The Colony

The Colony

by RMGilmour RMGilmour

Paperback

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Colony 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
JoshuaGriffith More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this one! The story revolves around Lydia and her dark depressing life due to losing her family and husband. As if things couldn't get any bleaker, she starts hearing a voice in her head that goes by the name Jordan. She soon learns that he lives in a different dimension and they're soulmates. Lydia gets pulled into his world and finds it both wondrous and deadly. There's plenty of action and suspense that will keep you turning the pages just to see how things play out. I highly recommend this one!
NNLight More than 1 year ago
Lydia believes her life is over and that she’s a shell of her former self. The five most important people in her life are gone and she’s left all alone in the world. Worst of all, she’s scarred both physically and mentally. How can she go on when there’s nothing to live for? One day, she starts hearing a male voice in her head. At first, she thinks it’s just herself going crazy but it feels different somehow. His name is Jordan and he says he’s from another world. They grow close and she starts to fall for him. But when he asks her if she’d leave her Earth life behind, she vows she’s go wherever he is. Jordan bends the construct of time and she transports to his dimension. Little does she know what she has gotten herself into. All is not as it seems and the more she learns about Jordan’s world, the more Lydia must channel the strength inside her. She meets a band of outcasts and no one seems to mind her scarred face. Jordan is nowhere to be found and she must come to grips with her new reality. She called on to fight along with the others rebelling against what I can only describe as the big bad. Can Lydia reunite with Jordan and free those in captive or is she trapped forever in The Colony? I’m at a loss at how to quantify The Colony. While it’s a beautiful story of incredible loss and finding a reason to live, it’s also a science fiction romance with intense action scenes with dystopian undertones. Fans of Divergent will love this book (and the series). Gilmour’s writing style is one of emotional attachment to not only Lydia but minor characters as well. Her world-building is impressive, especially given that this is a debut novel. I did, at times, feel it was too wordy where the action should propel the plot but it’s just a personal preference. A must read for speculative fiction fans and I look forward to reading the next in the series. Disclaimer: I received a copy from the author in the hopes I'd review it. Favorite Character/Quote: With each moment that passed, his presence grew stronger, and I gasped at the sensation. The warmth that coursed through me fluttered to the surface, reaching for him, searching for the sound of his voice and his image as though a part of me was missing, was too far away. I needed him with me, to hear him and see him, even if only for a brief moment. My Rating: 4.5 stars
ReadersFavorite2 More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Melinda Hills for Readers' Favorite Living in despair after suffering through the recent deaths of the five people closest to her, the last, her husband, due to a horrific car accident that leaves her badly scarred, Lydia Henchwick can only think that she is really going insane as a voice inside her head insists on talking to her. The Colony by R.M. Gilmour details the adventure Lydia undertakes as she gives in to that voice because of the warm feelings of companionship and trust that develop. The surprise is that the voice is real. It belongs to a man in another place along the space-time continuum and is supported by a super-computer that matches soul mates across the universe. Instead of giving in to the void that threatens to overtake Lydia because to her overwhelming sense of loss and dislike of being seen in public - due to the tremendous scars covering a large portion of her body - Lydia agrees to join Jordan and see where his caring and support can take her. The only problem is, she lands in a colony of other transported people and only through tremendous effort can they sneak time to be together while the other colonists prepare to battle against the force that has brought them all to this strange and wonderful place. Will love win or will the self-preservation protocols within the computer program doom their chances? Fantastic descriptions of an alternate reality and deeply moving emotional outpourings characterize this exciting story about love in a strange new world created by R.M. Gilmour in The Colony. The characters encompass the full range of human thought and personality while the struggle is ages old – can love win out when the stars are lined up against it? Great story! Tremendously imaginative!
ReadersFavorite1 More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Tracy Slowiak for Readers' Favorite In a story that is both beautifully written and just plain beautiful, The Colony by debut author RM Gilmour is a story that will enrapture readers from the very start and will keep them reading obsessively throughout. Follow the story of protagonist Lydia as she goes through space time and enters the plane of existence of her love interest, Jordan. She finds herself in a land controlled by The Guardian, a form of artificial intelligence. The Guardian's primary focus is protect the power source that allows the planet to run, and it will do so no matter what the cost. Lydia is luckily able to make friends with a race of hunters and warriors who are willing to try to protect her from the Guardian, but she soon realizes that they are doing so at their own peril. Will Lydia find the strength she needs to protect herself, Jordan and her new friends from their likely fate from The Guardian? You'll need to read The Colony to find out. I very much enjoyed The Colony. Author RM Gilmour has done a great job in creating characters that her readers will connect with, relate to, and come to truly care about, thinking of them long after the final pages have been read. If that isn't a hallmark of a great author, I'm not sure what is. The story takes place in a beautiful environment described so intricately that readers will feel as if they can simply slip through the pages to join Lydia and her friends. There is a lovely romantic story, as well as a substantial amount of science fiction, so readers who enjoy those genres should absolutely give this book a read. I am pleased to recommend The Colony, and look forward to reading more from the very promising author, RM Gilmour, as soon as I am able to!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Listed as a sci-fi romance, and it is that. At the start, it is the most striking literal example of 'talking heads' I have ever seen. It was annoying and went on too long. Three or four chapters. The dreaded 'when does the story start', thought crossed my mind. Then she moved from earth to the colony. Ah! I thought. Here we go. But no. One of the things that really attracted me was Lydia was scared. Figuratively and literally. It's so refreshing to have a non-perfect, beautiful princess in a romance, I held high hopes for it. But once she got to the colony, scars were normal, no one noticed and she very quickly stopped thinking of it, and it stopped impacting her personality or actions. She became the beautiful princess at the flip of a page, and it made me a bit sad. It was around 1/4th the way through, I realized it was a milieu story. Milieu doesn't sell books though, which is a shame, because Gilmour created one of the most beautiful places I've seen. If you like stories where the environment is just as important as the characters and plot, this story is for you. It was her breathtaking colony and society that got her the three stars. And while we explored this colony, we did everything from pulling weeds to learning how to fight. Pages and pages of it. Again, the 'when does it start?' thought hit me. Because all through this, all the way to 1/2 way through the book, the most challenging conflict was running and having a suit teach her how to fight. Even the dialogue was soothing, don't upset Lydia! My eyes started to glaze, but I kept at it. I wanted the review to be as fair as I could get it. At the 1/2 mark, a sudden peak of conflict happened. It built a bit, slowed down, built a bit... As far as I'm concerned, the story started 1/2 way through the book. Of the characters, I liked Lena the best. A strong, complex character, who took control. Lydia followed whoever pulled her. The other characters were mid-range. Except for a couple of the 'players' you never really saw enough of the others to determine who had some depth. It continued to be a milieu story. Once we got up to speed on some action, Lydia gets hurt, and the story dives into the romance part of the book. It had always BEEN a romance, but for the first half of the book, they barely set eyes on each other. I'm afraid it was at this point I gave it up. It was at 3/4s of the way through the book and I realized I was forcing myself to read it. The plot had started to get interesting, the action more vigorous than counting trees and sitting at the river side. I really wanted to read it. But it was just too far into the book and the back hooks weren't there to keep me reading.
LauraClarke More than 1 year ago
Make no mistake, “The Colony” is definitely a compelling read, and one that will appeal to a wide range of readers due to its far-reaching and relevant plotlines, from friends and enemies, right and wrong, good and evil, this book covers so many things, yet it all fits well together in a unique blend of ‘otherworldliness’, action, danger, life, and drama. The story itself was fairly even-paced, but I thought the beginning was a bit slow but then it picked up and flowed well. One thing I particularly liked was how we really felt like we were part of the story as it unfolded, instead of it just being “told” to us, on the outside looking in.. Great supporting characters (loved the Heart!!) who really added a layer of depth to the story and I felt that even though there were some familiar tropes here (necessary for a sci/fi like this), Gilmour did an amazing job of making the story wholly her own and not at all like something we feel like we’ve read a million times before. We feel like we are a part of the book and I recommend for fans of fantasy/ literary fiction who’d like a new twist on the genre.
BrendaMax More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars Holey moley, this book was terrific! Once I started reading I didn’t want to stop until I’d finished the whole thing! It was all I could do though not to rush it—this isn’t a ‘quick-easy beach read” by any stretch, but more like something you sink back with for a while and let it take over your soul. I enjoyed RMGilmour’s “voice” and style of writing. The interweaving plotlines were intelligent, well-developed and not predictable, and even though there were so many characters it seemed hard to keep track of them all (and some I didn’t think were necessary at all) I really enjoyed it! They were all genuine and interesting in their own right and well-written, and my only real complaint was that at times the pacing felt too erratic… too many long stretches where nothing really happens (just a lot of ‘setup” and then bam everything happens. But it really didn’t lessen my enjoyment any, and I loved the scenes with Lydia, Mason, Jordan and the others… I never knew where the story was going and I love it kept me on my toes. I’d love to read more from Gilmour and would recommend this to fans of romantic dystopian/time-travel.
Coreeez More than 1 year ago
How to describe this book, other than say it is by far one of the most surprisingly addicting novels I’ve read in a long time! I have already loaned it to my sister to read, and my mother is after her. The author R M Gilmour pulls us in to the story right from the beginning pages, and skillfully narrates a wide-ranging storyline full of complex and deeply emotional issues. In my opinion it really is the characters who made this story so good, each so original and conflicted in their own way, and we pull for them throughout their personal journeys and how they connect to each other. A memorable read and a keeper for sure. Recommend for fans of fantasy and literary fiction. Would love to read more from RMGilmour in the future.
Darla_Ortiz More than 1 year ago
I am of somewhat mixed feelings on this novel, “The Colony” by RMGilmour. On one hand it is brilliantly written with some of the most interesting and compelling characters I’ve read in a long time, and I liked how each of them had their own unique set of circumstances. But on the other, at times I felt almost like this book was too much at once, and seemed to lose focus of the arc and kept going off in different directions. I feel like it would have been better if it were shorter and more focused, with fewer subplots. It seemed to take a long time for any real inciting incident to happen (other than Jordan and Lydia connecting), and there was far too much dialogue in the beginning, where we should have more engagement and action. But that is just my opinion, other people may disagree. I felt it needed more tension to pull us forward as for too long things felt to “safe” (this changes) but there weren’t the high stakes that I like to see that makes me just *have* to keep reading. But it does get better as t goes along, and I’d say overall is a good story with an original plot and interesting characters, and I can see people liking it.
GillianH More than 1 year ago
this book seems to have something of everything…… seriously. Action, drama, friendship, romance, struggles, mystery, sci-fi elements…… but I thought RM Gilmour tied it all together nicely in just such compelling, emotionally engaging way. I was impressed by the seamless narrative transitions, and while I’m not usually a fan of so much dialogue with less narrative, it didn’t bother me here much as I enjoyed the Ms. Gilmour’s skillful word-play and the characters’ conversations really helped to advance the storyline (wasn’t just needless filler chit chat). Always found myself reading for longer than I planned to, as there was never a good place to just “stop”, especially the last quarter or so. This is good too. Fun characters, enjoyed the leads (Lydia and Jordan) but thought Aleric, Haize, and Mason were great as well. This novel will have wide ranging appeal– it is intelligent and complex enough and written with enough substance and finesse to please older teens and adults as well. 4.5 stars
SteffyC More than 1 year ago
First, I have to say that I don’t normally read books like this, but I was looking for something a little out of my comfort zone and this book sounded intriguing. Well, I am most certainly glad I took the chance on RMGilmour’s “The Colony”! This was a captivating novel and very impressive for a debut. There is such strong, vivid writing, and the characters are all fascinating, flawed, and going through their own drama. GREAT character development, and everything just felt “beautiful” for lack of a better word – even though some parts are dark. Dialogue, interactions, scenes, descriptions…The editing and formatting is nearly flawless (I notice these things). Even though I did find the beginning to be a bit tedious at first because it was ONLY dialogue (very little actions and no other characters but Lydia and Jordan’s voice), after a bit it really picks up (starting when they go to the colony). After that I didn’t want to put it down until the ending. All in all a very good read that I’d recommend even to those who don’t normally read this sort of thing …try it, you’ll be pleasantly surprised!
ElizaBEB More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars Just a heads up…when starting “The Colony” make sure you don’t have anywhere you need to be or anything you need to do because you won’t want to stop reading until you’ve finished it all!! Trust me on this! The book starts off with an intriguing beginning that established the ‘other planes” and world building and just keeps going from there. The main characters are so well-developed and fully realized. I think what I liked the most about this book was just the overall feel the author managed to create where it felt intimate, like a close friend was telling me this really awesome story that I didn’t want to stop listening to. There are some surprising twists and some parts that really catch you off guard… but that just made the book even more amazing. Totally unlike anything I’ve read before and I read a lot. I could see this having cross-genre appeal so even if time travel/spacetime/fantasy isn’t your thing, the beautiful prose and great characters (and beautiful love story with soulmates) will appeal to a wide variety of readers. Recommend.
ClaireBear74 More than 1 year ago
At first I admit I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into in deciding to read this book. Because admittedly I do tend to lean towards more contemporary adult literature because I enjoy the message and life lessons. But I was intrigued by the description and the writing sample and the way that I felt an almost immediate connection to not only the interesting characters, but with the way that RM Gilmour was writing them, (I thought the narrative/conversation in the beginning with Jordan and Lydia was great) and I found myself just wanting to read more… and more… and more… and I couldn’t believe it when I realized I was totally hooked, and even totally enjoyed the exciting paranormal and action scenes! But seriously, I felt transported to another world just by experiencing the lives of these incredible characters who are so true to life and authentic-feeling, yet unlike any I’ve met before. Like that the plot felt like it had a deeper meaning that we could all relate to, and I love the idea of other “realities” existing alongside our own. The author writes of some really interesting concepts here, and I liked that this felt like it wasn’t cliché or predictable at all. I’m really glad I took a chance on this one…Recommend.
JennaBrewster More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, “The Colony” by R.M. Gilmour. I thought it was excellently-written (a few minor editing things but nothing too major) and pulled me in with interesting opening to the satisfying ending. It is a relatively quick read, one I finished in a few sittings (maybe I just didn’t want to stop reading…) but Gilmour takes her time in carefully developing the various storylines so that we the readers are thoroughly invested the whole way through. I liked Ms. Gilmour’s writing style very much, and found myself completely lost in this story, and thought there was great action and mystery. The characters were genuine and fully ‘fleshed out’ (haha), and I appreciated that the author took risks and really thought outside the box here. Was very creative and had almost a philosophical element that made it more intelligent., … Was almost disappointed when I was done, but the ending gave the emotional satisfaction I look for in a great book and hopefully leaves the door open for more in the future. Well done.
DarleneCupp More than 1 year ago
this is an excellent novel that captured my interest from the beginning, pulled me in, and never once let go! RM Gilmour is a hugely talented writer who knows how to grab and keep our attention! Each scene was riveting, imaginative, and flowed smoothly from one to the next… never a “dull part” where you get bored or want to skip ahead… in fact almost the opposite with the various interweaving plotlines and going from one character and event to the next. The descriptions were very strong, and I mean with the author’s word choice… unique and powerful…. Had a very ‘literary’ quality, especially for a fantasy/light sci-fi book, which may or may not work for some readers, but I loved it. I felt like I was genuinely inside the characters’ hearts and heads experiencing the world through their eyes, for better or worse. I would love to read more from this author in the future…She has a natural gift for creating a well-thought out story and developing deeply memorable characters with a beautiful and strong message. Recommend for ages 16 and up (even adults!)
NicolaF More than 1 year ago
"The Colony” by RM Gilmour is hands down one of the most original and well-crafted fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian novels I’ve read in a long time! I was completely drawn in from the opening pages, and absolutely loved the author’s use of description of the different scenery and locales, and her attention to detail, especially with the characters. We feel transported not only into the various characters’ minds(literally), but the places they are, and it was a fun escape from reality. This novel covers so, so much it’s impossible to sum and it was interesting to see how it all tied together in the end. Really enjoyed watching the relationship with Lydia and Jordan develop, and thought the rest of the supporting cast was terrific as well (love Grid). An epic literary feat, to be certain, well written and with beautiful narrative. I was really impressed and would recommend this book with the highest of praise to fans of adventure/action/light fantasy with romantic elements. Suitable for teens on up.
JeanOJO More than 1 year ago
I definitely enjoyed this book. I’m not exactly sure how you would classify it (fantasy? Science fiction? Paranormal? Action? Romance?), but it was very good. I won’t rehash the plot (that is what the book description is for), but in my opinion this is one of those books that really is so much more than what the blurb can convey. It was surprisingly complex and visionary (pardon the pun) and managed to keep me complete engaged. I noticed that the author avoided the common rookie mistake of “telling” instead of “showing” which was a huge relief (especially is Fantasy/sci-fi where authors so often feel the need to ‘describe’ everything to death), and I felt a part of the action the entire time, starting with the earliest dialogue and ‘conversations’ with Lydia and Jordan. Gilmour does a great job with the ‘alternative’ world-building and for the most part the pacing was spot on. I couldn’t tell at the end if this was it or if there would be more to come… if so I’d love to read it!