The Noble Servant

The Noble Servant

by Melanie Dickerson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Noble Servant 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Melanie Dickerson is a wonderful author. Her books are full of excitement that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Also they are very sweet love stories without the filth of bad language etc. Absolutely wonderful! I would recommend The Noble Servant as well as any of Melanie Dickerson’s books.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Excellent+
Anonymous 9 months ago
Simplistic++romance+from+a+God-fearing+narrative.++However%2C+there+are+moments+of+predictably.++This+series+is+geared+more+toward+a+younger+audience+and+can+be+read+as+a+stand+alone%2C+but+there+are+several+references+to+the+Avelina+and+Thornbeck+from+the+other+series.++
taralynee More than 1 year ago
The Goose Girl is a lesser-known fairy tale for me, but I have loved The Prince and the Pauper since I was little. The Noble Servant combines the two in a sweet story of friendship, growing love, and courage to do what is right no matter what the cost. Melanie Dickerson paints picturesque scenes with her words and creates characters who make you want to cheer them on. This book is no exception. Reading the first two books in this series will give you the big picture, but they are each able to stand alone without causing you to not enjoy the story. I listened to the audio version, which was read by Jude Mason… she continues to be one of my all time favorite audio book readers. I really loved The Noble Servant, and I think I’ll liken it to a chocolate-filled pastry. Something European-esque. Just a delightful treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
katelynsbolds More than 1 year ago
Quite a good fairy-tale re-writing. I enjoy Melanie Dickerson's characters and her action and dialog based plots.
ReigningBlessings8 More than 1 year ago
I would like to say this book is of the same caliber as her other books...but I cannot. This book is by far her best work to date. She has brought out the very real self doubts and fears we all have and infused them into her characters. Melanie kept the action and adventure but also dove deep into these characters, making them as real as the person sitting next to me What seems as unfair struggles become more clear to these characters as they come out the other side of adversity. They learn to not lean on their own understanding and strength but to lean on God. Melanie isn’t afraid to bring faith into her books and I find this refreshing in the world we live in today. A masterpiece that must be read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Melanie Dickerson's books I think they are amazing and I love the plots, the twists, the endings, and how she refers to verses in the bible. I have read every book that is currently out hundreds of times and I just love her books!
Freddikb More than 1 year ago
Once upon a time, there lived a nobleman’s daughter and a duke…. Magdalen of Mallin has received a proposal from a duke. It almost seems too good to be true. Her future looks bright and hopeful now. On her journey to his home, however, she discovers that things are just that, too good to be true. Magdalen is overpowered by her maid and in order to protect herself and her friend, she must trade places with the maid, allowing the servant to marry the duke. Magdalen is trapped, stripped of her identity and forced to tend to the geese. She soon befriends the shepherd boy and begins to suspect that he is carrying his own secrets. Can she trust him to help her gain back her rightful place? Or is he working with her maid, making sure Magdalen stays quiet? I was very excited to jump back into another Melanie Dickerson fairytale. Her writing style is so easy to follow, her characters are entertaining, and the stories themselves are like little portals of time travel, taking me back to happy days of my childhood. And that for me, is the best part. I also have to mention the cover image. I love how colorful it is, it suits the fairytale theme so perfectly. Melanie Dickerson has become a new favorite author of mine. In fact I bought all of the other fairytale books she has written that I had not read yet. If you are looking for a fun, light read with a bit of childhood reminiscing, I highly recommend this book, as well as The Silent Servant, the other story from Ms. Dickerson I have read. *I received this book free from The Fiction Guild and Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review. What I have expressed are my own thoughts, and I was not compensated by any financial way for this review.*
MrsTina42MR More than 1 year ago
The Noble Servant #3 A Medieval Fairy Tale by Melanie Dickerson We step back in time of 1365, Barony of Mallin, the Holy Roman Empire replete with fair maidens, dashing lords—often wielding swords, ancient castles, danger, intrigue and...geese. Hopes and dreams don’t go as planned for Duke of Wolfberg or for Magdalen of Mallin as those who plot against them put their evil plans in motion. The author certainly captures good versus evil within the characters very well. Both Steffan and Magdalen find themselves in rather difficult circumstances and must find a way to find resolutions soon. Even though Magdalen and Steffan are of nobility they both sacrifice for their communities and those they love. As a result of their challenges they certainly learned what is truly important in life along with their strong faith and prayers, which carried them through those challenges. I understand this is a variation of the fairy tale Little Goose Girl, which I am not familiar with, but found the story interesting and especially enjoy the faith aspect woven within the story-line. ~I received a copy of this book from the author (no monetary gain were exchanged), this is my honest review~
LucyMR1 More than 1 year ago
I adore the cover of this book and add that it is a retelling of The Goose Girl fairy tale, therefore it was a must read. It is a fast paced book and has lots of drama unfolding to pique your interest. Magdalen and the Duke of Wolfberg are both forced into servitude, and learn some valuable lessons along the way. Their faith keeps them going through their darkest days and captures good versus evil splendidly. It is a simplistic writing style, which makes it great to share with teen girls. I enjoyed this book very much. I received a complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson & Zondervan Fiction Guild. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
LucyMR1 More than 1 year ago
I adore the cover of this book and add that it is a retelling of The Goose Girl fairy tale, therefore it was a must read. It is a fast paced book and has lots of drama unfolding to pique your interest. Magdalen and the Duke of Wolfberg are both forced into servitude, and learn some valuable lessons along the way. Their faith keeps them going through their darkest days and captures good versus evil splendidly. It is a simplistic writing style, which makes it great to share with teen girls. I enjoyed this book very much. I received a complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson & Zondervan Fiction Guild. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
Blessed_and_Bewildered More than 1 year ago
The Noble Servant is a lovely medieval fairy tale romance. It has been said by other reviewers that The Noble Servant is reminiscent of The Goose Girl by the Brothers Grimm. I’ve not read the story so I can’t speak to that. I can say that The Noble Servant is a modern fairytale. I find in our two primary characters qualities that are reminiscent of Cinderella and the prince in the classic fairy tale Cinderella by Charles Perrault. The Noble Servant isn’t a copycat book by any measure though; it retains a distinctly unique style that is wholly Melanie Dickerson. Our heroine, Magdalen, has a demanding and critical mother; there is no pleasing her. Fortunately, like Cinderella, Magdalen’s heart is filled with kindness and a desire to serve those for whom she cares. In return, she is loved universally by those she smiles upon. Additionally, like Cinderella, Magdalen does as she is asked by those who are cruel to her. Adding to the Cinderella archetype is that this noble servant is a Christian. Her faith adds depth to her servant's heart. While Cinderella’s hero and love interest is a prince, Magdalen’s is a Duke. Steffan is just as handsome and charming but far more confused about matters of the heart. He is adamantly avoiding true love as there have been devastating consequences brought about by deep and true love in his life. (I don’t want to spoil the story so you will need to read The Noble Servant to find out why). A Noble Servant is only a tiny bit of a Cinderella story. It is definitely a sweet romance with a medieval soul. A story filled with deceit, cruelty, mistaken identity, mystery, a treasure hunt, chivalry, kindness, standing up for those in need, and a growing understanding of the need to depend upon Christ. The Noble Servant is a quick and enjoyable read. I recommend it to everyone who loves a clean romance with a bit of mystery. I recommend without equivocation that The Noble Servant would be an excellent read for preteens on up to those of us with gray in our hair. As a reviewer for NetGalley, I received a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. My thanks to NetGalley, the author, and publisher. Review by Zoe at the blessed and bewildered blog (you can find all of my reviews by searching for blessedandbewildered).
MelissaF More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed this series of fairy tales come to life. Magdalen gets a bum deal when her servant takes her place. But she does handle it with grace and her true colors shine through, which is compassion for others. The Duke of Wolfburg also has the same thing (sort of) happen to him. He is determined to prove who he is but they must be careful because the man now in charge is ruthless. Melanie did a great job of even allowing us to feel some pity for those that stole their position. I expected to love this book more since I really liked the others but for me this one was okay. I liked it but I didn't love it. I found it easy to put down and not in much of a hurry to pick it back up. It was good, just not what I expected. A copy of this book was given to me through the BookLook Blogger program. All opinions are my own. 
AngelaBycroftNZ More than 1 year ago
Who doesn’t love a fairy tale retelling - and this one is done to perfection. I wasn’t aware of the storyline of The Goose Girl before starting the Noble Servant so was able to read the story without any preconceived ideas and even without the back knowledge of the original tale (I always found the Brother’s Grimm rather blood thirsty for fairy tales anyhow) this story sings beautifully off the page. Mixing a teenage cast with a medieval theme sounds dangerous but not in Melanie Dickerson’s skilled hands and pen. Lady Magdalen is destined to marry a Duke - the duke of Wolfberg whom she meet at a dance. Her family and village are relaying on her to marry well to help their current plight and she is willing to sacrifice love for her duty. But on the way to her betrothed - her maidservant and maidservant’s father conspire to force her to assume the servant’s identity and lose the chance of an advantageous marriage. Arriving at the castle, she is given the most menial task that can be found - looking after the geese while her maidservant happily steps into her previous life and marries the duke. Magdalen soon meets another young man - looking after the sheep in the fields who appears to also carry secrets. Could they become allies and find away to right the wrongs done to them both? The Nobel Servant was a wonderful quick read - basically read in one sitting and brought back the wonderful whimsy of childhood fairy tales. I can’t wait to read more. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via The Fiction Guild, and was not required to post a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
VintageMommy More than 1 year ago
She's done it again! Melanie Dickerson's ability to weave a spell-binding tale amazes me. I'm captivated with every one of her novels from page one to the end. I especially love her fairy tales. These classic fairy tales are put into the context of real history minus the magical elements. In this story Melanie Dickerson retells the classic Grimm tale, the Goose Girl. This fairy tale is not one I was very familiar with, so it was kind of fun to read without any preconceived ideas of what I should expect. As usual, the characters are likeable and full of good qualities. I love that they experience growth throughout the novel. They feel real to me and I love reading a novel where I would like to be friends with the characters. The heroine desires to save her people, but she is poor and must seek to wed a wealthy duke. When her plans are thwarted by a servant she has no idea what to do, but befriends a shepherd. The find out there is a plot against the area and must try and find a way to stop it before it is too late. Mystery and intrigue are seamlessly woven alongside this beautiful love-story. Whether this is your first time reading a Melanie Dickerson fairy tale or you are a seasoned fan, you will fall in love with her writing, cheer for the hero and heroine, and not be able to put this down! I can't wait for her next fairy tale title!
Jennybug52 More than 1 year ago
4 stars- This book tells the tale of Magdalen and Steffan and their efforts to right many wrongs and save both of their homes, Mallin and Wolfberg. I have wanted to read many of Melanie Dickerson’s books but had never found the time, so this is the first book I’ve read by her. I love fairy tale romance and my teenage self would have swooned over this story. It is a great read for teenage girls that love a little romance, a little danger and a gorgeous hero to constantly “save” the lady. Of course, Magdalen was no wallflower. She was a great character that had a lot of backbone and made the most of her situation. It was a sweet, clean read that ladies young and old will enjoy. The main characters faced many challenges but handled them with integrity. They would make great role models for teenagers to read about. The idea of maintaining your integrity and faith even in the face of sinister and unimaginable events is evident throughout the book. Steffan and Magdalen continually trusted that God had a plan for them and did their best to be patient until that plan came to be. I enjoyed this book and will look forward to reading more by Melanie Dickerson. I received a copy of this book for free. I was not required to post a positive review and the views and opinions expressed are my own.
Jennybug52 More than 1 year ago
4 stars- This book tells the tale of Magdalen and Steffan and their efforts to right many wrongs and save both of their homes, Mallin and Wolfberg. I have wanted to read many of Melanie Dickerson’s books but had never found the time, so this is the first book I’ve read by her. I love fairy tale romance and my teenage self would have swooned over this story. It is a great read for teenage girls that love a little romance, a little danger and a gorgeous hero to constantly “save” the lady. Of course, Magdalen was no wallflower. She was a great character that had a lot of backbone and made the most of her situation. It was a sweet, clean read that ladies young and old will enjoy. The main characters faced many challenges but handled them with integrity. They would make great role models for teenagers to read about. The idea of maintaining your integrity and faith even in the face of sinister and unimaginable events is evident throughout the book. Steffan and Magdalen continually trusted that God had a plan for them and did their best to be patient until that plan came to be. I enjoyed this book and will look forward to reading more by Melanie Dickerson. I received a copy of this book for free. I was not required to post a positive review and the views and opinions expressed are my own.
KathrynVoss More than 1 year ago
Melanie Dickerson has created a sweet, clean story in her latest book The Noble Servant. This is one tale YA girls will greatly enjoy delving into. Filled with adventure from beginning to end, Dickerson's book keep you enraptured with the hero and heroine, along with a cast of wonderful - and villainous- supporting characters. In this tale, I was swept back into medieval Europe, to a time of chivalry and intrigue. I loved the plot, the pacing, the characters, and the message of sacrifice. It is rare to find a book that will teach godly lessons in a way that appeals to the YA genre. Dickerson outdoes herself with this one. Presenting courageous women living noble lives provides a solid role model girls can flock to. I highly recommend this book to all who desire a clean read that will uplift, entertain, and encourage.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of this book from Te Fiction Guild. I was not required to give a favorable review. All thoughts are my own. This is a wonderful 3rd in the series of fairies tales that have been written so that you have a better understanding of the who story line. Melanie is a wonderful author and I have loved each one of the books in this series,
christian_chick6 More than 1 year ago
The Noble Servant is based on "The Goose Girl," which is a fairy tale I was completely unfamiliar with. It also has shades of "The Prince and the Pauper." Since I had no idea of the plot of "The Goose Girl," I googled it. And then I pretty much knew how the story would go down :-) Even though I knew basically what would happen, I very much enjoyed the novel's progression. Also, certain events and people surprised me, as some people who I assumed to be bad turned out to be at least sort of good, and some I assumed to be good turned out to be sort of bad. So whether or not you're familiar with "The Goose Girl," you can enjoy this novel. I've read several of Dickerson's novels now, and, while I didn't find the romance to be as engaging as it was in some of her other books, I still enjoyed the story. It's one that I can heartily recommend to teens and adults alike. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions expressed are my own.
SemmieWise More than 1 year ago
** “I might ask more specifically, God, for help, but I don’t even know what to ask for. But I assume You know what to do. You are God, after all. So please help me.” ** Set in 1365, Melanie Dickerson’s “The Noble Servant” is a medieval retelling of “The Goose Girl” fairy tale. Lady Magdalen of Mallin is a deceased baron’s daughter from a poor region, who must marry well to save her people. When she receives an invitation to marry the handsome Duke of Wolfberg, whom she met two years ago, she quickly agrees to the arrangement. During the journey, her maidservant Agnes, along with her father Ehrlich, threaten and force Magdalen to switch places. Agnes will now be the Lady of Mallin, set to marry the handsome Steffan, and Magdalen will be the servant. As Magdalen is forced to serve as the castle’s goose girl, she must figure out a way to safely reveal her true identity. And when she realizes the duke isn’t who he says he is, and a mysterious yet handsome shepherd reminds her of someone from her past, she must learn to trust others for help. Can Magdalen and the shepherd overthrow Agnes’ misdeed, and fight Steffan’s uncle Lord Hazen’s evil plot? “The Noble Servant” is a lovely story, and a loose retelling of a fairy tale I wasn’t as familiar with, so I enjoyed getting to know “The Goose Girl” a little better through Magdalen’s story. Dickerson fills her story with delightful characters, and lots of gems from which to learn. It is more than just a love story, although that is an extremely prevalent theme, including the desire for true love and the fear of truly falling in love. But it also deals with guilt and forgiveness (both of one’s self, and others); turning to God in times of need; the reliance upon and importance of prayer; we all go through trials, and the restoration we can see after those trials; giving up control and relying on the help of others; and the ability and willingness to wait on the Lord. Faith is an overwhelming theme throughout “The Noble Servant” — faith in others, but more importantly, faith in God. As Steffan says to Magdalen: “That is why we call it faith — His loving-kindness is not seen or fully known at times, but we have faith that it exists.” Another goodie for Dickerson fans found in “The Noble Servant” is the return of Avelina of Thornbeck, found in an earlier series. Dickenson does another great job retelling a classic fairy tale, but setting it in medieval times so it still has that fairy tale feel to it. Five stars out of five. Thomas Nelson provided this complimentary copy for my honest, unbiased review.
jewelrydiva More than 1 year ago
The Noble Servant is a medieval romance and a re telling of a fairy tale by the brothers Grimm. I wasn't familiar with The Goose Girl Story, so I didn't know what to expect. I however, found to be a very sweet romance with deception, and mystery. The heroine, was strong in spirit and very compassionate and forgiving. The hero, handsome and brave was quick to defend and sacrifice himself for others. I enjoyed this book and will read more from this author. *I was given this book by the publisher and was under no obligation to leave a review.
June0 More than 1 year ago
Fairy tales aren't just for girls. Melanie Dickerson does such a great job of creating her characters and re-telling a story that even my boys enjoy these books. And I love watching her stories come to life. We met Lady Magdalen and Steffan, the Duke of Wolfberg in book two of the Medieval Fairy Tale series. We've been waiting for something to happen since book two ended with them riding away together. And now, finally, the Duke has invited Magdalen to come to his castle, with the intentions of marrying her. It doesn't take long for things to start falling apart. As Magdalen and Steffan are reacquainted and start working together to right the wrongs, things start to make sense. Once again, Melanie Dickerson has written a great story that can be enjoyed by all ages and we are looking forward to her next story.
itsraymarie More than 1 year ago
If you've been here long enough, you know that I love my Melanie Dickerson books. They're fun, easy to fly through, and I love anything fairy-tale related. This one was based off of The Goose Girl, which I don't think I've seen done all that much, so I was interested to see how she would take this one. We first met Magdalen in The Beautiful Pretender. She had Steffan had hit it off, but she hasn't heard from him in the few years since. Until, one day, she randomly gets a marriage proposal from him. While Magdalen thinks it is a bit suspicious, she will do anything to help save her people from poverty (not like her mother would give her a choice anyway). Until she is thwarted by her maid, and forced to tend to the geese. Only to discover that the man posing as the shepherd is none other than the Duke himself. They work together to be restored to their rightful positions. Honestly, this was probably one of my favorites of her books. I had been feeling...less than excited about some of her newer ones, so it was great to find what I loved about her books again in this one. The characters themselves, however, were nothing really special. They were the typical for this genre: sweet, perfect "good girl" heroine; supposedly masculine love interest with a hero complex. Honestly, I'm tired of reading the same characters over and over again. But I did enjoy the story. Like I said, The Goose Girl was a fun one to base it off of and the story was fun and easy to read. It kept me engaged the whole time, and seemed a little more exciting plot-wise than some of her others. All in all, it was just a fun story that I enjoyed reading.