The Crimson Campaign (Powder Mage Trilogy #2)

The Crimson Campaign (Powder Mage Trilogy #2)

by Brian McClellan

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Crimson Campaign 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
LN_Adcox 8 months ago
WAR AND TREACHERY If you like action packed fantasy, this is it. Grand Marshall Tamas and two vastly outnumbered regiments are caught behind enemy lines without supplies or any hope of reinforcements and must fight their way through forests and across the mountains of northern Kez to reach their troops. Meanwhile Tamas’ son, Taniel Two Shot, appears to be the only officer determined to stop the Kez offensive. Taniel and his silent mage side kick, Ka-poel, find themselves fighting Kez troops to include Black Warden’s, powder mages turned into nearly invulnerable and mindless adversaries except for the urge to kill. In addition to the Kez, Tamas, Taniel and Ka-poel must overcome treachery and free Adro from the designs of an indomitable deity and an army of occupation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book continues the wonderful writing and fantastic story from the first book. The characters are well defined and realistic. The story will capture your attention and hold you enthralled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great sequel, cant wait to read the third
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! I read all sorts of fantasy , my favorites are Joe Abercrombie, David Gemmell, Raymond Feist, Steven Erickson just to name a few. These books keep you interested and wanting to keep reading, they are not predictable. I hate when a book is badly written or is predictable, I will stop reading and move on. This is good reading , it gets better and better as you read. The plot is forever twisting and keeps you thinking. I recommend this series to the fans of fantasy who like the authors that I mentioned before.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to struggle to read this book. The changes in topic and venue is confusing, too many chapters of our self pitying hero, and too many moments of character stupidity. The relationships between Taniel & Kapoel and Tamas & Gavril are the saving grace of this novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brian McClellan's second book is a great follow-up to his highly-praised debut. The incredible pacing of Promise of Blood continued, the story picking up by dropping us into the middle of the action. I was never overwhelmed, though, by constant action or unexplained events. I was always confident that I knew enough of what was happening to keep up with the story, but not enough to make it boring. There were still surprises along the way to keep me on my toes. The plot arcs in The Crimson Campaign felt as unique and original as the setting, adding complexity and depth to an already really cool world. The world we learned about in Promise of Blood expands. The political landscape changes and continues to grow in complexity. Politicians plot and scheme to try and control any bit of power they can. The military campaign is unpredictable and exciting. The fallout of some of the actions in the previous book play out without relying on worn-out tropes. It's fresh and exciting the whole way through. One of the biggest things that I noticed was that minor characters were given so much more impact on the world around them. We stick to the same POV's as Promise of Blood, but it felt like there were so many added "main characters," since the ones who we just got to know on the fringes of the story last time really came into their own here. Nothing felt forced - instead, it felt like some of their motives and actions were revealed as the regular POV characters interacted with them more. We are just given a larger and longer glimpse into these secondary characters and get to see what they're up to.  I really liked seeing some more development in the main POV characters, too. We get to see some of their past fleshed out, we get to see them struggle with different vices, and we get to see how the changing world around them impacts their lives. It's a real treat to get such well-written characters. Brian McClellan has a lot of work to do to conclude the trilogy, but if his third book is anything like his first two, I'll be very satisfied! I'm extremely excited for The Autumn Republic . February 10th can't come soon enough!