The Knockoff

The Knockoff

by Lucy Sykes, Jo Piazza

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Knockoff 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book is a funny light-hearted fashion romp - but it also packs a more serious message about the impact of technology and ageism in all our careers.  It's a great read. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarious. Classy. So much. Revenge is best served elegantly. Sometimes it's best to watch your enemies destroy themselves with their own foolishness. Stay calm and be fabulous??
Dirty-Phish More than 1 year ago
loved this book and all the characters. wonderful entertainment
Rhian773 More than 1 year ago
Love this book. Again, LOVE THIS BOOK. It seemed that every three or so pages, something new to love appeared! I've already recommended it to my friends on FB.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bookworm2Bookworm More than 1 year ago
Imogen Tate is a 40-year-old woman just returning to work after having been on sick leave from her job for six months.  She is editor in chief of “Glossy” magazine and a very dynamic and well-respected woman in the fashion industry.  She is immediately met with her younger assistant, Eve, who had left some time ago to complete an MBA program at Harvard.  It appears that Eve has been rehired, placed in charge of the office and has made some very major changes.  There will no longer be physical magazines published.  Instead, it will all be online.  Her idea is to use the idea of “pop-up” advertising to get people to buy items.  Imogen’s head is spinning as she listening to this new-to-her style of using social media sites for doing business.  In addition, Eve has instituted a policy where she wants her employees working constantly.  She doesn’t need sleep so why should anyone else?  Imogen is determined to try to move over to this way of doing business but it a real struggle for her.   Eve proves herself to be an evil, hateful young woman hellbent on making the employees’ lives miserable.  Imogen works hard to keep up but finds that Eve’s back-stabbing ways are getting to be more than she can handle. Will she be able to stay the course?  What about the other employees and the fate of “Glossy” itself? Do come and watch Eve in action.  You thought the devil in “The Devil Wears Prada” was bad.  You haven’t seen anything yet.   I admit that my head was swimming as I was trying to keep up with all of the social media sites and the technical terminology myself.  But, I did learn a few things.  I think that readers are really going to enjoy this novel and learn a lot from it.  No, not just technology things, but life lessons on how to be a real person.
BrainyBookBabe More than 1 year ago
LOVE< LOVE< LOVE it!!! Cannot wait until the movie comes out (and you KNOW there is going to be a movie about this)!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was enthralled from beginning to end! Super sweet, cute, and incredibly relatable no matter what generation you are!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun book that I couldn't wait to get back to, every time work, technology and social media dragged me away. I admit I found it a little bit hard to get into at first, but I kept going and it was worth the effort.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From one not so tech person to the next! Fun read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brodk More than 1 year ago
This is a gas. A lot of fun to read. Not really believable that a magazine editor would return after a long absence and not re-impose her vision on that magazine. Still, reading about her competition with her former assistant was enjoyable, and the final comeuppance was rewarding. Worthwhile. Definitely not Dostoevsky, so if you want more than froth this is not the book to read. Having said that, you will enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While it passes the time, this book isn't outrageously funny. Very light entertainment for a rainy summer day. Not very believable. Won't look for these authors again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago