The Mate

The Mate

by Abigail Owen

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mate 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 87 paged book is first in a series of characters. Built from the two main characters previous relationship eased readers right into the present and tho the mating process rather flat. The next book is down on my wishlist.
Anonymous 4 days ago
Short++but++good++
Danea55 23 days ago
The Mate is my first Abigail Owen read, and I do believe I will be reading more by this author. The Mate is about a dragon shifter in modern times named Fallon and an arsonist investigator turned she-dragon in waiting named Maddie. These two have a history and most of the book is the two of them both embracing and getting past said history. There is a little action, some drama, a good bit of world building (this is a prequel), romance, steam, and of course, dragons. If this is your thing, totally worth giving the book a go. It's well written, with few editorial errors, and thank goodness not in first person! Both main characters have points of view in the story so it's also not one sided.
sandy4lee 4 months ago
The Mate is a glimpse into a world of dragon shifters who live among humans. It’s a short story which gives us a light lesson in their hierarchy and traditions while delivering an exciting rivalry and an awesome romance. In my opinion, it had all the elements you’d expect to find in a full-length novel, but the limited page count gave it more and faster punches. Fallon, the handsome leading man, was rightfully reluctant but had too much honor and concern to walk away. Maddie, a beautiful human woman, had to make the right choice or risk a horrible death. A devious competitor wants to take the decision away from them both. How much did I love this story? The night I finished it I opened the next book in the series. I intend to read them all. If I could make one suggestion to the author…please, write faster.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Quite interesting , just too short .
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
I+loved+how+Many+doesn%27t+just+fall+into+her+dragon+lover%27s+arms.+Real+life+and+love+is+hard+sometimes+books+miss+that+point+but+this+one+didn%27t.+and+because+there+was+hardship+and+real+feelings+it+made+they+heroines+and+heroes+coming+together+that+much+better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am anxious to read more in this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not substantial enough to buy the next book. Jumps around too much characters and world need development to make me want to read next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+loved+it+and+would+tell+evey+one+that+likes+dragons+that+thus+is+the+book+for+you%21+lol+you+will+love+it+too%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just+happened+to+find+this+book+and+was++presently+surprised+.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put this one down! Loved the characters & plot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.
Evampire9 More than 1 year ago
The Mate is a fantastic introduction to the new Fire’s Edge series by Abigail Owen. Fallon and Maddie are feisty, compelling characters that grab reader’s attention right from the start, the relationship is not an easy one as there are not only does these two have a past that is interfering, but the present and future could have deadly consequences so making a decision to move forward in a mating is suspenseful and unnerving which keeps readers holding their breath in anticipation of what will happen. Not only the romance holds readers hostage with suspense but another dragon wants Maddie for his own and there is political unrest in the dragon world that could endanger Maddie and Fallon as well. The thrilling fast paced plot keeps readers glued to the pages as they introduced to a fascinating, energetic new world of dragon shifters with some unique elements that make these dragons quite a bit different from others. So while the story may be short, it packs quite a punch and has gotten me very excited about this new series so now I am off to read the first book right now.
SherryF More than 1 year ago
Fallon is called before The Mating Council. She has been found. Mating is a compulsion, a biological drive for dragon shifters. He’d only been drawn to one female and she was a human, forbidden tho him. Fallon is an enforcer, and always does the right thing, so matter what, he would do what the Council demanded. Maddie showed no signs that she was a dragon shifter, when he knew her. It’s all new to her. The strong, independent, confident woman struggles to maintain her composure. She’d always been alone, felt she didn’t belong. Now she knows why. It was urgent she choose a mate, though all is so new to her. Choose wrong and it could be deadly. BUT…he didn’t get to just take her. He had to win her, woo her, love her. “I’ll pant after you any day, luv.” Fallon says to Maddie. From human to dragon in a week…What’s a girl to do, except choose her mate and get on with life. I have a feeling we’ll be seeing a lot of her Tshirts…Surely not everybody is Kung Fu fighting. The Mate is a wonderfully sexy paranormal romance with a feisty, strong-willed woman and hot men, all dragon shifters, with friends and family adding that extra bit of deliciousness, making me want more than this novella. I can hardly wait to get started on The Boss. I voluntarily reviewed a free copy of The Mate by Abigail Owen.