The Anatomical Shape of a Heart

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart

by Jenn Bennett

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
I was immediately drawn in to the story of Bex and Jack. The more I read, the more I wanted to read. I wanted to know everything there was to know about these two characters and I wanted things to work out for them so badly. Bex (which by the way, is an adorable nickname for Beatrix) is an artist and very serious minded person, which is sort of an oxymoron. Most artists are a little more fluid. This makes her character all the more interesting. That, and the subject of her artwork. I had never thought about who drew things like that before this book. Jack is an artist in his own way and has his own personal demons he's trying to overcome. The outlet of his artwork is more than just about him though, it's a way of connecting to someone close to him and letting that person feel connected back to him and the world around. The romance side of things was exciting and brings you right back to the moment of your own first love and how that felt. The rush of feelings and the fear and nerves and all of the racing emotions that go along with that. The author has perfectly captured those feelings and brought them to life on the page. The more serious aspects of the book, Bex relationship with her father, Jack's family drama, all of that only added to the story and the emotions while reading. When we come to the end of the story, there are things left open. We don't see answers to some of the questions we might have, but that lets the reader imagine how some things turned out and sometimes that's an amazing gift from the author. We get to imagine things the way we'd like them. I do wish there had been a way to actually see the final art piece that Bex made in the book. I would have loved to see how that came out. I think readers of YA contemporary romance and realistic fiction will really enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Jenn Bennett’s adult romance series so I was very curious about her writing young adult. I was very happy with this book; it had the quirky, interesting characters, great romance, and wonderful writing that Bennett is known for. I liked that Beatrix was different but didn’t consider herself the misunderstood, moody teenager. She was comfortable with who she was and didn’t feel like she didn’t belong in this world. She was very mature for her age, but considering I was the same way growing up I probably related very strongly to this part of her personality. I also liked the way Bennett portrayed the side characters in the book. For instance, Beatrix’s brother is an openly gay man but his character isn’t used to make a point or be a stereotype; he’s just a character. Bennett always does a great job with characterization so I felt like I really knew the characters as if they were real friends of mine. I also really liked Jack, though he was pretty perfect in that way that young adult romance heroes often are. But I was ok with that because it’s fiction and sometimes you want your characters to be better than regular people. The reasoning behind Jack’s graffiti was very sweet if a little misguided in terms of legalities but he just wanted to make his sister happy. Though Jack was reluctant to be in a serious relationship he was fascinated by Beatrix and there sweet romance was great to read. This book is very sex-positive with a very open and mature look at sex between teenagers. I respected how Bennett handled this topic as it can be very sensitive but often gets handled poorly in books for young adults. I loved the book but it didn’t have the same kick that Bennett’s adult romances have for me. This is purely personal preference and I think it mostly comes from not being a teenager anymore and struggling to really connect with young adult books. There was nothing wrong with Bennett’s writing or storytelling, I’m just looking for more adult characters now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was pretty amazing.
booklover_zech More than 1 year ago
When Bex and Jack meet for the first time there is an insta-attraction. They are just two passing souls on a night train. Of course they both then go out of their way to try to run into each other again. But as the two characters continue to bump into each other, they deny their attraction for what I felt was an obnoxiously long time. Once Bex admits to herself and Jack that she's totally crushing things finally get cute. However, the happening of this ("All of me, or none of me!"...dude we hardly know each other) was weird and felt totally out of character for the Bex the author had already established. Jack was overly into Bex from the beginning. His emotions were SO intense, in a way that I found hard to be believable...but totally romantic. Author Bennett gave Jack such a deep history with his mentally ill twin, however, that it really did allow for his character to have deep, quick feelings. Once our two main characters are together, the romance is on like Donkey Kong. There is a tad bit of steam for our risque lovers and also a lot of adorable, flirty moments for our romance lovers. It was a good balance. The chemistry between them is spot on, albeit intense. Together they learn to trust each other and perhaps come to learn more about themselves as well. 'Shape of a Heart' is solid contemp romance pick. I personally don't think it will be memorable even a month from now, but if you are reader who really enjoys contemporary romance, YA reads with some normal, everyday drama, and characters we haven't quite seen before this is the book for you. 3 stars.
readsthings More than 1 year ago
So good! I really really loved this one! Bex was such a different character and I loved how confident she was in her body and her dreams, but at the same time was still very much a teenage girl with a crush. And Jack was SO interesting too and different, and HELLA DREAMY. I loved how he was a Buddhist. That was just so unique, especially how it played into the story. The cast of characters surrounding Jack and Bex were just as real and grounded and felt so San Fran - I really need to visit. I'm a huge fan of Jenn's Roaring 20's romance series and was thrilled when I heard she was going to be writing a YA. It did not disappoint! She's clearly a talented author and I can't wait to see what she does next.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
This book was so different! Yes, the main characters fell in love. And, yes, there was a gay brother and an absent father. But the rest of the story was refreshingly unique. Bex wants to be a medical illustrator. (Who knew that was even a job?) She is planning to enter an art contest at the end of the summer to win a scholarship for college, but she needs access to the medical college's cadaver lab to draw more accurately. She bumps into Jack one night on the train platform going home from her meeting with the professor at the college. Jack is a felon. He's been painting graffiti all over the city of San Francisco, and Bex is the only one who knows his secret. In addition, Jack can mysteriously pull strings to get Bex into the cadaver lab. They strike up an unusual friendship/romance. Some other unique elements were a matchmaking homeless man and Jack's religion: Zen Buddhism. The romance story was a bit predictable, but the other plot lines were not. The characters were great. The book was written in Bex's voice which was snarky and slightly self-deprecating. I loved her. I really wanted there to be visuals in the book of her art. It sounded so amazing. Romantic contemporaries can sometimes be too dull for me, but this book had enough going on besides the love story to keep me interested. In fact, I couldn't put this book down. I read 180 pages in the first day, and I really wanted to stay up to finish it. I may have if it hadn't been the beginning of the work week. http://www.momsradius.com/2016/01/book-review-anatomical-shape-of-heart-ya.html
Lisa-LostInLiterature More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS JUST.... AHHHH!!! I'm having so much trouble writing this review. I keep typing... then deleting... then typing again. SO FRUSTRATING!! It's really difficult to review this one because I feel like you have to actually read it for yourself to get the full feel of how awesome it is. My words will not do it justice, that is a fact. That being said, I will do my best to portray through my utterly inadequate words how over-the-top adorable this book is. Let's begin, shall we? The Anatomical Shape of a Heart is set in San Francisco. Beatrix (Bex, for short) is trying to weasel her way into winning a scholarship for college. Bex is an artist with a very unique style: she draws anatomical body parts. She tries her darnedest to sneak into a program at the local hospital where she would be able to draw actual cadavers. But when she misses the last train home from the hospital, she ends up on the Owl Bus, where she meets the attractive and mysterious Jack. Bex and Jack are not your typical YA contemporary couple. The two are intrigued by each other, yet don't cross that line of infatuation too quickly. Jack is eager to get to know Bex better right from the get-go. I loved his persistent to get her to notice him, despite her making it extremely difficult for him. In the beginning of the book, Bex was very standoffish and make Jack really beg for the little attention she did give him. At first I didn't understand why she acted that way, but after she realized a "secret" about Jack, I think that fact alone made her hesitant to get too close to him too quickly. I can completely understand where that tough girl persona came from, though I was happy to see it eventually shed and get to know the real Bex. Another thing about this book that I loved... FAMILY! Such strong family bonds were present in this story, and that's always wonderful to see. These parents were (mostly) very present in their children's lives, and they were also extremely supportive and understanding. They didn't let their kids get away with much either, setting boundaries and punishments when needed. (They also weren't perfect and made their fair share of mistakes themselves.) The parents actually being present in their children's lives is hard to come by in YA, and it was one of my favorite parts of this story. Also... the sibling relationships in this story were PERFECTION!! Bex's brother was HILARIOUS!! I so want more of that guy. ♥ The Anatomical Shape of a Heart was full-on adorableness at its finest. That alone earns it ALL THE STARS in my humble opinion! This story has everything you could want and expect from a YA contemporary. As a HUGE contemporary fan, trust me when I say this book has everything going for it. I think most people, even non-contemporary fans, would love this story and these characters. The friendships, family involvement, and gorgeous messages throughout this book are heartwarming and will leave you with the warm fuzzies feelings long after finishing. "A happy coincidence." He shook his head. "Everything's connected, Bex. Whether we understand it or not." I buddy read this book with the lovely Genesis, and together we were fangirling the entire time! This is definitely a fun book to buddy read with a friend. There are a few secrets that are fun to guess while reading. Plus all of the swooning over Jack's charming self made for some pretty fun conversation! If James Dean and David Beckham had a baby, it would be Jack. Amirite
BoundlessBookaholic More than 1 year ago
I was a little unsure of this book because of the dead body part, but I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH! I’m so glad I decided to review this book for Sunday Street Team. Thank you Netgalley for giving me a copy in exchange for a honest review. This book is definitely 5 out of 5 stars. This book really doesn’t have any slow parts. The writing and pacing was well done. The cover is simple, but super cute. I can’t believe this is the author’s first YA contemporary romance. She writes like a veteran of the genre. I can’t wait to read her next YA contemporary romance, whenever it comes out! As I stated earlier, I was a little hesitant to read this because of the cadavers, but thankfully they weren’t overwhelming in the book. The bodies are only “shown” a few times, and the details aren’t too gory. If I can handle it, I think anyone can. The rest of the story overpowers the slight grossness of the dead bodies. The romance was definitely believable, and I adored it. Bex and Jack are so cute! Jack has definitely been added to my book boyfriend list. I love, love, love him so much! He’s such a sweetheart and he’s pretty hot too. What a great combination! I squealed a few times while reading the book because I couldn’t contain my feels. A couple of my favorite lines from the book were: “When the jacket stood back up, it grew arms and legs and a face that probably competed with Helen of Troy’s in the ship-launching department.” and “‘Do you ride?’ That sounded sort of dirty, and the way he looked at me felt sort of dirty, too. No one ever looked at me like that.” Final note: This was such a fantastic book. I almost instantaneously pre-ordered a hardcover copy after I finished the ARC. I’d highly recommend this to anyone who loves YA contemporary romance, or just a book in general that’ll give you some amazing feels. I almost wish I hadn’t read it yet, just so I could experience it again for the first time.