The Ghost and The Graveyard

The Ghost and The Graveyard

by Genevieve Jack

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Ghost and The Graveyard 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 426 reviews.
KiennaRiley More than 1 year ago
I was thrilled to find that The Ghost and the Graveyard is part of a series. After finishing this novel, which is a fast-paced, sensual, well-crafted piece, I was anxious to read on and continue the vicarious adventure of Grateful, her sexy ghost and the mysteries that lurk behind the graveyard gates. This novel is definately intended for mature audiences only. As such, I found myself carving out some reading time and wanting to pretend I was in college again so I could pull and all-nighter to stay up and read. Character development is top notch, as well as the underlying story which unfolds chapter by chapter and keeps the reader completely engaged and thirsty for the next scene, and the next, and the other after that!!! Now I anxiously await book #2. Well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never know what I'm getting when reading a free book, horrible story lines, silly characters, disgusting spelling and grammer mistakes, the list goes on and on. This book didn't have any of the above, the story line was original, the characters likable and it was well written. I probably saw one or two editing mistakes. All in all I enjoyed reading this author's work, the story was filled with enough background information on each character so as to not confuse the reader but give us a good handle on what's going on. Grateful's character was a tad bit annoying with her indecisiveness and cranky attitude but overall a likable heroin. Ghosts, zombies, demons, vampires and all kinds of creatures that go 'bump' in the night, enough sexual tension to get you sweating and great intimate scenes to make the reader fan him/herself...whoosh....what more can a great paranormal romance book ask for? I will definitely be reading the next book in this series, can't wait to see what happens with Logan and how that will affect Grateful's new 'job' and relationship with the sexy caretaker, Rick. SR
laurlars More than 1 year ago
The beautifully bewitching cover is what originally drew me to this debut novel by Genevieve Jack, then the enticing draw of the series name: The Monk's Hill Witch. But a few pages into this book, I was hooked till the end. Grateful is one of those heroines you cheer for as she faces the odd possibility of falling in love with not only a ghost but also a sexy shapeshifting guardian of the cemetery who knows exactly how to love her. As the story progresses you find out the secret behind these "men," and just where Grateful fits in, and that it was her destiny to come to this point in her life and make this decision. Intriguing, entertaining, funny, hot, sexy and scary. It's got a little bit for everyone! My only disappointment is having to wait for Book 2!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Almost gave up on the book when she couldn't seem to get past the wine, dramatics, and daddy, also the attitude that because she is blonde and has boobs she is supposed to act this way, really?? Let's get drunk and screw attitude from the get go - but the short book finally turned into a paranormal story with some substance (even with the constant indecision about everything in her life) in the last chapters. For ADULTS only - ignore the moron that rated this for 9 - 16 ages.
KaydeeKT More than 1 year ago
Haunting and Sexy Grateful Knight should thank her weasel of an ex-boyfriend. If he wasn't such a jerk, she'd never have met the oh-so-charming Logan the ghost or the oh-so-sexy Rick the caretaker. Admittedly, she's got to deal with life-and-death issues in the land of the undead, but with a cemetery in your backyard, what do you expect? I loved this book. It has thrills, chills, a nice touch of humor, and a HOT romance. That's not fog wafting through the graveyard--it's steam!
donnas1 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and had multiple levels. Based on what we learn about Grateful before this story starts she really grows as a character as well over the course of the story and begins to learn what she is, what she wants and needs. The story moves along at a good pace, without feeling rushed. Things happen as they should. Its hard to say a lot about what does occur as it can easily contain spoilers. Everything is essential to the story and its conculsion. The writing was really good and easy to read. The author knows how to weave a plot and setting together to pull you into the story. I am looking forward to checking out more of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a free, paranormal book. It has 236 pages and is very well edited. It is also really bloody and violent. There is every kind of creature you can imagine, that goes bump in the night. They all seem to bite, slash, chew, claw and kill, including the ghosts. There is an awful lot of very detailed sex, including oral sex, so be forewarned. This is not a book for a person with a weak stomach or nerves, nor anyone with an aversion to reading about extreme sexual situations involving drinking each others blood as well as other kinky stuff. There is some cursing and romance, but it is not romance as mere mortals know it. The plot is okay. I had never heard of a caretaker before, so that was interesting. There is some humor and no religion. There is a hairy dragon with an hunger for zombies. EWWWWW. The characters were all interesting and strange. This is the first book of a series. The second book costs $2.99. The title is "KICK THE CANDLE." I do not know if it is worth it or not, as I do not intend to purchase it. A third book has not been released yet, if there will be one. This for readers 18 and up. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read, similar to sookie stackhouse novels with some humor thrown in. Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have a 22 year old nurse killing bad guys, breaking hospital rules, drinking copious amounts of alcohol, engaging in unprotected sex and also blood drinking by the way. She eats junk food to get through her shift and is romancing a cooking man ghost and a man dragon. I like fiction but this was too much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*slight spoiler alert* I really liked this one. The story was fast paced and interesting for the most part. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars rather than 5 is because of one particular scene in the middle... I don't want to give the story away, but I will just say that she's supposed to be in a hurry so save someone but instead of rushing she's prancing around in a cape living out some strange sexual fantasy. Its a little unbelievable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had the frame work to have been better. The main character with a ridiculous first name... can't keep it in her pants. She gets dumped by her ex after he takes all her money. She moves into a house her realtor father can't seem to sell. The first night she's there shes hooking up with the neighbor across the street, then with the ghost that she finds out is living her attic...? That was a stretch for me. There was no building a relationship with Rick who seems very devoted to her based on her past lives and she seems to return to him for the sex not a relationship with someone that harbors half her soul. There's no meaningful relationship on Grateful's end, but from reading you see Rick truly cares for her. The third strike was the fact that she's a serious whiner not wanting to rise to her duties as the Monk's Hill witch. Letting weeks pass not making any choice on what responsibility was laid before her. The author depicts her as an idiot blonde that has no depth to her, she is what she is at face value. The series I've enjoyed had a strong female lead not an idiot that sleeps around and has had 10 boyfriends? She's only 22, and she mentions that they were all meaningful, but didn't last over a year. That statement was in itself stupid when I read it. I'm reading the second book in hopes the main character grows into her duty as the witch. The only reason I'm giving it a chance is that I am between reads waiting for another series to be released in the upcoming weeks... Overall, pretty bleak...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The graveyard is a portal for vampires, zombies, ghouls and demons. Grateful has just moved into the house next door, which comes complete with ghosts. Prudence is one ghost. She inhabits the attic, is occassionally cold and violent, but is also key to understanding who Grateful is and why she has moved to this house. Logan is another ghost, who knows which wine goes with salmon, makes her coffee and breakfast, cleans the house, but may be trapped here. He warns her away from the caretaker - the hot hunk to whom she has an immediate strong attraction, but the caretaker is much, much more than he seems. Filled with an immortal, an eternal, insights into love and relationships, responsibility, old history of 1600's witch trials, and understanding of the cost to eternally balance good and evil, but in a cleverly crafted paranormal world. This is an intriguing adventure-suspense-romance, that was free on Nook. Definitely worth reading, this is a promising start to an interesting series. Set aside your credibility and just enjoy.
JudyRN More than 1 year ago
This book is incredible. It kept my interest from beginning to end. As soon as I finished it I had to get the next book immediately. Please, Genevieve, we need another book!!! The protagonist is strong and funny with many unexpected twists and turns throughout the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. It really shows how naive us as people are to believe that vampires, demons, zombies, and anything like them are good things. These creatures are obviously evil no matter what you make them out to be avoid them. This is a very good book though it hits hard on finding yourself, staying true to who you are, and discovering everything you could ever be. It is a story of turmoil, love, lust, and confusion. BEWARE IF YOU DO NOT LIKE SEXUAL CONTENT!!!
blplum157 More than 1 year ago
Started out good and just got better. Sexy, suspenseful, and exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me hooked
Anonymous 7 days ago
Anonymous 7 months ago
Kept+my+interest.+Was+very+happy+with+the+entire+story.++Can+hardly+wait+for+the+book.
JulieGB 7 months ago
Grateful Knight always seems to pick the wrong guy. Her last one broke her heart when he took all her money and left her in debt. Luckily, Grateful’s father, being a real estate mogul, offers her a house to live in while she gets back on her feet. The house is old but has plenty of character and privacy. Oh, and did I mention the resident ghosts, and the graveyard out back, and the gorgeous hunk of a caretaker? I enjoyed this story immensely. It was entertaining and kept me interested throughout. I loved the characters and the plot they were involved in. This is going to be a great series for sure. I received this book without obligation, and have volunteered to share my review. The above unbiased opinions are 100% my own.
Anonymous 8 months ago
An interesting read that felt not so new
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this+was+very+different+for+me%21+I+haven%27t+read+a+fantasy+before.+It+was+well+written+and+defiantly+interesting%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it
Lovz-Books More than 1 year ago
Grateful (yeah, that’s her name) has just moved into an old house with a backyard…of tombstones. Her new neighbor lives up the road and happens to be the caretaker. Oh, and he also happens to be drop-dead gorgeous. So, living next to a hottie and dead people? Eh, not so bad. Strange things keep happening in that house though. Was it haunted? A call asking Grateful if she’s the sorter. A what? Sorter? Soon, she starts talking to the ghost of the house and realizes that he seems harmless. Dare I say that she was even falling for the ghost? But who could she trust: the ghost or the caretaker? And what does her birth and mother have to do with any of it? And why was the caretaker feeding her sexual subliminal messages? This was an interesting mystery, and the reader savors each tantalizing truth. She was the Monk Hills Witch—sorter of the dead and fighter against the unholy. Cool! I liked how relatable Grateful was and that she wasn’t so quick to believe all this mumbo-jumbo. She was fast and witty.
keleex More than 1 year ago
The ghost or the graveyard….make a choice….what?! So I am not gonna lie. I picked this book up solely because of it’s cover. What can I say, it just yelled “read me!”. So, without reading the synopsis I jumped right in. Grateful is our main character. Like most/some women at 22 years old she had her run in with some not so great relationships. The last one has done her in. To get out of financial debt she moves to this little town and is going to stay in the house behind the graveyard until her father is able to sell it. As she stays in the house she finds herself smitten with the caretaker of the graveyard but then also has a ghostly friend in her home as well. As she is forming friendships with these two she is faced with a truth that blows her mind. I actually never saw this twist coming and bravo to the author as I was completely surprised by the twist. As Grateful is trying to get her life figured out a past life is constantly throwing curve balls her way. There are many supernatural creatures in this story and one in particular I am super excited for you to meet. I under no circumstances want to give the story away but it is sooooo much more than the synopsis. It is super witty, lots of sass, and some hawtness!!! As I was reading I could picture the house in my mind, I could picture the graveyard, and best of all I could picture all of the facial expressions Grateful was giving everyone!