The Kindling: Middle School Magic

The Kindling: Middle School Magic

by Braden Bell

Paperback

$13.61 $14.99 Save 9% Current price is $13.61, Original price is $14.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Kindling: Middle School Magic 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
l_manning More than 1 year ago
Connor lives a pretty average life. He, along with his twin sister Lexa and her friend Melanie, are looking forward to their trip to Disney World and tryouts for different things at school. One day though, strange things begin to happen. It seems like they can make things happen just by thinking about it. Then, they notice a stranger following them around. He really seems like a bad guy, but their teachers stop him from getting to them. Connor, Lexa, and Melanie find themselves caught in a world they never even knew existed. This world is full of Light and Dark, and the teens will have to use everything they have to keep themselves and everyone they love safe. I loved this book! It draws you in fairly quickly, and I read it pretty fast. Even though it is a more of a middle-school book, it is not too childish. The use of Light and Dark in this book were fairly unique. There was a lot that wasn't explained though, so I'm hoping there's another book (at least) coming so I can learn some more about the world. Connor, Lexa, and Melanie were great friends. I liked that they squabbled some while they were going through all of this. That made things seem much more realistic, and it also allowed them for some growth. I also liked that all 3 of the kids were given a chance to shine. There wasn't one "hero" taking care of the danger; all of them had a part to play. Of course, I was also very intrigued by the teachers. I think I would read an entire book just about them! I really loved the use of particular skills to harness the Light (also big points for having one of the girls love math). The use of music was particularly awesome, and it showed the author really knows his stuff where music is concerned. The songs all fit in different ways. Overall, this was a super fun book. It was unique, and it had some great parts in it. Watching Connor having to fight the darkness within himself was particularly interesting. This is a book that younger and older people will be able to enjoy, and it will leave them dying for more. Galley provided for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book for anyone that likes magic or action. There was never really a boring part. I reccomend this book to everyone.
Valshemi More than 1 year ago
Wow, I was so surprised on how action packed this story was, yet not containing the things you don't want your kids to read about, nothing inappropriate. This is truly a family story.. and deal with real family issues that come about. This is a wonderful contemporary fantasy story for tween and young teen readers (and as an adult I enjoyed it, as well). Mr. Bell has done a great job creating a unique magic system, realistic and comprehensive middle school characters, and a very fun, action-packed story.  There are plenty of summaries out there already, so I'll skip that part and just tell you what I really enjoyed:  This book was solidly about good parenting so kudos to that!  So much adventure in this story and I think most young teens would completely eat this up.  So glad I found this and had a chance to read.  Awesome job Mr. Bell for keeping it more or less real..and enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This fast-paced novel is non-stop fun for kids and parents alike. With characters you can’t help but root for, a plot that keeps you guessing, and plenty of humor, it’s a guaranteed thrill ride from cover to cover! I’m not much for reading middle grade literature but this story sounded particularly interesting and fun. And it was! When a brother, sister and best friend discover, much to their surprise, that they have unusual powers, their otherwise ordinary middle school days take a very drastic turn toward the unknown, barreling headlong into a conflict between darkness verses light. There are two forms of power in the world Bell has invented, light verses darkness/good verses evil. Embracing one or the other will give a person strength and unbelievable power, a choice each child must make for his/herself. Of course these children chose the light and then must learn to channel that light, and the power that comes next, in his/her own way by focusing on that which makes each child happy. I like this focus on individuality. Too much in our world attempts to place children in a box—on 100% conformity. But in this book, kids learn not only the importance of focusing on the positive, on hope, for power, but also on searching for their own personal strengths. Thus, the symbolism in this novel is very poignant. Amidst the suspense and dramatic (while not overly graphic) fight scenes, a general theme emerges—embrace the good in this world—the light—and in return, the light will give you power. Also woven throughout the plot is a message of moving forward, of not allowing the past to get the best of you—to drag you down—and keep you from discovering your potential. Throw in an evil mystical scientist and you get an adventure that is exciting and wildly imaginative. I also liked that the teachers were the good guys. I get a little tired of seeing authority figures portrayed as stupid and/or maniacal morons out to get every person under the age of eighteen. This is a well written story that would be great for a teacher to read to his/her class, parents to their children, or to find your kid under the covers with a flashlight, reading long after bedtime.
Karl-Erik More than 1 year ago
This was a very fun read. It was paced well and kept me reading. I bought the Kindle version but am going to buy the hard copy so I have it in my family library. This book, aimed at young adults, teaches some very important principles - obedience to parents, the difference between Light and Dark (good and evil), loyalty, self-sacrifice and love for family - things that kids don't get anymore these days, but put in an adventure that makes sense of all these principles - and the actual application. This wholesome adventure was a fun read, action packed, funny - and witty.
ShannonODonnell More than 1 year ago
Love that cover!! As a huge fan of Cedar Fort's middle grade titles, I jumped at the opportunity to review this release by Braden Bell. I wasn't disappointed! I l-o-v-e-d this book. It's fast-paced, brilliantly original in its take on magic, loaded with awesome MG humor and voice, and full of fantastic characters. It was a tough one to put down. For me, this was an easy 5 STAR rating. Two of my three kids (ages 15 and 10) also read it and loved it. It's a sure-fire hit, so don't miss it. I plan to order copies for my classroom and school library.
MikeandJolenePerry More than 1 year ago
When this book became available for review, Emma (my 8 year old) was looking over my shoulder and said - "Cool. What's that?" So, I asked to be a part of Braden's Blog tour for his new book because I had two kids who were into it, and I thought we'd do a little family read and review :-D This story is absolutely universally liked by my family. It's completely obvious that Bell spends time around middle-school aged kids because he has that voice down PERFECT. My husband laughed, my daughter laughed, and my son laughed when he paid attention (he's five). It's a great mix of fun and mystery, and I flew through it in a night. (The family read took slightly longer) I think I can probably sell you on this one just by typing up the first few lines... That's what hooked my daughter. Connor Dell didn't mean to set anyone's gym shorts on fire. He didn't know it would happen. And if he had known, he never would have - well, that might be going too far. It started in seventh period science... AND NOW YOU HAVE TO GET YOUR OWN, lol.
book4children More than 1 year ago
I liked this book much more than I expected to! It is action packed, but not particularly violent. There are lots of fights and battles, but the author has managed to keep it clean and appropriate for the age group. The story is suspenseful and exciting, and middle school kids will love it. Much of this book fits into the standard for middle grade fantasy novels. There is the eternal struggle of good vs evil, the main character(s) wake up one day with strange and amazing abilities, and they must fight to save the world. The story may not be a new one, but Bell delivers it with humor and thought. The characters, while typical of these kinds of novels, are very likable and you can't help but find yourself cheering along for them. Conner, Lexa, and Melanie are average kids that discover an existence that is anything but ordinary. They rise to the challenge and become better as they do so. The teachers are also very entertaining, especially Dr. Timberi. Ultimately, this is the kind of book that will be loved by most kids that read it. Content: clean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and quite enjoyable.
lovingthebooks More than 1 year ago
What an AMAZING, ENTICING, FUN book! So well written! Thrilling, fantastic, enchanting, electrifying, captivating, gripping, did I say fun? SO GOOD! I couldn't stop reading! All ages will enjoy this tale! Middle school can be pretty crazy and pretty intimidating...especially if you have a secret... A secret so deep that you don't even know about it! When crazy things start to happen to Conner, Lexa  and Melanie... like gym shorts of the bully starting on fire, hockey sticks getting broken in a flash, strange men stalking them, teachers always underfoot, and feelings that come true...questions arise. Questions that lead to the discovery of the secret that they are KINDLING... Such a FUN, ENTHRALLING, CAPTIVATING story!
minreads More than 1 year ago
Conner, Lexa, and Melanie are noticing strange things that keep happening around them. A creepy guy that no one else can see, kids being set on fire, and teachers that are acting really odd. The three notice that the teachers seem to be getting them in trouble on purpose. That's when they start to really worry. That is the only summary I'm going to give you, I don't want to give anything away. There are some great twists and turns, and so much action. You are just going to have to read it and see. I will say this, my favorite part is when the kids go to Disneyworld, and they have quite an adventure in It's a Small World. This is such a fun book, with some great action scenes and dangerous tense moments. It also has great humor, and lots of heart. I loved the relationship between the 3 kids, and the teachers. The author writes teenagers very well, and you can tell has had experience in that area. A very fun read that will keep you turning pages until you are through, and wanting more. 4 out of 5 stars.