The Leftover

The Leftover

by Brooke Williams

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Leftover 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Charity_Glace More than 1 year ago
The Leftover by Brooke Williams is a romantic comedy. This is a standalone. I am giving this book 5 stars. This book caught my eye because I am a reality tv junky. The Leftover had just the right amount of romance, drama, comedy and thrill to keep me completely captivated. I found myself laughing my way through the entire book. Megan is a recluse type of person, almost 30 years old and having never been kissed. She finds herself thrown into a Survivor type reality show called The Leftover. Cane is the medic for the show. Having been on a Bachelorette type show called The Dandelion, he thought he found the one. But she broke his heart. He has had a hard time moving on until he meets Megan. They are a very unlikely pair and I think that made me love this story even more. I completely enjoyed Megan's adventure on The Leftover and how this experience helped her find herself.
Debi-Kircher More than 1 year ago
The Leftover by Brooke Williams 5 Stars This was the coolest book!! I am an avid fan of survivor and the way the author told this story I was able to picture everything like I was watching it on TV, or possibly even living it. The characters were so real, and the story flowed perfectly! I loved Megan, I loved watching her come out of her shell through the pages of this book. She was so relatable and found strength where she didn't think any existed. I also fell in love with Cane, and although he was nursing a broken heart from his own story that hit on another reality show that I love so much, he was still open to getting over that heartbreak and learning to trust again. Until of course misunderstandings popped up and he wasn't. This is my first book by this author but definitely will not be my last. I loved everything about this story, the flow, the characters, the humor, and the real life issues that were dealt with throughout. I'd love to read more about the characters in this book, Grace was one of my favorites as well as Carson and Leo and I would love to see what the future holds for all of these characters and their friendships. A fantastic read that I would recommend to everyone!
Lisah01 More than 1 year ago
The Leftover by Brooke Williams Rated 5 stars I really loved this book! It kept me on my toes and was very exciting. I was suckered into this story just by reading the synopsis! I mean is sounded like a survivor book and I love Survivor so I was in! I read it fairly quickly (1 day) not because it's short..but because I couldn't put it down. The multitude of characters were perfect! Each one added to the book and made me laugh, cringe or just smile. I completely enjoyed Megan and Cane's story with a little reality TV mixed in. Seeing the backyard workings of a reality show was interesting. I like the "moments of silence" that all the contestants have to participate in or else. Megan is a introvert. She doesn't like people or groups and one on one conversations let's just say they make her nervous. She works from home and usually only sees her sister and her husband. The issues Megan runs into while on the show were many. Megan surprised me and I really think she was too. Maybe she isn't all introvert. She has strength in her that grows as well as her confidence. Her relationship on the show and with the other characters was inspiring. Grace was one impressive chica! This is a great book and especially if you enjoy reality TV you should really read this book! It's funny, enlightening and just so darn good I promise you won't be disappointed.
Lovz-Books More than 1 year ago
The last thing Megan Malone would do is go on a reality TV show. That’s not exactly what the wire-frame, “frizzy mess” Megan saw herself doing. But when her newly pregnant sister drops out of a Survivor-style show called The Leftover, she really had no other choice. The show could be the start of a whole new world…or be a completely embarrassing disaster. Megan was never described as graceful, athletic, or social in any way. In fact, “the most interaction she had with the opposite sex was when the pizza boy—pimple faced and barely legal to drive—delivered food to her house.” (6) I liked Megan. She was cute, shy, and quirky with that “subtle sarcasm”—the everyday girl. Kind of reminded me of me. Then along comes Cane, a paramedic and a former contestant on a reality dating show, who still harbored a broken heart for the woman he thought he loved. “He was every woman’s best friend and no woman’s soul mate.” (14) In trying to forget about his past and move on, he’s stuck being the medic for this show, but it may not be as bad as he thought once he meets Megan. In preparation for the show, Megan must succumb to tasks she would’ve never touched with a 10-foot pole. And when she meets the competition, most of them looking like gladiators, she realizes that she was way over her head. “Did Megan have the right intuition to know who was lying, who was forming alliances, who could be played, and how?” (53) Talk about being on the “wrong side of the numbers.” Fortunately, Megan has the alliance and support of Cane. Looks like Megan might have more to win than she thought. A well-written, down-to-earth story full of warmth and hilarity! It’s a tale that pushes the boundaries and tests the limits. Emotions rise high when the game turns more into a battle zone with alliances forming and enemies surfacing. Who will be left standing on this Cast Away island? There may have been a few too many characters to keep track of and sometimes the game got a little confusing. You actually feel like you’re watching an episode of Survivor with behind-the-scene shots, cast commentaries, and elimination rounds. Over the course, this starts to get a bit daunting (I was never much into reality shows.) But, still, the main focus was obviously on Megan and Cane, which had the endearing story line. Audiences will cheer for the lovable and awkward Megan as she jumps through outrageous hurdles. She may not fit in with the crowd, but she’s no push-over either. A fish out of water with no clue, she trudges along, picking up as much as she can, taking it one step at a time—“one foot in front of the other.” After all, that was all she could do. Story is a wonderful beacon to the catch phrase: “I y’am what I y’am.” Overall, this was a fun and light read.
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: The most interaction she had with the opposite sex was when the pizza boy—pimple faced and barely legal to drive—delivered food to her house. The advantage of being the quietest in the bunch was that when she spoke, people generally thought she might have something worthwhile to say. My Review: The Leftover had a cute and interesting premise of a Nebraska style Survivor program produced by a local TV station and featuring area residents as contestants. Megan was nearly thirty and had never been kissed and was socially and physically awkward, but when her outgoing sister Molly was found ineligible to compete on the program, Molly bribed Megan into taking her place on the program. Written in the third person omniscient and limited to a dual perspective, the light storyline was insightful, humorous, and mild enough for my elderly mother’s book club. I enjoyed Ms. William’s wry humor as evidenced in the sneakiness of the competitors schemes, the program host always speaking of herself in the third person and using her full name of Wendy Weathersby; and Megan’s observations and nicknaming a few of her fellow contestants before learning their names - she had dubbed them Skyscraper, The Banker, Spunky Brewster, and Talons. Megan surprised everyone, including herself, while suffering through hunger, the double-dealing and shenanigans of back-stabbing competitors, physical and social challenges, developing a crush on a crew member, and all while battling the elements and the wrath of mother nature. She came through the experience a changed person and it was an entertaining process to witness.
Bobbi Wagner More than 1 year ago
The Leftover by Brooke Williams is a story that will make you laugh until the end. This story is about two people, one a contestant and the other a medic. Megan is the contestant who may just find more then just herself in this TV reality show. Cane is the medic who is trying to heal from a broken heart. Will he let his heart heal? Will she have the confidence to let herself just live? This is my first book by this author and I enjoyed it until the end. Her characters are creative and connectable. They are true to life and they have a way of just popping of the pages and into your world. This story is engaging and will keep you reading until the last word. They will take you on a roller coaster ride of various emotions that you don't want to miss. Megan and Cane's characters are both strong and lacking self confidence. It was great seeing both of these characters grow throughout the story. Megan is quiet, shy and is not use to being around people. When she is just thrown into this TV show, she is not happy but she has a determination to win. Will she come out on top? Cane is handsome and attractive. He is just broken from his experience with rejection. Normally you see the female in the story that is broken, it was nice to see the male be heart broken and struggle to regain his life. These two felt an attraction from the time they first meet. Throughout the story their relationship builds and might just find love in the process. Will they trade friendship in for love? Will Megan find herself in each event she participates in? I highly recommend reading this book as I know you will want to see new twist on TV reality stories. I know that I will be reading more from this author and I think you will feel the same by the end of this book!
Danele More than 1 year ago
This book made me laugh!!! I enjoyed this book from start to finish! The characters were simply FANTASTIC, and the plot was SO MUCH FUN!!! I started laughing in chapter one, and I kept laughing all the way through. I like a book that makes me smile, and I love a book that makes me laugh—and this story did both! I think the author should be crowned the queen of one-liners. Some of the descriptive sentences and the funny dialogue made me whoop with laughter. This book is one of the best stories that I’ve read all year. If you like to laugh, and you enjoy terrific characters, I highly recommend this book! I wish I could give it ten stars instead of just five!
CharityRowell-Stansbury More than 1 year ago
A fun and clean rom-com! I received a free ARC of this book with the option of leaving an honest review. Megan Malone is a protagonist that I think a lot of readers can relate to; introverted, brainy, and plain when compared to her bubbly, athletic, and attractive sister. I thought Megan's inner dialogue was convincing, a blend of awkwardness and bravery, given her age and previous social interactions. Cane's inner dialogue was equally compelling and what one would expect from a man trying to move on from having his heart broken by a woman who he thought was the love of his life. The premise and setting mirrored the tv show "Survivor" with its challenges, backstabbing and scheming, and people you love or love to hate. Williams did a wonderful job with setting the tone of the plot early on, making it easy for me to know what I was getting myself into immediately; a fun and easy-to-read story. I was relieved when the plot did not devolve into "virginal, awkward woman discovers the joy of sex." First, it's been done and re-done about a billion times in literature and on the screen. Second, I don't care for that type of "romance." Williams keeps it clean, which allows more readers the opportunity to enjoy a fun and easygoing plot. If you are looking for an easy-to-read, clean, romantic comedy with a female protagonist you can relate to, make sure to grab a copy of The Leftover by Brooke Williams!
Amys_Bookshelf_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Romantic It's a rom-com, definitely, but it has a lot of depth. Depth of characters. Megan is one of those characters that it seems everyone knows, and sometimes you have to push them to do things. Megan and Cane have some kind of connection and it's not just the journey into each other's arms, but also the journey for each of them to discover who they are and to get over their past. I liked this story, and I will read more from Williams