The Glass Man

The Glass Man

by Jocelyn Adams

Paperback

$13.87 $14.99 Save 7% Current price is $13.87, Original price is $14.99. You Save 7%.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Glass Man 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Amy_Boyles More than 1 year ago
To say Jocelyn Adams' debut novel is a fast paced, high speed thrillride is utterly beyond an understatement. From the first moment we meet Lila Gray, a razor-tongued, jaded survivor caught in a society that's crumbling all around her, we're rocked like a tidal wave into the cliff that is her world. Though hard as a tack ration on the outside she becomes soft as melted swiss when confronted with injustice, making Lila a lovely combination of the complexities that dwell within all of us. But there's a baddie. A real baddie. The Glass Man is the dark to Lila's light, the chocolate to her vanilla, if you will. As sure sighted as any villain ever is, the Glass Man rises to the top in evil and seduction. And she wants him. Ms. Adams' writing soars when we're inside Lila's head. Her descriptions are crisp, revealing and laugh out loud funny. Where the novel flounders a bit are in the characters of the bad guys. They seem to be cut more from the cookie cutter mold of evil than from the knife of character. With as fabulous as the ride as this, I was disappointed their motivations weren't a little deeper. With that said, this is as good as any modern fantasy out there with twists and turns that will keep you guessing all the way to the end and wanting more.
CGeloso More than 1 year ago
This is my first review and I know I will not be able to give this book the credit it is due. Fast-paced book that grabs you from the start and doesn't let you go. When I was not reading it (when life got in the way), I was thinking about the characters and what might happen next. Jocelyn Adams develops the characters fabulously. She makes you love them or hate them and in some cases both at the same time. This was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait for the next one.
BexBookNook More than 1 year ago
Lila Gray is snarky, sarcastic and ballsy. A winning combination for any leading lady to my thinking. A lover of both fairy tales and fantasy, The Glass Man delivered in spades. Ms. Adams gives us a wonderfully detailed glimpse into her dystopian world while still holding true to the established lore surrounding the fae and their societal structures. Lila's "hunter" and nemesis, Parthalan is sexy, dark and devious. *licks lips* I guy you really hate to love. While his pain loving sidekick, Rourke is the perfect blend of powerful foe and twisted lunatic. I think he just might be my favorite character in the novel, aside from Lila, of course. Toss in Lila's love interest, Liam--a brooding farmer with a secret--and let the sparks fly. I try not to toss in story details when I write my reviews to avoid spoiling anything for the readers. You will just have to get this one for yourself to see how it all comes together. Suffice to say, I loved this novel and highy recommend it for anyone. It is a must read for any lover of fantasy or romance. About the only negative I could mention was the fact that it came to an end. If I didn't know there were at least two more Lila Gray novels to come from Jocelyn Adams, I might just be upset about that.
jenababy13 More than 1 year ago
After reading Jocelyn Adams' Darkside Sun and hardcore loving it, I decided to scour her other books. When I saw she had fae under her belt I couldn't help but give it a try and let me tell you it didn't disappoint at all. I absolutely loved The Glass Man and once I hit a certain point could not put it down!  There are so many fellas in this book and I really loved so many of them. I'll start off with Garret, little Garret...I just adored every scene he was in. He's so frightened and yet brave and selfless I couldn't help but adore him! Along with selfless is Donovan, this dude is one awesome fae. Not only does he do everything in his power to help Lila but he's got some pretty cool powers. The other fella I will mention is Nix, I really like him. Although I say that, I'm a little wary thigh because Nix is the sweet, handsome, always there for you guy and well...I'm completely team Liam!  Liam Liam Liam! Oh man, I adore this guy. He is sexy and protective and has total love for Lila no matter what she throws his way which is a sign of such a great guy. Plus seeing his powers and the things he can do were just totally awesome as well. Of course with him, there's our main character, Lila. I liked sort-of growing with her. She was so lost and tough in the beginning, and although she's still a tough chick at the end she knows so much more about herself. Plus, I loved her attitude, there were so many times I laughed out loud at things she says.  One final boy I suppose I'll just mention a tiny bit is Parthalan. Man, is he bad...sexy bad but bad. Parthalan is the definition of power hungry, of using whatever and whoever he wants to get his way and I actually really liked him as a bad guy, as odd as that sounds...ha!  I'm not sure if she's considering this one adult or NA because our main character is 20 and there is some heavy language and sexual moments. That being said, I absolutely love this age range! No, it's not because I'm 24, but I have always preferred the older side of YA because nothing is really held back and that makes for a heck of an adventure. Overall I absolutely adored this book. I love all things fae and in The Glass Man we get to see some really awesome sides to the seelie and unseelie. I'll admit that the beginning was a bit slow, I actually thought I read the wrong synopsis because it didn't seem like what I expecting, but once it started picking up...man did it pick up! Violence, sexy fellas, romance, heartbreak, awesome lore, and one kick-ass protagonist all contribute to this awesome story. Cannot wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Danielle_C_Smiley More than 1 year ago
My Review: This is a wildly imaginative and rather dark tale; one that grabs you, pulls you in and doesn't allow you to surface until the final word is read!  The plot is filled with twists and "I didn't see that coming" moments, so filled with suspense I barely breathed while reading.  Adams' characters are amazingly creative and hold such depth.  Lila is tough out of necessity, but her kind nature keeps bubbling to the surface.  We see a nice, subtle character growth from her as she learns to trust others and embrace her true identity.  The Glass Man is truly evil, but with depth and conviction not always seen in  literary villains.  As horrible as he is, there's some seriously smoking chemistry between he and Lila.  I was quite impressed with Adams' ability to make her reader feel those moments.  Then there's Liam, the ultimate conflicted character.  There's this amazing chemistry between he and Lila, but she's never completely sure she can trust him.  I love the instability this creates.  I will warn you that this is a much grittier tale than I normally read, but it is such an amazing book, I highly recommend it! Favorite Quote: "Had I found someone like me at last, another soul who didn't fit the standard human mold?  Twenty years old, and I still didn't know why the air trembled when my energy spiked.  Maybe someone down there did?  On the other hand, it was a bad idea to investigate.  A whole clan of crazies might be camped out in that old house, and who knew what steaming pile of trouble I'd land in.  Hell.  Who was I kidding?  When it came to my oddities, curiosity always won."  --Lila Grey Cover Art: The beauty of this cover is haunting.  The cool color scheme, the face filling the camera shot, her eyes standing out against the whites and blues.... makes you want to see what the book's all about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
slytle More than 1 year ago
I could give a good long rambling review of why I loved this book. I could recite the plot for you forwards and back, as some reviewers have done. If you're not sure if this is your kind of book, then just read it. If your hesitant, just a tiny bit. Don't be, read the book. In conclusion, what i'm really trying to say is. Read the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago