The Life of Elizabeth I

The Life of Elizabeth I

by Alison Weir

Audiobook(Cassette - Unabridged)

$19.98 $39.95 Save 50% Current price is $19.98, Original price is $39.95. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Life of Elizabeth I 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
swift__cat More than 1 year ago
If you like to read history but have trouble finding readable authors, look no further. Alison Weir is one of the most engaging writers of the Tudor period in England that I have ever had the pleasure of coming across. This fascinating, in-depth, and easy to follow portrayal of one of the most complex and daring queens in English history is a must read. I recommend it not only to history buffs but also to any female who feels inspired by strong women ahead of their time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After watching the films Elizabeth and Shakespeare in Love, I was hooked on the life and times of The Virgin Queen. Thus, I ran to the book store to find anything I could read to learn more about this fascinating woman. This book illustrates the her ups and downs and triumphs as Queen, and what she went through trying to maintain her religon. I especially liked the family trees given to trace her lineage. Allison Weir's description of Elizabeth's Coronation made me feel as if I were lined on the streets watching it for myself. And, how she describes what Elizabeth went through, as a devout Protestant, at the hands of the Catholic Preists made me shiver. It was brilliantly written, so much so, I read it twice! Excellent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a student of Elizabethan History much of my life. This author ignores everything that Elizzabeth did and was concentrating only on the marriage issue. Even fictional accounts that I have read have been more comprehensive
Guest More than 1 year ago
I made the mistake of reading historical accounts by Antonio Fraser before reading Weir. Ms. Weir simply jumps around too much and even contradicts the accounts of events. In addition, as a researcher I like Fraser's citations within the text. Weir does not do this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
and I learned so much about the fascinating life of this strong woman! It is easy for a book that covers so much material to verge on the deathly boring, but this is not the case here. Weir does a remarkable job in portraying Elizabeth's inner turmoil and outer pleasures by re-creating her court and lifestyle. An excellent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like all of her historical books, Allison Weir excels in the historical biographies. This should be on every historians shelf.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'd been meaning to read this book for years, and finally got to it this month. It is an exhaustive - and at times exhausting - biography jam-packed with minute details about the personalities and relationships of Elizabethan court life. So, be forewarned - this is not really a history of the Elizabethan Era or the English Renaissance. A little less of who said what to whom on what day, and more of the broader picture, would have been welcome.
mermaidchick More than 1 year ago
This is the 4th book I've read by Weir and like the others its great! It has so much information about Elizabeth. I feel I got alot of insight to the person that she was. I didn't know much about Elizabeth before I picked up this book. I never knew she was so vain and attention hungry. I hate what she did to Mary Queen of Scotts. I read this book after reading about Mary and I'm still on Marys side! Elizabeth to me had no regard for anyone but herself. Then again if I was queen....maybe I would to. I would recommend this book for a great bio read. Ms Weir can write so that you don't want to put the book down no matter what!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want every detail and no story then you might enjoy. I couldnt finish it
Kate2666 More than 1 year ago
about Elizabeth and history of her suitors, I initially did not know this will be a biography and when I realized it I was a little upset because I don't really like to read biography especially 600 pages of it, however book turned out to be pretty interesting even though I still believe it could of been like 100-150 pages shorter because through out the book some of the stuff becoming repetitive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Weir is one of the best writers of English history of this generation. Her heavy reaserch and flowing prose weave history of one of the world's greatest nations, and its personalities, into readable enjoyment. If you haven't, give her a try! :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alison Weir has done an excellent job in the coverage of Elizabeth I's life both before her coronation and througout her rule. This book is written in a very easily followed, mostly chronological style which proved to be very enjoyable reading. It does not appear to be a one-sided view of Elizabeth's personality, but is well rounded, showing both her extraordinary ability to put her personal feelings in check in order to rule very effectively and successfully as a woman in a man's world, as well as her at times rash and almost outrageously selfish behavior. The author includes many letters, speeches, and dialogue between Elizabeth and her consorts, as well as a family tree and a few portraits for reference. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a well rounded book on the life of Elizabeth I.
carterchristian1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book emphases the Robert Dudley and his step son Essex and shows the development of the queen from young womanhood to old age, then death. The death of Dudley's wife Amy is dixussed in detail and the author covers the possibility that Cecil arranged Amy's death to prevent Elizabeth from marrying Dudley, though this can never be proved. Interesting read of an oft told tale.
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the fourth Alison Weir novel that I've read and looking back, I've rated them all three stars. This is certainly not an endorsement, as the subject matter of these novels (16th century English history) is of great interest to me. Each of these works simply falls short in providing the kind of captivating reading experience that the subject matter offers. The Life of Elizabeth I is a perfect example. Someone relying on this work for their sole exposure to Elizabeth I would think that virtually her entire reign was taken up with the pretense of marriagability. In that respect, this work is very narrow and does a great disservice, not only to Elizabethan accomplishments, but to the scope 16th century life in general. In addition, analysis contained in the book is virtually non existent. As with Weir's other works, the prose consists almost entirely of short declarative statements, one after another. The style is jarring and not conducive to either entertainment or education.The same novel on a subject of lesser interest would garner only two stars, however it would be difficult to write a novel on Elizabeth rated under three stars, the subject matter is so rich with possibility. This is a swing and a miss.
Pretear on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I usually love Alison Weir's work. The books I've read are well researched, well paced, and the historical characters have depth. She manages to give a mostly accurate view of this period in history while simultaneously telling an intelligible story from a sometimes incomplete historical record. This book, however, was 100 pages too long. I don't know if Weir intended to make Elizabeth I sound like whiny petty incompetent idiot, but that's the impression that I got from the way she wrote this book. I think I could have lived a long happy life without ever believing that the world's greatest female monarch spent all her time flirting with courtiers, being obsessed with her beauty, and later in life, letting the d-bag Essex push her around. I know that Weir purposely wanted to address Elizabeth's personal life (hence, the title) but it's kind of ridiculous to try to tell the story of a sovereign's life, especially a female sovereign, without talking about the way that sovereign governed her country.
BookshelfMonstrosity on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My interest in Queen Elizabeth I has long been fed by documentaries, movies, and historical fiction titles such as I, Elizabeth by Rosalind Miles. I've always found her to be very fascinating and thought it was high time I read a biography about her. But which one do I choose? I found it serendipitous when a student at the high school library at which I'm interning checked in this extensive biography of the Virgin Queen, so I promptly checked it out myself.I'm so glad I did. I've been on a bit of a non-fiction tear lately, and this biography didn't disappoint. Weir is very thorough, covering all aspects of the queen's reign, from her foreign policy to her personal life. The most discussed topic throughout Weir's writing is Elizabeth's battle to stay unmarried. Elizabeth spends years and years doing a courtly and strategic dance with other heads of state, leading them on for as long as possible in courtships she has no intention of agreeing to in order to keep the peace with foreign nations. Weir makes an excellent point that Elizabeth has good reason to be very wary of marriage. Just look at the disastrous marriages that her father kept entering into, and what happened to her unfortunate mother! Elizabeth knew that in order to be the true head of her country, she must remain single. I cannot imagine the pressure she constantly felt from both her advisors and subjects to capitulate and marry.This book is recommended to all who are interested in Elizabeth and who want to read an extremely thorough narrative of the queen's private and public life.
Elizabeth.Michele on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good history, assigned in my college lit class on the era of Elizabeth I.
Angelic55blonde on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a well researched, interesting book from start to finish. Alison Weir is a fantastic historian who definitely breathed life into the story of Elizabeth. She focused a great deal on Elizabeth's "personal" life (ie. romances, marriage negotiations) and showed how that impacted her "public" life (ie. the Privy Council, ruling England in general). Alison Weir also tries to answer some of the undying questions about Elizabeth and she comes to some interesting conclusions.The reader definitely gets a sense of who Elizabeth may have been and why she was so loved by her people. It's an engaging work that definitely should be read.
samantha464 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good biography tha weaves history with the atual events of her life. It veered away from the more sensationalist rumors about her life and really focused on how her reign fit into the times in which she lived and effected the country for centuries to come.
jshillingford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Brilliant biography of the "Virgin Queen." I have read several biographies on Elizabeth I (I find her fascinating), but this was teh best. Well written, very descriptive without burdening the reader, and obviously researched. All the high points of her reign, such as the destruction of the Spanish Armada, her broken engagement to "the Frog" an dmore are all here, but Weir also examines the gifts she received for Christmas, how she spent her income (frugally) and her interactions with ladies in waiting.
k8_not_kate on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As usual for Alison Weir, her biography of Good Queen Bess is exhaustive and sometimes drags, but, by God, you feel like you knew the woman personally when you're done! Weir explores every aspect of Elizabeth's life in detail, vividly illustrating both Tudor England and its most famous ruler. While I'm not sure I would recommend it to someone looking for a brief or summerized account of Elizabeth's life, I would confidently call it an "authoritive" and certainly a very good biography. As for the subject of the biography, Elizabeth's story is both inspiring and, at times, exciting. An extremely effective ruler in a time when women were considered a liability on the throne, Elizabeth displayed both strength and feminine weakness at alternate times in order to manipulate parliament and her privy chamber into completing the goals she set. Her life is well worth knowing about for history buffs or the casual biography-reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could read this book over and over! I am a huge Alison Weir fan and she definitely doesn't disappoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was interesting, but a little hard to follow.