The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm Illustrated Chapter Book

The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm Illustrated Chapter Book

by Sybrina Durant

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm Illustrated Chapter Book 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
P-Lopez More than 1 year ago
The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm by Sybrina Durant transported me to a magical world and felt like I was part of the fairy-tale-like storyline. While reading, I could picture a parent reading this book as to their child as a bedtime story or a teacher reading this to her students. The prose and language used made for a delightful story. I enjoyed the way Sybrina Durant was able to carry me away with the characters, dialogue, and drama. She weaves an enjoyable and thought-provoking tale about friendships, family, bullying, bravery, magic, and evil, and mostly about being different and true to oneself. The artwork and images are beautiful and help transport the reader into the story. I willingly provided an honest review after receiving a copy of this book.
JennaBrewster More than 1 year ago
I will give this book 5 stars! “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” a fun, enchanting story you just want to dive into and stay lost in! Unfortunately I finished it in two short nights, even though this book is surprisingly long… It’s been so long since I’ve read something with such magical, creative elements that didn’t feel super cliché or something I’ve read a dozen times before. So rare in this genre! … Sybrina Durant has perfected the delicate balance of creating an imaginative and complex magical/alternate world that isn’t confusing or frustrating or overwhelming –especially for younger readers-- but is just complex enough to keep us totally hooked! And I like how it is written in such a way that we see multiple character/unicorn POVs, as well as a narrator to show us the bigger picture. But Durant tackles some pretty heavy themes here and like that she doesn’t dumb it down for her younger audience (some really shocking moments and some sad ones as well). A great read, one I can see being in the libraries of junior highs… might skew a bit young for the High Schoolers but the story has enough substance to appeal to a mass audience. Recommend.
MarcellaGonz More than 1 year ago
Is it weird that I want to live inside this book? Please? Haha. “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” by Sybrina Durant is such an utterly charming story, one which I would have no hesitation having my children read, and even adult will like it as well. It is a “clean” fantasy suitable for most ages, but it is definitely geared toward the younger YA/ Upper MG crowd (12-18 I’d say), but it is a rare story that will transcend age groups. Sybrina Durant has a great way of writing in a believable manner that is intelligently constructed with great worldbuilding and lore, and characters we love and love to hate. Absolutely love the vibrant pictures that brighten the pages (and storyline). A well-written and tightly knit and action-packed plot will appeal to all readers, not just fans of fantasy. It has a solid universal message that everyone can understand and appreciate, and it is a lot of fun to read. I loved the ending as well, but keep reading to the last pages because there is a helpful pronunciation guide and some very cool drawings that relate to the story. This is such a cool niche here that Ms. Durant has tapped into and I would definitely love to read more like this in the future! Highly recommend.
ammelockheart More than 1 year ago
Captivating and Entertaining Characters... The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a wonderful read. It has a layout and feel of a classic fairytale. The Illustrations are vivid and bright. I'd love to get the coloring book some day. This is a story about a young unicorn named Blue who before birth was supposedly the Metal Horned unicorns savior. Everyone is disappointed when Blue is born as a plain unicorn without a metal horn or magic. Blue feels set apart from the others and keeps to himself mostly aside from his best friend Ghel. One day he is told that he will reach his destiny in the Muzika Woods. So he sets out by himself and along the way he picks up some companions. I won't go into more detail because you should read the book for yourself. This book is for all ages, young and old alike.
SherryF More than 1 year ago
There’s no place like home…OSM means awesome. He is supposed to be their savior. But how can that be possible? He has no magic. He feels an outsider, he just doesn’t fit in. Does anyone feel a touch of Rudolph in this? The fun, colorful, imaginative illustrations are wonderful, filled with fantastical creatures, both good and bad. Each creature is unique, individual, just like in real life. Is there such a thing as a fish unicorn? If so, imagine the possibilities. Set your imagination free. The Blue Unicorn…reads like old time fairy tales…where life and death choices are made…And …maybe, you will learn why you never see a unicorn. This magical fantasy filled with fun and humor, sadness and happiness, and lessons learned. We are not alone. I voluntarily reviewed The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm by Sybrina Durant.
ELF-thereadingaddict More than 1 year ago
“The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” written by Sybrina Durant and illustrated by Dasguptarts is a lovely children’s story that blends fantasy and a bit of science fiction in a sweet tale. The gentle reminders of the importance of acceptance and maintaining a sense of self worth are artfully woven into this fun adventure tale. The brightly colored illustrations underscore the fantastical creatures that populate the tale while elements of science are slipped in through descriptions of the types of metal horns utilized by various unicorns and fun words such as didgeridoo are woven into the story. The story can be read on multiple levels, from very simple for a young child to an older individual who can appreciate the nuances and inside jokes such as where the ice cubes originate. Those who enjoy the story should make sure to pay attention to the author’s notes at the end which detail accessory items including a coloring book as well as provide an illustration of a unicorn’s parts and a fun activity. A copy of this title was provided to me for review
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a young adult fantasy novel written by Sybrina Durant and illustrated by Dasguptarts. The Tribe of the Metal Unicorns had hoped and prayed that the oracle’s prophecy that the last-born unicorn would save the tribe from the evil sorcerer, Magh, would come to pass. Now, seeing that Miral had delivered her foal, the tribe was aghast to discover that he had no metal horn, simply a blue hide horn without a glint of metal. Miral’s own indium horn allowed her to see the good or evil in others, and she could see the goodness in her new offspring, but she feared for his well being in a world where those without magic had few chances of survival. Little Blue was not only born without magic or a metal horn, he was undersized and puny, and not at all what the oracle had expected as the one the Moon-Star Spirit had spoken of who would be the tribe’s salvation. As Blue grew up, the herd dwindled down until there were very few members of the tribe surviving. Blue had become a strong and healthy stallion, but he stayed apart from the others, feeling alienated and different. But he was not to remain a lone unicorn, for the dangers posed by Magh grew greater with each passing day, and it was time for the metal-horned unicorns to return to their home planet. Sybrina Durant’s illustrated young adult fantasy novel, The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm, is an unusual and enchanting story about a young unicorn’s quest to save his tribe and his coming of age. Durant’s story is slyly whimsical as she builds up the world of Marbryn, a world where there are many wonders, but also threats to the existence of Blue’s tribe. Dasguptarts’ illustrations are masterful and glowing, filled with detail, brilliant colors and excitement. From the first illustration depicting the birth of Little Blue through the succeeding various locales, challenges and adventures he braves in his quest to fulfill his destiny, the illustrations chart each event faithfully and bring each unicorn and ally to life. Durant’s story is filled with action and adventure as well as an earth-shattering battle between the forces of good and evil. She also includes a guide to pronunciation, an Introduction to each member of the Tribe of Metal Horned Unicorns, and an anatomical guide to unicorns. The Blue Unicorn's Journey to Osm is a grand coming of age tale that’s highly recommended.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
In the land of MarBryn, unicorns with metal horns have magical abilities. But they are not safe as an evil wizard wants to take control of all of their horns. A prophecy says that a unicorn will be born that can defeat the evil wizard Magh. That unicorn is Blue, a baby born with a leather horn and no magical abilities. Of course several unicorns are disappointed but when Blue learns of the prophecy he decides to train to save the other unicorns. Blue has the help of a stag, fairies, and many others to sharpen his skills. He may not have magic but with the help of his friends he has a better advantage. Blue has to go on an adventure to stop Magh. Thankfully his friends are there to help him on the journey and the battle to come. This is a wonderful story that will appeal to all ages. Blue feels alone except for Ghel and his friends. But he is not going to let being different stop him from fulfilling the prophecy. I love how although he doesn’t have magic he used his head to puzzle through each event. I loved all the morals you learn along with Blue. This is a creative and involving story. I was transported to this world and had a hard time putting this book down. This is a beautiful story that will appeal to everyone from young to old. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
Jolie More than 1 year ago
I didn’t know that The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM was a children’s fantasy book. Don’t give me that look. I know that it is pretty obvious from looking at the cover that it is. Here’s the deal. I am used to reading and reviewing adult fantasy (among other things). When I was approached to review The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM, I assumed that it was a children’s fantasy. I also based that on the blurb, which I didn’t read all the way. I was excited because I haven’t read a good adult fantasy with unicorn’s…ever. Saying that I was surprised when I started reading was an understatement. But, the more I read the book, the more I started to enjoy it. By the end of the book, I loved the book and was glad that I read the book. There are three plotlines to The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM. The first storyline is about Blue and the prophecy that he is fated to fulfill (even if he didn’t have a metal horn). The second storyline follows the tribe of metal horns as they race to the Muzika Woods to meet up with Blue. The third storyline is about the evil wizard, Magh and his obsession with wiping out the unicorns. All the storylines were very well written. I got invested in each one. I will admit, it did take me longer to warm up to the metal horns (except for Ghel) because of the way they treated Blue. I felt bad for Blue during the first half of the book. He didn’t feel that he belongs to the tribe because his horn was made of leather instead of metal. He wasn’t treated badly but he was made to feel that he wasn’t as good as the rest of the tribe. I understood why he took off after Alumina explained exactly what his prophecy was and what he needed to do. He wanted to be accepted. The tribe’s journey to Musika Woods was more danger-filled than Blue’s. They also realized, with the help of Ghel, that Blue was more important to the tribe than any of them would admit. While Magh was a very bad and evil person, I couldn’t help but feel bad for him. He didn’t ask to be bad and evil. When it was revealed what happened to him, my heart broke. For both Magh and the unicorns. I am not going to go into the last half of the book or what Alumina told Blue in the beginning. I will say this. The end of the book was fantastic. The author was able to bring all the storylines together and merge them flawlessly. It was also action packed. Now onto what Alumina told Blue. It factors hugely into the ending. HUGELY. The end of the book made my heart happy. I am not going to do a What I Liked/What I Disliked. If I did, I would be giving away the ending and some major spoilers. My suggestion, go read the book. It won’t disappoint. I would give The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM a Child rating. There is violence but it is very mild. There is no sex or sexual situations. There is no language. I will say that I would use discretion if you are going to read this book to a younger (under 5) child. There are some frightening scenes that could scare a younger child. There are no trigger warnings in The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM. I would recommend The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to OSM to family and friends. This is a book that I would read and I would feel comfortable reading to my children. **I received a free copy of this book and volunteered to review it**
carol223CS More than 1 year ago
Sybrina Durant’s The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm A fascinating read no matter your age!!! Full of vivid description that places the reader in the story with the well fleshed out magical characters. In the land of MarBryn, the metal horned unicorns await birth of the baby unicorn that is destined to save the unicorns from Magh, the evil sorcerer. This sorcerer takes the unicorn’s metal horns and hooves to use to increase his evil magic. When baby Blue is born, he does not have a metal horn nor did he show any magical tendency like the metal horn unicorns. When Blue realizes what the prophecy about him was, he sets off to fulfill his destiny. A stag, a phoenix, a pendragon, fairies complement Blue’s learning abilities. But will he be able to overcome the evil sorcerer, save and unite the metal horned unicorns in safety??? Blue learns that being different does not limited your lifetime potential but can change your perspective for the better. The author creation of an array of in-depth magical characters that have human emotions, flaws and dramatic events that shape their perceptions and personalities was a phenomenal experience. I enjoyed learning about the various instruments played in the Muzika Woods. It was interesting looking them up for further information. I volunteered to read The Blue Unicorn's Journey To Osm. Thanks to author via the Cozy Mystery Review Crew for the opportunity. My opinion is my own.
LitPick More than 1 year ago
Blue is not an ordinary metal-horned unicorn. In fact, Blue is too ordinary to be a metal-horned unicorn. His horn is not even metal. Metal-horned unicorns have magic, charm, and beauty. Blue has none of those attributes. Blue, however, is more important than he realizes. At Blue’s birth, an oracle predicted greatness. The whole clan was disappointed when they saw Blue, an ordinary unicorn with no powers. After his mother’s death, Blue became cut off from much of the clan, except from his mate, Ghel. Still, Blue feels that there is something out there bigger than him and his clan that he is a part of. As the evil wizard, Magh, the man who killed Blue’s mother, attempts to slaughter all of the unicorns, Blue must set off on an epic quest to save his mate, clan, and his own life by finding someone he doesn’t know to help him find his true home, somewhere he’s never been. To do this, Blue must discover what lies beneath the seemingly monotonous life he has led for the past decade and find the truth. He must find what is buried deep inside his heart: his true destiny. Reading The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm was like reading a science fiction, fantasy, and romance novel all at the same time. For one, Blue and the rest of the unicorns are trying to return to their home planet by finding a spaceship and a unicorn to pilot it. This is very much a fantasy book, too. Because the main characters are unicorns, there’s magic everywhere, and there are other mythical animals that are only in dreams. In this book, unicorns also have mates, like Blue and Ghel. These mates play very important roles in the story, and this book shows that true love saves lives. This is one of the strangest books I have read, but I didn’t dislike it at all. In fact, I enjoyed reading about the strange characters, such as the sassy, stylish unicorn, about the NUMEN spirit and how the unicorns must work together to return home. There were parts in the book where the author glossed over details so quickly that I missed parts and didn’t understand what was happening for a time, but eventually, I figured it out and went back to enjoying this light, carefree book. This is a very good read for someone who just wants to sit back and enjoy a fun story. Reviewed by a LitPick student book reviewer Age 13
LauraClarke More than 1 year ago
I knew by the 20% mark that I would really love this book and it would go on my MG/YA favorites shelf, and I was right! I admit I had no real expectations when starting it, seeing as how I’d never read the author before and the description felt a bit “generic” to me. I was so immersed in this wonderful, fun book and impressed with the level of creativity that Sybrina Durant puts into “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey”. Of course, I was obsessed with unicorns in my younger days (what young girl wasn’t?) But I’ve never read a book where they were any sort of main/real character before. I loved the characters and the energy Ms. Durant uses. Solid world building throughout, which is really important for creating a believable fantasy. It’s not perfect, however, and I did feel at times there was too much narrative “telling” and backstory that would have been better ‘shown’ through dialogue and action. This caused the pacing to be erratic at times, but not too terrible. For the most part the editing was very clean, (only minor punctuation things here and there) and I appreciated how the ending wraps up nicely, but it also leaves the door open for more magical adventures. Can’t wait! Recommend for MG/YA, but adults will enjoy it as well. Special treat at the end of the book that I loved.
Coreeez More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars what can I say about this book, “The Blue Unicorn’s Journey to Osm” ?? First off, I can tell you that it is a fantastically- written and creative magical fantasy that is aimed at the Middle-Grade/Young-Adult crowd, and fans of this genre will love sinking their teeth into this one! It stands out to me in terms of originality, even if some elements are familiar. Sybrina Durant has her own unique voice and writing style that makes it feel fresh and exciting. I definitely enjoyed her strong world-building and creativity, and the (large) cast of characters were great. Some of the best character development/transformations (literally) I’ve read in any book in a long time, combined with such a strong, positive message of overcoming difficult obstacles and not giving up and believing in yourself. From the very beginning the story flows from scene to scene effortlessly, and Durant shows exceptional ability when it comes to storytelling for a wide audience-- to entice readers young and old into this adventurous and intriguing world with Blue, Ghel, the evil Magh and all the others. It seems like so often when I read books, usually I either like the dialogue, and the narrative seems flat or the prose is good, but the conversations seem contrived and fake, especially when it is an adult writing for a younger audience. But I loved how seamlessly everything worked together here and was so well-balanced throughout the whole story. It had it all, seriously…adventure, drama, magic, danger, friends, good and evil… takes us on an unforgettable, and ultimately fulfilling ‘journey’ that I won’t soon forget. Great for ages 12+
lauralovesreviewingLT More than 1 year ago
Having such a love for the wonder of unicorns it was an easy choice to read this book. Magical unicorns with metal horns. All shapes and sizes. And one unicorn, Blue, who has no magic, but is supposed to be the savior for the tribe. Sounds like a grand adventure to me. And it was. Filled with lots of beautiful illustrations portraying many of the fantastical beings that roam these lands, it kept me enthralled. However, it had some dark moments that caught me by surprise. Going in thinking this was for younger readers, some scenes of death and danger now have me thinking this would better fit older teens and young adults. This well written fantasy has plenty of intriguing characters and plenty of action, with some doses of peril that will keep you reading and crossing your fingers for a happy ending. I sure enjoyed it and would love to read more about Blue, his friends, and this magical world.