The Baby Matrix: Why Freeing Our Minds From Outmoded Thinking About Parenthood & Reproduction Will Create a Better World

The Baby Matrix: Why Freeing Our Minds From Outmoded Thinking About Parenthood & Reproduction Will Create a Better World

by Laura Carroll

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Baby Matrix: Why Freeing Our Minds From Outmoded Thinking About Parenthood & Reproduction Will Create a Better World 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
SteffyC More than 1 year ago
This book was fascinating and eye-opening. There are some things in life everyone seems to take for granted, and the near-universal desire to have children seems to be one of them. To me, the most interesting part about reading the “The Baby Matrix” by Laura Carroll was how she exposes the many ways that society is bent on reproduction (pronatalism), and analyzes with in-depth research where these influences come from, and if they are truly for the best of society and the future. For anyone who is ever considering having children, this book is a must read.
SamRyan More than 1 year ago
Laura Carroll sets up a clear thesis right away, and questions what we perceive as “normal”. The narrative is clear and engaging, and easy to follow along. The examples she provides, along with the academic interpretations of social norms, was both enlightening and at the same time, comforting. It’s nice to read something that I’ve secretly wondered and thought about, but was never able to find anywhere in a form such as this book. Her ideas and arguments are neatly laid out, and clearly show the many cases that a woman’s value is determined by her ability to have children. And that being a good mother is the highest of all ideals. I like that this book not only questions this belief, but provides very rational arguments supporting it.
AprilDawn More than 1 year ago
At first I was not sure if I would like this book. I mean, who doesn’t love babies, right? Well, I appreciated the matter-of-fact and near scientific approach that the author laid out, and with clear research to back it up, that just looked at a prevailing attitude in our culture/world, and was just simply questioning if that was the only way to go. Of course some people will be offended, and I could see this being controversial (as things are when you challenge the status quo). But that’s exactly why we need to read it. Because if having a child is the right course for you, then this book will not change that. (Same with the opposite). But as a society at whole, we should be aware of what exactly is driving our attitudes and our decisions, and having facts and information only make us better and stronger as a whole. A really good book that was easy to read and understand.
JennaBrewster More than 1 year ago
This book was a breath of fresh air. I’ve noticed that it seems like we are living in an increasingly baby/mother-centric society as if the human race is going to extinguish at any moment if we aren’t constantly reproducing or being able to mother a child. It seems like every TV drama I was watching last year centered over the fact that despite a woman who was successful with great career (doctors, etc…) in relationships with great circle of friends, it was like OMG MY LIFE IS SO AWFUL UNLESS I HAVE A BABY NOWWW!!! And the hysteria over fertility then the instant adoption and then PHEW! I have a baby now…okay my life is complete. I wonder what message this is sending, and I’m glad that someone is calling it for what it is. BTW I don’t watch those shows anymore, but it was strange to see just how many seemed to be following that same premise.
BrendaMax More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a fascinating book and I am so happy I had a chance to read it. As a woman in her mid-30’s who is still on the fence about motherhood, it was nice to hear analytical reasoning on the pros and cons, and not make it seem like motherhood should be an automatic, assumed path in life for all woman. This book isn’t “anti-baby” by any means, more like helping to open eyes and make informed decisions which is a handy tool in any major life choice. Highly recommend
BellaReadz More than 1 year ago
Oh, wow…this book was great! I wish I would have read it years ago! I’ll keep this review brief but I feel like I could agree with everything written here for pages and pages! Yet it’s interesting how in this society it’s almost taboo to talk about or you are perceived as having something wrong with you if as a woman you don’t pursue motherhood. I’d like to personally thank Laura Carroll for writing this and putting this perspective out there. Hopefully others will read and we can accept the fact that there is no one right way to do things, and just following along blindly with what everyone else does or what is expected can lead down the wrong road (for some…I totally get this is the right decision for others!) All and all a well-written and enlightening read that should be in every home.
ClaireBear74 More than 1 year ago
It is very bizarre to take the blinders off and look around and see just how right Laura Carroll is in her book “The Baby Matrix: Why…..” Motherhood, and the desire to have children is such an ingrained notion in our culture, (pronatalism) it is celebrated and worshiped, we just take it for granted. But there are many women (myself included) who haven’t taken the baby route yet, and I’m surrounded by people wondering “what is wrong with me”. Because in our society a woman isn’t really complete until she has had children, and this type of outdated thinking just isn’t true. I love how Laura Carroll put forth the myths and fallacies and supported her research with facts and perspectives that most people don’t even think about. I’m not saying this will start any anti-mother revolution (nor is this the point of her book). But it just helps to see another perspective and perhaps get people to see something so taken for granted in another way. Always good…
KMatthews More than 1 year ago
I think “The Baby Matrix…” was a really interesting book that helped me open my eyes. I have two children, 5 and 7, and I knew from the time I had my first doll that I couldn’t wait to be a mother. It was a strong driving force in me my whole life and I barely made it out of high school before having my first. But my sister who is older than me by 4 years does not have children and doesn’t seem to want any (although she’s great with mine). I admit that I’ve secretly wondered what was wrong with her…and of course I’d never say that to her face, but I’m happy that I read this book because now I think I understand more. And while being a mom is right for me, it might not be for everyone, nor should we assume it should be. Not just for the individual, but for the whole world. I enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would, so I am giving it 5 stars.-
SDecker More than 1 year ago
Interesting and compelling. This is outside my normal reading, I admit, but I thought it sounded interesting and I gave it a shot. The book was laid out well and was very easy to grasp the ideas and concepts… a reason I shy away from nonfictions such as these is the tendency of the authors to write esoterically. But not here. Laura Carroll writes to the everywoman/man, in terms and ideas that are not only easy to understand, but make a startling amount of sense. I do believe my eyes have been “opened” after reading this and I think almost anyone could benefit from reading it as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago