The Midnight Witch: A Novel

The Midnight Witch: A Novel

by Paula Brackston

Hardcover(First Edition)

$23.39 $25.99 Save 10% Current price is $23.39, Original price is $25.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Midnight Witch 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the first two books. Wasted time and money on the third.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I also read the other two books she's written about witches, and this is by far the weakest in the series. The first book was quirky and interesting, the second was (in my opinion) the best, but this one was disappointing. The quality of writing seemed to be so flowery that the author got in her own way trying to write the story. Too much time on details and the characters contemplating their navels instead of telling the story. I also didn't enjoy the (seemingly pointless) time-jumps toward the end of the story. All-in-all, a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not up to previous standards. I made it to the end hopeing it would get better but it didn't. It semed like the author could not decide what genre she was writing in. Somewhere between a romance and?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story but i'm not sure they were still doing the minuet in 1913. ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cartoonish villians and too many charicters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only on page 30 and the writing is soooo immature, unlike her first two I will have to archive and maybe read another time Waste of time and money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Predictable, boring, and wooden. Her other books were better; I would wait for this to be marked down if you're interested in purchasing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Midnight Witch by Paula Brackston is her third book on witches, however, this is not a series. A young witch  struggling to find her power/place does seem to be the common theme in the various books. The Midnight Witch takes place in the early 20th century (1913-1919). Unlike the previous books, the main characters occupy a higher socio-economic status.  Lilith Montgomery assumes the role of head witch of the Lazarus Coven after the death of her father. She takes on the leadership even though she is young and inexperienced, albeit the heir apparent to the role. She is immediately challenged by dark forces that want to reclaim their power through secrets the coven has guarded for centuries. While this conflict is boiling, Lilith must also deal with her family and her love conflicts. Although I enjoyed The Midnight Witch, I didn’t enjoy it as much as Brackston’s first book. I loved that she toggled between POV of three main characters (Lilith, Bram and Sticklend). That choice in how the story was told allowed the reader to savor the slow introduction of information as characters presented themselves. The reader knows that the characters will somehow be connected, but it was a delicious wait to see how the pieces fit together. Although Lilith may not have been a common name for someone of that time period, choosing that name as a nod to the “first witch” was very clever. I had a love-hate relationship with Lilith. She seemed naïve, untrained and hypocritical. I like that she wanted to keep the coven current, but many of her choices seemed not only self-serving but completely out of line with what would have been hammered into her as the future leader of the  coven. I had a hard time believing that given her prior strict adherence to the rules that Lilith would have made the all decisions she did. I enjoy that Brackston’s witches are not all super powerful and able to control all elements and aspects of life and nature.  Incorporating WWI into the story was interesting. It allowed for some character growth, interaction and demise that I would not have anticipated. I did not care for the implication that the dark forces were tied to the start of the war since it wasn't developed how they would eventually get the coven secrets as a result. Illuminating why the dark forces thought that the threat of war would influence or have a direct impact on Lilith would have improved the story.  The use of a mysterious infiltrator who is not revealed until end of the story was superb suspense. Although it was not one of my favorite books by Brackston, The Midnight Witch was well written and kept me engrossed in the story. I’m sure that the author’s fans and fans of witch stories will highly enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are predictable and one-dimensional. Attempts at character development are laughable at best. Drama and romance are inserted without reason -the main characters are like cardboard cutouts with no chemistry. Read like bad fanfiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was even better than I thought it would be (which is saying something since I assumed it was going to be a great book in the first place). The suspense of the story was perfect and carried on through the whole book, making me want to read it all in one sitting. The characters each had their own personalities and I found myself falling in love with them (except of course for the not so lovable ones). The characters felt so real I almost had to remind myself they were fictional, and this made the story feel more real too which was a refreshing change from a lot of books I read.  I loved the mystery involved. I never knew who was good and who was bad usually until Lilith found out. Who was the man who challenged her? Who was the Dark Spirit and what did it want? It felt like I was solving every problem alongside her because I only ever knew as much as she did and discovered answers once she discovered them.  Something else I enjoyed was the differences in perspectives. At some points we were seeing things from Lilith's point of view and at other points it was from Bram's or Stricklend's. I've noticed some people are irritated with the switch between first and third person but I actually found it interesting, and it also made it easy to automatically tell who's perspective I was reading from. As you can tell I really loved this book. It had a perfect mix of everything - mystery, suspense, magic, romance, etc. and formed a very enjoyable story that I highly recommend to literally everyone (well anyone who can read that is). My only suggestion? Make this into a movie!
Anonymous 29 days ago
Have+you+ever+read+something+that+made+you+not+want+to+read+again%3F++%0AThis+is+it+for+me.++After+reading+the+Witches+Daughter%2C+which+I+enjoyed%2C+although+the+end+was+strange%2C++I+had+high+hopes+for+this+book.++It+was+almost+as+if+a+middle+schooler+wrote+it.++The+continuing+repeats%2C++dialog+and+out+of+joint+thoughts+and+characters+made+it+hard+to+finish.++I+almost+didn%27t+but+paid+for+it%2C+way+too+much.+I+wouldn%27t+recommend+if+it+was+free.++Totally+lost+my+reading+mojo+and+I+was+reading+a+few+hours+a+night.+haven%27t+been+able+to+since+this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Incredibly predictable. Even the "surprise" was predictable. Waste of time to read. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved every minute. Sad that there isn't a sequel, but thoroughly enjoyed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The end of this book was the best and most exciting part. The rest moves kind of slow and had a difficult time keeping my attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this book was more educational(and truly i learned alot), i have to say it was captivating. Paula i love the storys you write about witches their spell binding ( no pun intended) and keepme wanting more! Actually i am so hoping for a second book with this one as id like to know how lilth does with her new strength. Also this story left me wanting more about the other charaters. Where their life paths took them an if there well be a new heir! (Is that even possible!!!! ) thank you again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jgiron More than 1 year ago
Great read! Better than the first two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
When I read The Witch’s Daughter and The Winter Witch by author Paula Brackston I had been pretty impressed by how well-written and intriguing the plots were. I’m not normally a fan of historical fiction but the way Brackston wrote it immersed me and just worked. Getting to read The Midnight Witch was such a big opportunity and I was excited to see what would be next in her novels focusing on the lives of young women who are coming to terms with the crazy amounts of power hidden inside of them. In The Midnight Witch, Lady Lilith’s father’s death means the start of a new chapter in her life. Now Lady Lilith will have to take her place as the Head Witch of the Lazarus Coven; a coven of witches who can see and raise the dead by will. While Lilith is confident in her abilities to lead her coven she has begun to hear an evil spirit whose constant taunts have begun to get to her head. Adding to her troubles, mourning the loss of her father, dealing with her fiancé and society. It isn’t until the young artist Bram comes to town that Lilith finds herself conflicted between love and her duty as her coven’s leader. Bram is everything she could ever want but Bram ever love a powerful witch like herself? And even if he could her loyalty to her coven would keep their love forbidden. What I really enjoyed about The Midnight Witch most was Lilith’s character. She is not only such a (for the most part) confident woman but she’s also sure of herself to an extent. When it comes to taking over her father’s place in the Coven she knows that she has some major shoes to fill, that people will be judging her. Still, Lilith wants everybody in her coven to know who they’re dealing with. The amount of confidence in this character was huge and instantly reminded me of The Witch’s Daughter’s main character Elizabeth. I loved this protagonist. However I did find that with The Midnight Witch I had a few more issues than I did with The Witch’s Daughter and The Winter Witch. Just because in The Midnight Witch apart from there being an amazing plot that is definitely exciting the amount of unnecessary detailing in the novel did get me bored at times. There would be just paragraphs of detail or thoughts on something that got in the way of the pacing and did leave my mind wandering. Which took away from my experience a fair-bit and influenced how much I enjoyed the novel in its entirety. The novel does have exciting, action-packed scenes that aren’t heavily detailed and they do pick up the pace a fair bit. What really got me noticing this (and into the novel) would have to be the scene where Lilith’s taking the place as Head Witch is challenged and she has to summon a demon. What comes next is seriously insane, it kept my head spinning and was all-around the kind of witchy badassery that I wanted to see from The Witch’s Daughter and The Winter Witch. Plus, we got to see exactly what Lilith could do with her abilities. As for the romance portion of the novel, I personally found it sweet. Creepy at first since Bram was a bit obsessed with Lilith, but sweet in the end. The star-crossed lovers/forbidden romance bit that was thrown in fit perfectly with the novel’s plot. The relationship between Bram and Lilith is different from the romantic relationships in The Winter Witch and The Witch’s Daughter, but it is one that readers will enjoy. I would recommend The Midnight Witch to readers who are fans of historical fiction, want a strong, confident female main character and to any readers who like novels that give you additional insight while you’re reading.