The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower Series #4)

The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower Series #4)

by Kimberley Woodhouse

Paperback

$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Patriot Bride 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
FHlady More than 1 year ago
As a Daughter of the American Revolution whose 4th great grandfather served in Patrick Henry's, Lighthorse Brigade, I love to read Revolutionary War fiction, and Kimberley Woodhouse did not disappoint. Focusing on the time period just before the Revolution began, our hero, Matthew Weber is embroiled in the Patriot movement and finds himself pretending to be a Loyalist in order to spy for the Patriots. The heroine, Faith Lytton Jackson, a descendent of the Mayflower Lyttons, is an extremely wealthy widow who aligns herself with the Patriot movement. Throw in important names like Benjamin Franklin and George Washington, a group of women who learn to send coded messages, knit socks, and pray for the movement; and you have a wonderfully written pre-Revolution novel Woodhouse's obvious research into the pre-Revolution time period and its events is displayed throughout the novel. I felt like I had stepped right into the midst of that period. Her main characters are well developed and feel very realistic. I loved her ending which was the Declaration of Independence. Well done and highly recommended.
fromtheheartJH More than 1 year ago
Kimberly Woodhouse has written an historical novel complete with spies, romance, and historical figures like George Washington and Benjamin Franklin playing a part in it. The Revolutionary War takes on a reality that makes you feel a part of it. It makes you see what it was like to live in that time period. Besides being historical fiction, it also has romance. Could Faith end up with an unwanted suitor? Or can two spies wind up together? Will they have to sacrifice more than they thought for their country and freedom? I particularly enjoyed this story as we have just recently toured Mount Vernon and are on our way to Boston. I could imagine the places and how the stories took place. This was an excellent read and I look forward to more in this series of The Mayflower Brides.
RobinWillson 7 months ago
Stories about our American revolution are fascinating to me. I feel we need a reminder sometimes of how our government was formed, to appreciate what it took to gain our independence and form this strong foundation. This story is set in those early days and starts out with Faith, a smart, spunky girl - skilled in strategy - and a friend of George Washington. She grows into a lovely young lady who gives her efforts to the winning of our independence. Her household staff and close friends as well. They are able to incorporate their bible studies and quilting/sewing to the revolution effort. Faith meets a fellow Patriot, also friends with George, and their relationship grows along with the work they do. Of course it's very well written as Kimberley Woodhouse does. An excellent addition to the Mayflower Brides collection! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher and NetGalley book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Bookworm_Debbie More than 1 year ago
This is a remarkable historical romance! I love both of the main characters. Faith is an incredibly strong woman. She has learned how to survive without a man in charge of her household because of her strength. She knows how to lead and she expects those around her to follow her instructions. She helps immensely in the difficult situations that she faces during the beginning of the war. Matthew is everything you can ask for in a hero in a book. He is strong, handsome, and very dedicated to his beliefs and doing all that he can to support the cause. Throw in there the fact that he is always willing to protect Faith is just perfect. The storyline is captivating. I was drawn into it and anxious to find out how things turn out for Faith and Matthew. It was a nice fictional story built into the history of the Revolutionary War. Seeing George Washington and Benjamin Franklin brought into the story and interacting with Faith and Matthew was wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the author’s note at the end of the book to see what she had to say about the use of actual historical characters in her book. It was great to read her thoughts and see a glimpse into how she views history. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley. I have chosen to write this review to express my personal opinion. Disclaimer: *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*
JLink More than 1 year ago
Solid 3.5 Stars. The Patriot Bride by Kimberly Woodhouse was my least favorite of the Daughters of the Mayflower Series so far. I thought it was a little slow in spots. I'm sure some thought that integrating actual Revolutionary War heroes into the story was great. I don't particularly like mixing fictional characters with historical figures in such a personal way. George Washington and Benjamin Franklin were significant secondary characters and putting words in their mouths disturbs me some. That's just my personal preference. Faith Jackson was a unique heroine. She laid it all on the line in the name of freedom. I am sure that there are many untold stories of brave women like her in history. Unfortunately, I found the stalker scenario was a little over the top. I have to say that I am also a little disappointed in the lack of connection to the other Daughters of the Mayflower characters. There were only a few passing comments about Faith visiting her family. For a series, there should be a greater connection with these women based on their faith and courage and the blessing God bestowed on the family. For me, this book was okay. I do look forward to more books in this series. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
lesacap1262 More than 1 year ago
Lesa Caputo's review Oct 14, 2018 · edit it was amazing This book was so much fun to read - reading about characters we all know from our history lessons, George Washington, Ben Franklin, as well as fictional characters we meet in this book! I'm enjoying the Daughters of the Mayflower series, such great American History, what was it like living around the time before the American Revolution! The story begins during the time of unrest in America, tired of the taxes from England and a ruler so far away the Patriot cause is more important than ever. Faith Jackson is a wealthy widow immersed in the cause, she and her lady friends are working to help the Patriots and she is willing to put herself in danger to help. Matthew Weber find himself working as a spy for the Patriot cause, he has planted himself in the Loyalist camp and will meet as needed with the spy arranged by the Patriots, none other than Faith Jackson! You can imagine the tense moments as the British troops infiltrate Boston and become much more visible. This story has great adventure for the fictional characters and it's fun to read as they interact with the actual historical figures. Kate has lost many people in her life beginning with her parents at a young age and then her husband. Why does she feel so drawn to Matthew? During this dangerous time falling in love is the last thing recommended. Matthew has not found anyone to hold his interest, which is why, without a wife or family, he is free to put himself in danger for the cause. As he and Faith begin their secret meetings, why does he look forward to seeing her, and what an inconvenient time to think on things of love. But perhaps God has other ideas! I enjoyed this book, it had plenty of adventure, danger, and keeps you on the edge with some twists and turns! I am completely enjoying this entire Daughters of the Mayflower series! I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
Madalyn More than 1 year ago
The Patriot Bride Another great book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series. I enjoyed the historical facts in the story and how the characters were developed. It was interesting to have real people mixed into the plot of the story. George and Martha Washington fit naturally into the story as does Benjamin Franklin. A most interesting read that I can easily give five stars. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
conniet729 More than 1 year ago
I am loving this multi-author series that I have been so lucky to read. I love the way that the author writes. She always creates unique characters, an intriguing storyline that will keep you turning pages. I love this time period in history, and the way the author writes it, you feel like you are there. I received a copy of this book through Barbour publishing, all thoughts are my own.
JLYoung More than 1 year ago
Super interesting plot line kept me interested and reading late into the night. A little suspense, war, love, friendship, political drama makes for a good story. The story is well written with well developed characters. Pace of reading is good. Not too slow! Definitely keeps your interest. I’m really enjoying this series. Don’t miss it!
Thimbleluvr More than 1 year ago
The Patriot Bride was, by far, my favorite of the the Daughters of the Mayflower series. Like all the books, it easily works as a stand-alone read. Set during the American Revolution with key characters like George Washington and Benjamin Franklin rubbing shoulders with the fictional characters, I found it hard to put down. The plot is full of spying and intrigue while skillfully weaving a romantic storyline for two characters who don't expect to find love. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
Kelly-T More than 1 year ago
I read a lot and sometimes you run across a book that is just amazing and this is one of them. I have read all of the Daughters of the Mayflower books and they just keep getting better. In The Patriot Bride, Faith Jackson, is called on to help the Patriot cause. As a young wealthy widow, Faith and her friends do what they can to help the Patriots. Faith is best friends with George Washington so you get to really see a softer side of George and of his wife, Martha. When Faith is called upon to code and deliver messages for the Patriot side, she accepts, knowing the danger it puts her in. As Boston is surrounded with British troops, the danger is very real. Matthew Weber is a Patriot that is undercover in the middle of the Loyalist movement. He is personal friends with both George Washington and Ben Franklin. The exchanges between Matthew and Ben are so endearing. Matthew begins to meet with Faith as they exchange messages. Matthew and Faith are both caught off guard by the attraction they feel for one another, but is that even fair, to think of romance when war is pending. Added to the mix of Matthew being a spy and Faith coding and delivering messages, a man that has no loyalty but to himself, sets his sights on marrying Faith. He becomes quite insistent and can potentially be a danger to the movement. As the Colonists and the Loyalists come head to head in battle the danger is everywhere. You are right there in the middle of the movement in this book. You see the danger both Matthew and Faith are in. But how can love sustain in this situation? Oh but this book will keep you on your toes. It is a must read in my book. I have received an ARC of this book and this is my honest feedback.
Jf625 More than 1 year ago
I loved everything about this book: the time period, the characters, etc. I have always enjoyed learning and reading about the Revolutionary War period. Faith had courage and gumption. She was a strong female. She wasn't a weak female who waited for a man to save her. Matthew was a man of integrity. He was the whole package. Swoon! Great story. I really loved that Ben Franklin and George Washington were a part of this wonderful story. I highly recommend reading this series "The Daughters of the Mayflower". I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
BH More than 1 year ago
The Patriot Bride, written by Kimberley Woodhouse, is by far my favorite so far of this series. Loved how Woodhouse brought George Washington and Ben Franklin to life! I've not read another fiction book which took these historical figures to this level to flesh them out in such a way I just couldn't stop reading! Faith was a strong woman who I admired. Stood up for what and who she believed in and no one ever wondered where they stood with her. Great character! I would recommend this read along with the others in this series, but this is my favorite. I was given a copy of this book by the publisher. All thoughts and comments are my own.
SusanS More than 1 year ago
The Daughters of the Mayflower series continues to be a source of great enjoyment. The Patriot Bride is no exception. Kimberly Woodhouse expertly weaves the story of Faith Jackson, a widow who is a supporter of the patriot cause. Faith does her part to encourage the ladies in her circle of close friends to do all they can to be prepared to help in any way. However, when a someone is needed to carry messages to a spy entrenched in the Loyalists Faith decides the mission is too dangerous for anyone other than herself. As the war looms closer, the danger increases for this brave woman. Danger intensifies when Faith meets Matthew Weber. Sometimes it is difficult to determine how Matthew truly feels about the approaching war. And certainly, this is no time for Faith to be thinking about falling in love again. But our heart doesn't always listen to our head. Will the danger bring them closer together or push them apart? This book held my interest throughout. There was a great story line with enough twists and turns to keep me reading late into the evening. The only problem I had with the book is that I wanted more. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
Heidi_Reads More than 1 year ago
I was surprised that such well-known real-life historical figures George Washington and Benjamin Franklin were incorporated into this story, but I loved seeing them with relationships and conversations that made them seem more human rather than iconic. Faith is an intrepid character, full of bravery, strength, and conviction. I enjoyed the prologue with Faith as a ten-year-old playing war games with the neighborhood boys. It showcased her tenacity and clever intellect, and was an attention-catching beginning to a story that had a somewhat slow but steady pace. The spy activities brought a strong element of suspense and tension to the plot, and I was fascinated by the methods and strategies employed by the Patriots as they prepared for revolution. The romance between Faith and Matthew is sweet and gentle in the midst of the turmoil, and I loved their relationship. A story that will definitely be enjoyed by fans of historical fiction! (I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions in this review are my own)
Nursiebeth More than 1 year ago
What an interesting story line! Faith Jackson is such a strong woman. Widowed at a young age, she decides that she will continue with her independent nature rather than re-marry to anyone who wants her to change that. I loved her tie to George Washington in the story. Their bond was so touching! Matthew Weber is friends with Ben Franklin and becomes a spy among the loyalists and begins to meet with Faith to pass messages on to the patriots. Meetings become increasingly difficult with war fast approaching and their feelings for each other grow. Will they be able to explore where their relationship may take them? Or will the danger be too great? This book was a wonderful fresh historical story and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review
Espan_Rose More than 1 year ago
This was probably my favorite book of the series so far! I love the American Revolution, and this book really brings the early days to light, that desire for peace yet understanding that war might be inevitable. I really enjoyed how the author brought in tricks created by Washington for his spy system, even in such early days, and Faith has become a favorite of mine as far as heroines go. She’s intelligent, spunky, and has such strength to stand for what she believes in. And Matthew is dashingly heroic, even as he’s struggling with the double life of a spy. There are some great heart-pounding moments, wonderful romance, a wicked villain that I honestly wanted to smack off the page, and of course the hope of what the future would bring, even if facing war. It’s a great book, a great continuation of the series, and I can’t wait to read more. *Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book from the publisher. I was under no obligation to write a review; all opinions are my own.
Espan_Rose More than 1 year ago
This was probably my favorite book of the series so far! I love the American Revolution, and this book really brings the early days to light, that desire for peace yet understanding that war might be inevitable. I really enjoyed how the author brought in tricks created by Washington for his spy system, even in such early days, and Faith has become a favorite of mine as far as heroines go. She’s intelligent, spunky, and has such strength to stand for what she believes in. And Matthew is dashingly heroic, even as he’s struggling with the double life of a spy. There are some great heart-pounding moments, wonderful romance, a wicked villain that I honestly wanted to smack off the page, and of course the hope of what the future would bring, even if facing war. It’s a great book, a great continuation of the series, and I can’t wait to read more. *Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book from the publisher. I was under no obligation to write a review; all opinions are my own.
Emma More than 1 year ago
The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse. Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber are both working covertly to aid the Patriot cause. But will they be willing to sacrifice all for their fledgling country? A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees. Spies Work Together for the Patriot Cause Faith Jackson is a wealthy widow, friend of George Washington, and staunch supporter of the Patriot cause. Matthew Weber is friends with both Ben Franklin and his son William, who increasingly differ in their political views; and Matthew finds himself privy to information on both sides of the conflict. When a message needs to get to a spy among the Loyalists, Faith bravely steps up and in turn meets Matthew Weber. Suddenly she believes she could love again. But someone else has his eye on the Faith she portrays in elite social circles. What will Matthew and Faith have to sacrifice for the sake of their fledgling country? Spies Work Together for the Patriot Cause Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse. this is Faith Jackson and Matthew Weber's story. this is Anthony and Lavonia's story. this is George and Martha Washington's story and other people. At age twenty, George began to feel the full scope of what lay before him. Faith had always been like a puppy following him around. She was like another little sister to him. She adored him. But now he was responsible for her well-being. The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse is a 4 star book. More in the Daughters of the Mayflower series: The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse set 1620 Atlantic Ocean The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y Barbo set 1725 New Orleans The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep set 1760 during the French and Indian War The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse set 1774 Philadelphia The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear set 1794 on the Wilderness Road The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall set 1814 Baltimore The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse
Lattebooks More than 1 year ago
This author has an amazing talent to send you back in time and immerse you into the history and era! As another book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series I was excited for this. Twists and turns with much danger abound in this story. It makes you keep turning the pages! You will feel right along with Faith and Matthew as they struggle with so much for their country and themselves. It tugs the heart strings! Deeply moving and fills my historical loving heart. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
Sandra0808 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this fourth book in the Daughters of Mayflower series. I liked spunky Faith and how the author crafted her story to include historical figures such as George Washington and Ben Franklin during the pre-Revolutionary War period. Faith is a young wealthy widow working as a spy for the Patriot movement and this is how she meets fellow spy, Matthew Weber. It has been a long time since Faith has felt romantic feelings, however Matthew intrigues her and their encounters leave her wanting to learn more about the young man. As the danger mounts and Matthew infiltrates the Loyalists, a persistent and annoying suitor, Anthony Jameson, threatens to derail the whole operation. I enjoyed the historical details of this novel and learned several new things about this time period. The scenes with Jameson are amusing and the loyalty of Faith’s staff and the comradery of the women volunteers all add great ambiance to the novel. Woodhouse does a great job of whisking readers into the past and creating a rich and detailed account of a historical period in time.
academy252 More than 1 year ago
This particular story is of a young woman named Faith Jackson.  She is a descendant of Mary Elizabeth and William Lytton from the first novel in this series.  Faith has lost several loved ones in her lifetime... her parents and her husband.  She was taken in by a loving family as a child.  A close personal friend, a young George Washington, stood by her as she navigated the hardships that fell in her path growing up.  With the country on the brink of war with England she feels the call to support the Patriot cause but would it be too much of a risk to her and her household? Matthew Weber, a young Patriot, is torn between a friendship with Benjamin Franklin and Benjamin's son William.  Ben champions the Patriot cause while his son is a Loyalist to King George.  Matthew's loyalties are clearly in favor of this new country.  His relationship with William Franklin could prove beneficial, though.  His call to fight for his country pulls him into a situation of working as a Loyalist in order to gain information but can he deceive them long term in order to bring freedom to a new world? Faith and Matthew's desire to support the Patriot cause allows their paths to cross and their common mission could prove deadly for both of them.  They must stay focused on the task at hand.  With each meeting that they have the danger becomes greater and greater as the conflict pushes quickly toward an all out war for independence.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read with vivid scenes from this early period in history. I totally fell in love with Faith and her courage in the midst of tragedy and danger. There was plenty of action and several sub plots to keep me reading and at the same time, enough romance and a bit of humor to keep me entertained. I love books from this period and The Patriot Bride ranks with my favorites.
lmnop99 More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful look into the history of America. I was thrilled to read and Faith and Matthew as they find each other. This is a new time period for me to read in and I really enjoyed it. I loved all the references to George Washington and Benjamin Franklin. The author did a wonderful job giving new light to these historic heroes. She also balanced the suspense of the time with a romance in Matthew and Faith. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
Mocha-with-Linda More than 1 year ago
The Patriot Bride provides a fascinating peek into the days leading up to the Revolutionary War. Kimberley Woodhouse brings to life the harrowing atmosphere in Philadelphia as neighbors and even family members align on opposite sides of the political spectrum. Perilous encounters, clandestine meetings, and guarded conversations exemplify the tension and danger that continually hovered. Faith's bravery and pure spunk garnered my admiration, especially as she dealt with her unwanted and obnoxiously persistent pursuer. Rich in historical detail, this captivating tale attests to the determination, honor, and sacrifice of those whose actions birthed a new and independent country. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book free from Barbour Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”