing to take the lives of sinners and innocents to accomplish their purpose.Caught in between them is Jagger Baird who is heading up security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai and finds himself immediately involved with the 13th tribe who now believes that he must be eliminated as well. What they fail to understand is that Jagger is a former army ranger and when they involve his wife and son, he will stop at nothing to save them and the millions of lives that now hang in the balance.I received The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say, I couldn't put this one down. To me, this merits an outstanding book when I will sacrifice sleep to see how it ends. I love how Robert blends biblical history along with a modern twist to a group of immortal people who believe they are God's avengers to the injustices of the world. I couldn't wait to see how this one would turn out! It's action-packed, edge of your seat, thrill ride from beginning to end and rates a 5 out of 5 stars! For those of you that love story lines like Indiana Jones, this will be a must have for you! Now I am going to be picking up other thrillers from Robert to add to my Christian library!
fingerpost on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Robert Liparulo's first two books, "Comes a Horseman" and "Germ" were favorites of mine. They had sinister cabals, global conspiracies, intricate plots, and well written action. This book has all of those characteristics, but it just doesn't work.To read a book in this genre, you accept some pretty crazy things on the outset. In this case, that there is a tribe of immortals who were cursed by God at Mount Sinai to live forever (unless their heads are cut off.) Once accepting the premise however, things need to make sense within that premise. I couldn't believe that children and teens who have lived 3500 years would not only STILL behave like children, but would behave like modern American children. I could not accept that people who's evidence of God was so direct, would believe that the way to heaven is by indiscriminately killing people they thought were probably "bad guys". I could not accept that a dad would leave his son in critical condition in a hospital to chase lunatics across the world - even if they had kidnapped his wife. I'll skip several other nonsensical plot elements which would be spoilers.There are other problems as well. The religion is preachy and not tied in well. The story stops to evangelize rather than neatly incorporating the message into the plot. The climax is disappointingly weak. It lacks the adrenaline rush his first two books gave. And while his plot opened the way for some fascinating theological thought, (Is it OK to do bad things for a good end? Is God vengeful?...) Liparulo settles in this book for bland "Love Jesus and have faith" platitudes.I'll give it two stars instead of one because he still writes a good action scene.
jenniferbogart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have been a huge fan of Robert Liparulo¿s Dreamhouse Kings series for young adults (yep, I¿m one of THOSE adults ¿ who voraciously devour YA fiction). When I saw that he had released the first in a new series of supernatural suspense titles ¿ for adults this time - I was all for it.The 13th Tribe is the first in a new series ¿ revealingly titled the Immortal Files that can perhaps be described best as biblically-inspired, speculative, suspense. To summarize the basic premise ¿ a group of Israelites who sinned against God in the desert (remember that golden calf?) were cursed with immortality. 3,500 years later we find them in the current age, bedecked with cutting-edge technology, equipped with deep financial resources acquired over the years ¿ they have set themselves the task of punishing sinners ¿ killing them in fact. And they¿ve been doing it since almost the beginning of their term. Yes, this is where the speculation comes in.The suspense comes into the picture when other individuals try to stop their plans once they reach epic proportions of death and destruction and begin to more directly involve innocents. Jagger ¿ a depressed family man and security specialist recovering from the loss of his arm and best friend, taken from him by a drunk driver ¿ finds himself unexpectedly drawn into the fray as the paths of this group ¿ The Tribe. There is violence (this is adult Liparulo after all), blood, and darkness ¿ these immortals are somewhat obsessed with the deaths that they themselves cannot obtain.The writing is awesome ¿ much better than any of Liparulo¿s other adult titles, the theme is actually quite a bit more up my alley than his other suspense novels to boot. Even though the pacing can be a bit slow at times (flashbacks, back story and all), the novel itself still manages to achieve a certain kind of beauty with its embedded message of grace.If I have to be honest, I cried, and I don¿t often do that with action-driven novels. The themes of redemption, forgiveness, reconciliation, are all apparent while being blended deftly into the storyline itself without huge chunks of preaching. As a bonus, although the is a first title it doesn¿t end with a cliffhanger, it can be satisfyingly read as a single novel. This is just a very well done offering from Liparulo, and I¿ll be looking forward to future installments in the series. Reviewed at quiverfullfamily.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing tale based on history and with a unique setting and many unexpected twists.  The characters were exceptional and the action was non-stop.  You won't be disappointed with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VicG More than 1 year ago
Robert Liparulo in his new book, "The 13th Tribe" Book One in The Immortal Files series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Jagger Baird. From the back cover: Immortal vigilantes from the time of Moses have planned the unthinkable. But how can you stop what you cannot see? The battle didn't start this year...or even this millennium. It began when Moses was on Mt. Sinai. Tired of waiting on the One True God, the twelve tribes of Israel began worshipping a golden calf through pagan revelry. Many received immediate death for their idolatry, but 40 were handed a far worse punishment--endless life on earth with no chance to see the face of God. This group of immortals became the 13th Tribe, and they've been trying to earn their way into heaven ever since--by killing sinners. Though their logic is twisted, their brilliance is undeniable. Their wrath is unstoppable. And the technology they possess is beyond anything mere humans could imagine. Jagger Baird knows nothing about the Tribe when he's hired as head of security for an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. The former Army Ranger is still reeling from an accident that claimed the life of his best friend, his arm, and his faith in God. The Tribe is poised to execute their most ambitious attack ever and the lives of millions hang in the balance. When Jagger's wife and son are caught in the crossfire, he'll stop at nothing to save them. But how can one man stand against an entire tribe of immortals? Jacob, also called Israel, grandson of Abraham, had twelve sons who founded the twelve tribes of Israel. Mr. Liparulo has conceived a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice. Somehow this punishment has driven them insane and they believe that if they punish sinners God will find favor with them and reverse His punishment, which, of course, is not going to happen. It has been thousands of years and now, Jagger Baird, comes into contact with them in his role of head of security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. These immortals target him and millions of others while taking Baird's wife and son hostage. Now the battle is on: one man against immortals! "The 13th Tribe" is a thriller, which simply means that everyone is in grave danger from, practically, the beginning. Mr. Liparulo has given us a really clever story, some of the best villains ever created and a complex, one-armed hero. "The 13th Tribe" is full of twists and turns that will keep you flipping pages to find out more. I do not recommend starting this book late at night as you will have to sacrifice sleep in order to finish it. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. What a terrific beginning to this series and I am looking forward to the next book. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has a good plot and the characters are well written, but it is fairly slow paced. There are some sci-fi elements but they don't play a big part in the story, seems more like an afterthought while revising it. And the "suprise" at the end - not really suprising if you understand the story as it progresses. Overall a good read but one you will be able to put down and pick up again later.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago