The Dead Celebrity Cookbook: A Resurrection of Recipes from More Than 145 Stars of Stage and Screen

The Dead Celebrity Cookbook: A Resurrection of Recipes from More Than 145 Stars of Stage and Screen

by Frank DeCaro

Paperback

$19.95
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dead Celebrity Cookbook 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
babs181 More than 1 year ago
Frank DeCaro really brings to live the dead celebrities highlighted in the cookbook. I love that most recipes are fairly simple and the commentary regarding each celebrity really makes this more than a cookbook, it is an entertaining read as well!
Rb1330 More than 1 year ago
This book is more than a cookbook. First of all, it's written by the hilarious Frank DeCaro of Sirius XM and a one time Daily Show regular. It has 145 stars of stage and screen, each with their own unique recipes. No, these recipes did NOT kill them. I've tried a few and they're actually quite good (my personal favorite is Robert Reed's Beef & Biscuit Casserole). Frank writes anecdotes about each person in the book, and frankly, if you just want to skip the recipes and read these, it's worth the price. Halloween is coming and wouldn't it be perfect to have a dead celebrity party with a menu that includes these recipes? I'm sure Madeleine Kahn's foot cookies would be the perfect treat. Actually, its the only cookbook I've read all the way through.
gincam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you are a foodie and film fan, then you will think you have died and gone to heaven when you read "The Dead Celebrity Cookbook"! Recipes and reflections are blended together with rollicking, rowdy, revelry, and a smashing time will be had by all! Author Frank DeCaro enlightens and entertains with facts and food finds from legendary stars of stage and screen, and the results are delicious. I love to sit down with a cup of coffee and read a cookbook. Since this book is filled with as many stories as it has recipes, it is one of the most readable and enjoyable cookbooks that I own. The chapters are categorized by the contributor's claim to fame, such as: "Musical Munchies"; "Sitcom Moms Really Cook"; "Dance This Mess Around"; and "A Feast of Funny Fellows". The skill level of the chefs ranges from kitchen-capable to titan of take-out, and the recipes run the realm between truly taste tempting to seriously strange and somewhat scary. Dom Deluise's "Doodlewoppers"--who knew?!? Just kidding--those "Doodlewoppers" sound like darn good cookies!!! "The Dead Celebrity Cookbook" is a decadent delight from cover to cover. The amazing range of recipes is as equally appealing as the royal roster of legendary luminaries from the world of entertainment. A "must have" for the kitchen library of true devotees of the silver screen and the silver palate. Review Copy Gratis HCI Books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very funny, if macabre, and chalk full of infotainment
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many of the recipes are redundant; even though it's from a different celebrity and there may be some changes in the ingredients, there are several versions of several recipes. It's interesting to read the background about some of the celebrities, but I didn't find any "drop dead" (if you will excuse the pun) recipe that I had to try immediately. However, for younger people who didn't know some of these people, the history might be interesting to them.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
The Dead Celebrity Cookbook: A Resurrection of Recipes from More Than 145 Stars of Stage and Screen by Frank DeCara is an interesting and entertaining cooking/pop culture. Written with wit,humor and bursting with usable recipes. It has some of Hollywood's famous stars,from Mike Douglas to Rue McClanahan and over a hundred in between. It includes profiles,ponderings,menus,and recipes.What a delightful book with a wonderul collection recipes from days gone by and the stars who enjoyed them.A must read for anyone who enjoys Hollywood,stars gone by, and of course recipes. I enjoyed "The Dead Celebrity Cookbook". This author has created a treasure to be shared with others and to keep in your kitchen. Received for an honest review from the publisher.Details can be found at Health Communications,Inc. and My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews. RATING:4 REVIEWED BY: AprilR
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No Judy Garland pill mixing Receipes, Dean Martin drink Recipes, or anything from Barbara Striesand. What is in the book is good it just isn't complete.