The Good Neighbor: A Novel

The Good Neighbor: A Novel

by Amy Sue Nathan
4.5 8

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Good Neighbor: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Mary Banks More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book so much that I read it in one evening. I loved how the friendships played off each other and reminded me of friends I had growing up. The whole book reminded me of how it was growing up, and how things have changed. How our children don't know what its like to have the neighbors to come banging on the door to come out and play anymore and looking outside at the phone lines...knowing that at one time your voice burned up those lines--yesteryear! I loved watching Iz find her footing and seeing her come into her own. This was the first book of Amy Sue Nathan's I have read but I am on my way to looking at the rest of them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Made me remember friends from childhood and things you say and do back when.
wrtrmom More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book! From the moment I met the main character Izzy Lane, I fell in love with her funny personality and was drawn into her heartfelt journey of motherhood, friendship, and love. Izzy is a writer, a blogger to be exact, and she is good at giving sage advice to others through her posts, but when she invents a boyfriend to blog about, her personal life collides with the fantasy love life she has created online. Set in Philadelphia, Amy Sue Nathan brings Izzy's charming neighborhood to life. The title, The Good Neighbor, is perfect, but you will have to read this novel yourself to find out why. This compelling story will make readers laugh, cry, and nod their heads as Izzy navigates the hilarious predicament she finds herself in. How she finds her way out, finally finding her true self, is the beautiful part of the book. In Izzy, we are inspired to better see ourselves. Like us, she is a little bit imperfect, a little big goofy, and still, her life is beautiful. The Good Neighbor is funny and wise.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
This was a great little story about a recently divorced woman who ends up having to move back into the house she grew up in, next door to the woman who used to babysit her when she was a little girl. That's something that you rarely see these days. Most people have the big house for the kids and downsize when they become empty nesters. Anyway, the story was very entertaining and dealt with a lot of single mom issues that most single moms have. There was one huge issue that happened, an innocent to begin with one, but totally got blown all out of proportion before it came to light. This was definitely a light read, enjoyable, fun with a little surprise at the end. It held my interest and I liked the characters a lot. Well, except for the ex-husband, of course. Does that really have to be said though? HA! Thanks St. Martin's Press and Net Galley for providing me with this free e-galley in exchange for an honest review
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
The Good Neighbor by Amy Sue Nathan is a novel about how secrets can cause harm. Elizabeth “Izzy” Lane is thirty-nine and divorced. Her husband, Bruce Silverstein decided he needed to find himself (typical). Izzy and her son, Noah (five years old) have moved back into her family home. She has taken over the mortgage from her parents and they have moved to Margate. The day her husband left, Izzy started a blog called The Bizzy Blog (she did not want to use her real name). Izzy gives advice and tells stories about dating (Izzy is a school guidance counselor during the day). It has become very popular and now her friend, Jade wants Izzy to write for her Pop Philly site. Izzy would write Philly over 40 (even though she is only 39). Izzy agrees to write the column because she needs the money on the condition that she remain anonymous. Bruce has decided to go to California with his girlfriend, Amber. Bruce has lost his job and cannot continue his financial obligations to his son (he is a real gem). The one thing that Izzy fails to mention is that some of the information in her blog is fiction. She has been writing about dating Mac. Mac is a fictional boyfriend. Will Izzy be able to keep up her lie and who is she going to hurt in the process (you just know that this is not going to end well). I found this to be a mediocre novel. It is okay, but very silly and bland (like food with salt, pepper, and spices). The characters lack depth. The most interesting character is the elderly neighbor, Geraldine. I give The Good Neighbor 3 out of 5 stars (for okay). This novel was lacking in depth and humor. It could have been a funny novel, but it missed the mark. I received a complimentary copy of The Good Neighbor from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful read. When you have to find your way after a divorce and you move back into your parents home to get back on your feet. The have retired and moved and you have the house to yourself in your old neighborhood. The next door neighbor is someone you have known all your life and she is a wonderful lady and she lives by herself. She helps you with your son and you go over and keep her company. Her sons decide that she needs to move to a smaller place and are going to sell her place and you need to get on with your life. The neighborhood is changing. I love this book. I laughed, I cried and very much enjoyed this book
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my fair and honest review. All thoughts are my own. In a world where social media is a big part of every day life, it is easy to create, pretend, fabricate.... not to hurt anyone, just to escape.....and that is what Izzy Lane did... In Izzy's opinion, she has come full circle. She did everything she was supposed to do. She went to college, got married, had a baby....now, she is living back in her childhood home where it all began. Divorce, child custody, child support, all the things Izzy didn't expect to be part of are now in her life. Her ex husband Bruce has moved on, he has a girlfriend, and his life seems to be moving forward. Izzy feels cheated, let down and insecure. Her life is all about her son, Noah, however, her jealousy leads her to "create" her own happiness, via her blog. Her blog is about her, a place where she can be and do whatever makes her happy. This works until Mac makes an appearance. Mac is wonderful, loving, caring, devoted, everything Izzy wants and needs in a man..... When Izzy's best friend Jade asks her to work for her social media website, Izzy is hesitant, she doesn't want to go public, she'd rather keep her secrets to herself. Only her neighbor, Mrs. Feldman knows Izzy's secret and her love and devotion to Izzy and Noah is why she insists Izzy tell the truth. Mrs. Feldman has her own secrets and her own story is one of honor, sadness, grief and love. As the story continues, you will laugh and cry, shout and cheer as all the characters come full circle in this amazing story. I was deeply touched by this story, it spoke in volumes of the way one little secret can snowball into something huge. You won't be disappointed if you read this book. I could not put it down. I had to keep reading, I had to find out what happened in the end. Hurry up, buy the book and get ready to lose yourself into Izzy's world, you will love it! I wish I could give this 10 stars, it's that good!
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
When her husband leaves their marriage Izzy heads for a safe place with her son – that place is the house she grew up in. Renting from her parents she continues with parenting Noah, her job as a guidance counsellor and spending time with her friends while she tries to accept that her dreams for the future won’t come true…at least not as she once expected them to. As the book blurb mentions…she creates a fictitious beau who is perfect and then blogs about him lying to her ex, her friends and the cyberworld. From there her life snowballs into a tangled web of secrets and lies in which she feels trapped. How will she - or will she not reveal the truth about Mac? Will she listen to wise advice or ignore it? Will her husband be a flake or man up eventually? Will she find a way to move forward or remain stuck in the comfort of what is familiar? There is resolution for her, of sorts, by the end of the book and in the telling of this portion of Izzy’s life we have glimpses of her childhood, family, friends, neighbors, marriage and also the possible future she may one day embrace. Words I wrote down while reading: secrets, lies, truth, friends, family, neighbors, trust, pain, healing… Quotations that grabbed me: “Secrets and lies change lives. And rarely in a good way.” “Secrets and lies don’t protect you they strip you bare.” This is a book that in some ways reminded me of a much tamer Sex in the City with a potential Mr. Big that might not fear commitment. Jade and Rachel are cousins so have been in one another’s lives for all of their lives and Jade came in when Izzy was in college and has been a bestie for at least 20 years. Each of the women has her own secrets but not all are gone into in depth - this is Izzy’s story. This is a story of change, growth, pain and healing. It made me think and though I have never been in Izzy’s shoes I could identify with her feelings. I believe it is a book that will appeal to women who have gone through a breakup or divorce or have a friend that has been there at some point in time. I liked this story…it didn’t grab me on the first page but I was definitely hooked before the end. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press/St. Martin’s Griffin for the copy of this book to read and review.