The Forgiving Kind

The Forgiving Kind

by Donna Everhart

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Forgiving Kind 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
KVM 5 days ago
Wow! Donna Everhart does not just right books, she is a storyteller! I thought her first 2 books were great, but this one is the best. It tells the story of a family, a family you would want to be part of. This family is close, so when the father dies you feel it in your soul. You mourn with them, you want to hug and hold them and tell them everything will be ok, but having gone through this myself at the age of 17 I know all to well that nothing will ever be the same again. There mother is devastated but she has a farm and three children to raise, no money and only debt, which comes from having a farm. The next door neighbor enters the story and well you will just have to read it and find out what that entails. No words can do this book justice, you will pick it up and not want to put it down. Sonny especially will stay in your mind and heart, long after you finish and put it down. You will want to buy copies for all your friends, you will want to tell everyone you know how good this book is, you will want more! I could go on reading about this family for ever. This books is so vivid that it is like watching a movie, and what a great movie it would make but I already know in my heart no movie maker could do this justice. Thank you Donna Everhart, thank you.
AmberK1120 8 days ago
Wow. Wow, wow. I loved this book. Sonny was such an amazing character, and her family’s story stole my heart. First, this was some delightful southern fiction. I’m never disappointed when I dive into this sub-genre, and I only wish I reached for it more frequently. Everything about it from the setting, to the language, to the habits and mannerisms feels like home (regardless of the fact that I live in the dairy state). I loved the cotton fields and the dirt roads, the elder respect and the manners. Sure, these are all things you can find elsewhere, but the South just has some extra oomph in everything they do. And the characters! Characters are my jam, and there were some phenomenal personalities within these pages. There was one thing that really jumped out at me through the entirety of the story, and that was the way the father’s death affected each of the family members. It was palpable, from the way each of them were coping, to the way they were treating others. Everhart did a great job of making those reactions and personality changes real and understandable. There are issues of racism and bigotry that are laced within the story, and I thought Everhart did a good job of making them feel real, as opposed to being embellished for the sake of storytelling. The verdict: if you’re looking for a good read that checks the boxes of historical fiction, southern fiction, family drama, and coming-of-age, you want to check out The Forgiving Kind. It’s filled with a lot of heart and will leave you feeling so glad to have taken a journey with Sonny and her family.
myreadingchronicles 17 days ago
I started this book this and I could NOT stop. I read straight through until 2AM! It was that good. The point of view is through Sonny, a 12 year old girl who recounts her family’s hardships when her father suddenly dies from a snakebite. This book went a lot deeper into things than I expected. There’s a couple of tough scenes to get through regarding child abuse and domestic violence so beware if that’s not your thing. It was tasteful done though, so there wasn’t anything exactly graphic. It was mostly implied and left to your imagination. I cried quite a few times with Sonny and I really felt for her. 4.5/5
Anonymous 21 days ago
Interesting%2C++good+times+%26+bad.++Well+written%21
Ms-Hurst 3 months ago
The story of family, learning to live in a new reality, really hit home for me. Sonny is an immediately lovable and identifiable character. Losing her father, who she shared so much with and upon whom her family depended so much, sends her entire life into upheaval. When it rains it pours, except here the deluge that comes down upon the family is drought, and the farm that barely kept them afloat is now perilously close to going under. Her mother seems blind to the "helpful" neighbor. I don't want to say much about the story after except that it was not what I expected going in. I would recommend to anyone who wants to read about family and moving on from great grief.
357800 7 months ago
4.5 Stars GREAT READ! A 1950's cotton farm. A loving, happy family....until tragedy strikes....until the deal....until evil enters their lives. THE FORGIVING KIND is an atmospheric coming-of-age story told through the eyes...and heart...of 12 year old Sonny as she, her family and a good friend traverse good times and the very worst of times. Racism, bigotry, abuse and intolerance are found here, but handled subtlety. As for the ending....totally satisfying!
susan568SW 7 months ago
This is a compelling coming of age story set in 1951 North Carolina. When Martha "Sonny" Creech's father dies in a tragic accident the family is left with limited resources to stay on their cotton farm until a neighboring farmer offers them a deal they are unable to refuse. An engrossing read and memorable characters that I will not soon forget.
BettyTaylor 7 months ago
Do you ever wonder how an author comes up with a story that will invoke every emotion there is possible within the reader? A story that is warm and beautiful, dark and terrifying, a story full of goodness and evil, love and hate? A story that is breath-taking? Donna Everhart did it with her newest book THE FORGIVING KIND. I read the last page, closed the book, took a deep breath and thought “How did she do it?” THE FORGIVING KIND took me back to my childhood days. A time that was carefree. Growing up in a rural area I am very familiar with the sights and smells and tastes Donna describes in this beautiful book. Even the characters’ dialogue brought back childhood memories. “No honey, I ain’t seen hide nor hair of it.” I was awed with the imagery she paints with her words – “freshly plowed soil looks like that rich chocolate powder Mama uses for baking.” In 1955, the Creeches were a fairly typical farming family in rural North Carolina. Their main source of income was their cotton crop. Twelve-year-old Sonny and her brother Ross loved working in the cotton fields. Their brother Trent wasn’t quite as enamored with farming. Then one day their idyllic life comes to an end. When Sonny’s father dies the family fights to save their farm. No longer able to get a line of credit they are unable to buy the seedlings needed to plant their next crop. Their seemingly magnanimous neighbor Mr. Fowler steps in to assist. But Sonny, Ross, and Trent soon learn that Fowler presents one face to their mother and a vastly different one to them. In her author’s note, Everhart writes “for all of the idyllic living, the Southern hospitality, the genteel way of life, intolerance and narrow-mindedness can still be found”. This is heartbreakingly evidenced in the character Daniel, Sonny’s closest friend. This is a story sure to remain in your heart and mind long after the last page has been read and the book placed aside. The characters have become a part of you, embraced and taken lovingly into your forgiving heart.
CrawfishQueen 9 months ago
The Forgiving Kind by Donna Everhart I had to wait a few days after finishing to write this review because it was so raw after I read the last half of the book non-stop because I couldn’t put it down. It had begun with such a happy life for this rural family, then took a very sad turn, but the final fall into fear and horror left me gasping and flying through the pages. There was so much to love about the family and their affection for each other, positive attitudes, and caring outreach to Sonny’s friend Daniel. I loved that it included the “water witch” in such an understanding way. The cruelty and hate unleashed after Mr. Fowler has secured control over them was so horrifying and yet so obvious in the character of the narcissistic Fowler. You could really sympathize with Sonny’s mom’s dilemma and her need to provide for her family at such a difficult time. Women had few resources in a community such as this, and it was a pretty accurate picture of that aspect. I had enjoyed previous books by the author, and this continues her success and development.
SheTreadsSoftly 9 months ago
The Forgiving Kind by Donna Everhart is a very highly recommended family drama set in 1950s North Carolina. Twelve-year-old Martha “Sonny” Creech and her two older brothers, Ross and Trent, work hard alongside their Dad on their cotton farm. Sonny feels a connection to and loves the land as much as her father does. She also inherited his ability for divining water. When a devastating accident claims her father's life, Sonny and her family are not only grieving, but heading for disaster and poverty if they can't pay for the seed to plant their cotton crop. When their weird, but wealthy, neighbor, Frank Fowler stops by and suggests a deal to help finance their crop, Sonny's mom, Olivia, accepts the deal even though she and Ross don't trust him. Neither does her best friend, Daniel, who tells Sonny that the man must have ulterior motives. Soon it becomes apparent that Fowler is a cruel, mean-tempered bully who bosses the kids around and calls them names, but acts very different around their mother. Sonny tries to tell her mom that he is no good, but she doesn't see his dark side until it is too late. This is a riveting, compelling, and emotionally complex story that grips you from the start and doesn't let go. The narrative is spellbinding, heartbreaking, beautiful, and tragic. It will make you cry, feeling furious and impotent, as foreshadowing clearly indicates that a violent disaster is in the making and you are waiting for the tragedy to happen. I found myself raging silently at Sonny's mom, Olivia, finding it hard to believe she couldn't see who Frank Fowler really was through his fake facade. The writing is absolutely excellent. Everhart decisively captures time and place, placing her well-developed characters firmly in North Carolina in 1955 as they deal with what seems like a situation that will be impossible to escape. The well-paced plot raises the tension and anxiety of the reader and then keeps you there, anticipating, knowing something awful is going to happen. The descriptive prose depicts both the beautiful and sordid in this coming-of-age story of abuse, violence, prejudice, perseverance, endurance, friendship, and family. The juxtaposition of the exceptional writing with the disclosure of the ugliness within the narrative helps make the novel and its themes even more poignant. Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of Kensington.
Shelley-S-Reviewer 9 months ago
The Forgiving Kind was a complex and delightful read. I absolutely adored this book from start to finish. I was immediately pulled in and intrigued by these irresistible characters and couldn’t seem to read fast enough. I wanted to know every little thing about them, especially Sonny, yet I also wanted to savor each and every word of this richly detailed, poignant, and artfully crafted tale. The writing was smooth and well-paced; while the story was unique, amusing, emotive, and compelling. I relished the ease and comfort in following the narrating voice of Sonny , as well as the colorful depictions and lush descriptions of each scene and person. But it was the characters that held my heart as they were fascinating, well-drawn, knowable, endearingly flawed, and divinely written. I absolutely loved this book. The Forgiving Kind isn’t just a story, but the recounting of the life of one young woman who overcame adversity, sacrificed her own happiness for the sake of others, and made a place for herself in the world. Sonny’s life was full of both great sorrow and tremendous joy and that all plays out in the novel. This is a story of discovery, of great caring and friendship, and overwhelming emotion. Sonny struggles to understand her own place in the world and learns to accept that what she thought she knew and wanted may not be what’s best for her in the long run. The Forgiving Kind is a beautifully woven together tale sure to captivate the reader. The storyline was full of feels and held me captive from page one until the satisfying conclusion. I now feel more than a bit bereft to leave them behind.
lauriesophee 10 months ago
This book had me transported back to the 1950's in North Carolina, on a cotton farm. It was a time when life was a struggle. Sonny is a 12 year old girl who loves her family. She loves her Dad. He is her hero! He unexpectedly dies one day and she is lost. Her family is devastated, and unsure how they will make ends meet. Can the farm survive? Can her family survive? Her Mama, in her grief and fear, accepts the friendship of her neighbor who has offered help her. Sonny knows this is not a positive decision and she is worried about her family. Mr Fowler is downright vindictive. He makes it known that he is in charge and will not stand for anyone or anything that is different to be in his home or on his property. Punishments will ensue! This is a story of family, friendship, prejudice and resilience and the details in this novel, will have you cheering for Sonny and her family, and holding your breath at times as you turn the pages! Donna Everhart has a fabulous way with words. Excellent!