The Memory House

The Memory House

by Rachel Hauck

Paperback

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Memory House 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
WildflowerMom 4 months ago
“Who said love had to be easy?” A dual timeline story with unique characters, complex relationships and hope beyond tragedy. Love triumphs in the end in the broken lives of Everleigh and Beck, through the power of forgiveness and faith. This story brings forth the truth that, "God has a way of taking the worst situation and turning it for good.” Hope from the prayers and encouragement of others brings help and healing to both main characters' stories. Bruno's life also illustrates this when he reaches out to a young man in need of a hand up. "Just think how the world would be if everyone gave a hand up to someone else." Everleigh's story was heartbreaking, yet I enjoyed her character the most. She had the most to overcome it seemed, and though her faith was weak at times, it remained constant throughout her life, and became a source of help for others, with an enduring legacy. I found her story the most interesting and inspiring; it kept me reading on to figure out all of the connections. She learned to love others well. "Funny thing about love, real love— it filled every soul with courage." Readers who enjoy stories with flawed characters, elements of faith and romance will probably like this book. (I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.)
Cheri5 5 months ago
The Memory House by Rachel Hauck was an amazing book. I loved how it traveled back and forth between time periods and characters, intersecting them all in a way that made me fall in love with each of them – fallacies, imperfections and all. I loved how even the “villains” (term used loosely) were shown in such a way as to make my heart bleed for the choices they made and the mistakes they had to live with. I loved the depth of the characters – I truly fell in love with all of them, and I think Beetle Boo was my ultimate favorite. So many people lost so much in this book; yet they all seemed to find what was important in the end … or were working toward that future by the close of the book. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye when I closed the final page. This book was like a great cup of coffee – meant to be savored long after taking the final sip. I received a copy of this book from the publisher and was under no obligation to post a review. All opinions were strictly my own.
debhgrty 7 hours ago
Deb’s Dozen: Amnesia Has Taken Her Father Away More Than His Death on 9/11 Beck Holiday lost her father in the North Tower on 9/11, but she lost all of her memories of him and their life before his death as well. Amnesia took away so much. Now grown, Beck works as a cop in New York City—tough but tender-hearted. When a drug dealer kicks the dog being used to carry drugs, Beck beats the man severely and rescues the dog. On administrative leave and pregnant from a one-night stand with her boss, Beck takes advantage of a bequest from a woman she doesn’t remember either. Everleigh Applegate lost her new husband and their house to a tornado decades before Beck came on the scene. She lives with her mother and exists day to day. Don Callahan comes on the scene and Everleigh begins to long for change. But Everleigh’s secret no one can know. Fifty years later, Everleigh leaves her home, the Memory House, to Beck. Beck and her rescue dog come to the house to find Beck’s reality and her dreams. Will she find her father too? Bruno Endicott, Beck’s former flame, sees her at Everleigh’s funeral. But Beck’s amnesia means she doesn’t remember him either. Bruno pursues her to try to break her out of her protective shell. Together, they work to recover Beck’s memories and find romance as well. Bruno secrets intrude—will they destroy the romance? Hauck writes engaging characters in unusual situations. Beck intrigues me as she considers her pregnancy, her past life, and her potential future with Bruno. Bruno caused me to think about careers I’ve lost or given up as he attempts to make it on his own as a sports agent. And the ghost of Everleigh surrounds them as the Memory House works its magic. Rachel Hauck is “the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author of The Wedding Dress, named Inspirational Novel of the Year by Romantic Times.” The Wedding Dress also finaled for the RITAs. Rachel lives in Florida with her husband and two pets and says she “writes from her ivory tower.” Thomas Nelson gave me a copy of The Memory House, but I was in no way obligated to write a review.
5643437 15 days ago
Imagine losing your father in the 9/11 attacks on the Twin Towers while also losing your memories of your father as well. This is what happened to Beck Holiday. As a police officer, Beck became hardened by life. But when she inherits a house in Florida from someone she can not even remember, her life begins to change. The characters in this book will pull you in and make you want to keep reading. The story is definitely one worth reading. This story does an amazing job of capturing the past and the present and weaving them into one spell-binding tale. So check out this book for yourself. I received a complimentary copy of this book for my fair and honest review.
Kathae 18 days ago
Picking up a new book by Rachel Hauck, I knew I would love it. But the more I got into it, the more I panicked, because I knew it would have to end. And after a very satisfying read, there were tears of joy. I highly recommend this book! This dual time period story was beautiful, yet quite realistic. The characters suffered through tragedy, and it was amazing to witness their healing and transformation. Readers who enjoy historical or contemporary romance will be drawn into this memorable story. I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, through Celebrate Lit. The thoughts expressed here are my own.
SBMC 18 days ago
"You are not a has-been. You are a not-yet. Or a you've-not-seen-me-yet. But do not let your mistakes, which you've paid for dearly, define you. Let them refine you." Rachel Hauck is one of my all-time favorite contemporary romance and dual time-line authors for so many reasons and this book just proves that her writing gets better with each book (how DOES she do that?!). The characters in her book are so real, tangible, broken and lovable. The dual time-line works well to bring a story of remembrance, finding true self, forgiveness, healing, and faith with intricate details that fit together perfectly. Reading this book was like settling down with an old friend I haven't seen in a while - equally comfortable, excited, and expectant - and catching up on the ups and downs of life with honesty and vulnerability and letting her story touch my heart, encourage my soul, and uplift my spirit. This book is a must-read! Beck and Bruno share the present-day timeline as Beck yearns to find herself while being plunged into the great unknown and uncertainty of her future. Bruno holds many shared memories that Beck has forgotten and their childhood friendship begins anew even as he struggles with his own past and sense of failure. Everleigh and Don share their 1960s timeline as Everleigh hides herself in widowhood and Don tries to coax her out into the world of the living. Both the couples' stories converge in a house on Memory Lane where Everleigh and Don lived out their married years and Beck happens to inherit when Everleigh dies. All four characters have guilt, shame, and regrets that drag them down but learn to rise above them and become the new creations God has promised. I know Rachel Hauck hasn't written a series for some time now, but I would love to see follow up books with some of the minor characters in this book - particularly Tyvis!! I received a copy of the book from Thomas Nelson via Celebrate Lit Tours and was under no obligation to post a positive review. All comments and opinions are solely my own.
Librarycataloger 18 days ago
This is a beautifully written story of two women and the life events that shaped their memories. Two women, separated by over fifty years, find that their lives have connected and often intertwined. Author Rachel Hauck uses a dual timeline to relate their stories and as we alternate between Everleigh Applegate and Beck Holiday we witness how their individual memories came about. Everleigh lived through natural disasters, she had experienced love and loss and she feared that her precious old memories would be erased if she allowed new ones to be made. Many of Beck's memories no longer existed because she had selective amnesia and all of her memories of her father had been erased; she didn't know why she couldn't remember and she wondered if she would ever remember them again. Heartache and loss are a big part of this book but there is also an abundance of love, happiness and the promise of second chances. Hauck has created some unforgettable characters and she's filled the dual storylines with historical events and trivia that many readers will recall. A tornado in Texas in 1953, Hurricane Donna in Florida and 911 in New York; Everleigh and her mother watching Maverick as a part of Walt Disney Productions and Beck watching the Gilmore Girls. I found myself recalling my own memories when I saw all of these mentioned! The Memory House is a well written story that I found hard to put down. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys inspirational fiction. I received a complimentary Advanced Reader's Copy from the publisher and Celebrate Lit and I was not required to write a positive review.
Erin_Slocum 19 days ago
My Thoughts on The Memory House: This is an author that I’m familiar with. I loved her princess series. I’ve loved her wedding series. In fact, I’ve loved everything I’ve read by her. This is yet another book that I can highly recommend. She’s a great all-around author. I do feel this had a bit of a different style to it though. I almost want a story to go before this one for some more background information, but that’s just because I want all the details immediately instead of finding them out as we go along. The Memory House starts out with Beck risking her career for a poor little mistreated dog. And she cries. Both are totally out of character for her. We then learn that she’s pregnant. She’s told no one. And she’s not returning her supervisors calls. . . . who also happens to be the babies daddy. Oh my. Talk about starting out complicated. Well, ratchet that complication up a few more notches when she gets a letter informing her she’s inherited a house known as The Memory House from a little old lady she can’t remember. In fact, she can’t remember a lot. Like anything from before her father was killed. That’s a lot of years unaccounted for. With the way things are at work, she decides to take the opportunity to go check out her inheritance and find out who this lady was and why she got the house. Along the way she gets flashbacks and haunting memories start surfacing. She meets people she doesn’t remember knowing. And life keeps moving on. Definitely a great read though it did not read as fast for me as her other books have. It has some deeper issues being discussed. I recommend it but don’t expect it to read like a quick romance novel. There is so much more depth to this book. I loved it.
Ourpugs 19 days ago
The memory house The book was like trying to put a puzzle together. Has characters from two generations. They do all tie together. But you definitely need to read the book to find out how. Beck has lost her memories from her childhood during the time her father was alive. She inherits a house from Everleigh when she passes away. She doesn’t remember the connection with Everleigh. The story explores the life of Everleigh and Beck. You do have to keep track of which characters was in what time period. The author does indicate the dates at the beginning of the characters. This is a book that I would enjoy reading over again. I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher through Celebrate Lit. I was not required to write an positive review. This is my own opinion.
JLYoung 22 days ago
Rachel Hauck is quickly becoming one of my favorite storytellers. Her stories never disappoint. They are live giving and real. She touches on deep emotional issues through her stories and does it with such grace and care. Infertility, loss, love, family, surprise pregnancy etc. The story took shape for me a little slowly to be honest. I struggled at the beginning. I didn't feel like I was connecting with the story. But once I got about 20% in I fell in love with the characters and wanted them to be my real life people! I found myself crying as the story wrapped up. The way the characters dealt with their deeply rooted hurt and past and came out healed and full of life was just amazing. It gives the reader hope for their trials and urges them to push forward in the midst of the pain. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. Once I got into the story I didn't want to put it down. I received a copy of this book from CelebrateLit. I was in no way required to write a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
FHlady 22 days ago
“I’m just saying God has a way of taking the worst situation and turning it for good.” "That's not what I mean, but life, miracles, have a way of coinciding." I have read several Rachel Hauck novels and enjoyed them, but I think this one is my favorite so far. I loved the dual time line and the many connections between the historical pair, Everleigh and Don, and the present day pair, Beck and Bruno. Each had been strongly affected by something in their past that was preventing them from moving forward into a new life. Each of the women are dealing with grief and survivor's guilt. Don is held back by what he feels he owes to his father and his own desires, and Bruno from the death of his father while he was young. I love the role the Memory House played for each of them as they found strength and forgiveness to move forward in God's hope. Hauck's writing flowed marvelously as she wound her way through all 4 major characters and their thoughts and feelings. Some dual time lines feel disjointed, but I never felt that throughout this seamless novel. I also appreciated that the romance was not the main focus but rather played into the story in the background with the main characters focused more on determining how to move on with their lives. I loved the small town of Fernandina Beach which was a perfect setting for the Memory House. My favorite part was when Beck realized that both her father and her Heavenly Father loved her as she sat in church listening to the praise song, "Good, Good, Father." **I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers through NetGalley. Opinions are mine alone. I was not compensated for this review.
tealovingbookworm 22 days ago
It is perfect love that drives out all fear I love all of Rachel Hauck’s books, and this one was again top-notch! What a wonderful story of God’s love woven throughout the fairy-tale-like story of these endearing characters. It’s actually two stories in one, and the connection between them is the memory house. I found the characters immediately relatable and real. Both humble, yet strong, they’ll leave a place in your heart long after finishing the book. Everleigh, oh what a delightful yet broken woman she was, so afraid of giving up her past and moving forward. The childhood relationship between Beck, a strong yet not so strong NYPD cop, and Bruno, the sometimes insecure sports agent, is allowed to mature only through their individual confrontations with their pasts. And Beetle-Boo – he’ll warm your heart! I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers through NetGalley and was under no obligation to post a positive review. All opinions are my own.
kaitlynspet 22 days ago
Rachel Hauck's The Memory House was a wonderful book and I did not want it to end. The book starts out with a catastrophe that leaves a young woman devasted. Later a young man falls for her and is able to make her feel alive again. But she feels guilty about moving on. Will this guilt destroy the relationship before it even starts? Meanwhile, 50 years later an NYPD Sargent is trying to deal with her memory loss. Then the unexpected makes the past and the present collide. Would highly recommend this book for those that enjoy women's literature, romance, and drama.
NKBookReviewer 23 days ago
The Memory House is a thought provoking poignant tale that takes places in two separate times, 1953 and current day. She uses four different points of views, and even though this sound confusing, Author Hauck pulls it off without a snag of any kind. Her writing is hard hitting yet eloquent. My favorite line was “Family is whoever fits in your heart.” Beautiful! I enjoy her style of writing and find her books linger with me long after the last page. The emotions of the characters are felt. The places are seen. I have lived part of their lives with them. Hauck is an exceptional author to do that. This is the tale of Beck Holiday and Bruno Endicott from present day. It is also about Everleigh Applegate and Don Callahan from the 1950’s. Using characters that are realistic with both flaws and merits the author made me become invested quickly in the story. There is even a little dog, Beetle Boo, which will steal your heart. Author Hauck has given readers a complicated yet easy to read story. It deals with grief. Grief unfortunately hits us all. The trials and heartaches that befall the characters broke my heart. Then something happens to mend it again. A Christian message of hope and God’s plans for our lives shines through from beginning to end. Praying for others is a good lesson in this book, and it has many. “He suspected Mom’s prayers had a hand in this.” is a favorite quote that I find myself using only turning to “do you suspect your Mom’s prayers....”. After I closed this beautiful book, it stuck with me wanting to be remembered and examined. It still remains and pops up at odd times. There are discussion questions in the back that are wonderful, not only for a group but for individuals, also. I highly recommend this book for lovers of Christian fiction. It is an amazing tale of family, friends, and faith. From me it receives a 5 out of 5 stars. A copy was provided by Celebrate Lit but I was under no obligation to write a review. These are my own, honest thoughts.
TheBeccaFiles 23 days ago
Masterful! This book was absolutely incredible! I have read a few of Rachel's other books in the past and fully enjoyed them, but I believe I've just discovered a new favorite! Each of the characters were magnificently developed and I instantly felt drawn into their world. Several twists and turns left me glued to the book until the very end. One thing that I loved about this story was that each of the characters were intricately developed with their own lives and struggles. It wasn't just a story about a girl who inherits a house and the people who show up to help her figure out why.  Each character had their own unique background where they were able to come alongside each other and walk through the obstacles of life together. I really don't want to spoil any details here, but just know that the character development for this story gets an A+++ rating. While the heartache in this story will probably lead you to reach over for a few tissues, it also holds wonderful healing. You don't have to live long to know that we live in a broken world full of broken people. Yet what is beautiful to see, is that it's through their brokenness that the characters are able to connect and come alongside one another as they desperately seek the healing their hearts crave. Without being overly preachy, faith was an unmistakable and significant element to each of their journeys. Simply put, this story was incredible and absolutely is a MUST-READ. I know for sure that this book will make my favorite reads list for 2019. I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone!
LucyMR1 24 days ago
Just when I thought Rachel Hauck couldn’t get any better she goes and blows it out of the water. This book left me at a loss for words as it touched me deep within my soul. She writes split time like no other and draws you into both stories until they converge into a dramatic conclusion. You will fall in love with both sets of characters and their stories of loss and redemption will leave you sobbing. I enjoy reading about flawed characters who find forgiveness through Christ. I give it a Ten tissue rating. Believable, relatable, and inspirational all rolled into one with tender romance to seal the deal. Absolutely will go on my Best Read List for 2019. I received a complimentary copy from CelebrateLit/author. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
BMace 25 days ago
What an incredible book! The author grabbed my attention at the very beginning and I didn’t stop reading until I had finished the story. The plot lines in the book certainly kept me wondering where I was going next, and with whom. Between a devastating tornado, a hurricane, amnesia, lies and the horror of 9/11 I loved the way the author brought faith back to the center of the lives of her characters. They learned that dependence on God as well as forgiveness of yourself and others could bring a peace and joy that was real. Memories are a funny thing - it’s hard to imagine losing them all. Perhaps we all need a ‘Memory House’ to realize how blessed we really are! I received an ARC through NetGalley and CelebrateLit. All opinions and impressions are my own.
acfuller 26 days ago
This book is a glowing example of everything I love about Rachel Hauck's writing. An English class would have a heyday with the themes of this novel: loss of innocence, forgiveness, mercy, motherhood, a person's sense of worth, marriage, and loyalty go along with the overarching focus on both good and painful memories. There’s even a subtle but beautiful pro-life message. Several small storylines are mixed in with the larger ones, and she weaves them all together perfectly with threads of spiritual lessons (and you never get confused jumping between the stories---amazing). I enjoyed all of the characters and found myself pulling for all of them as if they were my friends. We can all relate to the ways that life will take a sharp left on you and you don’t end up anywhere near where you thought you would. Everleigh, the historical protagonist, starts out as an innocent, slightly naïve girl in love, and through her life’s circumstances, you watch her transform into a woman of character and even a spiritual mentor. I found myself wishing for more chapters to see even more of her story. We first see Beck as a tough girl with street smarts--and she retains that strength, but she becomes more relatable and feminine as the story goes on. I thought I would have a hard time connecting with Beck because her life is so vastly different from anything I’ve ever known, but only a few pages in, she felt like someone I’d want to know. (I loved the descriptions of her TV binges!) I appreciate that the author didn’t sugar-coat or sanitize Beck’s character before she met the Lord. The men are likeable, and their individual stories and growth as people are just as compelling. The house feels like a character as well (as does Beck’s dog, which I loved!) This type of story can’t be easy to write. The ending is everything I was hoping for, and you’re left knowing that the characters have all changed for the better—but clearly none of those changes could have happened without God’s mercy. Rachel Hauck is my favorite author; not only is she an amazing storyteller, but she’s an incredible writer also—her word choices are so perfect and beautiful. (I highlighted several quotes that I’ll add to my journal later.) If her name is on it, I’ll happily devour every word!
E_Espinoza 26 days ago
The Memory House, by Rachel Hauck, is a thoroughly engaging story of love, loss, and second chances. Alternating gracefully between two timelines, this novel tells the stories of two women who persevere even after their lives have been altered by heartache. Despite their many fears and uncertainties, they find the courage to heal and to live their lives with boldness and gratitude. The characters in this novel are truly interesting and deeply sympathetic. Their choices and struggles are believable and moving. It is immensely satisfying to engage with characters who bravely pursue wholeness in the aftermath of tragedy, giving space for their hardships to grow in them a generosity, a wisdom, and a hope that inspires others. How fascinating it is to read a novel that so creatively explores the power of memories to shape dreams and desires. The themes of perseverance, belonging, and purpose resonate on every page of this book making it sincerely thought-provoking and utterly touching. Beyond mere entertainment, this story is very compelling as it explores the value of meaningful relationships and the powerful legacy that is formed when lives are lived with authenticity and vulnerability. Ms. Hauck has skillfully crafted a story that is emotionally impactful and compelling. The Memory House is a remarkable novel that is beautifully written and relevant. It is a pleasure to recommend it eagerly to all readers. *I received a copy of this novel through Celebrate Lit and NetGalley. The review I have written is voluntary and contains opinions that are entirely my own.
GratefulGrandma 28 days ago
This was a dual timeline story that tells the story of Everleigh Novak Applegate beginning in 1953 and Beck Holiday in the present. When a tornado slams through Waco, Texas (a true event) Everleigh loses her father, husband and in-laws. She and her mother begin a seven year widowhood that is not healthy for either of them. Beck Holiday has lost the memories of her early life. When her father is killed in the 9/11 tragedy, she develops amnesia and is unable to remember him. Beck is a NY City Police Sergeant who has recently found out she is pregnant from a one-night, poor decision. She lets her emotions get the best of her and attacks a perp getting herself suspended. While on suspension, she received a letter from a lawyer letting her know she had inherited a house in Fernandina, Florida. Little does she know that her life is about to undergo a huge change. When I read a book with Dual-Timelines, I often enjoy one more than the other. In this book, Rachel Hauck has done a wonderful job with both stories and woven them together so well, that I was entranced by the whole book. She has written wonderfully flawed characters. They have made mistakes and need to be able to forgive themselves. The Memory House is a great setting for the healing that needs to happen. Both Everleigh and Beck have love waiting for them, but can they accept it? Neither of them believes they are deserving of love yet, they love the men that want them. They are strong, independent women, willing to make the ultimate sacrifice. Each of them has been shaped by a disaster in their past. Both Bruno and Don are caring, understanding, persevering men, who are willing to wait for the love of their lives. There is a wonderful Christian storyline in the book. You will read about forgiveness and when you realize that you have already been forgiven by your Heavenly Father, it is much easier to forgive yourself. I very much enjoyed this story, the characters both in the past and present, and the redemption and forgiveness they received. I definitely recommend this book to those who enjoy Christian Romance, Historical Fiction and Dual Timeline Novels. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon my request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.
Carol-Kelley 29 days ago
The Memory House is a wonderful book written by Rachel Hauck! Rachel always does a great job with duel timelines and connecting stories and lives. This book takes place in the early 50's-60's and the present day. Everleigh's life is drastically changed because of a tornado she would like to forget. Beck Holiday's life is changed because of 9/11 and she can't remember. Then comes the Memory House and both of their lives begin to change. Great sadness, anger and healing - a very emotional story. Great writing, descriptions and narratives. I received a complimentary copy from Rachel Hauck by way of Thomas Nelson. All opinions are my own.
CRGehringer 29 days ago
Hauck excels at telling these time-slip stories, writing about characters the readers will care about. Readers will appreciate the men who love these women. Fifty years separate the women’s stories, but they intersect in this Victorian house. “Love well” and “family is whoever fits into your heart” are central themes in this story of learning to live (and love) again after tragic loss.
GailHollingsworth 29 days ago
This was a time slip novel separated by 50 years. It was all centered around a house in Florida lovingly named the Memory House. In the 1950s Everleigh finds herself happily married to Rhett until a deadly tornado hits Texas. Her world falls apart. Beck Holiday in present day, is a New York City cop chasing the bad guys until she does something out of character and gets suspended for a month. They each must learn to live their lives in spite of memory obstacles. Everleigh doesn’t want to continue her life and forget about Rhett. Beck has lost all memory of her father and her life with him after he was killed in the North Tower on 9/11. Although decades apart they both find themselves surrounded by the beauty and mystery of the Memory House. It’s a beautiful story of how two separate lives intersect within this house and how it changes both of their futures. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through Celebrate Lit but was not required to write a review positive or otherwise.
WishEnd 29 days ago
THE MEMORY HOUSE is a story of learning to live after loss, faith, family, forgiveness, and love. A story that slips back and forth from present to the past as it tells the stories of two women whose lives somewhat shadow each other's. A beautiful, heartfelt story from beginning to end. I loved everything about this story! The characters were easy to connect to and fall in love with. I loved Beck and her resolve. Her struggles were very real and affected her life and choices to a point where they're were debilitating. Miss Everleigh's life was very similar. Her loss had frozen her until a man loved her enough to try to push her to live and find happiness. Don was wonderful and just what Everleigh needed. Then there's Bruno... he's such a troubled soul and fighting for his career and his family and his own happiness. I loved, loved the way he reverts back to his friendship with Beck even though she doesn't remember. The way these two romances struggle, develop, and grow was truly beautiful. I also loved all the family that surrounds them, and all the friends. The house with its memories and the feel of peace and love it emulates as well as how faith is weaved throughout the story, played such a huge part in it all. The story pulled on my emotions and made me think. Only the best stories can do that. In the end, was it what I wished for? This was a wonderful, heartwarming story. If you're a fan of Hauck or poignant stories that pull on the heart, this comes highly recommended. Content: Some references to mature content, but clean. Source: I received a complimentary advanced reader's copy from the publisher through Celebrate Lit, which did not require a positive review nor affect it in any way.
annelr 30 days ago
Having read several novels by Rachel Hauck, I was looking forward to reading The Memory House and was not disappointed. The reader is drawn into the story right from the get-go with a police chase and a dirty, weary-faced little dog. And who doesn't love a well-written dual time story? The author does a great job weaving together Everleigh and Beck's stories. Everleigh, a widow too soon and Beck, a mother too soon and both have huge life lessons to learn. Everleigh found that tombs could be comfy and that in more ways than one she was still stuck in the storm cellar. Would she choose to live, to be free of the past? Beck struggles with amnesia and she too is bound by the past. The characters are vivid and well-rounded--all their flaws and faults are portrayed as well as their strengths and humanity. The reader can easily relate to the characters too, as the stories could easily mirror the reader's life with shattered hopes and dreams from unforeseen circumstances. It is a story of family, friends, and forgiveness. It is a story of coming to know that love can not only drive out fears but can bring hope for a new beginning. I received a complimentary copy of this book via CelebrateLit. A favorable review was not required and opinions are my own. This review is part of a CelebrateLit blog tour.