The Duke's Accidental Wife

The Duke's Accidental Wife

by Erica Ridley

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Duke's Accidental Wife 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really didn't like this book in the series. Sappy and they just magically understand each other after only spending minutes together here and there. Really glad Ravenswood is happy, but disappointed with the way it came about.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
The Duke of Ravenwood / Laurence was: cold , proper, and stuffy or so he seemed / He would rather be home then mixing with the high up of society. Though no one really knows it the Duke was a romantic at heart and wants to fall in love with the woman he marries. But he does try to do his best for king and country even if he did not go off to fight in the war but he had just become a Duke and instead toke his seat in the House Of Lords’ Laurence’s sister has a way of getting the Duke to do as she wants him to do and she wanted Laurence to support the cause she and her friend Katherine//Kate are promoting. Kate is very independent and knows what she wants. Kate doesn’t want a husband and kids the normal role a woman of her time and standing would full fill. But then Laurence and Kate are caught in an innocent but compromising position. Laurence agrees to marry Kate for appearance sake. Kate comes across full of life but in reality she is lonely. Kate had been orphaned when still young. She was afraid of having a child and losing it or dying herself as she had grown up with her aunt who was a midwife. Laurence had also lost his parents at a young age but dreams of having a loving wife and children to fill his empty home. Laurence grew up with his sister and a guardian who wanted Laurence dead so he himself could become the Duke. Laurence does support Kate and tries to attend certain functions for Kate. The just have to get to really know each other and not what the world sees them as. Laurence and Kate both try make small changes in themselves to make the other happy. This was an all around good story. I like how the cold and stuffiness is only a facade for Laurence.and he as well as Kate really try to make the marriage work. There is an attraction there but both Laurence and Kate know it takes more than attraction if they want a happy and successful marriage between them. The plot was great bringing two lonely people together. The writing was also great. I liked the characters alot especially Kate and Laurence. I liked the ups and downs in Laurence and Kate’s journey to happiness. I recommend. I received an ARC of this story for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best in the series. Wow. Loved the characters. Aunt Havens is my favorite but also love Katherine and Ravenwood. Weird how the first name was not used by the wife. Totally my favorite of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first time reading this author I enjoyed the story and will read her other books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The overall book and characters were likable . However, I felt the story was rushed with a lack of depth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
The ongoing saga of these intrepid Dukes of War finally tells the story of the Duke of Ravenwood who didn't go! He wanted to go with them and has felt guilty for not doing so but he had recently been able to take up his role as Duke, being an active member of the House of Lords and ensuring his guardian did not fulfil the role in his stead. He is very keen on maintaining his dignity, decorum and position but actually detests public gatherings and speaking though he is a prominent participant and leading member when anything actually needs getting done in the House of Lords. He is respected by other members of the aristocracy and if anyone can get him to attend parties, soirées and the the like they immediately become highly popular events. Still, he would much rather be in his secret garden at home than mixing with the ton! When he does attend public events he tends to don an icy facade to protect himself but he secretly dreams of finding love like his late parents shared and now his friends and sister do, too. The portray of this public yet reclusive Duke is superbly orchestrated by the author, helping the reader empathise with him as he endeavours to always do the best for King and country despite his naturally reclusive nature. He has a few close friends -essentially the Dukes or War and their wives! He hates being manipulated but his sister knows just how to get her own way. When she appeals to his better nature and gets him to agree to support the good cause she is promoting with her friend, Katherine, he agrees reluctantly. When he is caught with that same lady friend in an innocent but compromising position, he agrees to marry her even though their previous encounters were anything but romantic. It is the two striving to come to terms with their new relationship, getting to know each other and learning about each other's wants, needs, foibles and dreams that form the bulk of this engaging historical romance. It is a great addition to the series and one I have no hesitation in highly recommending to anyone who enjoys historical romances with a feisty, independent minded female and a handsome, if reticent, member of the aristocracy as the hero. Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Miss Katherine Ross is a woman who won't be any man's possession. She's intelligent and independent and she loves her freedom. When the powerful and emotionless Duke of Ravenwood accidentally compromises her, they are forced by society to marry. Can these two find happiness in their accidental marriage? I loved this romantic story. I fell in love with Ravenwood when to court his wife he let her puppy chew a hole in his waistcoat. That's pure romance. Watching Katherine overcome her fears and desire her new husband was touching. I was hooked. I loved their chemistry and their desire. Erica Ridley charmed me with this tender love story. I enjoyed the historical setting and the familiar characters. The Duke's Accidental Wife is perfection. This book is a keeper. I received a copy in exchange for an honest and unscripted review.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 7 in the Dukes of War series. Miss Katherine Ross does what she wants even if it goes against society's dictates and that includes getting a husband. Never wanting to have a husband tell her what to do, she has long decided that whenever wants to marry. But that all changes when she finds herself in a compromising situation with the Duke of Ravenwood. No one would have guessed it, but Ravenwood wanted to marry for love. When he is forced to marry Katherine, he believes that his dreams are over. When he thinks of the perfect duchess, she would be the opposite of Katherine in every way. Can Katherine and Ravenwood turn their forced marriage into one based on love? I've been waiting on Ravenwood's story for awhile now and I was so excited to read it. Ridley made it everything that I could have asked for! If you've read the series, you know that Ravenwood is always the prim and proper duke. But you were occasionally give a small glimpse of the side of him that he shows few people. I was so excited to finally see more of that man!! I loved Katherine! She was a woman ahead of her time. She had money in which to survive on her own and she took full advantage of it. She focused on the things in life that she loved and didn't let anyone get in her way. You go girl!! I'm sorry to see this series end, but I know that I will love whatever Ridley puts out for us next!! I can't wait to find out what it is! Thanks go out to Intrepid Reads via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
KimP65 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love everything about this series. Just when I think that I've found my favorite I'm surprised again and delighted to have a new favorite. The writing is extremely excellent, the story is beyond awesome and the historical accuracy is enough to make any reader of historicals happy!
WolfFaerie17 More than 1 year ago
Lawrence Pembroke Duke of Ravenwood doesn't like large crowds of people but knows they're a necessary evil while doing his duty at the House of Lords. Lawrence doesn't believe in being lazy or indifferent to his duties as Duke of Ravenwood. Katherine Ross doesn't want to be married or have children. She prefers her life as it is now solidly independent. She calls Duke Ravenwood~The Frost King because he appears to be emotionless. When a tempting situation arises between them forcing them to marry. Katherine brings wonderful thoughts and ideas to all of her projects. Lawrence hides from everyone including his bride. Will either Pembroke or Katherine change their minds? Is this a love match after all? Find out in this stunning conclusion to this series. I'm sadden that this wonderful series has come to an end. All of the characters are rich, bold, honest, real, alpha tendencies, raw, and compelling. The story has similar elements to that of the characters. I've thoroughly enjoyed this series since the beginning. Definitely consider this author for my must read and buy lists. Happy Reading!
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
Erica Ridley's book, The Duke's Accidental Wife is an amazing historical romance. Ms Ridley has given us a well written book. Her characters in The Duke's Accidental Wife are fabulous. Kate and Ravenwood's story is loaded with drama, humor and spice. I loved The Duke's Accidental Wife and look forward to reading more from Erica Ridley in the future. The Duke's Accidental Wife is book 7 in the Dukes of War Series but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Page turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
greekgoddess422 More than 1 year ago
Last book in the Series Dukes of War . Heroine is Katharine Rose . Hero is Ravenwood Ravenwood is going to his (Amelia) sisters house for dinner . Amelia story is the first one in the series . He likes spending time with his sister . Ravenwood doesn't have to put a stone cold face on . He also gets away and is himself with poetry and one other thing . He can be himself at his sisters place . . Boy was he suprised. Once he gets to Amelia house Ravenwood realizes that it's not just him and his sister . He goes in to dinner and meets Katharine sitting beside him . Ravenwood looks at Amelia to find out what is going on . That is when Amelia and Daphane come up with a plan of how to raise money for a cause . Katharine is going to have it at her museum. All 3 ladies tell the Duke that he has to come to the event to get the other ton members there and to open their purse strings . Ravenwood doesn't like Katharine attitude. He things she is wild with no scruples. And Katharine does what she wants . Even though there is a Duke in her family Katharine is a person that believes in the arts . That every painter person that does poetry writes poems has a place and every Ton member should support them . Ravenwood does show up at the Gala . He takes one look and tries to leave . Katharine sees him and goes after him . They start to talk and before you know it they are at a supply room . An accident happens in the supply room and they are found out . Before the scandal goes all over London they get Married. Two different people with different outlooks in live have to make a go of it . Katharine has a hang up no children. She heard about what happens to mothers and the babies. Ravenwood because he is a Duke needs a heir . So Ravenwood gives her a condition. Do they bend and learn for each other . Or ????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of this series and i have to say this is my favorite! (I may have said that before but this time i really mean it!) Erica has such a way with words and description! My favorite line "looking like a gargoyle in a waistcoat" Some parts were so funny! And so great to see Ravenwood finally find his HEA. So whats next gor the Dukes of War? I cant wait to see!
dfosterbooks More than 1 year ago
Four left for war. One stayed home. The battle is just beginning… Lawrence Pembrook, Duke of Ravenwood, dislikes crowds. What an understatement – he despises crowds. A fact that has him rarely attending ton functions and when he does he avoids interacting with anyone as much as possible. A trait that has earned him the nickname “Frost King” by one beautiful hoyden. He’s a man very aware of his responsibilities and takes his duties very seriously but his greatest desire is to be treated as a man, not a title. Miss Katherine (Kate) Ross is dreadfully afraid of marriage. Marriage equates to the loss of freedom plus her knowledge that she and her babe could die during childbirth have fueled her desire to remain a spinster. A state she has worked hard to accomplish. Being unwed has allowed her freedom to open her beloved antiquities museum and associate with members of the arts and theatre crowd. Ambushed by his sister, the wife of a dear friend and the one woman he cannot abide, Miss Katherine Ross, Ravenwood reluctantly agrees to appear at a charity art function/soiree to be hosted at Kate’s museum. He knows his appearance will attract a large crowd thereby ensuring large donations for the charity. The event is indeed a huge success. Feeling the need to find a little peace away from the crowd, Ravenwood retreats into the inner part of the museum. Having Ravenwood ignore her after making eye contact has piqued Kate’s ire. Being ignored by the “Frost King” at her own event just will not do and she goes in search of him. Finding him at the entrance to her storeroom a battle of words ensues. Thinking she has the last word she invites him “into her lair” – knowing he will not follow. Ravenwood startles her twice – first when he does follow her into the small space and again when he speaks then and reaches to help her retrieve a wooden box on a high shelf. This attempt to help her sets off a series of events that will alter both their lives. An addled aunt, secrets and fears, duty and passion, and of all things a puppy help bring life to Ravenwood’s world. Secrets and fears, passion and compassion and most of all the desire to prove her worth are what drive Kate. They each take little steps to opening up to the other but it takes a near disaster to hit home what means the most to them. I adore Kate’s enthusiasm in everything she does and her ability to go with the flow, even when things don’t go the way she thinks they should. I loved seeing the ever stoic Ravenwood have a flaw, one that basically controlled his life. My intentions were to read The Duke’s Accidental Wife over a two night period; however, Ms. Ridley’s writing draws you into a story and engages your emotions – it was read in one night. I found myself wanting to knock sense into both characters while enjoying every minute of their interactions. Erica Ridley’s The Duke’s Accidental Wife is the seventh and final book in her Dukes of War series. As in the previous books in her series, Ms. Ridley has the character’s staying true to themselves all while evolving into more. Her writing style will draw you in and have you feeling each emotion the hero and heroine do. My only complaint – this book was not as angst ridden as the previous books in the series; therefore, it seemed to have a slower pace. Overall, it was still an excellent read and I highly recommend it.
LightningCityBookReview More than 1 year ago
"The Duke's Accidental Wife" definitely caps off the Dukes of War series on a high note! Erica Ridley brings the series full circle. We started it off with the Duke's sister, Lady Amelia Pembroke, in her Christmas novella and we end it back in Ravenwood House. We've seen glimpses of Ravenwood in various books throughout the series and in the last couple of books we've gotten some glimpses of the "lustemy" dance between the Duke and Katherine Ross. I've been with the series since book 0.5. As staid as Lawrence as been he's been there for his friends, and sister. They have all known that out of all of them he is the True Romantic - with the desire to marry for Love. Katherine Ross has been in just one or two of the novels. In one she played an important secondary character to the heroine and had an interesting altercation with the Duke of Ravenwood. Even then I knew there was chemistry there. Erica Ridley writes novels that are quickly read yet are intelligently researched and well written Historical Romances. The characters are typically likeable, intriguing, and compelling. The characters all have complex baggage - in this series the majority of the heroes - the 4 "Dukes of War" suffered various degrees of PTSD as well as physical handicaps. The 5th "Duke of War" suffers differently because of his position as an actual Duke and the last of his line - he did not go to war and suffers the guilt of seeing the suffering of his friends who did go to war in the ultimate service to the Crown and Country. Lawrence's baggage is a large and varied set that he hides extremely well. As does Katherine, her backstory luggage is well hidden by her flaunting of society's rules and strictures. Her outrageous lifestyle of fun and frolic hides surprising facts that no one would suspect. I have made my choice clear about my favorite "Duke of War" being Captain Xavier Grey. But the Duke of Ravenwood is now neck and neck in first place. Erica Ridley did not disappoint me ... I loved "The Duke's Accidental Wife" and it surpassed my expectations. I loved both of these characters before they had their own book. I loved Aunt Havers as well. I do wish that there had been a little more communication between Katherine and Lawrence. However the fact that they discovered the things they did about each other, in the manner they did was also impactful. So much of this story seemed very O. Henry like ... cutting one's hair to buy a watch fob and selling one's watch to buy hair combs. I also would have liked to have seen the gang all get back together, in at least one scene, in this final installment of the Dukes of War series. But even though I did not get to see my Captain Grey again ... this was a wonderful and fitting close to a fabulous series! To read the entire review please visit: http://bit.ly/1T6qxcl
Theardentreader More than 1 year ago
Miss Katherine Ross is one of those ladies you would love to know. She is thoughtful, down to earth and open to new ideas. What she is not looking for is a husband. She is more than happy to continue her life as it is. She loves antiquities and the performing arts and is content to help the ton see the role they could play in bringing new talent to light. She has her Aunt Haven and they are family. Miss Ross needs a special patron to show up to her next gala so that the ton solo feel the legitimacy of the whole endeavor. She chooses the Duke of Ravenwood, his sister is sure he will help. Weekday his sister tells no one is that the Duke abhors social situations! Practically turning to stone with fear. He would, however, do anything for his sister. So to this gala be goes. During the evening, he seeks solitude for a few moments, the crowd is overwhelming for him. Miss Ross area him near a storage room and goes to see what he is up to. One thing leads to another, and one loudmouth lady declares the both of them compromised! Ravenwood will have to marry Miss Ross! The last person on earth he would like to marry. This was a sweet story of two people who know what they want out of life, but you can't always get what you want. Sometimes you have to make due with what you get. I loved the writing! You could feel the anguish each person felt and I hoped things would work out well. The main characters are very introspective people ask this story has less dialog, but I don't think it takes anything away from the story. I felt like it brought the reader in for a closer look at these two people trying to figure out how to go on. This is the 7th book in this series and I love that I've read them all and know the other characters, however, it could be read as a standalone.
michealep91 More than 1 year ago
Sadly, the last installment in the Duke's of War series, but once again, Erica does NOT disappoint. He struggles with the fact that his friends went to war, and came back "damaged", while he stayed home to tend to his responsibilities. He struggles with social anxiety, and the fact that he is "softer" than he appears but is afraid to show it. She is also not what she appears...flighty and irresponsible with not a concern for society, when actually she is concerned with those in lower status than she, and is a deeply caring woman, with real fears of her own. This story is a wonderful finish to a FABULOUS series. I can't wait to see what Erica comes up with next!
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
He was the one who stayed home to take care of things as his friends went off to war. He even offered for the hand of his killed-in-action friend, but to call him outwardly warm and fuzzy would have never described the Duke of Ravenwood. The man was as cold and proper as a shaved ice swan, handsome, but unapproachable. She was a socialite, a wealthy young woman who didn’t need a husband, she has her causes and passions and is a huge success in her own right. Who knew the eccentric Katherine Ross would find herself in an innocent, yet compromising situation that would have tongues wagging among London’s elite? Forced into a marriage for appearances sake, these two spend months avoiding each other, being prickly and assuming the worst of their mate. Who knew the whirling dervish of a woman would bring the secret romantic to his knees, lost in love? Imagine Katherine’s shock when she discovers the size of the heart this man so cleverly hides or that deep inside he sense of duty and honor are something to cherish? The Duke’s Accidental Wife by Erica Ridley is the long awaited tale of love for our favorite Duke and is definitely worth the wait! Some characters just grab your interest, fascinate you and give you hours of entertainment, chuckles, sighs and even anger or frustration, and the Duke, the Duchess and her completely adorable great-aunt are ALL my favorites in this tale! Feel the frustration they feel, cringe at the total lack of communication and swoon when two people with more love to give than they know finally realize how wonderful life can be, even trapped in the era of stuffiness and facades! I received this ARC edition from Intrepid Reads in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
London - 1816 Lawrence Pembroke, the Duke of Ravenwood, age 28, does not care for parties, dancing, excessive drinking, and people who fritter life away. He also dislikes the way time gets wasted in The House of Lords when the discussions get side-tracked to gossip. He takes his responsibilities in Parliament quite seriously and gets frustrated with those who don't. Ravenwood’s sister, Lady Amelia, is married to Lord Sheffield. Ravenwood and Amelia’s parents passed away when they were children. For Ravenwood, inheriting the Dukedom at such an early age has meant total dedication to the position and has resulted in him not being allowed to fight Napoleon with his friends, such as Bartholomew Blackpool, who had fought in the war but returned injured. So, when Amelia invites Ravenwood to a dinner which includes his friend, he is quite irritated to that she has also invited the infamous Miss Katherine Ross, age 20. A cousin to the Duke of Lambly, Katherine is rich young woman who lives life doing as she wishes, often thumbing her nose at society. Her elderly aunt lives with her and is her best friend. Katherine worries about her because she is beginning to show signs of dementia. When Katherine was young, through her parents, she learned of numerous mothers and their infants who died in childbirth. This has led Katherine to promise herself to never marry and have children because she doesn’t want that to happen to her. During the dinner, Amelia is quite obvious that she is trying to match Ravenwood and Katherine up. Irritated at this, Ravenwood reluctantly agrees to attend an art auction for charity sponsored by Katherine, knowing that his very presence will ensure a large attendance. After that, he hopes to never see her again. But when at the auction a chance encounter between Katherine and Ravenwood in a back room is discovered as an assignation, Duke Lambley insists that Ravenwood and Katherine become betrothed. What kind of marriage will they have? This staid man and lively woman seem destined to clash. This is a completely delightful novel and I loved it. The characters are perfectly written and I know that readers will fall in love with Katherine and Ravenwood. Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Every girl dreams of falling in love and living happily ever after. Right? NOT!!! Katherine is the complete antithesis of that claim. Falling in love is not for her. She prefers her own company and the freedom to make her own decisions. I received an ARC of The Duke's Accidental Wife in exchange for an honest review. A cynic and a romantic, how could you not fall for these characters. Erica Ridley has turned the tables on the way romance is perceived with this one. Ravenwood is the ideal. A romantic at heart searching for the other half of his soul. I love that Ms. Ridley tried something different. She stayed true to her addictive stories but with a twist that was surprising and fantastic.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Preconceptions can be misconceptions – and that is just what Katherine Ross “Kate” and Lawrence Pembroke, the Duke of Ravenwood found to be true before the end of the book. Kate was footloose and fancy free living with her great Aunt Havens when at one of her social events she and Ravenwood were caught in an apparently compromising situation. They both had ideas of what their future would be and that future did not include what they were suddenly faced with. As the two of them get to know one another better they find that what they believed true of one another is not quite accurate and worth reconsidering. I loved the way Kate began to see beyond the exterior Ravenwood presented to the world. I enjoyed Ravenwood’s slow opening up and sharing as time went on. This is a story of family, caring, sharing and giving and I thoroughly enjoyed it. 4.5 Stars