The Lady Meets Her Match

The Lady Meets Her Match

by Gina Conkle

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $7.99 Save 6% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $7.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lady Meets Her Match 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
PureJonel More than 1 year ago
Conkle’s original plot kept me on my toes, while taking the story of Cinderella for a spin.  She develops the setting, characters, and world in a way that fits the time period well, yet giving it just a little twist to make it her own.  Her tone and style set the scene, delineating between the various elements of society, bringing it all to life in a big way. I quite enjoyed getting to know the characters in this novel.  The female lead’s strength and going against the norm lead to quite a few comical moments, yet also really let her shine in her own right.  The male lead’s stubborn strength made him desirable on more than on level, without making him seem too perfect.  Throughout all their quirks, however, both remained real and realistic characters.  Also, the characters in this novel had more than just budding relationships.  They have real friendships as well.  I enjoyed that the author took the time to encompass more into this story and her characters. This novel truly was a joy to read.  Not only is this a great 2nd novel in Conkle’s series, it’s a complete entity in and of itself, easily read as a standalone.   Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
SummerSnowFalls More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed THE LADY MEETS HER MATCH. There are elements of Cinderella that play into the beginning of the novel, but once ‘Cinderella’ leaves the ball, the real fun begins. Set in the Georgian period, this exciting novel explores the slightly darker aspects of life. And the complexity of both the plot and characters was a fresh, but realistic take on period life. The heroine is a woman struggling to find independence and prove her business acumen, so while I loved that she was spirited and independent, this novel explored the more realistic consequences of having those traits in a time period that frowned upon such things. Even the hero, whom we are supposed to love and cheer for, held realistic beliefs regarding women and their alleged inability to function without a man’s guidance. Claire and Cyrus are well-matched and learn important life lessons from the other. Claire shows Cyrus that women fully capable of making strategic and informed business decisions without help from men and Cyrus teaches Claire that she can fall in love and still maintain her independence. Theirs is a sweet, unexpected romance with a fun mystery to solve as the plot develops. And just when you think you’ve got it all figured out, there’s a great plot twist that will spin everything you think you know on its head. I had no idea this was part of a series, so you can quite easily pick this book up without having to have read the first book in the series. It reads as a complete standalone. Originally posted at Plot Twist Reviews [dot] Com I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 2 in the Midnight Meetings series. Claire Mayhew wants nothing more than to open her shop and make a living. Unfortunately, the owner of the property she wants, won't rent to women. So she does the only thing that will get her that lease: she sneaks into the owner's home to find his signature and forges it on the documents saying that he approves of her having the lease. She didn't count on the man himself catching her in his home and her attraction to him. Cyrus Ryland can't get the woman he found in his home out of his mind. He has searched all over London and she is nowhere to be found...that is until he happens to go into her coffee shop. He soon learns why she invaded his home that night, but it doesn't dim his curiosity about her. As attracted to each other as they are, can these two find the love that neither of them was looking for? I really enjoyed this story. It was nice to read a story that didn't involve members of the ton. You have two people just trying to make a place for themselves in the world and doing everything in their power to achieve it. Claire was a very strong heroine. She left the employment of her best friend (Edward from Meet the Earl at Midnight) to have something of her own. She will do anything to achieve that goal, including showing up at a ball she was not invited to and forging a signature. Cyrus has worked his way up from nothing. He doesn't let anyone or anything get in his way. They make a formidable duo! I can't wait for the next book in the series! Thanks go out to Sourcebooks via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
**I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review Claire Mayhew wanted to run her own coffee shop. For this, she will need a man's help. There was a 4 month waiting period to see Cyrus Ryland when she tried to go see him directly. Abigail Green let Claire in Ryland's House and showed her where the Ryland study was but wouldn't stay. I found Claire to have a very warm and tender heart. She was caring and trusting, yet also stubborn and determined to succeed. She's independent yet still would like a man to lean on to mentally sooth her. Cyrus is also very stubborn and loyal. He has very strong family values. He's protective and kind. He's a good man, strong physically as well as mentally. I felt the author did a great job on creating a book with a strong plot, emphasizing problems women had with no real rights. Great read.
GHott More than 1 year ago
Hott Review: What I liked: The Lady Meets Her Match is quite fun. It begins with a bit of a Cinderella-ish scene and morphs into a great book. It is pretty steamy but mostly it’s just flirting. The steam doesn’t seem very graphic and that’s probably because of the verbiage Ms. Conkle used. What I didn’t like: While The Lady Meets Her Match is a really good story I didn’t feel as immersed in it as I do many books. It was written in such a way that I didn’t feel like I was one of the characters (knowing their thoughts and feelings) but instead felt like I was watching a play. I missed the first book in this series & need to grab it! More… Author: Gina Conkle Source: Sourcebooks Casablanca via NetGalley | This is a loan in exchange for an honest reviwe Grade: B+ Ages: 18+ Steam: AMore than Adult but Less than Schorching… Somewhere above Rated R and R-17ish… Setting: London, England 1738
gaele More than 1 year ago
Gina Conkle has used a Cinderella-like story, mixed in non-titled people and brought us to London in this unique historical romance.   Claire is a middle class woman, determined to make a success of a business of her very own. Unfortunately, the owner of the property she wishes to rent is completely unwilling to rent to a woman.  Cyrus is an up and coming ‘king of industry’ with some utterly archaic ideas.  His refusal to believe that a woman can succeed in business, and his unwillingness to consider that as an option make him a bit difficult to deal with at first.  Claire will not accede to Cyrus’ demands for a male signatory for the lease agreement, so she decides to attend a masked ball held at Cyrus’ house, to snoop in his office and obtain a signature.  When she disappears just before the unmasking, leaving only her first name and her shoe, Cyrus is intrigued.   The two enter into a tentative dance as they get to know one another. While Cyrus isn’t certain of the motivations behind his interest, Clare is utterly convinced that she doesn’t want an entanglement.  And she is very honest and vocal about her past and desires, something totally unusual for Cyrus. And, with the discovery of a dark secret that Cyrus holds, the balance of power certainly shifts… While the plot was clever and I really enjoyed the characters, the frequent lapses into flowery prose did leave the storytelling feeling a bit forced and tortured on occasion.  Whether this was an homage to the fairy tale genesis of the story, a sort of nod to the style of many  of the stories or just a writing device not particularly well integrated I’m not completely certain.  But, despite those lapses, there was enough interest in both Claire and Cyrus as they maneuvered in their relationship to keep me intrigued and reading along.   I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 
JeneratedReviews More than 1 year ago
*I received this ARC via Netgallery* The Lady Meets Her Match is the second book in Gina Conkle's Midnight Meetings series and was positively enchanting. The author's take on the Cinderella fairytale resonates with a singular voice of it's own. Cyrus and Claire were two characters with the ability to find strength from vulnerability and not be victims. Filled with fine tuned sexual tension, intelligent, witty dialog and well crafted plotting this is a must read!
def618 More than 1 year ago
I won an ARC of this book and enjoyed it very much. I do not write plot spoilers so read this! I will say that the hero and heroine both make an appearance in the author's first book of this series "Meet the Earl at Midnight". You do not need to read that before this one. The books can be read on their own. What I liked in this book is the hero and heroine are not aristocrats. The hero is rich. The heroine wants her own shop and he owns the space available to rent. This book is well written and I liked it. I think you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Loved it, great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BarbaraVW More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story. It has everything---a headstrong female, a rich man, the bad guy, friends and relatives. It starts like Cinderella but then it deviates majorly and that is when I fall in love with the main characters.
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
Claire Mayhew has jumped to the top of my favorite historical romance heroines.  She is an independent woman that refuses to accept that she needs a man to life her life.  But she does need a man to approve the lease of her store, and that man doesn't believe that women can be in business on their own.  Cyrus isn't a bad guy - he just holds view that most men of his time held.  Women need to be married or living with a male relative to keep the out of trouble and protected.  It may sound sweet, but I couldn't imagine actually living that way.  When he falls for Claire and finds out who she really is, he makes it his mission to find a way to show her he's right. Well, saying that doesn't go as planned would be quite the understatement.  This may sound like a fluff plot, but dig just a bit deeper and we have a mystery, sabotage, and threats on people's life going on at the same time.  All this is woven so beautifully together.  One of the best and most original historical romances I've read in a long time *This book was received in exchange for an honest review*
Florencia1 More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Got me hooked from the very beginning.  The dialogue between Cyrus and Claire was witty and funny.  Their attraction was so intense and strong that I had to fan myself. Great read! 
LindaTownsend More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend THE LADY MEETS HER MATCH, indeed Gina's entire Midnight Meetings series, to anyone who enjoys historical romances.  The saucy Miss Tottenham slipped the strawberry into her delectable mouth, all the while looking at Cyrus. His thigh muscles tensed inside the velvet prison of his breeches. Hot pleasure shot through his body at the sight of the red berry slipping through her lips. Adding to his misery, a spurt of juice from the tender morsel painted her bottom lip red. He nearly groaned. Tradition named the apple as the fruit of man's downfall, but tonight he'd argue mightily for the dangers of a ripe strawberry on a certain woman's lips. THE LADY MEETS HER MATCH by Gina Conkle is a charming, fractured re-telling of Cinderella that I thoroughly enjoyed. While it is the second installment in Gina's Midnight Meetings series, each book in this series is meant to work as a standalone as the romantic relationship and the development of the plot are fully contained within each novel. I had previously listened to the first book in this series, MEET THE EARL AT MIDNIGHT, and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I was excited to listen to this one and I was certainly not disappointed!  I loved both the hero, Cyrus Ryland, and the heroine, Claire Mayhew, in this book. As the tale opens, wealthy king-of-commerce bachelor Cyrus is hosting a grand ball. Claire, a woman of the working class, needs Cyrus' signature on a lease agreement which will allow her to open a coffee and pastry shop in a strip of property owned by Cyrus. In England's Georgian period when this tale takes place, independent businesswomen are frowned upon as women are not considered worthy of operating a business nor of making decisions on their own without a man. Since Cyrus has been unwilling to sign the required paperwork, Claire has vowed to obtain his signature by hook or crook. Cyrus discovers her in his dark study during the ball and is led to believe that she's taken refuge from a suitor there. Their conversation in the shadows intrigues him to where he escorts his mysterious woman into the ballroom. Their attraction is so great, that Cyrus almost kisses her while dancing which would be totally improper. As the clock strikes the midnight hour, Claire disappears, reminiscent of Cinderella. Claire also loses a shoe as she flees the ball - but her wayward shoe is a well-worn working-woman's shoe, not a glass slipper. My full review is posted at Reading Between The Wines Book Club. Check it out there 4 1/2 Wine Glasses!