The Last Widow (Will Trent Series #9)

The Last Widow (Will Trent Series #9)

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$30.15 $39.95 Save 25% Current price is $30.15, Original price is $39.95. You Save 25%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Last Widow: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
And absolutely wonderful! I wanted to stretch out reading this new book, but I couldn't put it down. I have enjoyed reading the Will Trent/Sara Linton series since the beginning, and look forward to the next threat they tackle together. Thank you Karin Slaughter. Nobody does it better. (Carly Simon, written by Carole Sager/Marvin Hamlisch)
Anonymous 4 months ago
I finished the book in one evening. It is suspenseful and the only bad part is that it will probably be another few years before a Will Trent and Sara Linton book come out.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I'm a huge Will/Sara fan, and had been looking forward to this book for a long time. I have to say over all I was disappointed. There was not enough Sara/Will interaction. I was glad to see Saras family again because I do love that part. I was also sad about not enough Faith/Will interaction. i understand this was written differently than the past ones, and perhaps thats why I'm less than thrilled.
Anonymous 4 months ago
The only disappointment I have , after finishing this book, is knowing I long I'll have to wait until the next one. This is very different from the journey Sara & Will usually take us on.
Anonymous 5 months ago
great read
Anonymous 5 months ago
Will Trent is one of my favorite heros. He gets himself into impossible situations and always comes out on top. This plot felt loosely based on the Kool-Aid drinkers but the twists and turns it took to get there were well done.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Not only a gripping story with two of our favorite people, but timely in its address of the serious problems of our current political situation.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Fast paced and scary, it does not get much better than that! Worth your time and money!?
Anonymous 5 months ago
I've spent the last three days enthralled by this book. excellent!
cloggiedownunder 11 days ago
The Last Widow is the ninth book in the Will Trent series by American author, Karin Slaughter. A month after Michelle Spivey is taken from a carpark in front of her daughter, Sara and Will rush out from a lazy Sunday family lunch to give aid after two explosions on the nearby Emory University campus. But before they can get anywhere near the site, they are assisting at an apparent traffic accident. Except that both soon realise that something is amiss. The presence of the kidnapped woman is less surprising than the fact that her kidnappers take Sara. Sara may be captive, but she is determined to leave a trail for Will if there’s even the slightest opportunity: she knows without doubt that he will be looking for her. She just has to stay alive until he finds her. While Will tries to convince his GBI boss, Amanda Wagner to let him infiltrate the group they believe has Sara, his partner, Faith Mitchell has been delegated to liaisons with FBI that Amanda doesn't want to attend (is Special Agent Aidan Van Zandt flirting with Faith? Or does he just want information?). Once again, Slaughter gives the reader an action-packed page-turner. The narrative, running over just a few days, is from three perspectives: Sara, Will and Faith, with each view filling in details not covered by the previous, thus completing the picture. As well as featuring the possibility of biological terrorism, the story includes a semi-religious separatist group, white supremacists, paedophiles, and a nasty misogynist who gets just what he deserves. Slaughter is expert at building the tension and then providing relief by way of the clever and often darkly funny banter between the characters. And if Will and Sara thought they knew it before now, this experience certainly distills what they feel for each other, and makes clear to her family just how important Will is to Sara. Will’s final words will please many fans. Another excellent Will-and-Sara instalment.
Anonymous 5 months ago
excellent storyline. Appropriate for the time.
Anonymous 1 days ago
The book was great well written I just didn't like being tought a lesson. I read to submerge into a fantasy of imagination not to hear current events with a twist. But all said the book was well written.
Anonymous 1 days ago
Will Trent and Sara Linton are wonderful characters and Karen Slaughter a great author. This story is too sick and has too many people dying though with the two of them involved in ways that seem extremely unlikely. And this will haunt them both for life and God knows they , especially Will, already has enough burdens. I as a reader kind of don't want to go there with them anymore.The white supremacists seems all too real though and how FBI fears how they may be seen as martyrs and become heroes to some which complicates how they fight them aswell. And the hatred in this world is well described as awful as it is.I just don't buy how they come across the group in the beginning and how Sara ends up where she does and Will being able to become a part of it the way he does.. it's to dark of an episode to be used as a backdrop to their love and whether or not they should get married. And the story and how they figure things out along the way doesn't add up.To me.But even so it's still pretty darned good....
Anonymous 6 days ago
will and sars make fascinating reading
Anonymous 13 days ago
Couldn't read it fast enough!
Anonymous 23 days ago
Like her writing. Not my favorite of her books
beachandbookgirl 28 days ago
Another winner from Karin Slaughter. You can't not help rooting for Will even with all his personality quirks and issues. Also love him with Sara. She is so good for him. This was a great race toward the end of the story and I enjoyed every page!
Anonymous 30 days ago
ok first of all, I'm so bummed that now we have to wait for the next one in the series... please Karin find a love for Faith in the next one. Anyways I just loved this book, I mean ya some of it was far fetched, but that's the great thing about books, it's not real life. I've never read her Grant County books, but now that I'm so happy for Sarah and Will, I don't want to read about Sarah with her husband because it'll make me sad for Will. lol. Keep these amazing books coming Karin, love your work.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Love her books!
Anonymous 3 months ago
Excellent storyline..great characters....loved every minute of it
Anonymous 3 months ago
I don't usually go all the way to excellent, but had to here. Fully developed plot, with whole and developed characters. A story with action, heart, deceit, courage. Don't miss it. Kat
Renwarsreads 3 months ago
This book hits the ground running. I was lucky enough to get an ebook arc of this book and when I started it couldn’t believe how quickly the action began. I felt like this book had a lot of political references and some of it lost me. If it gets too deeply into politics I tend to zone out. That being said, I love Will Trent and Sara’s relationship. This book is full of action, so sit down, buckle up, and enjoy the ride!
Anonymous 3 months ago
I am getting tired of always making Will less than. The over exaggeration of his disability needs to stop. In the beginning Sara is given the opportunity to move into her families home which she supposedly always wanted. The end all of a sudden no more family home but redoing completely Will's home out of left field. Meanwhile her family is at her home while the families home is close by and much nicer and bigger. I love the author she's able to grab your attention and hold it, but not great at remembering the little things and keep them consistent. The Will disability is bothersome since he couldn't hold the job he has and be that hindered as well as giving Sara a less than noble personality whoes boyfriend is a cross between her dead husband and the child she'll never have. While the books are great reading the character development of Will is horrible, actually down right wrong on so many levels. Many adults have learning disabilities but making Will out to be more of a rainman is beyond the pale, making the rest of the cast out as abusive instead of loving.
Anonymous 3 months ago
As usual, enjoyed Sara and Will Trent series. Always great. Interesting story line since what is going on in our country now.
Alix Maza 3 months ago
HOLY CRAP Y’ALL! This was my first Karin Slaughter book. Like seriously- how have I not read her stuff before?! I was reticent to start the Will Trent series at number 9, but it really wasn’t bad! There were one or two instances where the full backstory would’ve been beneficial, but overall this could be a stand-alone! The first 100-120 pages were NON-STOP. Slaughter drops you into the first kidnapping within the first 3 pages. Seriously- it grabs your full attention and refuses to let go. Before you know it, it’s 3:22 A.M. and you have to be up at 7. From about page 150 on you won’t feel anxious or anything, but you’ll still be absorbed. Now for the plot- where the story went was definitely not expected. From the synopsis, I kinda expected to be reading about a global terrorism attack. Everything is more domestic and has a political theme. Slaughter definitely has a way with words. Her descriptions are not only accurate (man she did her research) they’re so realistic. Like I could feel the sweltering heat and smell the burnt flesh. And if you think that small snippet of words was gory, then this book is not for you. Be prepared for talk of rape, drug abuse, physical and emotional abuse, pedophilia, violence, cuss words and the occasional dirty talk. Basically just be prepared. Oh and how appropriate is her name?! I mean the name ‘Slaughter’ just begs to be a thriller writer’s name. Short review: GIVE ME ALL HER BOOKS!