The Divinity Bureau

The Divinity Bureau

by Tessa Clare

Paperback

$15.00
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Divinity Bureau 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
JLeighG 9 months ago
The Divinity Bureau didn’t disappoint. It brought the dystopian world of overpopulation and pollution to life where people are elected to die. This book easily keeps you wanting more with each passing chapter even after the slow beginning. Although the story wraps up, you know there is much more left to the journey. I’m excited to see what will happen next in the next book which comes out later this year!
pooled_ink More than 1 year ago
pooled ink Reviews: 3.5 Stars A dystopian society that brings together an overlooked computer geek and a powerful politician's daughter, not only with romance bloom but conspiracies will start to bleed. Filled with action, twists, betrayal, and a world suffering from the costs of greed and immortality, THE DIVINITY BUREAU is an exciting hook into a future far too familiar. Although it starts a bit slow for me the story takes you on several twists and turns, balancing conspiracy with romance, so if you're a fan of dystopian fiction then you should consider checking this book out. Clare has got a flair and I can't wait to see what else she does. If this book whisks you away then you'll be dying to know what happens next. **Read the full review on Wordpress: Pooled Ink
JBronder More than 1 year ago
The world is over populated and has limited resources for the populous. The Divinity Bureau has stepped up to take care of this situation by creating a random selection method to start thinning the herd or killing people. Of course people believe that this is all for the best until a rebel group starts pointing out that it’s convenient that a select group is never chosen from for this lottery. Enter Roman Irvine, a technician at The Divinity Bureau. All he does is stare at a computer screen full of names on a daily bases. That is until he sees the name April McIntyre. April’s father was a political that was open about who was in the selection process and was chosen to die. April knows his death was a cover for The Divinity Bureau and is one of the rebels trying to get the information out to the people. When Roman see’s April’s name on his computer, he knows that he has to protect her. April see’s Roman as a cog in The Divinity Bureau’s machine. But the come to an uneasy truce arises where Roman and April are going to have to work together. Of course there is a beautiful relationship that comes from this. Everyone knows I’m a sucker for a great dystopian series and The Divinity Bureau is going on the top of that list. You have a well-developed world that sucks you into the struggles of Roman and April. I loved the “great” idea of how to control the over-whelming population. Of course those of power and influence would come up with this kind of solution. It also works well for those that try to bring attention to the down falls. But better than that struggle is the sweet romance of Roman and April. They are nearly polar opposites but come together to end this mindless killing. You couldn’t ask for a better couple. This is a great first book from Tessa Clare and I can’t wait to read what she comes up with next. This is one book you HAVE to add to your collection. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
An unlikely love story in a dystopian world where THE DIVINITY BUREAU decides who shall live and who shall die. Once again, corruption in government has taken world overpopulation, under production and deadly pollution and turned it to its own advantage by selecting who can “live forever” and who has been elected to die. Meanwhile, the population blindly assumes everything is for their own good until a group of activists begin to create a groundswell of rebellion. Roman works for the Divinity Bureau in IT. he see a computer screen all day long, names flow past, but they don’t register as humans until one name stands out, one name slated to die and he cannot fathom why. April is young, intelligent and the daughter of a political figure who was “elected” to die. She knows her father still had much to give the world. She knows there is more to the Divinity Bureau than meets the eye, she is one of the growing number of activists and rebels making themselves heard. For her, Roman could be "the enemy." What Roman sees is the girl of his dreams, but she is mistrustful of a man who would work for such monsters. In a tale told through both Roman and April’s eyes, love will grow in a world that has grown cold and its leaders are not to be trusted. Witnessing Roman’s less than suave approach and April’s clear amusement with his bumbling nature, these two make a formidable team when they realize that, just maybe they can make a difference and just maybe no one has the right to play god with humanity. Meanwhile, their budding romance seems far removed from the nightmares of their reality, but someone has to change the world… Tessa Clare has taken just a slice of a dystopian world filled with death and darkness and allowed some sunshine in with young love! Not only are we given food for thought, but we see that love can grow in the bleakest of times! I enjoyed this read from start to a finish because it didn’t start out as a “Rebel’s Cause” type read, it started out as a love story that grew with all of the human pitfalls we can relate to as well as characters that grew before our eyes! I received a complimentary copy from Tessa Clare!
Momma_Becky More than 1 year ago
I stepped a little outside of my romance box with this young adult, dystopian romance, and I have to say that I was absolutely blown away by a riveting tale that I couldn't put down. Roman and April's forbidden romance starts with a name on a list and a bit of curiosity. As the pair get to know each other, the larger story of corruption and betrayal unfolds for a thoroughly engrossing read. With wonderful characters and witty dialogue, this debut novel is a fast-paced, entertaining read that is packed full of romance, intrigue, suspense, and at times, even a bit chilling. While the conclusion isn't a drive you crazy cliffy, it is open-ended, and I for one will be anxiously awaiting what's next for Roman and April.
xokristim More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the fact that this story took place in the future, left a lot to the imagination. I thought it was a very interesting concept that you could buy mortality. The whole story was based around so many different concepts. If I were to compare it to any books I would call it a cross between The Hunger Games and Divergent (which happen to be two of my favorite series) with a twist. It was nice seeing both points of view. April being the rich side and Rowan being more on the working persons end. It was wonderful seeing how differently they each perceived certain situations. April was a funny, determined, independent character. Although I loved her I found many of her actions toward the beginning of the book childish. She was extremely unpredictable and seemed to not care who was affected. I enjoyed seeing her grow as a person and understand what life really was like. I have to point out these quotes because I absolutely love them “It’s easier to spend a few extra minutes telling a person that you like them instead of spending a lifetime in regret.” “…grief will only destroy you temporarily, while regrets will haunt you until you die.” Lately quotes haven’t really been sticking out to me but these were just perfection. I really enjoyed the whole process of reading and reviewing this book. I highly recommend it!
DarqueDreamer More than 1 year ago
The Divinity Bureau is a hard hitting, dystopian romance. It has danger, passion, and betrayal. Be prepared for a fascinating ride with unpredictable twists and turns. This one was an interesting read for me. It started off a little slow, with a bit too much world information, but slowly picked up and hooked me. It was a little more YA romance/plot driven than I am used to, but it was enjoyable. It had some predictable moments, and some entertaining, unpredictable moments. For a debut novel, I think it was well written, with some nice world building, but could have used a little more character development. The characters were enjoyable, and unique, but I just didn't connect with them as much as I would have liked. April had her good moments, and her bad. For the most part, she was enjoyable, and felt like a real, privileged, rich, college student. But, she also had moments where she acted like she was still in high school. She showed moments of bravery and determination, but also showed moments of naiveté and stubbornness.  Roman was a little more enjoyable because he wasn't a typical YA "male hero." He was the "IT guy"." He was smart, sweet, and moral. He felt real, the majority of the time, because he wasn't hyped up to unrealistic standards. He made mistakes and truly cared about April. He did have moments where he felt a little flat to me, but he was refreshing to read when compared to overly dramatized, conflicted bad boy heroes. The world, and plot, that Clare created here was familiar, and exceptional, all at once. It definitely felt like it drew inspiration from some of the big hitting YA novels, but also had its own originality to it. That is what I enjoyed most about it, because the story had just enough familiarity to draw me in, and then enough originality to keep me turning the page. Though the plot did feel a bit formulaic at times, it still had a strong drive with plenty of twists to keep me on the edge of my seat. So, there was definitely more good than bad here. The Divinity Bureau had its flaws, but it was a unique, romantic, page turner. It had some enjoyable science fiction bits mixed in with a corrupt, dystopian government, similar to The Hunger Games, and it had intrigue and unpredictability. I would definitely recommend it to true YA lovers and I am looking forward to reading more from the author. I would rate it 3.5 to 4 stars. Thank you to Reads and Reels for providing me with this free e-copy in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago