The Curse Breakers

The Curse Breakers

by Denise Grover Swank

Paperback

$13.46 $14.95 Save 10% Current price is $13.46, Original price is $14.95. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Curse Breakers 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
WyoReaderAL 8 months ago
I was skeptical of the first book but thought I should try something I am not used to reading. I LOVED THIS SECOND BOOK! It got smart! The addition of this professor who not only is a hottie but really knows his history is exciting and somehow makes this story more believable. Ellie is a great man character and I enjoy going through her struggles as she tries to find her way in this new universe and new normal after meeting Collin.
brittanyh001 10 months ago
That fateful day that Ellie and Collin met in the diner, the curse finally broke along with the barriers between the human and spiritual worlds. They are destined to live up to this ancient prophecy and defend humanity against evil. Ellie is now stronger than ever before, and must prepare for battle against the spirits. The Curse Breakers has deep historical roots that become even more prevalent when Ellie enlists the help of Dr. David Preston, a professor of Native American studies. They work together to finish what the Curse Keepers started in book one. A very well written, interesting, historical story that will hold your interest from start to finish. Five stars!
SamanthaLM More than 1 year ago
Wow! The Curse Breakers has tons of mystery and suspense just like The Curse Keepers but I felt even more nervous for Ellie in this book and the action, especially towards the end really pulled me in. I liked the new character that was introduced in this book and although I loved Collin’s character in the first book, I’m glad he wasn’t as involved in this book as he was in the first because Ellie was able to prove to everyone and herself that she is just as strong and worthy as Collin is as a Curse Keeper. I think it really adds to the story line and her character development is really great. I can’t wait to find out the new developments in the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nov 18, 15 · edit 5 of 5 stars Read in November, 2015 I went immediately from Curse Keepers into Curse Breakers...the cliff hanger at the end of book 1 made me have such a thirst to find out more. I actually enjoyed Curse Breakers even more than book 1. By the time I got into the continuing story I was more familiar with the names of the Gods and how they fit into the picture and was not constantly searching back to keep their roles and associations in order. I enjoyed the twining of history with ancient lore, it gave it a much stronger attachment with me. I also was pleased to see Ellie put a little bit of a "rein" on her sexual libido also. Accent on "little bit" she is still a pretty highly charged young woman. I like the flow of the story and leave it to Denise to leaving me hanging on by my fingernails at the end. I am jumping immediately into Curse Defiers and am prepared for another heck of a ride.
KahlanMercy More than 1 year ago
The Curse Keepers Book Two. After the opening and closing of the gate to Popogusso, Ellie is dealing with the fallout from Collin's betrayal.  She seeks out a professor of Native American studies who might be able to answer some of her questions and help her send the spirits back behind the gate.  David insists on complete honesty and promises it in return.  But can Ellie completely give up on Collin? If you're looking for a new subject in paranormal romance, this is the story for you!
BooksbyNightMommybyDay More than 1 year ago
**I received a free copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest review** Total 5 star read!! Broken in two – that’s how Ellie Lancaster feels after her fellow Curse Keeper and lover Collin Dailey deceives her and her Daddy offers himself as a sacrifice to close the Gates of Hell that Collin opened.  And now, she’s without her Daddy’s guidance on how to return Spirits and Gods that got out during Collin’s deception – and without the comforting presence that Collin once was as well.  She can’t forgive him for lying to and betraying her. So she does the only other thing she can think of for help – she seeks help out from scholars…and one in particular, Dr. David Preston – who’s head of the American Studies Department at the University of North Carolina.  With nightly visits in her dreams from animals begging for help and evil spirits wanting to hurt her or worse, broken hearted and grieving, Ellie sets out to ask for Dr. Preston’s help.  She figures that the “old-timer” professor will have nothing better to do, but when she comes face to face with the beautiful 30-something British professor, he won’t give her the time of day.  Out of options, she tries to handle things on her own – but with the spirits gaining their strength and Collin still unwilling to help her return them to hell, Ellie worries that the world is doomed.  Until out of sheer luck, she runs into Dr. Preston at her family’s Bed and Breakfast, and it’s like fate he was meant to help her. As they decide to have a professional “partnership” – purely on a business level – the attraction is still there between them.  But seeing as she is still pretty ruined by Collin and his betrayal, she tries to hold it off for Dr. Preston, or David as he’s asked her to call him, to concentrate on the task at hand.  But can they do it – save the work in time with only a half of the Curse Keep team and keep their mutual attraction at bay? While a lot of the beginning of the book was a bit of re-telling some of what happened in the first book, it was also a lot of growth and learning on Ellie’s part – she finally begins to believe in the trust herself and her power as a Curse Keeper.  And the addition of a certain hot British professor didn’t hurt either!  I am seriously on the edge of my seat with anticipation to see what the final book will bring for Ellie, David, and Collin.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
Curse Breakers is an interesting read. Kinda strange with man eating snakes and crazy badgers. I do find it I like the author’s imagination of the mystery of what happened to the Lost Colony. I really am disappointed that there is way too much foul language and other unnecessary scenes had to be included in the book. I still would to see what else happens if there is a book 3 in the series.  3 ½ stars
Sailon More than 1 year ago
The Curse Breakers is a white knuckle read. Action intense from start to finish, I was on the edge of my seat wondering where Swank was taking me next. Ellie Lancaster is the descendant of the lost Colony of Roanoke. She is the guardian that keeps the spirit realms separate from our world. Her chance meeting with Collin Dailey, the other guardian and descendant changed it all. Now Ellie is fighting to keep the spirits at bay and her only hope is Dr. David Preston, lead specialist in the Native American studies. She must find the god Ahone's symbol before she is forever claimed by hell.  Hanging onto a betrayal that rocked her world, Ellie is clinging to any thread that will save her and the world as we know it. Let me say that this book is very difficult to summarize without causing spoilers for the previous books in this series. I do highly recommend reading them first. This story explodes across the pages with a wonderful fictional twisting of American history and Native American folklore. The story is not too complex but carries the perfect amount of historical back ground to give us true immersion into this world of Swank's imagination. To put is simply, I loved this story. The Curse Breaker was a fantastic, riveting read! Taking historical fiction to an entirely new level, Swank blew me away with this historical crossover into a contemporary, science fiction version of the Lost Colony of Roanoke Virginia.
LovinLosLibros More than 1 year ago
4.5/5 stars After having read and loved the first book in the Curse Keepers series, I was so happy to get a copy of this second book for review. It's been awhile since I've read the first, so I was afraid that I would be fuzzy on the details of the first book, but Denise has done a wonderful job of filling you in as to the events that happened at the end of the first book and she has done so where it didn't feel repetitive or like information overload. Pacing: It was so easy jumping back into Ellie's world, so I am really glad I didn't spend the first part of the book trying to recall what happened previously. I feel Denise did a great job with this second novel. She wastes no time in picking back up where we left off and I was so heartbroken for Ellie and everything she's gone through. Storyline: When we first meet Ellie again, she is a mess. Betrayed, heartbroken, angry, and hurt- she is struggling to deal with the aftermath of what happened at the end of the previous novel. She has gained the attention of Tom Helmsworth, police officer and old high school classmate, and he is not only concerned about her, but is far too curious about the events that are transpiring in Manteo. He isn't stupid and knows Ellie has a connection to everything that's going on, but doesn't have proof. Tom, while not a bad guy, just doesn't understand that there are supernatural forces at work and Ellie cannot divulge that kind of information to him. Not only is Tom nosing around, but she also has angry spirits that are after her now that the Curse has been broken and the gates of hell opened. Seeking out Collin Dailey for help is the last thing Ellie wants and will hold out as long as she is able to. I just felt so much for Ellie in this book. After having lost someone very dear to her, she is trying to get by the best she can, but she also is in great danger. She has one god who wants her for his own selfish purposes and won't give up until he has her. While the other has also claimed her, he is not going out of his way to help her- instead she must make the journey on her own. Time is running out for Ellie and she has to make her decision quickly... before it's too late. She seeks the help of Dr. David Preston, a professor of Native American studies. After casting her off as a crazy person, their paths meet again in Manteo and he can't deny the overwhelming urge to find out more. However, David ends up being a true ally to Ellie and ultimately someone she can trust and depend on. This second novel has a bit of everything: mystery, romance, suspense, and action. And of course- more Native American lore, which I really loved reading about! Characters: As I said earlier, Ellie is a mess right now. Yet, she is still as determined as ever. Not once did she just say the hell with it and want to give up. She is in danger on multiple fronts and has to protect herself. One of the things I loved about Ellie before was her compassion for others. She will risk her own life to protect others and that is what makes her such a likeable heroine. She is sassy and snarky, and after being betrayed by the one person she needed most, she is determined to stay strong. She has moments of weakness where Collin is concerned, as she can't deny the connection they share, but she still manages to call him out on everything that's happened. You go girl! Collin. Insert really angry face here. I want to know what his deal is. As much as I want to hate him for everything, I just can't. And my heart is torn. What he and Ellie have is electric and they share a connection that no one will ever be able to touch. Yet, Collin's selfishness and his refusal to confide in Ellie are what separate the two even further. Ellie doesn't trust him and without trust, there's just no way the two can be together. Collin will confuse you and then surprise you with his actions and I was left feeling really undecided about how I felt about his character. I am not a fan of love triangles, but I have to say I really liked David's character. I'm unsure of the direction Denise will take their relationship in the third book, but he is exactly what Ellie needed NOW. She needs someone to care for her and treat her as an equal in all things and that is David. He's also really sexy and British, which is always a plus too! Final Thoughts: The Curse Breakers was an excellent second novel and I cannot recommend this series enough, especially if you are an urban fantasy New Adult lover! The odds are against Ellie and the fight is on to ensure Okeus does not succeed in his maniacal plans for her. I have a feeling the next book will be an edge of your seat type of read, as Ellie continues her battle against the ancient spirits that have been unleashed and want to steal her life force.
ClaireTaylor More than 1 year ago
This book follows on from where The Curse Breakers ended, and is an excellent 2nd instalment. Full of action from the start, I was soon thrown back into Ellie and Collins world as the gods continue to play havoc and mess with Ellie night after night. I found this book much easier to read, and was able to immerse myself quicker than The Curse Breakers, though this could be simply that the scene was already set and I just had to go along for the ride. Well written, with an excellent descriptive nature, the words flowed off the page and the chapters just flew by. A thoroughly enjoyable read, and I can’t wait to see what’s next in store for the series. I received an e-copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.
kvsgrimes More than 1 year ago
I was in complete turmoil all the way through this book...Don't get me wrong...It was a great book...It is just that what transpired in the pages of this book kept my stomach in knots... Now, while I understood Ellie's anger and distrust toward Collin, I still really like him.  But this is kind of jumping ahead... Ok...there is so much to this story.  Action-packed, filled with suspense; I was holding my breath the whole time waiting to see just what was going to happen to this little firecracker of a curse breaker known as Ellie. She learns so much more in this book and there are pieces starting to come together.  *sighs* Still, there are so many holes to fill to solve the dilemmas in her life though.   But, she has enlisted the help of a young good-looking college professor that specializes in the legend and lore of her problems and this is where the whirlwind of excitement begins to take off. Now, while I like the new guy, my heart was already given to Collin.  Yes...I am taking sides and I am #TeamCollin all the way...LOL!! I can't help but feel that the chemistry between Collin and Ellie is hotter and much more explosive...But...I will say...David is a great match for Ellie...I just don't FEEL the connection... The Curse Breakers is a fabulous second installment.  I literally couldn't put it down because so much happens to keep you going until you reach the very end... All I can say now is...When does book 3 come out??? Ahhhhh....I need more!!!! Fantastic series, that if you haven't started it yet...pick up book one now...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"But I can't trust you. I'm scared to death, Collin. I needed you to be there for me. I needed to know we were partners in everything, that shared everything. But you can't even trust yourself." Just where the first book ended we pick up The Curse Breakers. Collin betrayed Ellie and now she needs to find a way to banish all the gods and demons back to hell on her own. This has been a great series to read and I can't wait for the next book. I just loved Collin. He's is so loving and does what he can to protect Ellie even if it's not the best way for her. This story was just an exciting journey. I couldn't put the book down and was so sad to see it end. I can't wait to see where Swank takes her characters next!