The 'N' Word

The 'N' Word

by Tiana Laveen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The 'N' Word 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow!! This book kept you engaged the whole time. I couldn't put it down. This is a very timely story, not a book I would have normally picked. So glad that I decided to give it a chance. I found myself rooting for the white supremacist. Can't wait to read the next book in the series. mjw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not what I expected but found the writing to be truthful and beautifully written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so poignant and relevant , especially in light of recent events in the world . Ms Laveen has a natural God given gift and she is a masterful story teller. She engages all of your senses and weaves truth, fiction and romance all in one . And this book is no exception . Aaron is a white supremacists , who was taught at a early age to dislike other races and in some respects himself. A series of perfectly timed events lead him to question himself , his beliefs and all that he felt to be true. As he begins to learn about his true self , he opens his mind and his heart . He falls in love with the beautiful Mia, an African American woman. Thru her and his willingness to see things truthfully , he learns to be honest with himself and deal with his demons . And begin his path to the true Aaron, a man with a big heart, strong conviction , passion and compassion .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where's part 2!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I came into this book with reservations. The premise seemed intriguing, however filled with landmines. The author did a great job at weaving a beautiful tale while avoiding the traps of using cheap tricks. If you're tired of stale forrmulated writing. Then this is the book for you. The story is a breath of fresh air. I could not put the book down. I hope the sequel is as fantastic as this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AWESOME READ!! I enjoyed every moment of this book snsld wassad when it ended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting read! Interracial dating is interesting for this very reason the title says it all the conclusion of this text speaks volumes. I'm ready for part two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story about a racist in prison
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i remember this story from cross climax vol.2, great job/ revision!
Rebekkah More than 1 year ago
Open your mind… The subject matter of this novel will probably enrage you and/or make you uncomfortable. If so, I encourage you to read it anyway. Before reading it, it has already evoked emotions, as any book should. How appropriate and timely I think this series is. We are living in a time in which white supremacists are once again demonstrating how they feel about people they hate as well as those looking to remove long-standing symbols such as the Confederate flag. We are also seeing in our current moment, is open dialogue. We are participating in the discourse of what academic like to call the “Holy Grail” of the intersectionality of race, class, and gender. This book is a perfect example of that. I think that it bridges a gap that is often left wide open in certain circles because subjects are deemed to be only fair play amongst people in those circles. What Tiana has done and I hope people take notice, is fill in the gap by introducing new audiences to this discourse making it accessible and readable. While this is a work of fiction, I that this work has many teachable lessons from deeply personal where individuals work on their own issues to the societal level where groups, organizations, and movements work to not just be heard but work to understand others and why they feel and think the way they do. We hear all the time that there needs to be a dialogue on race. Well, that conversation takes place every day. Action needs to take place. That action needs to take place from within. Read this book. Open your mind. Change your heart. I have heard the hesitancy in people’s voice; saw it in their body language because this topic is scary. Fear causes people to attack what they do not understand. Read this book and then tell someone else to read it.