The Love Letter: A Novel

The Love Letter: A Novel

$34.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Love Letter: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Ryebrynn More than 1 year ago
I’ve previously read and enjoyed several of Rachel Hauck’s books, but time jump stories always confuse me and I tend to rate a story lower if it features a time jump storyline. But, in my opinion, this is Rachel Hauck’s best written, strongest story yet. Rather than adding confusion, the time jump storyline works well with the rest of the story and ultimately makes it stronger. (also, when I say “time jump storyline” I’m referring to stories that jump from something 20-200 years ago to present day regularly throughout the story, often alternating chapters) So I’m sure you’re wondering—if time jump storylines confuse me so much, why do I keep reading them? I honestly think it’s so I can find one like THE LOVE LETTER. It’s a time jump storyline at it’s best. I love the idea of something being passed down, of the story that some small object can hold, and how things like that can connect people. I think, as much as I loved Esther, loved Jesse, Chloe really is the one who holds the role of my favorite character in this story. I related so much to her wishes for a “true love”, and I feel like, out of all of the characters, she and I are the most similar. There’s so much packed into this story, meaning and romance, yet it doesn’t feel dense or rushed at all. I flew through it in 2 hours, and every time I got up to do something else I found myself drawn back to the book, unable to function doing anything else. I loved the inclusion of the revolutionary war in the story, it added so much history to the story, making it that much richer. You could tell just from reading that the setting had been meticulously researched, and there was an air of respect for the time it took place it. I went through a whirlwind of emotions while reading this story. I laughed and cried, and in the end, felt wholly satisfied with how the story ended. I think the love story that was woven was beautiful and it felt nearly like a movie come to life, except it was something more real. Overall, this was a beautiful story that spans generations, explores love in every form, and y’all. It’s a time jump story that doesn’t confuse me!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Historical.+Real.+Ethereal.+An++amazing+weaving+of+centuries+and+hearts%21++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of those you can’t put down!! Really great!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
T
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I’ve read all of Rachel Hauck’s books and I wonder how each one can be better than the last, but somehow she manages to do it! This story will draw you in from the beginning and not let you go until you finish the last page. The characters become your friends; you will laugh and cry right along with them, and be as amazed as they are at the turn of events. Don’t wait, get it now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many (if not all) books by Rachel Hauck. They all have been captivating with wonderful characters I would really like to meet in person. In this book the weaving of history and modern is seamless. As a family researcher I very much appreciated the ending! Bravo Ms Hauck!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved+the+story.+As+someone+interested+in+geneology+I+would+like+to+advise+each+of+us+to+write+our+own+story+for+posterity%21%0AThis+one+had+it+all...tears%2C+frustration+and+finally+joy.%0A
Megan Kennemore More than 1 year ago
This is such a sweet, devastating, and relate-able book. The tragedy of their ancestors being made up in a huge way. It was an emotional book, but great to read. It kept your attention the entire book. The characters connection and love for each other, believing in true love, and holding out for it are so powerful. It's amazing how all the pieces fall together when it's right.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings I sit on the fence often when I read Rachel Hauck. Her books have such great plot and story and characters but I am aware they are in the Christian fiction genre they just seem to be a little heavy handed in that area. I am not naive in that I know going into a Christian fiction book that there will be elements of the faith in the book, but I like them to be a little more subtle if I were wanting to give this book to someone and slowly introducing them to the faith, this would not be the book I would recommend. At the same time, I love the story and the plot. I love the dual storylines that clearly are connected from page one. But got even more connected as the story progresses. I loved Chloe and Jesse. Their story was interesting and kept me hooked on the book. I loved the inside peek into Hollywood and how they were both connected to the industry in different ways. It was also interesting to see inside a filming set and schedule - I know its fiction, but it felt based in reality just a bit!
BookwormMama2014 More than 1 year ago
Why oh why have I not gotten my hands on one of Rachel Hauk's books before? I am so glad I chose The Love Letter as my first one. Woven with words that intoxicate the soul, Hauck brings us a story of pure beauty. Heartache and passion drive Chloe. She longs to change the way that people see her. But it may be a harder task than she first imagined. The connections through history were so cleaverly created. Time-slip novels have become my favorite. With each page you are longing to discover the connection between the two timelines. And when the realization finally hits, it's a glorious moment to behold. Jesse is such a wonderful hero. Handsome, flawed, talented, and bit of a history nut. Travelling back to the American Revolutionary War, we meet Hamilton and Esther. Oh my goodness. Their story is one your really must discover for yourself. With the heart of the story coming back to Christ and Love, readers will fall in love with the settings (in both eras), the characters, and the passion. The depth and characterization found on the pages of this book will move you and speak to the heart. I received a complimentary copy of The Love Letter from the publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone.
rkfall More than 1 year ago
The Love Letter was a great book in that it was a book about the present and the past all at one time. This guy looks back at his family heritage and brings it to the present. I really liked all the switching between the story’s original timing and the present timing of how the family story was being seen and experienced. The romance was fun to watch unfold with all the twists and turns. As a historical enthusiast, the historical Revolutionary War side of this book was really captivating because of the sides that can be taken. I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
pianosue More than 1 year ago
This turned out better than I thought it would. Chloe Caschle is an actress who has been type cast as an actress who dies in her films. She wants to bring this mold. The falls in love with a script "Bound in Love" set back in the 1700-1800's. She wants the part of Esther. The story is a love story set during the start of the war and the beginning of the Declaration. Will she win the part and be able to break into new films? She's also looking for love but will she finally find it? And is true love in a person or in God? Jesse Gates is a new screenwriter who wrote the story of Bound in Love. He and Chloe hit it off and share alot of their past. Will he be able to move on from his past? Will he be able to stick with the film and see it to completion or will a new studio owner throw their plans off the rail? A good story! Enjoyed reading it.
More_Than_A_Review More than 1 year ago
The Love Letter by Rachel Hauck is a beautiful romance. Similar to other books by Rachel we have dual time frames revealing a beautifully woven story. The historical story is about the war of 1812. It reveals how it tore families apart. Made me think of the politics of today. The contemporary story is about 2 couples in Hollywood. Hamilton and Esther are the two historical characters. Hamilton ends up fighting in the war. Esther’s father is totally against the war and is not a good character. Their story is heartbreaking. Chloe and Jesse are the modern day couple. Jesse is a screen writer and dealing with guilt from his past. His story was also heartbreaking. I felt it could happen to any of us. Chloe is an actress that has had a string of bad luck and playing parts where she dies. She is determined to not die in her next film. Rachel does not disappoint. She delivers a touching love story from both time periods. I received this book from Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books.
Jennybug52 More than 1 year ago
5 stars- I think this is my favorite Rachel Hauck book yet. This was a wonderful, romantic, bittersweet story that I couldn’t put down. Chloe, Jesse, Esther & Hamilton were all well developed characters full of emotion & tons of baggage. It was fascinating to read each of their stories & explore 2 completely different generations that were bound together by one letter. Imagining with Jesse the meaning of his ancestor’s letter and creating his own version of events and then being privy to the “real” story was intriguing. Too bad “Bound by Love” isn’t a real movie! And the ending was bittersweet, yet perfect in many ways. I also really enjoyed learning more about the Revolutionary War. This is a time period that fascinates me so I am eager to read more about it. I was a bit surprised by a couple of choices by some of the characters and Chloe at times needed to stop badmouthing herself so much. Chin up, Chloe! But I enjoyed reading how each of the characters grew and matured and I was able to close the book at the end with a satisfied sigh. I received a copy of this book for free. I was not required to post a positive review and the views and opinions expressed are my own.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
History I received a copy of this book from The Fiction Guild, I was not required to give a favorable review. Rachel writes a book with so much heart in it. This love story start with a young man using a little written from his 6 times great grandfather that was never mailed to whom they thought was his sweetheart. He decided to walk away from his Engineering degree he had after the death of his girlfriend. Well 8 years later his story is being made into a movie. Chloe's family in Hollywood legends and she has been stuck in roles where she always dies. But she goes to the director of the moving "Bound by Love" she wants the part of Esther. The screenwriter/Jessie will be part of the movie but not playing his ancestors part. The books goes between what they thought happened to Hamilton & Esther to the filing of the movie. You get to a point in this story that you want everything to work out for everyone, both in the past and now. I won't give away anything else. Thank you Rachel for another wonderful novel.
D-does-reviews More than 1 year ago
This book tells a beautiful story about two couples whose lives are connected by a love letter that was written on a battlefield during the Revolutionary War in 1781. If that doesn’t grab your attention, let me tell you a little more. The first couple are childhood friends who become sweethearts and plan to be married very soon but are tragically separated by circumstances they never could have imagined. The second couple are a modern day actress and a screenwriter who meet by chance only to meet again while working together on a movie loosely based on the first couple’s story. I think it’s an absolutely brilliant idea! I enjoyed the story so much that I read this book a second time and enjoyed it even more. If you’re looking for a book you can really get lost in I highly recommend you read this one, whether you’re a romance fan, a history buff or just someone who appreciates a finely woven tale with characters who will truly touch your heart. I read an early copy of this book through NetGalley and all opinions expressed in my voluntary review are completely my own.
SeasonsofGrace More than 1 year ago
I'm a sucker for genealogy, old family stories, and a good real life gritty romance. So this book was a hit with me. An old love letter from the family history, what gets better than that, swirl in some modern day romance and a Hollywood production and Bam! a great story told by an amazing author. I was caught up in Chloe's tale from the beginning. Rooting for her and Jesse to make it past their differences and be together, while also rooting for the ancestors to do the same. Which ones will get their love story? You will have to read it to find out, but I can guarantee it will be worth it. I definitely recommend this book as other books I have read by the same author. She sure can weave a tale! I was blessed with an advanced copy of this book by the author and Thomas Nelson Publishers. All opinions are my own and I was not asked to review this book positively.
CindyFW More than 1 year ago
This was a hard book to read for me. It follows two couples: Chloe and Jesse are the contemporary couple and Hamilton and Esther are the couple from the 18th century. The narrative goes back and forth among these four characters (apart from one scene or chapter in Hamilton's mother's POV, which didn't need to be included). For some reason, I really couldn't get into the historical narrative. Maybe because this is an historical period that doesn't interest me too much and therefore I didn't connect with the characters. I did like the update on Hamilton and Esther toward the end. The contemporary narrative with Chloe and Jesse was easier to follow up, despite the uneven relationship between them. There's kind of a revelation towards the end that was interesting as a resolution to both stories. I received a copy from the publisher through NetGalley and this is my honest opinion.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
The Love Letter is a pretty good read and the newest release by Rachel Hauck. I especially was intrigued with Hamilton and Esther’s plot of the book. It was fascinating how their centuries ago story intertwines with modern day characters Jesse and Chloe. I would give The Love Letter 4 stars. I recommend it for those who love a good, sweet and clean historical. Looking forward to more like this one by Rachel Hauck in the future. I received this book from the publisher, but was not required to write a review. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
JanineRos More than 1 year ago
This novel offers two powerful love stories for the price of one. Ms. Hauck is the queen of the time slip, entwining stories across generations so both historical and contemporary fans are pleased. The 18th century story has everything that a good separated-by-war story needs. And Hamilton Lightfoot is a hero for the ages. The 21st century story is set in a place not necessarily known for its long-lasting romance: Hollywood. Yet, this story is so refreshing and sweet, it will have you believing in timeless love again.
LucyMR1 More than 1 year ago
Just finished this and was impressed as always with how Ms. Hauck weaves two time periods together and ties them up with a red bow to present them to you as a gift. My favorite character is Hamilton and the sacrifices he makes for love of country and the woman he loves. His greatest strength is when he learns to follow......I love that the love letter is preserved through the ages and is woven into both plots to make for an interesting read. I was more invested in the historical side, as I’m not a fan of Hollywood, but it worked. These characters all faced real struggles with feelings of inadequacy and learning to move on to the path God has planned. I needed tissues a few times over Hamilton and Esther’s story. Another home run for this author. I won a copy of this book and was blessed. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
JennGrand More than 1 year ago
I am a HUGE fan of Rachel Hauck, and her latest book definitely does not disappoint! In this book, you will meet charismatic characters that cross centuries, you will fall in love with falling in love, and of course the written words of love letters.  The book begins introducing you to Chloe, an actress who is trying to get out of a rut, and auditions for a role in a love story. When Chloe meets her onscreen love interest Jesse, a man who is afraid of love after heartbreak, she wonders if their onscreen chemistry is real or just an act.  Centuries earlier, in the heart of the Revolutionary war, you'll meet Hamilton and Esther who fall into a forbidden love. You'll love reading how the two storylines intertwine, and how Hamilton and Esther's love impacts that of Chloe and Jesse, and you will not want this book to end! 
VillaSyl More than 1 year ago
The Love Letter is a contemporary, historical novel, with two well-drawn couples worth rooting for. Rachel Hauck’s dual timeline was well done with enough surprises to keep the reader interested. One story of a historical romance that was thwarted by war, boundary disputes, and family loyalties. The second about current day Hollywood actors trying to make it big in their profession and all the emotional baggage they both carried from their past. Rachel cleverly intertwines the two stories, builds suspense, and creatively unveils a connection you won't see coming. The story weaves lessons of freedom through forgiveness that each character must embrace for others and themselves. Another delightful book from Rachel Hauck, you will not be disappointed. A great summer read if you like historical romance with a twist you will enjoy this book. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
sandralb More than 1 year ago
Rachel Hauck is the queen of intertwining contemporary and historical settings in such a flawless way. Her latest novel The Love Letter is no exception. Many times with novels like this, you are drawn to the historical story and not so much to the present day. Or if you are not a history lover, it is the opposite and you like the present day version better. Rachel does a wonderful job of blending and tying in the characters, that the transition from one to the other is flawless. There are four main characters or two different couples and their love stories that make up this novel. Chloe and Jesse from present day and the historical couple from 240 years ago Esther and Hamilton. Both couples are so adorable you can't help but fall in love with them. From the twist and turns I never knew what would happen next. I found myself on the end of my seat until the very last page of this book. I tried the audio version but kept getting lost. I would miss something and have to go back and listen again. I enjoyed the book and didn't want to miss a thing, so I put the audio away and read it instead. One of my favorite quotes from this book “ She laughed, bold and free. Love broke chains, Unlocked doors, Healed wounds.” I loved reading this book and would recommend it.
MeezCarrie More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars This book did not go at all the way I thought it would. And I’m giddy about that. Giddy at the power of story. Giddy at well-woven plot lines. Giddy at redemption and restoration and stories that don’t turn out the way we plan but are all the better for it. From word one, I was captivated by Hamilton and Esther’s story. How could I not be? Star-crossed loves whose families are on opposite sides of the War for Independence, both hoping to avoid the conflict altogether and both failing to do so. Both are strong characters, though I dare say that Esther is the stronger of two. (Sorry, Hamilton!) Fast forward a couple hundred years and we meet Chloe and Jesse as they prepare to tell Hamilton and Esther’s story the way Jesse – Hamilton’s descendant – imagines it to be. I loved watching their instant heated attraction mature into a deep and heartfelt friendship even as they tried to put their growing feelings on the back burner. And perhaps most compelling to me in this present day timeline is Chloe’s redemption story – its newness to her yet its absolute rightness in her spirit, the way I can see it shining in her eyes even though she’s “just” a character on a page. Not to mention a couple of surprising plot twists that I’m still gushing about (quietly so I don’t give away any spoilers lol). It was also fun to see a nod to Hauck’s Royal Weddings series tucked away for faithful fans. Which brings me to how much I love love love Rachel Hauck’s stories for the way she seamlessly weaves in divine nudges and supernatural winks throughout the plot. Bottom Line: The Love Letter is incredibly poignant, hopeful, redemptive and yes, entertaining. The cast of memorable characters (even the supporting ones) will linger with me for a while, and their stories certainly will. This is a great story, a sweet romance, and an intriguing dual timeline plot. But what makes this a must-read is the message! (I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)