The Art of the Q: Build Your Business with Questions

The Art of the Q: Build Your Business with Questions

by Charlie Van Hecke

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, April 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Art of the Q: Build Your Business with Questions 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Megan1102 More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q by Charlie Van Hecke was personal interest for me because the author is an Alumnus of my University. This book was easy to read because it was written on a more personable level. The author gave real world examples that I could relate to. I never really gave questions much thought relating to the business world. This book goes into detail of the importance of questions. I loved his encouragement on using the SCAN method. This book correlates to the class I am taking that focus on SPIN selling. This book helped me have a better analyze potential customers personality. It is important to ask questions about the customer to better understand what they are about and what they want. I grasped this concept firmly through this book, which will help me in future, career opportunities. I would also like to add that this book is not just for business majors in sales. I highly recommend everyone no matter what career path to look into this book. In every job title there is some aspect of sales and communications that is incorporated. I believe if an individual wants to gain knowledge to help them increase performance in their career path they should read this book. Not only read this book but also apply it to life. I applied this knowledge in my day-to-day life just by asking my fellow classmates, professors, and friend’s questions. This book also discussed patients. It gives extremely helpful tips for people like me who have so much to say that they interrupt the person speaking. I found Van Hecke’s advice very helpful and have used in day-to-day life. Also discussed in the book was how important listening is and there are tips on how to be a better listener. It is pointed out that without listening your questions become unimportant and that is so true. I tend to forget that important aspect as much as I hate to admit it. I have jumped around the book and given just a few objectives that Van Hecke used that stood out to me. This book hits everyone differently. I highly recommend this book to fellow readers who are looking to expand their communication skills in all aspects of life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book review for the Art of the Q Charlie Van Hecke, author of the “Art of the Q” provides you with actual scripts, that can help improve your business relationships. This book is divided up into sections like; the basic, intermediate, and advanced skills he describes the different levels of skills needed in the business field. This book was very informative, only 100 pages but you learned a lot about improving your skills in the art of selling. It gives great questions to ask to keep the conversation moving and really understand the needs of your client. It also explains that sometimes the customer doesn’t really know what they need to fix and that if you word your questions the right way you both can uncover the mystery and see how your product or service can truly meet both needs. Charlie Van Hecke provides many examples of how his suggestions work in the real work force. He stresses that listening is one the most important factors in making a good sales call, because we must listen to buyers needs in order to know what their needs are. As I continued to read through the book, I realized that listening is a real important factor when conducting business in general and that is something you can apply in life no matter what your career path may be. Van Heck also spoke about being a good communicator. The way he goes about being one is simple and easy to apply, it’s called the SCAN method. SCAN question which represent Situation, Consequence, Advantage and Need Questions. He uses SCAN questions in some basic examples and progresses to some more advanced examples. Overall I think any one that is currently in sales whether they are successful or not should read this book. It can further your knowledge in sales techniques and prepare you for whatever the sales career may throw your way. This book is a must buy for the sales field and a great read to really understand the sales process if you happen to be on the buyer side of the question.
LGates More than 1 year ago
This is a book written by Charlie Van Hecke, an Alumni of Western Carolina University. Currently, I am a marketing student at Western Carolina University apart of the very program Mr. Hecke attends when attending Western. In the book, Mr. Hecke displays how simple communication skills are the building blocks of you indicating with customers and boating those relationships to make a sale. He clarifies how simplifying the process with effective questioning, listening, and controlling emotional reaction within a given timeframe are the basic communication skills. Going to the back to these basic skills of communication, he teaches the S.C.A.N. method, situation, consequence advantage, and need, which he explains how simply listening in asking effects of questions can form a possible solution. He has a way of providing multiple simplistic examples that better help us communicating with each other building relationships whether on a business level of personal level. This allows us to figure out he needs of customers and provides to those needs. After he explains the process, he accesses the need skills through basic everyday interaction with people. The book teaches us to treat customers as humans, and we have to work hard and be patient to get the best results. One huge contribution that the book allows the reader to understand that these skills discussed in the book are skills that we have already obtained. It’s a matter of honing in on those skills and applying them when trying to make a sale. He proves the cliche statement “practice makes perfect” through real life example. If I didn’t have to read this book for class, this wouldn’t have been my choice for a good read. This book is a necessity for marketers and salespeople. I recommend reading this book because this book teaches marketers more than how to drive and close on a sale. It teaches us how to band and create relationships with others. Altogether, the book has a smooth flow and a quick read that can be applied to every aspect of life.It was helpful and provided to views for real life examples that are relatable to us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q by Charlie Van Hecke is an important book for any undergraduate marketing major to read. Van Hecke is a graduate of Western Carolina University where I am currently a student; in multiple marketing classes at the university we use his book. He has worked with several different companies and sales teams over the years to train them and maximize their skills and profits. Van Hecke uses several companies from all different industries to show how everything is marketed in some way even if we do not realize it. The case studies that he uses in the book highlight the different aspects of sales. Van Hecke breaks down all the skills needed to be successful in a sales position. He focuses on skills such as communication, building relationships, and listening. These topics are relatable to everyone; even someone who is not pursuing a career in sales. I highly recommend everyone no matter what career path to look into this book. There is no job out there that does not require some aspect of sales and communications to be incorporated in your work. I believe if an individual desires to gain knowledge to help them increase their performance in their career path they should read this book. Besides going through the skills needed to be great at sales and explaining his SCAN method, Van Hecke also goes through his sales process and how to close the deal. Closing the sale is often the hardest and most nerve-wracking part of sales. However, Van Hecke breaks down the closing process and gives any reader the knowledge on how to close a sale. The Art of the Q is not just a book for a person going into sales; it is a book for anyone looking for their business to succeed. Whether we know it or not, sales are a part of every business whether we are doing the selling or we are being sold to. This book not only educates a reader on how to maximize his or her own potential sales but also how to run a business based on selling your business.
LManuszak More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q by Charlie Van Hecke is an excellent read. In the book, Charlie talks about how to become a better sales person and the things that go along with being a sales person such as building relationships with people and learning how to appropriately talk to people in a professional environment. He uses real life examples from his experience with sales along with case studies, and it makes it very easy to relate to and read. As a student, I find it hard to find a good book that grabs my attention, but he knows how to address things to where he makes his point clear, but he is still very easy to understand and his book is not boring like most books we have to read in class. I am taking a professional selling class this semester, and I have been kind of on the fence about sales, but reading The Art of the Q showed me that it isn’t as scary as I thought it was and it gave great advice on how to pursue a successful sales career. Although Charlie is in sales and a lot of his book relates to sales, this book is not only good for people going into that specific field. He talks about how to build relationships, how to ask good questions (knowing when to ask them and when to not), and just other things that would help anyone in the business industry. Everything he mentions in his book could lead to a successful career if you listen to what he is saying. He also talks about his SCAN Method, which is helpful when wanting to know someone’s wants and needs, and this was also helpful while doing in class exercises in my marketing class. This is important in a business environment. Overall, this was a great read and it gave me some very helpful information. I think anyone pursuing a career in business should take the time to read The Art of the Q because they could get some great tips from it and it could be very beneficial to their career.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q by Charlie Van Hecke is an excellent read. In the book, Charlie talks about how to become a better sales person and the things that go along with being a sales person such as building relationships with people and learning how to appropriately talk to people. He uses real life examples from his experience with sales, and it makes it very easy to relate to and read. As a student, he knows how to address things to where he makes his point clear, but he is still very easy to understand and his book is not boring like most books we read in class. I am taking a professional selling class this semester, and I have been kind of on the fence about sales, but reading The Art of the Q gave great advice and showed me that it isn’t as scary as I thought it was. Although Charlie is in sales and a lot of his book relates to sales, this book is not only good for people going into that specific field. He talks about how to build relationships, how to ask good questions (knowing when to ask them and when to not), and just other things that would help anyone in the business industry. Everything he mentions in his book could lead to a successful career if you listen to what he is saying. He also talks about his SCAN Method, which is helpful when wanting to know someone’s wants and needs, and this was also helpful while doing in class exercises in my marketing class. This is important in a business environment. Overall, this was a great read and it gave me some very helpful information. I think anyone pursuing a career in business should take the time to read The Art of the Q because they could get some great tips from it and it could be very beneficial to their career.
Brandi Pursel More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q by Charlie Van Hecke is an excellent book. Charlie is a graduate of Western Carolina University where we use his book in several sales and marketing classes. He is renowned in the world of sales. He has worked with several different companies and sales teams to train them and maximize their skills and profit. In his book, he shows how we are all a part of sales. Van Hecke uses several companies from all different industries to show us that sales are used everywhere. The case studies that he used open our eyes to the different aspects of sales. Van Hecke breaks down all the skills needed to be successful in sales. He focuses on skills such as communication, building relationships, and listening. When he breaks down these skills, he really looks at all aspects and relates it back to the reader. These topics are relatable to everyone, even someone who is not perusing a career is sales. He also goes into his SCAN method. This method is very helpful when trying to succeed in sales. The SCAN method takes the reader through the different types of questions to ask when trying to make a sale. These different types of questions are situation, consequence, advantage and need questions. He takes these types of questions and applies it to real life examples. Besides going through the skills needed to be great at sales and explaining his SCAN method, he also goes through the sales process and how to close the deal. Closing the sale is often the hardest and scariest part of sales. However, Van Hecke breaks down the closing process and makes any reader ready to close a sale right then. The Art of the Q is not just a book for a person going into sales, it is a book for anyone looking for their business to succeed. Whether we know it or not, sales is a part of every business whether we are doing the selling or we are being sold to. This book educates a reader on how to maximize their sales but also how to maximize a business. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a career is sales and business.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of The Q by Charlie Van Heck is a very important book for any inspiring sales rep to have under their belt. The reason for this, is due to the immense amount of knowledge that is lingering inside the pages. It provides a clear idea to better sales techniques and goes through each step of the selling process. This benefits the reader by breaking down step for step what the sales rep needs to accomplish in each stage to better their amount of sales along with clientele, while at the same time keeps it on basic terms so it will make sense and not cause any confusion, also making it an easy read. This book is not all about black and white sales techniques though, it goes into depth about real world examples and explanation on how to handle a situation if this ever could arise in your work. This book is very instructional, giving a very basic and general game plan for what to do during a sales meeting. It gives direction on how to improve throughout your career as a sales representative. While reading this book it does not feel like actually reading a book, instead it seems like a conversation. By that I mean Van Heck does not write very formally, he writes as if he were standing next to you walking through all of this in person. While being very informational, it also is generic. The book moves very fast (when its only 100 pages it kind of has to) from topic to topic, giving you a good, but also very basic understanding of each step. The most important chapter in my mind is the chapter about SCAN questions. During this chapter Charlie explains how to frame and ask questions not only to get the customer interested, but also to make them purchasing the product their idea. By this I mean Charlie gets them to believe they need their product and that way by the end of the meeting, the sales rep already knows his sale is in the bag. Altogether I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to be in or already in the sales and marketing fields. It will pay dividends well over expectations and that could translate to a better salary in your career.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q was a very interesting read written by Charlie Van Hecke. He did a good job writing this book and making it very easy to understand and read. Knowing that Charlie Van Hecke went to Western Carolina made it that much easier to read and fun, because I know that I am in the situation he once was and that he was very successful at the school I am attending now. Mr. Van Hecke talks about every strategy in the book to help people get through all situations in sales. I like how the book teaches you what types of questions to ask in certain situations in a sales call and how to handle people’s rejections. He gives several examples from the SCAN method to learn how to build rapport. The SCAN method taught me how important it is to use this acronym when handling customers that way I can ask different kinds of questions that will trap customers into telling me their problems and what they need in order for me to sell to them. He defines this acronym as situation, consequence, advantage, and needs. I thought it was interesting that he used SCAN as his acronym because I was used to the acronym known as SPIN. SPIN stood for situation, problem, implication, and need-payoff in which, he says is a more difficult four-step selling process. In the book he incorporates real life stories to help explain why Mr. Van Hecke used the questions he asked in real life situations. I found every bit of Mr. Van Hecke’s advice helpful especially when it comes to holding back and counting in your head before you accidently interrupt someone speaking. He stresses that it is very important to keep the questions going when in a sales call or a meeting this way the customer stays entertained and realizes that most importantly you do care about their company and helping them improve it. I know communication is important, but I thought it was neat that Mr. Van Hecke would give examples of situation not just in sales but in other job forces and how important it is to be able to communicate with anyone. I do not enjoy reading much, but I would definitely recommend this book to anyone in sales or anyone looking to help improve their communication skills. This book was very much of a motivation to me and the need to improve my listening and communication skills as well as different ways to ask questions in any type of situation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of Q is a book of motivation to me. I am a senior at Western Carolina and I am studying Business Management & Marketing. After graduation in December 2016, I planned on pursuing a career in sales management. I have this passion for growth and there are so many ways you can grow in sales as an individual. In my eyes I just don’t look at sales as a dollar sign, I view it as a way to perfect such a skill set and learn more about yourself. Charlie Van Hecke explains that through real life case studies in the book. One thought from the book that stood out to me was when he explained how it’s important to ask the right questions at the right time. The reason I say this is because lately, I have been interviewing with jobs and now they’re willing to negotiate with a lot of things considering that I am still a student. If I had not asked them questions, I would not have a promising career after graduation. Another thought that was mentioned in the book was how avoiding mistakes when asking questions can help you avoid losing sales. I have been in this situation before several times and I have never really understood why I would lose the sell. Now I am realizing it’s the questions I ask when I would consult with a costumer. Instead of being so personal learn how to keep the questions in general manner to lead the sale. The art of Q, will help me in the long run with my selling skills and just understanding how to direct my sales into a position I want. This book also taught me to put myself in the shoes of another person, which also can be used outside of my profession. To really understand a person or their decision you have to study their situation and put yourself in their shoes. That’s why this book is the key to my success, because everything you learn with sales you can apply to your life outside of sales.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q book by Charlie Van Hecke is a very interesting yet informative book. Perhaps I should first state that I enjoyed reading the book as well as learning some personal tips for myself. I also found it quite amazing that Charlie not only graduated from Western Carolina University where I am currently a student at but also was a guest speaker during my Marketing 206 (Professional Selling) class. I really enjoyed hearing him speak about not only his book but also his personal opinion on tips in life and giving real world examples from his own personal experience. Some situations that he talked about I relate to my own self and I really liked that. The book was a highpoint of the Scan method but was very similar in ways to SPIN selling. I would really like to say that this book was very helpful and made me view things differently about sales such as how to examine customers in a better manner and really breaking down what they want from your company or even simply learning more about them to better understand their needs. It is very important as well as beneficial to learn about a customer especially if they are frequent customers because you can prevent running into minor issues or should I even say making a minor issue into a big issue. Communication is the key no matter what job field anyone is going into. Throughout many careers, communicating is what will provide information as well as great sources that can benefit not only you as a person but maybe even a company that you are working for. Not only is communication important but Charlie also stated that being a great listener is important. Having great listening skills can provide you with lots of information that could be valuable to you or even your company. Just in general, being a listener is key to earning helpful and wise tips for anything. Whether it is good or bad information, being positive is the way and you can turn any negative situation into something positive. So many great tips throughout the book helped me in so many ways view things differently for sales and my life in general. A positive attitude is the best attitude.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q is book written for any particular person to read. It does not matter what the title of your job is. The quote, “that everyone is in sales” is most definitely accurate. There is not one company or job in the world that does not provide a good or a service of some sort. I appreciate the fact that a WCU alumni took the time to write an enlightening book on sales. It means a whole lot to me to read a book from the same environment I choose to get my education from. I can relate to him even though I never met him. The Art of the Q is an excellent book that takes you through the sales method and how to use it through our daily life scenarios. Charlie Van Hecke gave a fascinating explanation on the significance of a precise mind set before a sale. He also showcased a plan on the twelve step package and how important communication skills can be used in any circumstance. For an example, you could possible use them in business and personal scenarios to help you out. I extremely applaud the author on his educated book. Charlie Van Hecke talks about the variety of skills you need to be a well-rounded salesman. You should always polish your fundamental skills as well as advanced skills. The reason being is because a lot of sales are lost because of the deficiency in systems, so never abandon the foundation skills. The book was very informative but it’s not a better teaching guide than actual sales experience. Throughout sales experience you get the full effect on what to know. I think others should consider reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q written by Charlie Van Hecke is pretty interesting in my point of view. I enjoy reading it, am don’t always read the whole book because some book are hard to read. As English been my second language is hard to understand some words. But this book was pretty easy to ready. The fun about reading this was that in not like other business book. The Art of the Q use the scan method that related to the SPIN book that we I’m using for my Marketing class. I think has helped me get a better grasp on the business world and what things are required in order to be a successful businessman. One of the main things he stresses through out the book is the scan method. This method is used to show the reader what kinds of questions are needed to discover what the buyers needs are. By reading about this method I feel like I can better discover the needs of the buyer. I like the way the book talk about “make specific changes that lead to success, through relationships built on trust”. I this is very important to be succefull in the world out there especially as sale man. You need to make that trust in order to make that sale, like one of the speaker to come to my mkt 206 told us the million dollar question. What do you want me to do so I can get what I want? Is a way to get the no answer out of the way and move to the final point the sale point? This is the way this book has help me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of The Q was a very capturing read and a handy tool for learning how to sell. Van Hecke wrote that simple skills in communication can distinguish between a great seller from an average person. Customer relations is the first step in being able to give good responses to the questions and concerns that may come up. Being personable while gaining the customer’s trust is most important and these communication skills can help make that happen. The book teaches readers basic selling do’s and don’t. The S.C.A.N method stands for Situation, Consequence, Advantage, and Need. This method gives individuals the right words to use in the certain situations, to listen to the concerns and then form questions and possible solutions. Van Hecke also reveals how to classify buyers by asking questions that are planned out. He talks a lot about observing the qualities of your company, and to operate from the inside out. Without a good internal quality in a company, it will fall short of success. The book teaches you how to deal with buyer doubts and how to have specific responses to questions in order to execute the sale. The Art of The Q makes light of many possible situations to come and makes the selling process very easy to understand. It also gives learning people knowledge to be successful in sales
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By : Brett Doyle The Art of Q book by Charlie Van Hecke is a very informative piece of literature . The book is designed to familiarize new sales people with the concepts of personal selling. It was interesting that Charlie Van Hecke included real life situations to relate to his readers . The four important concepts that stood out the most were the qualification aspects ,the S.C.A.N method ,open –ended questions, and how to close in a proper manner . For the qualification aspects , Charlie stated you will need to know the budget , authority figure in the deal and time frame before making any advancements on the deal . These matters are important because if your product is to much the buyer/ business will not be interested and your just wasting their time . It is important to identify who is in charge to know what questions to ask questions on the time frame to accelerate the sales cycle . Such as “ When will the decision be made ? “ The Scan method was my favorite approach by far he gave great insight about asking Situational questions properly which in turn gives a better understanding about how one’s business operates so you can lead into problematic questions and so on . C is the next step and that is the tool needed for uncovering he causes of the ongoing issues and how they can go about eliminating them. " Uncovering the pain so to speak " . The objective is convience the buyer they are in need of help and heave them admit their mistakes . A is the advantage question , zones in on the issues and concerns . You can mention the advantage of your products to lure in the buyer and display what advantages your product has over their current supply. N is for need pay off , confirm people are committed to changing the concerns. The seller can list several options for the buyer , so the buyer can save money in the long run. Open -Ended questions s are the best way to direct engage the prospect directly and learn what they want. By using this technique you can better understand the buyers needs than asking yes or no questions that can generate an objection right of the bat. In the matters of closing always summarize the information the buyer shared because this shows them you have been paying attention and covered their implicit and explicit needs .
JonF More than 1 year ago
The art of Q is a very good book. It is very beneficial to anyone in the business world. Anyone and everyone in business deals with sales in some sort of way. The Art of Q is especially beneficial to people in the field of sales. Charlie Van Hecke is a great author whose words are very intriguing, and insightful. The real life examples in his book were kept me engaged, and showed me that he really knew what he was talking about. I felt like I was gaining something by reading this book. It seemed to me that he really cared about what he was talking about, and was not just in it for money. But that he really wanted to help the reader of the book learn more about sales. He shows the importance of questions in sales, and how the right questions can be very beneficial in a sales atmosphere. He gives great examples on how to use questions, and the right types of questions to ask. I never knew how much weight the right questions could really hold until I read The Art of Q. The SCAN system he discusses is a very good system that can be very beneficial to anyone that is in or would like to be in sales. Situation, consequence, advantage, and need is what SCAN is an acronym for. Charlie goes into every aspect of SCAN in great detail, and helps the reader understand each segment of SCAN. He helps the reader understand the importance of human communication, and how powerful it can be if you know the right questions to ask, when, and how to ask them. After reading this book I truly feel like I have a better understanding of questions, and how beneficial they can really be. Charlie goes in depth about how being a good talker can help you go very far in your career, and in life. I would recommend this book to anyone. Not just people in the professional field but also to anyone that is pursuing a career. The way this book is set up it is supposed to be for sales. But I feel as if this book could help anyone. Not only the working professional but the average college student, or high school student to become a better communicator, and question asker.
Geneboy More than 1 year ago
This book written by Charlie Van Hecke was very informational and helpful. There were many things in this book that I could take with me into the business world once I graduate. The book was very easy to read, most books related to business are very difficult do to read and the fact that this book wasn't was probably the biggest highlight to me because I didn't struggle attempting to read this book. Also this book relates very closely to the marketing class I am currently taking and I feel has helped me get a better grasp on the business world and what things are required in order to be successful. Another plus to this is that the author is an Alumnus from Western Carolina University which is also the same university I attend so it’s good to see a former student from the university doing well it just makes me even that more confident that I chose the right school, and that I know my education will be worth it and will carry a sufficient amount of weight so I will be able to one day get a decent paying job. I also learned that it is important to ask the correct questions to find what the customer is looking for so you can effectively find what they are looking so you can then better assist them in an attempt to solving their every need. I would definitely recommend this book to others, I think that it can help people in every field of work not only business.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q" was a very interesting read. I was aware of some of the techniques mentioned in the book before reading but did not know all of the realistic examples that go on in our daily lives. What stood out to me the most was the qualification questions. The core to qualification is budget, authority, and time frame. After reading this book I now have a different view when dealing with customer. Before, I never thought of having to question the qualification of your customer. I’ve come to realize that asking these questions to your customer cuts down the time and money you waste on unqualified people. By getting rid of the unqualified buyers earlier it helps save yourself money and effort in the long run. This book benefitted me because it helped me understand these topics at higher and more intuitive level. So now I am more prepared for when I go out into the workforce. I feel that I have a better feeling what to expect and how to go about situations. Another topic from the book that fascinated me was TRIP (Trust, Reciprocation, Information, and Performance). Without realizing it we use this tool every day. When talking to customers you have to trust what they are saying. Customers begin to feel a connection when you listen to their needs and show care for them. A real relationship starts to form when you as the salesperson executes the needs of the customers. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in business or wants to know more about what questions to ask and when to ask them. This book really applies to my marketing major. What I like most about this book, no matter what I do with my major I will be able to take what I have learned from this book and use it in my daily relationships with coworkers or friends. This book was written by a Western Carolina Alumnus and was great to see such a well written book about business and something relatable to what I am studying.
nadyer1 More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q is an amazing read for anybody at any level of business. This book provides real life examples that can be related to by the reader. I honestly have not thought much about questions relating to the business world other than what is discussed during the business courses I am taking. After reading the Art of the Q I have a wider outlook on the business world and questions that can be asked. Charlie Van Hecke spent a good bit of time discussing the SCAN Method, which I find to the very intriguing. As discussing this book with a classmate who is a fellow business major we believe that this book applies to every aspect of business or career you are perusing. There is an abundant amount of information that will give insight to running and operating a business on all different levels. One of the key things I received from this book was where the author discussed patients. The tips he gives are spot on and should be something that everyone should study long and hard. It will not only help you in your career but also in your everyday life. It is simply impolite to interrupt another individual in any circumstance. I not only believe that the reader should study the patient’s section of the book and apply it to their life, but also take everything else that is discussed through this very informational piece by Charlie Van Hecke. This book is a great way to improve on communication skills, patients, SCAN method, spin selling. If you are looking for a good read that will give you insights on information that can help you better your life and make you more successful in the business world then I highly recommend read The Art Of the Q.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q is written by Charlie Van Hecke who is an alumnus of Western Carolina University. I was a little skeptical of this book at first because I had never read a book like this before. I was given this book to read for a marketing class I am enrolled in. This book goes into detail of the importance of asking questions. Even though The Art of the Q written by Charlie Van Hecke is about selling, he gives many examples throughout the book to show that it can be used in other parts of your life and other occupations as well. One of the main things he stresses through out the book is the scan method. This method is used to show the reader what kinds of questions are needed to discover what the buyers needs are. By reading about this method I feel like I can better discover the needs of the buyer. I ever really thought asking questions could so far in selling a product. Another method that is mentioned in the book NFAB-Check method. The acronym shows how your needs, features, advantages and benefits should be organized then it reminds you that you need to go back and check everything in that order. By going over the benefits last you really show how you can the buyer how your product can help them by stressing certain points first. Well as I read more of this book I began to think how this could really help me in my life so I started to see the point behind and was not really that skeptical of it anymore. Well of course with asking questions there is going to be answers and you might need a little confirmation on what the buyer has said. Charlie also has a solution for that problem as well. He says in the book if you need confirmation to just repeat back to them what they said to you. Through and through this was a good read. I would recommend it for anyone business major or not. This book has a lot points to help anyone in any profession.
Maximillian1994 More than 1 year ago
The Art of the Q was a great book and a very well written piece of literature. Art of the Q is an easy read and can be finished within a day.Within the time it takes to finish the book you will immediately learn about what it takes to become an effective seller .The book is a great read for a marketing major or any college student for that matter. The author Charlie Van Hecke was a former student at western Carolina and is an expert in the realm of sales and relations. You really get a sense of what it is like to be a successful sales person after reading this book. I learned a great deal about the whole process of selling and asking questions. This book starts with basic questioning skills to help readers connect, engage, and understand their customers or who ever they are selling to. The author provides case studies from many different kinds of industries, with numerous examples and real life occurences of the information given in the book. The book shows how to qualify customers by asking planned-out question sequences. This saves time and helps business owners, sales people, and other business professionals to focus on their customers. Highlighting the value of internal qualities like empathy and persistence. Most importantly students or people who are trying to better themselves as a sales person. The sales process has a structure and learning that structure is the key to securing any sales opportunity. Art of the Q is filled with great expertise on what to do in any kind of sales situation. After reading Art of the Q you will be a professional salesperson in no time. I personally learned a great deal from this read. I have a better understanding of what to do when I am in a sales type situation, I would recommend this book to anyone it is definitely worth it. Charlie Van Hecke did an excellent job of writing this book, as well as making it easy to understand.
justmyoponion More than 1 year ago
First off id like to start by saying that I did not personally pick this book to read but was assigned it in a marketing professional selling class. Secondly, unlike the other books I am assigned in college classes, I do feel this one was more “real-life” relevant than others. The book was written by a Western Carolina University alumni, go cats, who has done very well as a salesperson. This aspect caught my attention because I too will be a WCU alumni in December and hope to go into the sales force. I feel that by reading this book I am better capable of handling future sales situations and better equip at communicating with individuals who might not see my point of view. The start of this book dealt with body language, word choice and overall professional communication with people in general. I believe this information is relevant for the unlucky people who don’t necessarily have the natural “people skills” selling encompasses, but for me it started off pretty slow. I was at work finishing the last few chapters, I am a server at a fine dine restaurant, when I decided to put what I have read into action. I approach my 2 top in the corner and ask to clear their empty entrée plates, upon bussing I ask the couple if they would like desert. Normally I would ask a table if they would like desert, patiently wait for them to ask everyone else at the table and ultimately decide on no. Tonight I was not about to take no for an answer, before the couple replied I named and described the various deserts offered, ending with the blackberry cobbler below a scoop of ice cream, which I explained was my favorite. The couple decided to go try my favorite, the cobbler and ice cream, in which I haply prepared while writing cobbler a la mode $7.20 on their checkout bill. Disregarding the few chapters I felt were slow or dry, I really enjoyed the real life situations incorporated in every chapter throughout. Hecke did not just touch on business-like situations but situations that occur between real life people in everyday transactions. The simple things such as listening, making eye contact, being persistent, and knowing when to be empathic, are all qualities people should have whether one wants to go into the sales force or not. This novel not only helps sales people fine tune their tools but can be used by those who just wish to better understand human interaction. I recommend this book to any and all salespeople, including you top sellers, as well as to any of your friends, parents, ex’s, whoever, you feel could use a helping hand in this department.
swoodbury1 More than 1 year ago
I would highly recommend reading this book to anyone interested in sales, or has any interest in the sales process. The book was a very easy read being only about 120 pages worth of content, you can easily knock it out in one, or two sittings. The book is written by a man named Charlie Van Hecke, a Western Carolina University graduate, has gone on to earn multiple best seller awards. Charlie has sales experience in multiple industries and really walks you through the entire process of the sale and gives excellent real world examples. In the book he really breaks down the sales process into different parts that are easily digestible and easy to learn. The author Charles Van Hecke does a good job of explaining his method of sales he calls the SCAN method that stands for Situation, Consequence, Advantage, and Need. He uses the SCAN method instead of the other popular method of SPIN, which he claims may be slightly more difficult than the method he has developed. In my opinion the SPIN and the SCAN methods seem very similar because they are talking about nearly the same things just using different words. It is beneficial to know both techniques because you can use either one, but I can’t say that either one is definitely better. Like the SPIN sales process, the SCAN process starts out by suggesting that you start with establishing rapport then start with what would normally be called a situation question to start the conversation, which is just a small example of the similarities of the processes. I am currently only a student and have not had any real world sales experience, but I think the SCAN process is worth using. My group and I may use the SCAN process on our next in class role play. The errors to avoid section was also very informational when it went into talking about how it is important not to interrupt the customer, which most people would see as common sense, but it is important to remember. Overall I would recommend to pick up this book and learn some new sales techniques.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"The Art of the Q" was a very interesting read. I knew about some of the techniques mentioned in the book before reading but did not know all of the practical examples. The biggest thing that surprised me was qualification questions. Everyone has their own definition of qualification and not everyone has the same qualifications. The core to qualification is budget, authority, and time frame. I never really thought of having to question the qualification of your customer before reading this book. After reading, I realized that asking these questions to your customer cuts down the time and money you waste on unqualified people. By cutting out the unqualified people earlier it helps save yourself money and effort in the long run. This book was a great read for me because it helped me understand these topics better now so I am more prepared for when I go out into the workforce. Another topic from the book that interested me was TRIP (Trust, Reciprocation, Information, and Performance. Without realizing it we use this every day. When talking to people you have to trust what they are saying, if you listen to them then they will be able to listen to you if your time of need, by listening to people you gather valuable information, and by performing correctly by listening to all of the details. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in business or wants to know more about questions and trying to ask the right questions. This book really applies to both of my majors as a Sport Management major and a Marketing major. No matter what I do with my majors I will be able to take what I have learned from this book and use it in my daily relationships with coworkers or friends. This book was written by a Western Carolina Alumnus and was great to see such a well written book about business and something relatable to what I am studying.
Visith Thepphasone More than 1 year ago
"The Art of the Q" was a mildly entertaining book to read. This book was also surprisingly helpful in developing conversation skills on top of selling skills. Asking questions is the life source of keeping a conversation alive, and Charlie Van Hecke dives into what real questions to ask are. Van Hecke states that as a seller, you should try to get to know you customer on a more personal level to achieve a sell. Van Hecke describes this method as the SCAN process, and it has been proven to be more than effective. One of my favorite parts of this book is Van Hecke's usage of real-life examples to help illustrate the different techniques of professional selling. One very detailed examples involves a doctor and Van Hecke, as he begins to describe the four different types of objections and why the customer objected. This book was assigned to me while I was taking a course, Professional Selling, at my University. This book has made the class slightly easier since I believe this course a rather difficult course to grasp. Though, I was a tad skeptical about this book and its' nature. How is a book going to teach you how to sell? Well, it does not, Not completely at least. The best this book can offer is a skeleton of the professional selling world and what to do with it. The only missing thing from that formula is applying it concisely, of course. I would be lying if I said this book has not helped me become a little bit better as a sells person. The best piece of advice Van Hecke gives is that to be a great salesperson you have to be able to listen and ask questions. Personally I agree with that philosophy and believe that everyone should adopt it in their everyday lifestyle. Overall I enjoyed reading this book, even though it was an assigned reading. I would recommend this book for those who are looking to get a better idea of professional selling and who wants to polish up on the skill.