The Girl in Black Pajamas

The Girl in Black Pajamas

by Chris Birdy

Paperback

$10.75
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl in Black Pajamas 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
KatrinaC More than 1 year ago
Having not read the first book ‘The Girl in White Pajamas’ it took me a little while to work out what was going on, but it was not too difficult as the author added some prompts along the way. It is an intriguing story of dysfunctional families, which are viewed from different angles. I really enjoyed getting to know Isabella. She is one interesting girl. In between all the dysfunction, there is several twists in the plot resulting in a great mystery.
dicktraci More than 1 year ago
Wow, this read was as good as the Girl in White Pajamas,  don't let the girl on the cover fool you, packed with  murder, mystery, and very thrilling and entertaining. I especially enjoy it being in law enforcement.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book as well as the first one..left me in suspense and not wanting to put the book down. Looking forward to Chris Birdy's next book. You won't be disappointed if you like mysteries, action and suspense.
cabmom More than 1 year ago
Excellant.....love the characters, plot locations....all of it...and the author is not afraid to let some good guys go!!  Looking forward to #3
AMadisonMom More than 1 year ago
I've said before... I’m not always a big mystery fan, but I rarely say no to a book. If a mystery is any good... it's a story that really takes a lot of concentration. I don't always have the time and patience I feel in required to enjoy mysteries. I also don't want to focus on a whole book of murder and mystery and suspense... the author has to add in a great personal story and build character relationships outside of the crime in order to keep me interested. Chris Birdy has absolutely done this. Like the first book in the series (The Girl in White Pajamas) The Girl in Black Pajamas jumped right into the mystery with a shooting on page 1. When reading the first book I wondered if I had missed something since the story jumped so quickly into the middle of the lives of the characters. This time I KNEW it was book 2... so there was no wondering. Still... the writing style is clever in a way that has me feeling a little lost and in need of a "catch up". For me, this is exactly how a mystery should be. I want to feel a little chaos from the get go. In book 1, it took me a long time to grasp who all of the characters were... but by the end I had developed attachments to Bogie and Baily... and absolutely Isabella, and all of their friends and family. I was so happy that this book continued on their journey. While there wasn't a typical refresher or "previously" flash back type beginning... the author did a great job of reminding me of who all of the characters were and how they related to each other without making it feel like recaps. This book absolutely NEEDS to be read after book 1. While I KNOW that the big fans of this book will probably be mainly focused on the murder, mystery and crime... I love that the book continues to build on the family dynamic that began in book 1. I love that Bogie and Bailey have a "real" family... a family blended with a really complex cast of characters. There are a number of cases to solve... but woven within is the story of family. If Chris Birdy has Isabella in another color "pajamas" I'll be there to read what adventure she's on next.
beckvalleybooks More than 1 year ago
Another excellent novel, which continues on from The Girl in White Pajamas, following our hero and heroine as they try to build there lives together. The truly remarkable thing about the author script is the descriptive style of writing she uses that brings the characters to life and you can actually envisage them in your mind. Along side the descriptive notations is the traits and characteristics that are inside of everyone and with this humanization it makes for a enthralling read.  As one of Bogies employers is shot he is drawn to find out why and by whom. As the investigation takes him away from home his real battle begins in keeping his family together and close on his tail is someone who wants him dead. In parts there is scenes of a sexual nature which are essential to the story line of one of the characters asking the question to what means would you go to survive. Bogie's portrayal of his loyalty to his family and friends is the real story line and if you stand by your convictions and stay true to your ethos, those around you will come round to your way of thinking.and will make the bond stronger. Another great page turner of a story which is full of twists and turns and suspense right to the end.  It will make you think about your relationships with your close friends and family.  Once you pick this book you you will not want to put it down,  you will be disappointed when you finish it because it will leave you wanting more.
bubbymama09 More than 1 year ago
I knew before I even started reading the second book in The Pajama Series that it was going to be good. What I didn't know, was that author Chris Birdy, was going to take me for an even wilder ride this time around! The Girl in Black Pajamas comes back with all the key players - Bogie, Bailey, Amanda, Randy, Rose & of course, Isabella. But of course there's a bevy of new characters along with a few who were mentioned in the first book of the series, that really amp up the intensity of scandal in this "not so classic" whodunit. I loved how this book had two main plots, full of twists & turns, that came together at the very end. The only thing that I didn't count on was having to get up & grab a tissue on more than one occasion (two, to be exact). No doubt the next in the series will be even better (as if that even seems possible). I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
BookWormAndMore More than 1 year ago
Here we go again on another wild roller coaster ride with Bogie, Isabella, and the rest of them. If you are looking for a book with plenty of action, then this is the book for you. Believe me, you will not be disappointed. There are really 2 stories going on in this book at the same time, one with all of the mystery and attempted murders in Boston, and another with a sex scandal in Florida. Like it says above in the synopsis you better buckle your seat belt and hold on tight. It's going to be a wild ride if you decide to take this journey. This is not for the feint of heart. There is some violence and sex, but I guess you already realized that from what I've already said. However, some people may have some problems with how Isabella, now 4 years old, is handled in this book. She is very precocious but she also gets in some situations that people will not care for. I have to admit that I didn't really care for how she was portrayed and did in some situations in this book. Maybe if she was a little bit older I wouldn't have cared as much. It just wasn't as believable at times, especially when I think of other 4 year olds. Even with my reservations above, I really liked the book. I was drawn in from the very beginning, and could not put the book down. It is kind of like being charmed by a snake charmer. It is mesmerizing and you just can't stop looking even though you know it can be dangerous. If you are worried about not having read the first book, don't. Yes, this is the second book in this series, but it can be read as a stand alone book. Chris Birdy does a good job of explaining anything that is referenced from the previous book. I give this book 4 1/2 stars, only because I did have some problems with Isabella. This is a book for mature audiences, and is not appropriate for all ages. If you love action books, you will love this one. This one will have you sitting on the edge of your seat. I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
TracyHelpsYou More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Pajamas Series by Chris Birdy, and I think I liked it even more than the first one. I think the reason is because I already knew many of the main characters … and then I got to know them a just little better in this second book. You can read my review of the first book in the series here. Bogie McGruder is a very busy man. He is still co-owner of R&B Investigations, his security company with partner and long time friend, Rose. He is now married to Bailey and is the father of Isabella and “the Hankster”. He is also a grandfather to little Riley Rose, his older daughter, Amanda’s, baby. I say older – not grown – because she is still so very childish. Suffice it to say that Bogie’s family life has definitely changed over the past year. He has learned to juggle work and family responsibilities. Then he is called away to Boston to stop a hacker that is trying to break into R&B’s secure networks. The police can’t really help because Bogie isn’t exactly “law abiding” in his computer work. He brings Isabella along on the trip, giving his wife a bit of a break. Meanwhile, back in Palm Beach, his daughter’s friends along with some of the officers in the Palm Beach Sheriff’s office are involved in a big sex scandal making “movies”. Never a dull moment for Bogie while he’s trying to “handle” everything at the same time. I look forward to the next installment of the Pajamas Series :)
A_Gluten_Free_Mom More than 1 year ago
Isabella steals the show! She is such a precocious little girl that you can't help but love her from the first moment. Now, this is the second book in a series and Birdy has nailed it again. I had planned on reading just a bit and then going to bed...but all of a sudden it was 2am and I had to be up in just a few hours. Gotta love when a book grabs hold and refuses to let go. I'm loving the various relationships that Birdy explores throughout the book. Yes, it is a crime drama, but there are so many layers to it that you can't help but connect with one of the characters. And they run the gamut. Grab a copy and see if you can find a favorite.  The first book focused primarily on Bodie, this time the focus has shifted slightly to his kids. Isabella is a rock star 4 year old, and Amanda is facing some serious issues in her new family. You know you want to find out what they do to fix their lives! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Love It! The Girl In Black Pajamas is the second of Chris Birdy’s books. In her latest work she continues with an intriguing tale which moves fluently across a range of characters, settings and moods. This is the first time reading a book from this author and because I had not read her first book, it time for me to work out who was who and getting some background information. Once that was out of the way I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book. I fell in love with Isabella’s character, “the fountain of family secrets”. Not only is she my favourite, she is one to watch. If you enjoy a good plot with exciting characters, plot twists and unexpected surprises then this book is for you. I think I would have enjoyed it even more if I had read the first book and certainly recommend that both books are read to get the most out of the story.
Deal_Sharing_Aunt More than 1 year ago
I was lucky enough to read the beginning of this series, and loved it. I was excited to read this next installment. Bogie is back with his family and friends. His company is under attack, and people are being killed. What is he going to do? What he always does! He travels the East coast and tries to find the killer. However life gets in the way and he has responsibilities that he was not counting on. I loved the reason why the author changed the color of the pajamas! This is a great mystery and I loved how there was a strong sense of family in the book as well. I am giving this book a 5/5. I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
BeccaW More than 1 year ago
The Girl in White Pajamas was an absolutely amazing book. I just knew that I would love the second installment in the series and I was right. The second book could be read alone if you chose to read it if you already have it, but I would recommend picking up The Girl in White Pajamas first. Characters are easier to put together if you have read the first book and you won’t have to think so hard about what’s going on in the story line. The book starts off a little off because there is so much background to go over and get into your head about the characters, but once that is finished the book flies! I honestly love reading mysteries, but I will be honest that I don’t like writing the review because I feel like I am going to give something away that someone might not want to know. I don’t want to give a synopsis of what happened in the book. I just want to simply state that there are lots of situations that the characters get themselves into that will keep you on your toes. There is all sorts of scandal and I love it! Isabella is snappy and sassy. She has to be my favorite character and the mysteries will keep you super engaged. This series did not let me down! I am crossing my fingers that there is a third book because I want it NOW. I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Michelle Stanley for Readers' Favorite The Girl in Black Pajamas is a mystery by Chris Birdy. Bogie McGruder and Rose Jones are partners of R&B Investigations. When Tommy, an employee, is shot and his laptop disappears, they discover a hacker is trying to infiltrate their network. Rose’s uncle Walter, a master hacker, assists them in tracking the source. While improving firewalls, they unearth a few murders that lead to the perpetrator whose current motives will devastate the financial institutions. Bogie also has other problems as his chatty, highly intelligent four-year-old daughter, Isabella, is determined to learn the Five-Point-Palm-Exploding-Heart technique she saw in Kill Bill Volume 2; and family members become entangled in a sex scandal that could ruin many lives, including law enforcement officers of the Palm Beach Sheriff’s Office. The Girl in Black Pajamas by Chris Birdy has a wonderful theme with interesting characters such as Isabella, who made my reading a delight. I liked the first few pages which started off with a bit of action. Chris Birdy developed a story that was not only suspenseful, but amusing too. It entailed a lot of good emotional drama taking place and the characters were so different from each other. The author showed how Bogie dealt with the numerous problems he encountered, while trying to keep his family together. He also focused on other persons who added spice to the story with their conversations and actions. I was entertained by The Girl in Black Pajamas and think it is a book worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like mysteries, you'll love this book. Fun, entertaining and easily to read. I had a great time with it, and you will too. Enjoy!!
wifetoalineman02 More than 1 year ago
I love this second book. Isabella is always a big help to solve crime that her family encounter. At only four but so smart at her age is one exceptional child of Bogie and Bailey. I cannot put the book down once I start reading it. The best book in suspense and mystery genre to read. I highly recommend to everybody. 
Paige_Clendenin More than 1 year ago
"I received this item free in exchange for my honest opinions. All views and opinions are my own. See Disclosure." "The Girl in Black Pajamas" By: Chris Birdy is the captivating sequel to “The Girl in White Pajamas,” a series of murder mysterys that leaves you on the edge of your seat. From the first word to the last sentence of the epilogue, you are left captivated by the character driven stories of mystery and mayhem. Yet again we are captivated by Isabella, the little red headed girl in now black pajamas. Her Karate skills are better, her curiosity is stronger, and she is back in full force. Bogie McGruder, Isabella’s dad, is also back, along with his new wife Baily, their toddler son The Hankster, Bogie’s daughter Amanda, her husband Randy, and the new and adorable Riley Rose, the daughter of Amanda and Randy, Bogie‘s first grandchild. In this book, you will continue the wild ride with Rose, Daryl, Tommie, Jesus, and the whole cast of characters that make up the central core of R&B Investigation. Much like it’s prequel, I could not put this book down, and I adamantly look forward and hope for yet more writings by author Chris Birdy. She truly has a grasp on this particular area of interest. Knowing that Chris Birdy once was involved in a similar profession, I feel she has a real handle on Bogie McGruder, and what his life is like, as well as white kind of character he is. I would recommend “The Girl in White Pajamas” and “The Girl in Black Pajamas” to anyone who enjoys a good mystery and would appreciate the fast pace twists both these books offer. As a reader, I was wildly fueld by the desire to read more about the little redhead know as Isabella, the girl who truly is, “The Girl in Black Pajamas.“ Keep an eye out for more of what Chris Birdy has in mind for us, I know she is sure to knock our socks off! Disclaimer: Because I write for a family friendly site, I must mention that there are some graphically expounded scenes as well as some profanity in “The Girl in Black Pajamas”. This however does not change my view, opinions, or recommendation of this book, I am simply saying that it is up to you to read at your own digression, and enjoy the beauty of both of these wonderful books by author Chris Birdy.
dewer421 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved The Girl in White Pajamas, so I figured I would love this book also. And boy, I wasn't wrong! While this book can be read alone, I strongly urge you to pick up The Girl in White Pajamas and read it first. There are so many characters with a huge amount of history, and trying to figure out who everyone is without the first book's story could prove very difficult. Like the first book, this book starts out a bit confusing since there are so many people in the story (and it takes a bit to work it out in your head). Once you get rolling it starts flying along quickly! One of R&B's employees is shot while coming to work and someone starts hacking into their system. Bogie (and of course Isabella) head to Boston to help discover the culprit, while meanwhile in Florida there's marriage problems, pregnancy, porn and police scandals. There are so many difficult and dramatic situations going on that it's nearly impossible to put the book down. And then there's Isabella. I adore this child! She's so much like my youngest with her sassy personality and her performances! I could honestly read these books for Isabella alone, but the mysteries are truly the icing on the cake. I'm really hoping that there's a third book coming out. I'd love to continue this family's journey! **I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
lifeasleels More than 1 year ago
I loved the first one so I figured I would love the second one. Let me just say – I was not disappointed! I could not put this book down. It was a little jumpy in the beginning – I did have to go back to figure out some characters in the beginning, but it wasn’t long until I figured out who everyone was and how they were all strung together. There were two mysteries within one book in this one that I feel might have been a little bit too much, but it definitely was a page turner that I finished in a matter of two nights. I read a little over half the first night and finished it the second night. There was no waiting with this one. While you knew the who of this mystery, you aren’t quite sure of the why – the motive. Or what would happen next. I felt this one was definitely more action packed and kept you on the edge of your seat. I don’t know if there is a third book coming out, but I am begging for another! I love this series and could read them every day for the rest of my life and be content! (I just might start a new trend – #IWantMoreGirlInPajamas to try and get more books out of Ms. Birdy!)
MikiHope More than 1 year ago
I so love this series! Bogie is between a rock and a hard place once again. One of his employees has been shot in the back and he can't tell the police or ask for their help since, well, he doesn't do things legally on the computer all the time. Meanwhile back in Florida his family is involved in a sex scandal--What does he do first? Definite slapstick here!! Meanwhile his precocious little 4 year old is still at it. She wants to learn the Five-Point-Palm-Exploding-Heart move as seen on Kill Bill--Um--where did she get that movie-that's what Bogie wants to know!! But she is only four and something happens that actually frightens her-but will it slow her down? Have to wait for the next in the series to find that out I guess--there better be a next in this series!!!!!
Aiesa1 More than 1 year ago
After first reading ‘The Girl in the White Pajamas’, I was more than ready to read about the characters as they continue their suspenseful and thrilling journey in the next installment – The Girl in the Black Pajamas. The author did not disappoint me at all with this new story. The author has done a bang-up job creating suspicious goings on for Bogie, Bailey, and their intelligent (almost frighteningly smart)four-year-old daughter Isabella. This story gets you pulled in with heartless crimes, murders, drama and a laugh or two. Oh! Lordy, there is plenty of drama. Of course, Bogie must again fix things, while keeping Isabella out of the midst of the trouble. Well… he tries to keep Isabella out of trouble! The question is …Can He? The Girl in the Black Pajamas will keep you hopping as you try to figure out the why and who-done-it!
JulieGB More than 1 year ago
When Bogie gets a call from Rose, his partner in Boston, he is shocked to hear that Tommy, a friend and employee had been shot. Bogie and Rose are owners of R&B Investigations. They suspect that someone is attempting to hack their secure network, so it is vital that Bogie get to Boston ASAP. While making plans to fly there, he discovers that his wife Bailey is pregnant with their third child. Knowing that it would be too stressful on her with a precocious four-year-old and an infant, on top of her pregnancy, he decides to take Isabella, the four-year-old, with him.  Once there, he realizes they need help. So they bring in Walter, Rose’s uncle who’s fresh out of prison for cyber hacking. In the meantime, Isabella, loving karate so much, has graduated from a white outfit to a black one. And as always, she is right in the middle of the action. Don’t let her age fool you. She is so much more intelligent than that. I was exhausted just reading about her. I can’t imagine keeping up with her and a one-year-old together. I believe she should have been punished longer than she was. But I can understand them letting her get away with stuff. What parent hasn’t? That little girl is going to be another Amanda, but in a totally different way. And I loved the way the baby was always called the Hankster. That was so cute. I’m ready for book 3.
MaureenMo More than 1 year ago
I'm yet to find a Chris Birdy book that isn't great! It's another page turner!!! I find her books to be easy reading and very enjoyable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read - loved it - you will like it even if you have not read the first one (Girl in White Pajamas) - want to find out what happens next so can't wait for the next one
KatBoston More than 1 year ago
I really liked it, I read the first book the girl in white pajamas as well. It took me a little to get into the book maybe two chapters. Once I did I wanted to see what was next. It was a book I had a hard time putting down. I like characters I am sure many people can relate the to quirks in the characters we all have one in our families. This book was a little racier than the last one :). in the last few chapters, new stuff gets introduced briefly but never expanded on in the book or in the next book. I would like to know more about what gets revealed at the end .