The Familiar, Volume 1: One Rainy Day in May

The Familiar, Volume 1: One Rainy Day in May

by Mark Z. Danielewski

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Familiar, Volume 1: One Rainy Day in May 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful start to a very complex and wonderful series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worse than terrible. This is unreadable in nook app.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing start to an amazing series full of characters that leap right off the pages and you'll either love or love to not love. The Familiar has something for actual everyone: science, math, art, gaming, music, all things pop culture--you name it and probably it'll pop up somewhere in there. If you're familiar (no pun intended) with Danielewski's work you already have an inkling of what to expect, but if not don't be intimidated when you first see the size and scope of the book. 880 pages fly right by and almost guaranteed you'll be dying for volume 2 immediately. Can be slightly challenging but is always very, very rewarding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutely amazing. It is unlike anything I have very read before in the best way possible. It lures you in with a slow start. The format takes a bit to get used to, but by the end of the book The Familiar has grabbed you and it won't let go. #BeAHymnForGood
batmanofbaylor More than 1 year ago
Having finished all of Season 1, these books just get better and better. Once you become FAMILIAR (in pink) with the structure and voice of each character, they fly by, and MZD does a great job of answering questions/mysteries that are set up early on. Give it a chance, and you will not be disappointed. Life changing stuff!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Familiar series is brilliant, and you won't regret getting involved as they are all equally as enthralling! its is beautiful, intelligent, violent and the characters are all deeply explored. love, love, love these books!
Agnes Hayden More than 1 year ago
These Books have truly changed my life! Certain characters of these books felt so real and so relevant, they turned me into a super fan: i started drawing story related things, I started wearing pink sneakers, I started dying my shirts a certain way. It made me feel like a teenager again, obsessing over a favorite band. There is so much to lose yourself in in these stories, and so many details to discover while reading along, that it truly feels like an adventure full of magic, darkness and mysteries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best series you're not reading. Briefly, the story of a little girl who finds a cat. But really so much more. It's the story of nine people whose lives are suddenly entangled. The first of proposed 27, One Rainy Day in May is a wonderful introduction to the next volumes. It may seem slow going at times, but the pace picks up as you go along, and subsequent volumes move much faster once introductions have been established. A must read for fans of Danielewski's other works, and readers of sci-fi, detective novels, graphic novels and so much more will also find something they will enjoy. A worthwhile read all around
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best series you're not reading. Briefly, the story of a little girl who finds a cat. But really so much more. It's the story of nine people whose lives are suddenly entangled. The first of proposed 27, One Rainy Day in May is a wonderful introduction to the next volumes. It may seem slow going at times, but the pace picks up as you go along, and subsequent volumes move much faster once introductions have been established. A must read for fans of Danielewski's other works, and readers of sci-fi, detective novels, graphic novels and so much more will also find something they will enjoy. A worthwhile read all around
Helen Hero More than 1 year ago
I've read this volume twice already and know I will read it again and again and again with amazement and joy. It's full of wonder and beauty. From the amazing work people put into putting it together (pictures, layout, fonts..) to the diversity in all characters, main or sidekick. MZD really lets you get to know the " cast" of this amazing series and takes you into every characters personal world. Because of the many layers of the book and stories, yes I do say stories though it is all connected I'm sure, this book (nay this series) is like a beautiful painting that lets you stare at it all day long seeing new wonders throughout the day without getting tired or bored with it. Yes, the first volume is an introduction to the whole series (27 volumes, divided into several seasons. It's like binging some amazing tv series) so this one is a little bit harder to get, but the many layers do make it so that you will enjoy the book, even though you don't get "the whole picture" yet. Bare with it, have some patience, give yourself time to get to know it all and enjoy the ride!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest777 More than 1 year ago
This book is just the beginning of an engrossing story, with 27 volumes planned. It is like the first episode of a TV show, giving you a taste of each character. The book itself is so well-designed it's difficult to NOT catch your eye and the story is as interesting as the book looks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago