The Next Door Boys

The Next Door Boys

by Jolene B. Perry

Paperback

$16.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Next Door Boys 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Harrison_Bergeron More than 1 year ago
I was not and had not been a reader of romance novels. It's a bit out of my demographic, but I got to know Jolene Perry through a blog contact and thought that her novel would be worth looking at. It's more than that: it's an intriguing, well-written story of the heart with well-defined and identifiable characters. It made me a fan of romance novels and of Jolene Perry. Leigh Tressman has taken a year of from college to recover from treatment for ovarian cancer and as the story opens, she is headed back under the watchful eye of her brother. She meets her brother's roommate Brian and his son but soon finds herself torn between her attraction for Brian and the sophisticated Noah who sweeps her off her feet. The conflict is engaging and emotionally accurate throughout. This is a Mormon romance novel, and so there are references to scripture studies and walks on the Temple grounds, but the beliefs of the characters lend a refreshing kind of innocence to the proceedings. For example, to celebrate the end of mid-terms, they go on a hike. A kiss is a big deal. In today's jaded and overpressured world, that's kind of nice. Jolene has a couple of other books out now and I want to read them all. I hope she has a bright and productive career. It's kind of odd for a guy my age to want to read romance novels, but I'll go for good writing, intriguing plots and well-drawn characters any day, regardless of genre.
AbGirl More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've read this year, and probably the best LDS novel I have EVER read. The story is endearing and heartwarming and I never wanted to put the book down. This quickly became one of my favorite books. It is one I could read over and over.
minreads More than 1 year ago
Great story, very well written. Characters you care about and hope for.
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
This book was exactly what i needed to read. A well written story about a 20 year old cancer survivor that wants her independence by going to college, the catch? she has to move next door to her older brother, Jaron and his two roommates, Brian and Stuart. I really loved how the protagonist, Leigh. She is independent, optimistic and strong. I can relate that sometimes the need for independence could blind sight you in terms of what is best for you. I liked the setting and plot of this book. I found it to be very realistic, that has always been a problem in many contemporary books, but this book didn't disappoint. Even though i was hesitant about reading this book at first, I've read how much religion is a part of this book but it honestly didn't bother me here. I have my own beliefs and I'm always interested in knowing about other religions. I adored many of the characters, such as Brian, Julie, and Nathan. I always have a soft spot for kids so I found the moments of Nathan and Leigh to be so emotional and lovable, emotional because Leigh can't have kids (ovarian cancer), and lovable because of the sweetness of those two together! I always had a smile on my face when they were together. I think the romance was also very believable, it wasn't the whole love at first sight, i can't live without you! unrealistic love. It was a slow build up, to what becme Leigh's true love. I didn't know what to expect from "The Next Door Boys" when i started reading it but it definitely exceeded any expectations i might have had! this is a contemporary novel about hope, love, finding your self and coming to terms with what god has given you.
sjune More than 1 year ago
I was drawn to this book, not just because it sounds good in the summary, but for a personal connection I felt to Leigh. I¿ve had too many family and friends who have had to deal with cancer and reading a story where someone was able to fight it and continue with life after cancer without losing her faith in the process really spoke to me. Now, onto The Next Door Boys. I love how the characters all have their own little faults, but work to overcome them. You can¿t help but root for Leigh from page one. She is finally able to go off to college, a year later than planned due to being diagnosed with ovarian cancer the previous year. Luckily, the surgery and chemo were successful and now she is working on getting her strength back and anxious to get on with her life. Leigh gets her parents to agree to let her go to college as long as she lives next door to her brother, Jaron, so he can keep an eye on her. Leigh is excited to get started to class and to meet Jaron¿s friends, including his roommate Brian who her brother has talked highly of. Leigh tries to keep her past illness a secret because she doesn¿t want to be known as ¿Jaron¿s sister¿ or ¿the sick girl¿, but is not successful after the stress of college takes it¿s toll on her. I really enjoyed reading about her loving of sewing as my grandma was a wonderful seamstress and it reminded me of her. Leigh soon fits in with her roommates and ¿The Next Door Boys¿ and begins to learn more about Brian and his past. Of course after seeing the cover, you had to know there would be a love interest or two. Leigh is determined not to date and doesn¿t notice when a couple guys try to ask her out. Of course, she is swept off her feet by Noah, a guy she met while sewing costumes for the theater group on campus. In an effort to not give away too many details, Leigh goes through trials with her health and learning to love. She has to figure out what is right for her long term and not just what seems fun at the time. I really enjoyed the use of scripture and how Leigh struggled with being still and really listening with her heart and head; because this is something can be difficult when swept up in a fun relationship. The relationships that are developed in this story are beautiful to watch as they blossom. If you are looking for a great faith based contemporary that involves a girl who is thrilled to be alive, a tattooed Mormon, and a few funny and tense moments sprinkled throughout then give The Next Door Boys a try, I am quite certain that you will fall in love with Leigh¿s story and a few others as I did. *Bonus: There will be another book!! Left to Love with a release date to be reveled soon.
JumpIntoBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book from start to finish in which I received from netGalley and the publisher. I jumped right into the book and didn't even realize that it was a Christian book right away.This book has good Christian and family values and touches on those moments very frequently throughout the novel. As for myself, coming from a Christian background, I could relate quite easily with some of the family closeness and traditions. This book made me want to pull out my Bible again and start reading it.The author did some amazing research into ovarian cancer, touching some of the feelings Leigh was going through and what she had to go through with the cancer and the challenges she could still face.I loved Leigh. Her self struggles to overcome what she went through and to get to where she was. Her stubbornness and independence very likeable, even the little knowledge she had for guys, made this leading character amazing.Leigh's brother, Jaron, was simply one of the best brothers someone could ask for. Very understanding and a rock for his little sister, but also very protective.The story dealt with a lot of social situations from dating to love, marriage and children. It had touched on many good points. Some of the situations had brought me to tears, not at all bawling like a baby tears, just slight tears because of either experiences I went through myself or the sympathy I felt for the character.This is again, a very excellent book. Even if you aren't a Christian, I still recommend the book. I recommend this book to any young adult 16 and over, Christians and non-Christians alike. I had to give this book 5 of 5 stars for the great writing, research and how this story comes to life with the great emotion put into this wonderful story.
Zoey_Talbon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Okay. So this usually isn't the type of book I read, and the beginning had a fair bit of religion - nothing too intense, but a lot of you know I'm not a fan of reading about religion in books.However, for some reason I was okay with it here. It seemed like it was necessary for the plot but it wasn't being shoved in my face. And while I'm not going to say I loved it, after the beginning it didn't come up as often so it was rather easy for me to pretend there was no religion involved :P Leigh is recovering from ovarian cancer and finally moving out of her parent's house and going to college. Of course, her family won't let her be on her own completely, so she ends up living right next door to her brother. I loved the relationship between Leigh and her brother, Jaron, but at the same time, I feel like he wasn't developed enough. I know next to nothing about him other than he worries about Leigh, and sometimes I found myself waiting to find out more about what he likes to do and then being cut short.The relationship between Leigh and Brian, though, was awesome. I love how you get to watch their relationship grow and change through the book - first Leigh is intimidated by him, then he becomes basically her best friend, and then something more. And Brian was a well-developed character to me =)And then there was Leigh's relationship with herself. She wants to be independent so badly, to forget that she was "The Sick Girl," that sometimes she forgets that she still needs to take care of herself, that her body is still recovering. I thought that was very realistic; I feel like a lot of people would have done the same thing. Actually, Leigh herself was a very realistic character, and all her emotions in the book came through so clear. AND SHE HAD A HOBBY. She sewed. That made me ridiculously happy, since YA authors seem to forget that their characters do other things besides stare at pretty boys. I think the only real complaint I have is the ending. It felt too abrupt to me, like maybe there should have been another chapter or two before it really ended.Overall: The Next Door Boys is a realistic, enjoyable novel about a girl recovering and realizing that she's still alive. The secondary characters are just as interesting, and I loved reading from Leigh's perspective. The relationships were fun to read, the emotions rang through loud and clear, and I honestly finished this in one night. 4 stars.
Bookswithbite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book took my breathe away. If anything bad were to happen to me, I would want faith like this. To hold on to something and not loose sight of it. To just be comfortable with how I am and where I am going is something I adore. I love that Leigh's faith didn't waver. She is beyond her years and I can learn so much from that.I am going to start with the ending. Yes, I am going backwards. I loved the ending. Not because it was a happily ever after, but a new beginning. Hope after something greatly lost. I loved that the ending gave a great defining that if you keep your faith, pray consistently, what you pray for will come to pass.The love in this book gave me many happy tears. I loved that it not only grew over time, but became so much more than what is expected. Leigh knows wants what she can't have, yet God answers her prayers to something better. Something more. I love that Leigh learn a great lesson in faith and in love.The plot line gave me such great chills that I just wanted to start from the first page and read again. I just can't explain how much this book really touched my heart. I adore everything in it. Plus, really I am this type of person. I love to see happy endings and dreams come true.I recommend you read this book if you love a book with a tragedy but a hopeful ending. Ms. Perry did a great job in capturing the characters feelings and letting the reader feel them. This is a book of a kind of faith I want to have. Read it. You'll love it.
l_manning on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Leigh is ready to move on with her life. Having been declared in remission for cancer, she can't wait for things to get back to normal. When Leigh goes back to school, things don't run as smoothly as she plans. As frustrating as this can be, Leigh gets some small amount of comfort from her "next door boys," the boys living in the house next door to her house. Leigh's brother and his roommate are amazing guys who help her out even when she doesn't want them to. As Leigh experiences the ups and downs of college life, her next door boys help her see things in a whole new way.I really enjoyed this book. There are a couple interesting aspects to this story, making it stand out from your typical romance-type book. The first involves Leigh's healing process, both physical and mental. This puts her in a unique position in a couple ways. She doesn't want people to know about her run-in with cancer, because she doesn't want them to see her as frail or weak. Of course, this is an issue with her family as well. On the other hand, she actually does have to take it easy as she is still healing. Trying to find a balance between what she wants and what her body can take is hard for Leigh, and I found this very interesting to read. I also enjoyed Leigh's gradual friendship with her neighbor. Watching her learn to be supportive and supported by others was great.Overall I enjoyed this book a lot. I thought it was sweet and romantic without being overly cheesy. It was also interesting to see Leigh's perspective as a slightly "older" student at BYU. I thought this book was very fun. It didn't really surprise me plot-wise; you'll basically know where this is going from the start. That doesn't make it any less interesting. The journey to the end is where all the enjoyment is. Leigh is one of those characters that helps to pull you into her story and make you care all of those around her too.Galley provided for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So good! I really loved how the main character was so real. She wasn't stupid, only a little oblivious. I can't stand it when a girl has to decide between two guys and is too stupid to just pick the obvious choice. The author did a great job of making the relationships clear to the character so you weren't agonizing over her bad choices. You could just read and enjoy the growing depth of each relationship, or in some cases, the failure of tge relationship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
l_manning More than 1 year ago
Leigh is ready to move on with her life. Having been declared in remission for cancer, she can't wait for things to get back to normal. When Leigh goes back to school, things don't run as smoothly as she plans. As frustrating as this can be, Leigh gets some small amount of comfort from her "next door boys," the boys living in the house next door to her house. Leigh's brother and his roommate are amazing guys who help her out even when she doesn't want them to. As Leigh experiences the ups and downs of college life, her next door boys help her see things in a whole new way. I really enjoyed this book. There are a couple interesting aspects to this story, making it stand out from your typical romance-type book. The first involves Leigh's healing process, both physical and mental. This puts her in a unique position in a couple ways. She doesn't want people to know about her run-in with cancer, because she doesn't want them to see her as frail or weak. Of course, this is an issue with her family as well. On the other hand, she actually does have to take it easy as she is still healing. Trying to find a balance between what she wants and what her body can take is hard for Leigh, and I found this very interesting to read. I also enjoyed Leigh's gradual friendship with her neighbor. Watching her learn to be supportive and supported by others was great. Overall I enjoyed this book a lot. I thought it was sweet and romantic without being overly cheesy. It was also interesting to see Leigh's perspective as a slightly "older" student at BYU. I thought this book was very fun. It didn't really surprise me plot-wise; you'll basically know where this is going from the start. That doesn't make it any less interesting. The journey to the end is where all the enjoyment is. Leigh is one of those characters that helps to pull you into her story and make you care all of those around her too. Galley provided for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CJen More than 1 year ago
So this definitely has a strong LDS perspective that I doubt would appeal to non-LDS readers; however, with that caveat, I enjoyed this story of overcoming trials, seeing past initial judgments, and finding love in unexpected places. Leigh is a girl who is figuring herself out as a post-cancer survivor and adjusting to new found freedom of a college student. I really liked reading a book set at BYU, and I liked that none of the characters were perfect and all seemed flawed and well-rounded but were still likeable. Though I usually enjoy Christian fiction, I'm still not sure how I feel about how LDS fiction perpetuates some generalizations about LDS culture. But this book was a nice and easy feel-good read with lots of good take away messages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago