The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man: A Novel

The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man: A Novel

by W. Bruce Cameron

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
writersmh More than 1 year ago
I read at least one book per week, no genre left unturned. I work as editor in chief of an international magazine. (Translation: It's difficult to surprise me with a plot line; after awhile they all begin to feel similar). However, I must say: The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man not only kept me guessing, but entertained me the whole way through. I was truly impressed by the way author W. Bruce Cameron was able to inject constant action & adventure into the story, as well as a (brand new to me!) POV. There are many things to love about this book but one of my favorite parts is the entertaining subplot of "get rich quick schemes". Bruce's signature comedic voice is evident throughout the story, frequently making me laugh with that subtle, dry humor I find so appealing. This book is mind candy at its finest & I highly recommend it to anyone who likes being entertained and surprised. (Epilogue: Because I enjoyed his writing style so much I've since moved on to rereading some of Bruce's earlier books, all of which I love #TrueFan)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great pace and interesting personable characters. I'm reading the whole series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved the story--read it in one sitting! offbeat, the story peels away in layers, and the reveal is at just the right pace. and i loved the subtle humor, very dry and similar to mine. :o)
Anonymous 10 months ago
Loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would definatly recommend this book to a friend cant wait for the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun read
YoyoMitch More than 1 year ago
Ruddick “Ruddy” McCain has a unique problem. This problem is in addition to his being deep in debt, working on commission as a “repo man” in Upper Michigan at the end of winter when that difficult job is even more difficult, supplementing that income by working as a bouncer in a failing, family-owned “bar & grille” named the Black Bear and he has little hope of cashing in on his once promising professional football career because of one poor choice. His new problem - he has been invaded by another person; invaded, not possessed. This new “visitor” happens to be Alan Lattner, a man who was murdered eight years ago. The reason for this invasion, the enlightenment both Ruddy and Alan achieve as a result of this “union” and the characters encountered in this exchange are intertwined to create a romping, often hilarious, thinly plotted mystery that is (hopefully) the first of several visits to Kalkaska, Michigan. The reality that this book is a weak mystery – the plot is unoriginal (albeit the delivery method of the mystery is original), the villains are easily spotted, the hero valiant but flawed – is in no way a deterrent to reading this book. It is a strong introduction to a new voice in humorous fiction. The characters are easy to “know,” the pacing is good – allowing the reader space enough to adjust to the action before rushing to the next plot point – the concept is new, well thought-out and expertly delivered are what drives this novel to be a page turner; I wanted to see what adventure Ruddy and his dog Jack were headed to next, learning “who done it” was a slight promise in the reasoning of why I wanted to keep reading. Aside from being very humorous (Mr. Cameron has a gift for writing with a humorous bent) this is a story about relationship; how connections are broader, deeper and far more timeless than recognized at first blush and how people are rarely what they appear to be when first they are met. The regulars of the Black Bear Bar & Grille in Kalkaska, MI are adapting to “their” bar becoming more than they knew it could be. This shift will cause them to reassess how they relate to a familiar place that is reincarnated in a different form; they discover that change their “place” to be profound but it is still “home.” Such moments are not limited to a building, the people who frequent the Black Bear are home for each other. I hope Mr. Cameron invites me back to the U.P. of Michigan soon. I would have given this a Five-Star rating had the mystery been better.
play4fun More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable story, well written and funny
Mattie090 More than 1 year ago
I can't stop thinking about this man and the characters in his life. A great story, surprising twists and turns and believe it or not, a hilarious murder mystery. I hope there are sequels!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Speechless!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome story but still kind of sad!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Crystalsky?" Winterberry mewled in disbelief, mouth feeling numb. Her mother had a feirceness in her blue eyes, and she didn't peel it off Hazelstar's face as she pinned the younger cat down. <br> "I told you I'd be in the area with Dapplepaw. I heard you crying and Hazelstar's voice. I managed to see Foxtail's very last moments. There wasn't anything I could do. When this mange-ridden excuse for a cat threated you and lunged, I acted faster." <br> "You can't beat me!" Hazelstar choked, spitting in Crystalsky's face. <br> "Wh-who's that rogue?" Winterberry stuttered, eyes still red and puffy with greif. The she-rogue looked exactally like those clever, greedy creatures that would rarely waddle in the outskirts of camp, scavenging for food. They looked related to cats with their long whiskers, tail, and ears, but had rodent-like claws and a pointed snout with grey fur and black stripes. <br> "Her name's Raccoon. Dapplepaw and I found her on her way to camp, wishing to join. We intercepted Raccoon, told her to tag along with us to see if she has enough skill and loyalty to join. She indeed proved it," she sighed, glancing at Raccoon hiss at Hazelstar. "Run back to camp, Dapplepaw. Tell Lightstar and Stoneeyes about this and bring cats." Wide-eyed with fear, the young apprentice turned tail and dashed back to camp. "Hazelstar," Crystalsky growled, facing the hazel and white colored she-cat. <br> "Crystalsky," she mocked, matching her tone. Crystalsky ignored her. <br> "You're much too young to be the leader of ScorchClan. I don't know what's up your sleeve, but we will become four Clans again. StoneClan, GrassClan, WaterClan, and ScorchClan. Just like we should be. ScorchClan has no need to win over the whole forest." <br> "Shut up!" Hazelsar spat, trembling with fury. "Just shut up! Flamestar picked me as deputy to finish the job he failed. We destroyed StoneClan and GrassClan, now we only need WaterClan!" <br> "Wait a second," Winterberry murmured. "How could Flamestar have died in such a short?" <br> "Irrelevant," grumbled Hazelstar. She started to wildly thrash around again, and Crystalsky almost lost hold of her. Suddenly, Raccoon lunged at the young cat's throat and Hazelstar's eyes bulged with shock as she quit struggling. She threw one last menacing glare at the trio before her eyes clouded. Just like Foxtail's... <br> "What did you do that for?" Crystalsky growled at Raccoon. Raccoon just huffed and looked away. "Not much of a talker, are you? You're a valuable Warrior, but we really need to teach you about the Warrior Code. Well, she'll be awake any time now with 8 lives." She gripped Hazelstar's scruff and tossed her across the river onto ScorchClan's territory. Just then, the patrol Dapplepaw fetched had come, taking in the scene. Winterberry couldn't help notice that Dustpath was there, too, with Lightstar, Godenstone, Jaysoar, amd Lilymoon, all looking shocked. <br> "We hold a burial for Foxtail. Right now. On the bank of this river." Winterberry said sternly. Lightstar dipped his head in respect. No cat cared about Hazelstar waking up on the other side at any point; if she did attack again, she would be badly outnumbered. Lilymoon let out a wail and buried her muzzle into Foxtail's cold fur. <br> "Oh, brother, why? Why did you have to leave us?" Wordlessly, Jaysong padded forward and layed next to her son, a single teardrop rolling down her face. And the hollow spot in Winterberry's belly never went away. -Reflections&#9830
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awh! I'm so sad about Fox dieying, but maybe good things will come out of it? Who knows. <br> ~Galaxy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jfrjhset